Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
The Crawling Death - Two-Fisted Todd Adventures #1 - cover

The Crawling Death - Two-Fisted Todd Adventures #1

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

1966: Freelance troubleshooter Todd Donovan is hired to locate Dr. Pat Turner, a biologist who has gone missing in the South American jungle. It seems like an easy job at first, but then Todd finds himself staring into the barrel of a gun. 
Captured and taken to the jungle compound of the drug lord Durango, Todd finally meets up with Dr. Turner, who turns out to be not just a beautiful woman, but also Durango's prisoner. 
Durango is not the sort of man to leave potential witnesses alive. And so Todd and Dr. Pat Turner are soon facing a painful end in Durango's pit of crawling death… 
This is a short adventure story of approx. 5500 words or 20 pages in the style of the men's adventure pulps of the 1960s.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cold Mourning - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Cold Mourning - A Stonechild and...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nominated for the 2015 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel 
     
    
    
    When murder stalks a family over Christmas, Kala Stonechild trusts her intuition to get results. 
     
    
    
    It’s a week before Christmas when wealthy businessman Tom Underwood disappears into thin air — with more than enough people wanting him dead.  
     
     New police recruit Kala Stonechild, who has left her northern Ontario detachment to join a specialized Ottawa crime unit, is tasked with returning Underwood home in time for the holidays. Stonechild, who is from a First Nations reserve, is a lone wolf who is used to surviving on her wits. Her new boss, Detective Jacques Rouleau, has his hands full controlling her, his team, and an investigation that keeps threatening to go off track.  
     
     
    Old betrayals and complicated family relationships brutally collide when love turns to hate and murder stalks a family.
    Show book
  • EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #4 - cover

    EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    "Do yourself a favor and jump in the middle of these amazing books. You won't be able to put them down until the final page."—Fresh Fiction 
    Lawyer Kate Lange has survived some terrible things. And it has changed her. What scares her is that it may not be for the better. 
    Determined to take charge of her career and make sense of her life, she embarks on a bold plan—she will leave private practice and become a Crown Prosecutor. But she soon discovers that she must learn the ropes as a criminal defense lawyer to achieve her goal. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to... the accused? 
    Joining forces with Eddie Bent, a recovering alcoholic and top criminal defense lawyer, Kate takes on the case of a young woman shot while committing a puzzling crime. The shooter is none other than golden boy Member of Parliament Harry Owen.  Just months before, he had refused Kate’s plea for compassion for a dying client. And now he is both victim—and shooter—of her new client. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to… us all? 
    While Kate races to piece together the case, the lines between innocence and guilt become blurred as an online vigilante forum seeks its own brand of justice—and a devious cyber mastermind puts the final touches on an explosive plan. 
    "Intertwined in the storyline are devious cyber plots to rival anything ripped from today's political nightmares. Who is behind what plot? Can these disasters be averted? Can any illegal activity ever be for the public good? ... Although this was read as a standalone, I really want to read the first three volumes. I HIGHLY recommend this book."–Book Review Crew  
    Set in a 36-hour time period, EXPLOITED is an edge-of-the-seat thriller for fans of John Grisham, James Patterson and Lisa Scottoline. 
    The series has sold over three hundred thousand copies and is now under option for television development. 
     
     
    Praise for the novels of Pamela Callow: 
     
    "Pamela Callow's debut thriller Damaged reminded me of the best of Robin Cook: lightning paced, innovative, topical...and most of all, frightening. Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages until the wee hours of the morning." 
    — James Rollins, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    "...this debut novel by a member of the Nova Scotia bar is one utterly complete, complex and convincing book that has one hooked from the first line...While the mystery may be medical with sophisticated and high technology required to improve lives, it’s dark and dangerously suspenseful..." 
    — Atlantic Books Today on Damaged 
     
    "Indefensible is a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller…” 
    —Omnimystery 
     
    "Lawyer Kate Lange is back with another case that will test her courtroom skills, judgment and nerves. The suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing. The insidious villain destroys a life, a reputation and a family, all as part of a chilling plan." 
    —RT Book Reviews on Indefensible, 4.5 stars out of 4.5 stars 
     
    “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; Tattooed has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.”  
    —The Eclectic Reader  
     
    Show book
  • Awful Secret The - cover

    Awful Secret The

    Bernard Knight

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Crowner John medieval mystery set in 12th century Devon, EnglandGilbert de Rideford is a Knight of the Temple of Solomon, and an old acquaintance from Crowner John's crusading days. He claims to have come into possession of a secret that could shake Christendom to its foundations - and he desperately needs John's help to escape from the secretive order of warrior monks. Suddenly swept into a world of religious intrigue and dangerous politics, Crowner John finds himself undertaking a life-threatening mission to the Island of Lundy - inhabited solely by notorious pirates - until finally the awful secret itself is revealed.
    Show book
  • Too Good to Be True: Shetland Mystery - cover

    Too Good to Be True: Shetland...

    Ann Cleeves

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    An interesting quick novella of about 100 pages.
    
    Jimmy Perez, detective, receives a request from his ex-wife, Sarah. She asks him to leave his base on Shetland Island, and privately investigate a personal case which is making her distraught.
    
    Sarah has married a doctor in a small village on the mainland of Scotland. A young unmarried school teacher has been found dead, and the local police have concluded she committed suicide. Local gossips
    are spreading the word that Sarah's husband was having an affair with the teacher and may have murdered her.
    
    Perez doesn't want to be away from his regular job and daughter for more than two days. He walks around the village questioning various people and neatly solves the case within that time.
    Show book
  • The Whisper of Legends - An Inspector Green Mystery - cover

    The Whisper of Legends - An...

    Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An empty canoe washes up on the shore of the Nahanni River — has the river claimed four more lives?  
     
    When his teenage daughter goes missing on a summer wilderness canoe trip to the Nahanni River, Inspector Michael Green is forced into unfamiliar territory. Unable to mobilize the local RCMP, he enlists the help of his long-time friend, Staff Sergeant Brian Sullivan, to accompany him to the Northwest Territories to look for themselves. 
    Green is terrified. The park has 30,000 square kilometres of wilderness and 600 grizzlies. Even worse, Green soon discovers his daughter lied to him. The trip was organized not by a reputable tour company but by her new boyfriend, Scott, a graduate geology student. When clues about Scott’s past begin to drift in, Green, Sullivan, and two guides head into the wilderness. After the body of one of the group turns up at the bottom of a cliff, they begin to realize just what is at stake.
    Show book
  • TATTOOED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #3 - cover

    TATTOOED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The discovery of a bog body could crack a cold case that has haunted the city – and unravel the darkest secrets of Kate’s oldest foe in the third installment of the bestselling Kate Lange thriller series. For fans of John Grisham, Tess Gerritsen and James Patterson. 
    She is obsessed with tattoos.   
    He is obsessed with her. 
    When a body is found on the outskirts of Halifax, rumors run wild about the victim’s identity. But tattoo artist Kenzie Sloane knows exactly who she is. They share a tattoo… and a decade-old secret. 
    Lawyer Kate Lange remembers Kenzie Sloane. The former wild child was part of the same crowd that attracted her little sister, Imogen, before her death. Now Kenzie needs her help. And Kate needs answers. 
    But there are others who know about the tattoo and its history. And one of them is watching Kenzie’s every move, waiting for the perfect moment to fulfill a dark promise that had been inked in her skin. 
    “… there is no shortage of drama and suspense to keep readers on the hook right through to the heart-pounding finale.” —Chronicle Herald 
    “The story is suspenseful and well-plotted, and the characters — even the villains —are intriguing and multidimensional.” —RT Book Reviews 
     “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; TATTOOED has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.” —The Eclectic Reader 
    Book 3 of the Kate Lange Thriller Series 
    364 pages
    Show book