Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Crawling Death - Two-Fisted Todd Adventures #1 - cover

The Crawling Death - Two-Fisted Todd Adventures #1

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

1966: Freelance troubleshooter Todd Donovan is hired to locate Dr. Pat Turner, a biologist who has gone missing in the South American jungle. It seems like an easy job at first, but then Todd finds himself staring into the barrel of a gun. 
Captured and taken to the jungle compound of the drug lord Durango, Todd finally meets up with Dr. Turner, who turns out to be not just a beautiful woman, but also Durango's prisoner. 
Durango is not the sort of man to leave potential witnesses alive. And so Todd and Dr. Pat Turner are soon facing a painful end in Durango's pit of crawling death… 
This is a short adventure story of approx. 5500 words or 20 pages in the style of the men's adventure pulps of the 1960s.

Other books that might interest you

  • Taking the Fifth - cover

    Taking the Fifth

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “J.A. Jance does not disappoint.”—Washington Times The Chattanooga Times calls New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance, “One of the best—if not the best,” and this classic suspense masterwork featuring Seattle investigator J.P. Beaumont emphatically proves the point. In Taking the Fifth, a gruesome and very unusual murder plunges the intrepid Beau into a lethal cinematic nightmare. Michigan’s Flint Journal places Jance “in the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell.” Taking the Fifth, now in a Premium Plus edition, is an ideal opportunity for fans of the author’s Sheriff Joanna Brady books to discover another side to the incomparable J.A. Jance.
    Show book
  • Ring In the Dead - A J P Beaumont Novella - cover

    Ring In the Dead - A J P...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    J. P. Beaumont may be an old homicide hand now, but back when he was a rookie working with his first partner, Milton Gurkey—a.k.a. Pickles—things took a turn for the worse . . . 
    One day, at the end of Beaumont and Pickles's shift, a stop at the Doghouse restaurant quickly turns deadly. Not feeling well, Pickles steps out into the parking lot for a breath of fresh air and stumbles into a crime in progress. Suffering from a heart attack, he is found unconscious, with a dead woman on the ground nearby and the murder weapon in his hand. 
    With Pickles under investigation from Internal Affairs, it's up to the new kid on the block, J. P. Beaumont, and his friends on the force to find out the truth.
    Show book
  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • Under the Ice - The unputdownable thriller for spring 2019 - cover

    Under the Ice - The...

    Rachael Blok

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    'Twisty, atmospheric and haunting ... I devoured this thriller in one tense sitting' ERIN KELLY.  
     
    It is the week before Christmas and the cathedral city of St Albans is blanketed by snow. But beneath the festive lights, darkness is stirring. The frozen body of a young girl is discovered by the ice-covered lake. 
     
    The police scramble for clues. A local woman, Jenny, has had visions of what happened the night of the murder. But Jenny is an exhausted new mother, whose midnight wanderings pull her ever closer to the lake. Can Jenny be trusted? What does she really know? 
     
    Then another girl goes missing, and the community unravels. Neighbour turns against neighbour, and Jenny has no idea who to believe. As Christmas Eve approaches, Jenny discovers a secret about her past – and why she could be key to everything... 
     
    PRAISE FOR UNDER THE ICE: 
     
    'Twisty, atmospheric and haunting ... I devoured this thriller in one tense sitting' Erin Kelly. 
     
    'An outstanding debut, so atmospheric it made me literally shiver' Angela Clarke. 
     
    'A fantastically evocative book that twists you expertly up in the world of its vivid characters, making you feel the unfolding plot blow by blow' Gytha Lodge. 
     
    'Packed with atmosphere, suspense and a cold that chills the heart. Under the Ice announces Rachael Blok as an exciting new voice in crime fiction' Lesley Thomson. 
     
    'A lyrical, haunting thriller that's impossible to put down ... Under the Ice will get under your skin' J.S. Monroe.
    Show book
  • The Alice Network - A Novel - cover

    The Alice Network - A Novel

    Kate Quinn

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS 
      
    NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER 
    #1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER 
    One of NPR's Best Books of the Year! 
    One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year! 
    Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick! 
    The Girly Book Club Book of the Year! 
    A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub 
      
    In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.  
    1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister. 
    1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.  
    Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads. 
    “Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter
    Show book
  • Trial By Fury - cover

    Trial By Fury

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The dead body discovered in a Seattle dumpster was shocking enough—but equally disturbing was the manner of death. The victim, a high school coach, had been lynched, leaving behind a very pregnant wife to grieve over his passing, and to wonder what dark secrets he took to his grave. A Homicide detective with twenty years on the job, J.P. Beaumont knows this case is a powder keg and he fears where this investigation will lead him. Because the answers lie on the extreme lethal edge of passion and hate, where the wrong kind of love can breed the most terrible brand of justice.
    Show book