Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Humanity's Mirror - cover

Humanity's Mirror

Tony Tirico

Publisher: Tony Tirico

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

    After a survey probe streaked past a G2 star system at 0.75 c, the system's 0.97 ESI Earth analog was named Nirvana. A subsequent exploration probe revealed extreme seasonal variation and periodic vulcanism since Nirvana's elliptical orbit barely remained within its star's habitable zone. The planet's biology evolved similar to Earth's, but without mammals. Terrestrial animals survived the summer droughts and winter blizzards by hibernating or migrating. Terrestrial plants survived by growing rapidly to store adequate nutrients during the spring and fall. 
    Two thousand years ago, the Human Union colonized this barely habitable world since their enemy, the Dragons, couldn't survive its extreme climate. The colonists were genetically modified using the Change Virus to accelerate their environmental adaptation. Physical, social and economic survival pushed their evolution to its extreme. The Human Union quarantined Nirvana one thousand years ago when the colonists diverged into a collection of specialized subspecies as alien as their world. 
    Humanity's Mirror is about a geneticist who questions restoring his world's aberrant populations to humanity after meeting a woman he believes is more than human.

Other books that might interest you

  • Nomads of Gor - cover

    Nomads of Gor

    John Norman

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Join celebrated tarnsman Tarl Cabot in his latest adventure on the parallel planet of Gor, with its exotic lifestyle and social norms. Tarl has dedicated his life to ensuring that the Priest-Kings survive the harsh lands of Gor, but a savage tribe that closely guards its secrets has halted his quest. To continue it, Tarl must unravel the mysteries of this strange, private band of nomads called the Wagon People at risk of his life.   He is the only man alive who has not trembled in the presence of this mysterious tribe. Now he is embarking on the most perilous adventure of his sojourn on the counter-world of Gor. Will he be accepted by the tribe and learn the secrets they guard with their lives—or will he die trying?   Rediscover this brilliantly imagined world where men are masters and women live to serve their every desire.  Nomads of Gor is the 4th book in the Gorean Saga, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order. 
    Show book
  • Single White Vampire - cover

    Single White Vampire

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 16
    • 0
    “[Sands’s] trademark humor and genuine characters…keep her series fresh and her readers hooked.”—Publishers Weekly The third book in her phenomenal Argeneau vampire series, Single White Vampire by the incomparable Lynsay Sands is an unadulterated delight! This paranormal romance classic follows the romantic adventures of a dark and handsome immortal who writes paranormal romances, and who’d love to sink his teeth into his sexy new editor. When it comes to red hot vampire love stories, New York Times and USA Today bestseller Lynsay Sands is Queen of the Night!
    Show book
  • Dragon Speaker - cover

    Dragon Speaker

    Elana A. Mugdan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Everyone knows this story: an unlikely young hero is chosen by divine providence to save the world from a terrible evil. Except Keriya Nameless is crippled, without the ability to wield magic—in fact, she's the only person who doesn't have powers of her own. The god who chose her is a mysterious dragon with a knack for exploiting loopholes in rules. Oh, and that terrible evil the world needs to be saved from? Maybe it’s not quite as evil as everyone says.As Keriya ventures into the magical realm of Allentria, she learns things aren't black-and-white, and not everything is what it appears to be. Her quest would test the courage of even the bravest hero, and as the chosen Dragon Speaker, she quickly learns she's at the center of an age-old war . . .A war that will decide the fate of everything.
    Show book
  • The Rogue Retrieval - cover

    The Rogue Retrieval

    Dan Koboldt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the tradition of Terry Brooks' Landover series, Piers Anthony Xanth books, and Terry Pratchett's Discword novels, scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval.  
    Sleight of hand…in another land 
    Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. 
    What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real. 
    That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out. 
     
    Show book
  • Born to Bite - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Born to Bite - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 10
    • 0
    “Lynsay Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.” —Katie MacAlister, USA Today Bestselling Author of A Girl’s Guide to VampiresThe Argeneau vampire family is back in Born to Bite by USA Today and New York Times bestseller Lynsay Sands. One of the premier names in contemporary paranormal romance, the incomparable Sands blends steamy passion with mystery, as a sexy, chopper-riding Enforcer investigates a breathtaking immortal whose previous three wives all have had trouble remaining  undead. Are you hooked on Charlaine Harris and her Sookie Stackhouse books? Then Lynsay Sands and Born to Bite are exactly what you’re hungry for.
    Show book
  • The Renegade Hunter - A Rogue Hunter Novel - cover

    The Renegade Hunter - A Rogue...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    Nicholas Argeneau is not your typical rogue hunter in The Renegade Hunter, the latest installment of the Rogue Hunter series from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands. Though he spent centuries targeting vampires who break the immortal laws, for the past 50 years Nicholas has been a rogue himself. But then he saves a beautiful mortal from a terrifying bloodsucker, and everything changes . . .
    Show book