Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Humanity's Mirror - cover

Humanity's Mirror

Tony Tirico

Publisher: Tony Tirico

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

    After a survey probe streaked past a G2 star system at 0.75 c, the system's 0.97 ESI Earth analog was named Nirvana. A subsequent exploration probe revealed extreme seasonal variation and periodic vulcanism since Nirvana's elliptical orbit barely remained within its star's habitable zone. The planet's biology evolved similar to Earth's, but without mammals. Terrestrial animals survived the summer droughts and winter blizzards by hibernating or migrating. Terrestrial plants survived by growing rapidly to store adequate nutrients during the spring and fall. 
    Two thousand years ago, the Human Union colonized this barely habitable world since their enemy, the Dragons, couldn't survive its extreme climate. The colonists were genetically modified using the Change Virus to accelerate their environmental adaptation. Physical, social and economic survival pushed their evolution to its extreme. The Human Union quarantined Nirvana one thousand years ago when the colonists diverged into a collection of specialized subspecies as alien as their world. 
    Humanity's Mirror is about a geneticist who questions restoring his world's aberrant populations to humanity after meeting a woman he believes is more than human.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Man Walking - A country house murder mystery with a supernatural twist - cover

    Dead Man Walking - A country...

    Simon R. Green

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “Call me Ishmael. Ishmael Jones. I am the man in the shadows, that even the shadows are afraid of. The secret agent whose life is the greatest secret of all. And some of the cases I work are trickier than others.”
    
    A rogue agent has come in from the cold and wants to spill his secrets. The Organisation wants Ishmael to find out if Frank Parker is who he says he is, what he really knows, and why he has emerged from the shadows after all this time. 
    
    Ishmael heads to Ringstone Lodge in Yorkshire where Parker is being held to find that an atmosphere of fear and suspicion prevails. As he and his fellow residents are menaced by a series of alarming and inexplicable incidents, Ishmael sets out to prove that it’s human trickery rather than any supernatural being behind the seemingly ghostly goings-on. But matters take an unexpected turn when one of their number is brutally murdered, and once again Ishmael must turn detective in order to entrap a twisted killer before they strike again.
    Show book
  • The Ledberg Runestone - cover

    The Ledberg Runestone

    Patrick Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of Demon Jack delivers the first novel ina daring Southern urban fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and M.D. Massey.Magic: To some, it’s spectacle. To Jonah, it’s pure profit.A shaman for hire, Jonah can tap into his powers as easily as turning on a light switch, but the real money is in putting on a show. And after putting himself in debt to the Carver brothers, Asheville’s version of a mafia, in order to save his father’s business, he’s in need of some real money. Then a mysterious woman makes Jonah a staggering offer: $20,000—to find and deliver the Ledberg runestone, a legendary artifact of Norse myth. He’s suspicious of the case and the buyer, but when the Carvers threaten Jonah’s father if they don’t get their payment within the month, Jonah starts his investigation. As he explores Asheville’s seedy magical underbelly, Jonah discovers he’s not alone on the hunt. Will Jonah survive long enough to save his father, or will his past of swindling mortals and dodging debt collectors finally catch up with him? “The plot itself is fun . . . We have twists and an exceptional one at the end; but what holds it together is this unique character and the foundations it lays for something truly epic to come.”—Fangs for the Fantasy
    Show book
  • Timeless - A Drizzt Novel - cover

    Timeless - A Drizzt Novel

    R. A. Salvatore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times and USA Today Bestseller! 
    R. A. Salvatore returns with one of fantasy's most beloved and enduring icons, the dark elf Drizzt Do'Urden, in an all-new trilogy full of swordplay, danger, and imaginative thrills. 
    Centuries ago, in the city of Menzoberranzan, the City of Spiders, the City of Drow, nestled deep in the unmerciful Underdark of Toril, a young weapon master earned a reputation far above his station or that of his poor house. 
    The greater nobles watched him, and one matron, in particular, decided to take him as her own. She connived with rival great houses to secure her prize, but that prize was caught for her by another, who came to quite enjoy the weapon master. 
    This was the beginning of the friendship between Zaknafein and Jarlaxle, and the coupling of Matron Malice and the weapon master who would sire Drizzt Do’Urden. 
    R. A. Salvatore reveals the Underdark anew through the eyes of Zaknafein and Jarlaxle—an introduction to the darkness that offers a fresh view of the opportunities to be found in the shadows and an intriguing prelude to the intriguing escapes that lie ahead in the modern-day Forgotten Realms. Here, a father and his son are reunited and embark on adventures that parallel the trials of centuries long past as the friends of old are joined by Drizzt, Hero of the North, trained by Grandmaster Kane in the ways of the monk. 
    But the scourge of the dangerous Lolth’s ambitions remain, and demons have been foisted on the unwitting of the surface. The resulting chaos and war will prove to be the greatest challenge for all three.
    Show book
  • Chilling Effect - A Novel - cover

    Chilling Effect - A Novel

    Valerie Valdes

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    “Jam-packed with weird aliens, mysterious artifacts, and lovable characters... a tremendous good time and an impressive debut.” -- Kirkus Reviews (starred) 
    A hilarious, offbeat debut space opera that skewers everything from pop culture to video games and features an irresistible foul-mouthed captain and her motley crew, strange life forms, exciting twists, and a galaxy full of fun and adventure. 
     
    Captain Eva Innocente and the crew of La Sirena Negra cruise the galaxy delivering small cargo for even smaller profits. When her sister Mari is kidnapped by The Fridge, a shadowy syndicate that holds people hostage in cryostasis, Eva must undergo a series of unpleasant, dangerous missions to pay the ransom. 
    But Eva may lose her mind before she can raise the money. The ship’s hold is full of psychic cats, an amorous fish-faced emperor wants her dead after she rejects his advances, and her sweet engineer is giving her a pesky case of feelings. The worse things get, the more she lies, raising suspicions and testing her loyalty to her found family. 
    To free her sister, Eva will risk everything: her crew, her ship, and the life she’s built on the ashes of her past misdeeds. But when the dominoes start to fall and she finds the real threat is greater than she imagined, she must decide whether to play it cool or burn it all down.
    Show book
  • Blood & Darkness Box Set - cover

    Blood & Darkness Box Set

    Melissa Sercia

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Now in one ebook volume: Blood and Magic, Flesh and Bone, Gods and Demons, and a bonus preview of Smoke and Ritual, the first Beautiful Dark Beasts book.   Enter the paranormal Underworld with the Dhampir Gray as your guide . . .  Blood and Magic (Book 1)  With supernatural powers and an insatiable need for blood, her existence is cursed.    After four hundred years, Gray, a reluctant Dhampir, still yearns for her humanity—and vengeance against those who stole it from her. To stop the Consilium from doing this to anyone else, she must wield a power she swore never to use—blood magic.  Flesh and Bone (Book 2)  With the dark power rising within her, she risks losing everything.   When Gray’s partner Aldric mysteriously disappears, she seeks allies in the Hall of Secrets. During her search, she discovers a mysterious cult, an ancient curse, and a family secret that is darker than she could ever imagine . . .  Gods and Demons (Book 3)  Will Gray send the demons back to the Underworld or watch her world burn to the ground?   Demons have escaped the Underworld and descended upon New Orleans. Gray tries to unite the covens as they gear up for the fight of their lives. But when one of her closest allies abandons her, Gray is forced to make a life altering choice that threatens everyone she loves . . .  Series praise   “Keeps you on the edge of your seat . . . action packed and full of emotional depth.”—Sydney Ashcroft, coauthor of Chasing Destiny   “Rich world building and [a] unique interpretation of gothic literature.”—Samantha Huewagen, author of the Starless Series
    Show book
  • City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story - cover

    City of Wishes: The Complete...

    Rachel Morgan

    • 8
    • 61
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: A human slave, a fae prince, and a Godmother who’ll grant any wish—if you pay the price.
     
     
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where magic is real and wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is on society's bottommost rung: she's human.
     
    To make matters worse, she's also a slave, bound to her stepmother by magic.
     
    Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it.
     
    But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep.
     
    Elle has never been desperate enough to summon her.
     
    Until now.
     
     
     
    This collection includes all 6 episodes in the CITY OF WISHES Cinderella retelling:
     
    1. The Memory Thief
     
    2. The Vampire Trap
     
    3. The Moonlight Masquerade
     
    4. The Eternal Night
     
    5. The Starlight Quest
     
    6. The Everafter Wish
    Show book