Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Humanity's Mirror - cover

Humanity's Mirror

Tony Tirico

Publisher: Tony Tirico

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

    After a survey probe streaked past a G2 star system at 0.75 c, the system's 0.97 ESI Earth analog was named Nirvana. A subsequent exploration probe revealed extreme seasonal variation and periodic vulcanism since Nirvana's elliptical orbit barely remained within its star's habitable zone. The planet's biology evolved similar to Earth's, but without mammals. Terrestrial animals survived the summer droughts and winter blizzards by hibernating or migrating. Terrestrial plants survived by growing rapidly to store adequate nutrients during the spring and fall. 
    Two thousand years ago, the Human Union colonized this barely habitable world since their enemy, the Dragons, couldn't survive its extreme climate. The colonists were genetically modified using the Change Virus to accelerate their environmental adaptation. Physical, social and economic survival pushed their evolution to its extreme. The Human Union quarantined Nirvana one thousand years ago when the colonists diverged into a collection of specialized subspecies as alien as their world. 
    Humanity's Mirror is about a geneticist who questions restoring his world's aberrant populations to humanity after meeting a woman he believes is more than human.

Other books that might interest you

  • To Kill A Siren - Monster Hunter Tales - cover

    To Kill A Siren - Monster Hunter...

    Shannon McRoberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A love worth fighting for!  
     
    Lexi River had only one job--keep Gareth Blaze out of trouble and on time for his appointments. For the most part, Lexi was able to keep Gareth's nose clean and his name out of the tabloids. Usually any mischief he found himself in was easily taken care of with a few phone calls; until Gareth fell head over heels for a mysterious girl named Genevieve. 
     
    Genevieve was otherworldly and elegant. Lexi hated her from day one. There was something not quite right about her, but Lexi could never figure out what bothered her about Genevieve. Everyone chalked it up to jealousy, until Lexi's worse fears about Genevieve were realized when she causes Gareth to lose his fortune in a business deal gone bad. 
     
    Penniless, both Gareth and Lexi are forced to return to their childhood hometown in Kentucky. It was a place neither one of them wanted to see again, but Lexi was determined to make the best of the situation. Things were finally looking up for the pair. That is until Gareth fell violently ill and Lexi was charged with his attempted murder.  
    Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Patricia Briggs will not want to miss this new series. Scroll up and purchase your copy today!
    Show book
  • Ghost Walking - Soldiers of Fame and Fortune #5 - cover

    Ghost Walking - Soldiers of Fame...

    Michael Anderle, Michael Todd

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    FOOLS DIE IN THE ZOO. THEY DIE FAST AND HORRIBLY. 
    From the fertile imagination of bestselling author Michael Anderle… 
    Holly must deal with two problems simultaneously—a ghost from the ZOO and her friend JB dying. 
    Has Holly learned enough from the stories to trust anyone in the ZOO? 
    Hickok seems trustworthy, but is she?  
    Holly needs more information about what is available and what problems she is facing. Can she whip up something quick and dirty for JB to give her time to find a more permanent solution? 
    Holly is back, but this time she is the person who might be making the stories. 
    Can Holly learn enough about the ZOO to help JB, and will Hickok be willing to go into the ZOO for her? 
    The more she learns, the more her concern intensifies. 
    ARE YOU READY TO ENTER THE ZOO...AGAIN? 
    ---- 
    Join Holly Smith as she learns about the ZOO, how to stay alive, and the opportunities that being a part of the ZOO have brought humanity. 
    The future is looking interesting and humorous, except for the dying part.
    Show book
  • A Lion Among Men - Volume Three in The Wicked Years - cover

    A Lion Among Men - Volume Three...

    Gregory Maguire

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Return to a darker Oz with Gregory Maguire. In A Lion Among Men, the third volume in Maguire’s acclaimed, New York Times bestselling series The Wicked Years, a fuller, more complex Cowardly Lion is brought to life and gets to tell his remarkable tale. It is a story of oppression and fear in a world gone mad with war fever—of Munchkins, Wizards, and Wicked Witches—and especially of a gentle soul and determined survivor who is truly A Lion Among Men.
    Show book
  • Blood is Forever - Lost Nights #1 - cover

    Blood is Forever - Lost Nights #1

    A. Vers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Everyone has nightmares. Mine? I loved him once. 
    Vampire princess, Ana Tridale, is not like other royal darklings. A member of the capital's elite warrior unit, she is a peacekeeper between the humans and all the monsters that live inside it: both good and evil. 
    When Ana's past comes back to haunt her, and she is betrayed by one of her own, everything she knows spins into a whirlwind of chaos. Alone and unsure who to trust, an unexpected tip leads Ana and her team into the capital. But soon the streets run red around them as humans and supernaturals vanish at every turn.  
    Can Ana protect her people from this new threat? Or will the capital's last hope fall prey to what awaits in the dark? 
    *********** 
    The Lost Nights are a dark epic urban fantasy series with a slow burn menage romance.  
    Contains violence, dark themes, and adult situations.  
    May not be suitable for young readers.  
     
    Show book
  • Peace and Turmoil - cover

    Peace and Turmoil

    Elliot Brooks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Thirty years of peace have graced the lands of Abra'am. The waning bloodshed from the War of Fire has ended, and the new generations have only the horrid tales of their forefathers to remind them of their countries' pasts. Poverty no longer prevails, the sights and palms of men have grown soft, yet four nations dictate more power than they know. Civil unrest stirs amongst the first, the heir to the throne of Mesidia and the Guardian to its Dagger questioned by a growing rebellion. To its south lies a country of scholars, the mighty nation of Xenith, liberators of the War of Fire and Guardians of the Amulet. Over the Dividing Wall lives the newly freed Sadie, a kingdom with an assassin for a prince and an insurgence at its heels. The fourth is the ancient realm of Eve, the Land Across the Sea, gifted and cursed with the Sight as it shows them what's to come. 
    
    Only one knows the fate of the world, but all will be pawns in its reckoning. 
    Show book
  • The Queen of Blood - Book One of The Queens of Renthia - cover

    The Queen of Blood - Book One of...

    Sarah Beth Durst

    • 4
    • 3
    • 0
    Winner of a 2017 ALA Alex Award! 
    A Tor.com Best of 2016 pick! 
    Set in the magical world of Renthia, The Queen of Blood is Sarah Beth Durst’s ambitious entry into adult epic fantasy. With the danger of Peter Brett’s The Warded Man, heart of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, and lyricism of Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind, this is the first chapter in a series destined to be a classic. 
    Everything has a spirit: the willow tree with leaves that kiss the pond, the stream that feeds the river, the wind that exhales fresh snow . . . 
    But the spirits that reside within this land want to rid it of all humans. One woman stands between these malevolent spirits and the end of humankind: the queen. She alone has the magical power to prevent the spirits from destroying every man, woman, and child. But queens are still just human, and no matter how strong or good, the threat of danger always looms.  
    With the position so precarious, young women are chosen to train as heirs. Daleina, a seemingly quiet academy student, is under no illusions as to her claim to the throne, but simply wants to right the wrongs that have befallen the land. Ven, a disgraced champion, has spent his exile secretly fighting against the growing number of spirit attacks. Joining forces, these daring partners embark on a treacherous quest to find the source of the spirits’ restlessness—a journey that will test their courage and trust, and force them to stand against both enemies and friends to save their land . . .  before it’s bathed in blood.
    Show book