Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Positive Deviant: A Mindguard Novella - The Mindguard Saga #0 - cover

The Positive Deviant: A Mindguard Novella - The Mindguard Saga #0

Andrei Cherascu

Publisher: Andrei Cherascu

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In the booming metropolis of New Tokyo, a high-ranking business executive is tasked with transporting valuable company data in the form of an information package stored inside his mind. Fearing an attack from one of the Federation’s oldest criminal organizations, the corporation entrusts his safety to the Ayers-Ross Thoughtprotection Agency. 
 
For Sheldon Ayers, a veteran telepath and Mindguard, the mission starts like any other. When his team is attacked in the high-speed transportation network below the city, Sheldon must once again use his legendary skills and experience to protect his client’s mind. But this time, he finds himself facing an enemy who seems to be able to predict his every move. 
 
Fighting to adapt to an unprecedented situation, Sheldon suspects that behind the attack lies an unlikely adversary – someone even he couldn’t have prepared for, someone with ties to Sheldon’s past. 
The Positive Deviant is a standalone prequel to The Mind Malignancy, a series of dark science fiction thrillers.

Other books that might interest you

  • Death in Profile - cover

    Death in Profile

    Guy Fraser-Sampson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The genteel façade of London’s Hampstead is shattered by a series of terrifying murders, and the ensuing police hunt is threatened by internal politics, and a burgeoning love triangle within the investigative team. Pressurised by senior officers desperate for a result a new initiative is clearly needed, but what?
     
     
     
    Intellectual analysis and police procedure vie with the gut instinct of ‘copper’s nose’, and help appears to offer itself from a very unlikely source – a famous fictional detective. A psychological profile of the murderer allows the police to narrow down their search, but will Scotland Yard lose patience with the team before they can crack the case?
     
    Praised by fellow authors and readers alike, this is a truly original crime story, speaking to a contemporary audience yet harking back to the Golden Age of detective fiction. Intelligent, quirky and mannered, it has been described as ‘a love letter to the detective novel’. Above it all hovers Hampstead, a magical village evoking the elegance of an earlier time, and the spirit of mystery-solving detectives.
     
     
     
    Guy Fraser-Sampson is an established writer best known for his series of ‘Mapp and Lucia’ novels which have been featured on BBC Radio 4 and optioned by BBC television. This is his debut work of detective fiction, and the first title in the Hampstead Murders series.
    Show book
  • Blood Stones - cover

    Blood Stones

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The diamond industry explodes in anarchy when a cache of rare gems is discovered in Russia in this intellectual thriller At London’s Diamond Enterprises, a major crisis is brewing: In the tundra of northern Russia, a newly discovered mine is producing a cache of flawless, five-carat red diamonds. These dazzling “blood stones” are beyond price, and powerful jeweler Ivan Karakov is about to sign an exclusive contract with Moscow to sell the gems. He must be stopped before he destabilizes the market and sends the industry plunging into free fall.   With the future of Diamond Enterprises at risk, its employees start scrambling for power. Young, ambitious James Hastings—whose beautiful wife, Elizabeth, is his most powerful asset as well as his most dangerous weakness—is sent to Russia to negotiate with Karakov. Chairman Julius Heyderman, haunted by his tragic past and troubled daughter, returns from South Africa to deal with longtime adversary Arthur Harris. Reece, trapped in a relationship he can’t control, is universally hated by all at DE, while Ray Andrews seeks redemption for a terrible mistake and Ruth Fraser sleeps her way to the top in hopes of becoming DE’s first female leader.   A riveting tale of greed, betrayal, and industrial espionage, Blood Stones reveals how much people are willing to sacrifice for money.  
    Show book
  • The Killing Edge - cover

    The Killing Edge

    Richard Forrest

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A female racecar driver gets wrapped up in an ice skater’s gruesome murder in this page-turning thriller. Mauve Bridger is climbing out of the frozen lake when the ice breaks beneath her and she falls into the water. She hauls herself back onto the ladder, but someone pushes her back down. She swims blindly through the icy depths, finally escaping to the far side of the lake, but the killers are waiting for her there. They take her back to her house, kneel on her chest, and cut her throat with her own skates.   First on the scene is L. C. Converse, a former racecar driver turned mechanic who happens to be on a date with the detective who catches Mauve’s case. L. C. witnessed her father’s murder five years ago, so finding Mauve on the floor brings back grisly memories—and this won’t be the last death. This quiet Connecticut town has been marked by murder, and to escape it, L. C. will have to race faster than she ever has before.   L. C. is a classic Richard Forrest hero: an ordinary woman in a deadly situation that spirals out of control. Forrest was an expert at writing realistic emotional thrillers, and The Killing Edge shows him at his best.
    Show book
  • Cause to Run (An Avery Black Mystery—Book 2) - cover

    Cause to Run (An Avery Black...

    Blake Pierce

    • 1
    • 56
    • 0
    “A dynamic story line that grips from the first chapter and doesn't let go.” 
    --Midwest Book Review, Diane Donovan (regarding Once Gone) 
    
    From #1 bestselling mystery author Blake Pierce comes a new masterpiece of psychological suspense. 
    
    In CAUSE TO RUN (An Avery Black Mystery—Book 2), a new serial killer is stalking Boston, killing his victims in bizarre ways, taunting the police with mysterious puzzles that reference the stars. As the stakes are upped and the pressure is on, the Boston Police Department is forced to call in its most brilliant—and most controversial—homicide detective: Avery Black.
    
    Avery, still reeling from her last case, finds herself up against a rival precinct and a brilliant, cunning killer who is always one step ahead of her. She is forced to enter his dark, twisted mind as he lays clues for his next killing, and forced to look into places in her own mind she would rather not go. She finds herself compelled to seek the counsel of Howard Randall, the twisted serial killer she’d put behind bars years ago, all while her new burgeoning life with Rose and Ramirez is falling apart.
    
    And just as things cannot get any worse, she finds out something else: she herself may be the target.
    
    In a game of psychological cat and mouse, a frantic race against time leads Avery through a series of shocking and unexpected twists—culminating in climax that even Avery could not imagine. 
    
    A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, CAUSE TO RUN is book #2 of a riveting new series—with a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #3 in the Avery Black series will be available soon. 
    
    “A masterpiece of thriller and mystery. Pierce did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side, so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. The plot is very intelligent and will keep you entertained throughout the book. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page.” 
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone)
    Show book
  • Murder At Medley Park - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery #4 - cover

    Murder At Medley Park - A...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK is Book 4 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series. What happens when clever young sleuth Miss Juliette Abbott accepts an assignment to catalogue the precious artifacts belonging to the wealthy Lord and Lady Medley at their country estate? First, a stable lad is found murdered, and soon thereafter Lady Medley's entire collection of valuable jewels is discovered missing! Following yet another murder, Juliette is drawn into the mystery when it's noted that she was the last person to see the deceased alive and an item belonging to that person is found in her bedchamber! 
    Juliette has no choice now but to clear her name. Among the suspects on her list include the attractive housekeeper, a prim governess who quotes the Bible while correcting everyone's behavior, a pair of handsome young gentlemen twins, a visiting cousin who has no proof that she truly is a cousin and two meddlesome children who chase kittens. 
    When Juliette receives an ominous threat on her life, she knows time is running out. Can she expose the killer, or will she find her neck in a noose as payment for both the theft and murders at Medley Park? 
    In the tradition of Stephanie Barron and Jane Austen, Marilyn Clay's Regency mystery novels contain no strong language or violence and are suitable for teen readers. 
    If you enjoy the Regency mystery novels of Ashley Gardner, Stephanie Barron, Sheri Cobb South, Alyssa Maxwell, Adele Clee, and Heidi Ashworth, you'll enjoy Marilyn Clay's traditional, clean, and always amusing Regency-set mysteries. 
    Other titles in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series are MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, MURDER IN MAYFAIR, and MURDER AT MARGATE. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written numerous Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity's Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza's Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    Look for all of Marilyn Clay's historical suspense novels available from major online retailers!
    Show book
  • My Maggie Valentine - Maggie MacKay: Holiday Special #3 - cover

    My Maggie Valentine - Maggie...

    Kate Danley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Valentine's Day is terrible.  Especially when you're Maggie MacKay and tasked with chaperoning the local high school Valentine's dance.  Join Maggie and Killian on a holiday, short story adventure.  Sometimes you wrestle with demons.  And sometimes they just want to cuddle...
    Show book