Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Flood: The Dangerous Exploits of Three Girls a Cat and a Boat - The Elizabeth Books - cover

The Flood: The Dangerous Exploits of Three Girls a Cat and a Boat - The Elizabeth Books

Wendy Bartlett

Publisher: Wendy Bartlett Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When eleven-year-old Elizabeth's parents don't cWhen eleven-year-old Elizabeth is left to babysit her four-year-old sister one rainy night, neither of them expect the adventure that unfolds. Their parents don't return home, and by morning there is a flood that fills the first floor of their house. Elizabeth must take initiative and make an agonizing decision: whether to stay put where her parents might find them, or to be brave and leave home to go in search of their parents. Dangers loom in either scenario. Then Elizabeth and her sister Amanda rescue a neighbor, seven-year-old Maya, and her cat.  In this adventure for girls, the three lost children and the cat together set out in a little red boat, looking for their mothers and fathers. As they struggle to survive the flood waters, find food, and make their way among the ruins left behind by the rising tides, the quest forces Elizabeth to rise to new levels of courage, bravery, and resourcefulness she didn't know she had. But will they find their families before it's too late?

Other books that might interest you

  • Variant - cover

    Variant

    Robison Wells

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Benson Fisher thought that a scholarship to Maxfield Academy would be the ticket out of his dead-end life.  
    He was wrong.  
    Now he’s trapped in a school that’s surrounded by a razor-wire fence. A school where video cameras monitor his every move. Where there are no adults. Where the kids have split into groups in order to survive. 
    Where breaking the rules equals death. 
    But when Benson stumbles upon the school’s real secret, he realizes that playing by the rules could spell a fate worse than death, and that escape—his only real hope for survival—may be impossible.
    Show book
  • The Ecstasy of Being - Mythology and Dance - cover

    The Ecstasy of Being - Mythology...

    Joseph Campbell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Joseph Campbell’s collected writings on dance and art, edited and introduced by Nancy Allison, CMA, the founder of Jean Erdman Dance, and including Campbell’s unpublished manuscript “Mythology and Form in the Performing and Visual Arts,” the book he was working on when he died.
     
    Dance was one of mythologist Joseph Campbell’s wide-ranging passions. His wife, Jean Erdman, was a leading figure in modern dance who worked with Martha Graham and had Merce Cunningham in her first company. When Campbell retired from teaching in 1972, he and Erdman formed the Theater of the Open Eye, where for nearly fifteen years they presented a wide array of dance and theater productions, lectures, and performance pieces.
     
    The Ecstasy of Being brings together seven of Campbell’s previously uncollected articles on dance, along with “Mythology and Form in the Performing and Visual Arts,” the treatise that he was working on when he died, published here for the first time.
     
    In this new collection Campbell explores the rise of modern art and dance in the twentieth century; delves into the work and philosophy of Isadora Duncan, Martha Graham, and others; and, as always, probes the idea of art as “the funnel through which spirit is poured into life.” This book offers the reader an accessible, yet profound and provocative, insight into Campbell’s lifelong fascination with the relationship of myth to aesthetic form and human psychology.
     
    Reviews:
     
    “Unusual insights . . . with a great deal of new information. [Campbell’s] writing reveals deep knowledge of dance and aesthetics, and clarity of thought. There are also excellent notes related to both Parts I and II at the end of the book, and these add to the reader’s understanding of the various issues and artists under discussion. Readers will find a great deal to think about in this small collection of Campbell’s work, and the book will also serve as an introduction to the thoughts of an important American writer — one who influenced many with his teaching, ideas, and books.”— Journal of Dance Education
    Show book
  • The Truest Heart - cover

    The Truest Heart

    E.D. Baker

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Born to be a tooth fairy, Cory Feathering has been busy proving there's another life meant for her -- one of matchmaking! She's already helped Marjorie Muffet and Goldilocks find true love, and now it's Mary Lambkin's turn. When Cory has a vision of Mary with one particular boy, Cory knows exactly what to do. 
     
    But it's Cory's own personal life that needs help. The Fairy Guilds are constantly hounding her, furious that she's abandoned the guild she was born into in favor of choosing her own path. They won't stop until justice has been served. As Cory prepares to fight for what she believes in, she must decide once and for all if she's prepared to take on the responsibility of her biggest role yet, one that will change her destiny forever. 
     
    This fun and joyful third book in E. D. Baker's Fairy-Tale Matchmaker series is perfect for fans of fairytale retellings!
    Show book
  • The Selection - cover

    The Selection

    Kiera Cass

    • 25
    • 197
    • 0
    Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. 
    This ebook edition contains an excerpt of Kiera Cass's newest novel, The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike! 
     
    Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. 
    Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Spotlight - cover

    Spotlight

    Melody Carlson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Feeling the heat. On the Runway has become a global phenomenon, and when Paige and Erin Forrester take their reality show to London, they get a reception to remember. Bombarded by crazed fans and the flashbulbs and interrogations of the infamous British paparazzi, the sisters know that their lives have changed—big time. Star treatment has its perks, but the girls quickly learn just how scorching life in the limelight can be. Before long, the sisters are stretched close to a breaking point. With zealous paparazzi poised to take advantage of even the slightest whiff of a scandal, the stakes have never been higher.
    Show book
  • Butterfly Wishes 2: Tiger Streak's Tale - cover

    Butterfly Wishes 2: Tiger...

    Jennifer Castle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sisters Addie and Clara have just moved to a new house where they discover that their backyard is a gateway to an enchanted realm of magical butterflies. These special butterflies--called Wishing Wings--have the power to make wishes come true! 
     
    A new butterfly named Tiger Streak has just emerged, but something isn't right. She's under a curse that has her confused--she thinks she's a bee because of her beautifully striped wings! Now, only Addie and Clara can help her break the spell. But they have to do it before the day is over or she'll lose her magic forever. 
     
    Perfect for fans of Princess Ponies, this magical chapter book series is a wish come true!
    Show book