"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Remembering Thomas - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Remembering Thomas

Anne Rothman-Hicks, Kenneth Hicks

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Jennifer and James and their two friends, Kaytlyn and Sleepy, step through a time portal in the vicinity of modern-day Kips Bay and find themselves caught in the middle of a Revolutionary War battle. Their purpose is to stop the evil Malman, who wants to change the course of history by altering an event that occurred at the Battle of Harlem Heights. Their task is complicated by a man, Arthur Whitehair, who was turned into a pigeon by the misreading of a spell many years before. 
During the course of twenty-four hours, the foursome meets the genteel Mary Murray and her daughter, Susannah, credited with delaying the British and allowing the rebels to escape. They share the camp of Margaret Corbin, who fought with the rebels and was injured. Their lives are saved by swashbuckling Major Aaron Burr. They encounter Thomas Knowlton, the hero of Bunker Hill, who died at the battle of Harlem Heights. And, finally, Jennifer discovers the joys and pain of first love with Frederick Knowlton, the sixteen-year-old son of Thomas. 
Remembering Thomas is a sequel to Things Are Not What They Seem. As in that novel, the four friends learn lessons about love, friendship, and self-sacrifice.

Other books that might interest you

  • Shatterproof - cover

    Shatterproof

    Jocelyn Shipley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Thirteen-year-old Nate needs a break from looking after his newly disabled mom. One day when his mom thinks he's at a cross-country meet, he goes to the mall with a friend he's forbidden to have contact with. At the skate shop he sees a new board he can't afford but has to have, and Nate gets talked into running a scam. It turns out Nate looks a lot like a teen TV star filming in the area. So he and his buddy get girls to pay cash to be extras on set. It's all fine until Nate meets a girl he really likes. Nate knows he has to tell her the truth, but he's not sure he has what it takes to come clean.
    Show book
  • Nothing but Life - cover

    Nothing but Life

    Brent van Staalduinen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    During a sweltering summer, Dills must come to terms with a horrific crime and the parent he loves who committed it. 
     
    Dills and his mom have returned to Hamilton, her hometown, hoping to leave the horrors of Windsor behind. But it’s impossible to escape the echoes of tragedy, and trouble always follows trouble.  
     
    When Dills hurts a new classmate, it comes out in court that he was in the Windsor High library when the shooter came in. But he won’t talk about what he saw, what he still sees whenever he closes his eyes. He can’t. He definitely can’t tell anyone that the Windsor Shooter is his stepfather, Jesse, that Jesse can speak into his mind from hundreds of kilometres away, and that Dills still loves him even though he committed an unspeakable crime.
    Show book
  • Saving Savannah - cover

    Saving Savannah

    Tonya Bolden

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From acclaimed author Tonya Bolden comes the story of a teen girl becoming a woman on her own terms against the  backdrop of widespread social change in the early 1900s. 
     
    Savannah Riddle is lucky. As a daughter of an upper class African American family in Washington D.C., she attends one of the most rigorous public schools in the nation--black or white--and has her pick among the young men in her set. But lately the structure of her society--the fancy parties, the Sunday teas, the pretentious men, and shallow young women--has started to suffocate her. 
      
    Then Savannah meets Lloyd, a young West Indian man from the working class who opens Savannah's eyes to how the other half lives. Inspired to fight for change, Savannah starts attending suffragist lectures and socialist meetings, finding herself drawn more and more to Lloyd's world.  
      
    Set against the backdrop of the press for women's rights, the Red Summer, and anarchist bombings, Saving Savannah is the story of a girl and the risks she must take to be the change in a world on the brink of dramatic transformation.
    Show book
  • Skavenger's Hunt - cover

    Skavenger's Hunt

    Mike Rich

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    After young Henry Babbitt tragically loses his father, he can’t help but remember the promises of the great adventures they would now never take. Then, on a snowy Christmas Eve, his grandfather reveals that he’s tracked down a series of mysterious century-old clues left by Hunter S. Skavenger, the eccentric magnate who launched the first and greatest scavenger hunt.Hours later, on Christmas Day, Henry finds himself magically transported back to 1885, where he teams up with a ragtag band of youngsters in a quest to solve Skavenger’s elaborate puzzle. From New York to the Mississippi riverboats to the streets of old Paris, Henry and his new friends face off not only against brilliant competing teams, but also Skavenger’s own dark and elusive nemesis: Hiram Doubt.
    Show book
  • Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Tony Bradman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An atmospheric retelling of the story of Macbeth, perfect for fans of Viking Boy and Janina Ramirez. 
     
    One dark and stormy night, two men come across three witches who foretell the future. One man is promised a royal future as king, the other that his son will rule one day. But King Duncan still lives and the path to the throne is unclear. What follows next is murder most foul... 
     
    This atmospheric retelling of William Shakespeare's Macbeth from much-loved author Tony Bradman has haunting black-and-white illustrations by Mark Oldroyd and is a perfect introduction to Shakespeare's classic story. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • Past Perfect Life - cover

    Past Perfect Life

    Elizabeth Eulberg

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An exciting new direction for acclaimed author Elizabeth Eulberg, Past Perfect Life   is a tense and tender read about secrets and lies, reality and   identity, and the ways we put ourselves back together when everything is   broken.  
     
    Small-town Wisconsin high school senior Allison Smith loves her life the way it is--spending quality time with her widowed father and her tight-knit circle of friends, including best friend Marian and maybe-more-than-friends Neil. Sure she is stressed out about college applications . . . who wouldn't be? In a few short months, everything's going to change, big time. 
     
    But when Ally files her applications, they send up a red flag . . . because she's not Allison Smith. And Ally's--make that Amanda's--ordinary life is suddenly blown apart. Was everything before a lie? Who will she be after? And what will she do as now comes crashing down around her? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, this  is the story of one teen's search for herself amid the confusion of a  shattered past and a future far from all she planned.
    Show book