Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Flood: The Dangerous Exploits of Three Girls a Cat and a Boat - The Elizabeth Books - cover

The Flood: The Dangerous Exploits of Three Girls a Cat and a Boat - The Elizabeth Books

Wendy Bartlett

Publisher: Wendy Bartlett Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When eleven-year-old Elizabeth's parents don't cWhen eleven-year-old Elizabeth is left to babysit her four-year-old sister one rainy night, neither of them expect the adventure that unfolds. Their parents don't return home, and by morning there is a flood that fills the first floor of their house. Elizabeth must take initiative and make an agonizing decision: whether to stay put where her parents might find them, or to be brave and leave home to go in search of their parents. Dangers loom in either scenario. Then Elizabeth and her sister Amanda rescue a neighbor, seven-year-old Maya, and her cat.  In this adventure for girls, the three lost children and the cat together set out in a little red boat, looking for their mothers and fathers. As they struggle to survive the flood waters, find food, and make their way among the ruins left behind by the rising tides, the quest forces Elizabeth to rise to new levels of courage, bravery, and resourcefulness she didn't know she had. But will they find their families before it's too late?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Selection - cover

    The Selection

    Kiera Cass

    • 27
    • 211
    • 0
    Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. 
    This ebook edition contains an excerpt of Kiera Cass's newest novel, The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike! 
     
    Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. 
    Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Septimus Heap: The Darke Toad - cover

    Septimus Heap: The Darke Toad

    Angie Sage

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    Fans of Angie Sage's internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series will be delighted with this digital original addition: The Darke Toad, a 96-page novella packed with action, humor, and magic! 
    New York Times Bestselling Series 
    “A fresh take on the world of magic.”—Child magazine 
    DomDaniel returns in a hilarious escapade with the witches of the Port Witch Coven. In this tale that takes place between the stories told in Magyk and Flyte, the witches want DomDaniel's powerful Darke Toad—and will go to ridiculous lengths to get their hands on it. But first, Simon Heap must get his master to the Port Witch Coven's door, which may require a bit more Darke Magyk—and a much stronger stomach—than he bargained for. Is Simon up to the task? 
    Meanwhile, ExtraOrdinary Wizard Marcia Overstrand has taken her young Apprentice, Septimus Heap, on a field trip to the Port. But what Marcia had hoped would be a fun yet educational outing quickly turns chaotic, for it slipped Marcia's mind that tonight is Hallowseeth—the perfect night for Darke mischief to go unnoticed among the revelers. 
    With Angie Sage's characteristic humor, beloved characters, and Magykal setting, Septimus Heap: The Darke Toad is a must-read for every Septimus fan.
    Show book
  • Little House in the Big Woods - cover

    Little House in the Big Woods

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    The first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s treasured Little House series—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    This beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family begins in 1871 in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their dog, Jack. Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, but it is also exciting as they celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night Laura and her family are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa’s fiddle to send them off to sleep. 
    The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura’s own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America’s frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
    Show book
  • The Assassin's Blade - The Throne of Glass Novellas - cover

    The Assassin's Blade - The...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 23
    • 0
    Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom's most feared assassin. Though she  works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin's Guild, Celaena yields to  no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam. 
     
    When  Celaena's scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions  that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself  acting independently of his wishes-and questioning her own allegiance.  Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that  she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying  Arobynn's orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by  her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they  hope to escape Arobynn's clutches-and if they fail, they'll lose not  just a chance at freedom, but their lives . . . 
     
    A prequel to  Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers readers a  deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her  enthralling-and deadly-world. 
     
    Included in this volume: 
      The Assassin and the Pirate Lord 
      The Assassin and the Healer 
      The Assassin and the Desert 
      The Assassin and the Underworld 
      The Assassin and the Empire
    Show book
  • The Keepers #2: The Harp and the Ravenvine - cover

    The Keepers #2: The Harp and the...

    Ted Sanders

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Horace F. Andrews and his friend Chloe are Keepers of magical objects of extraordinary power.  But as the presence of a new Keeper is made known, they are drawn into a struggle to find out who she is and where her loyalties lie. A gripping sequel to The Box and the Dragonfly, the first book in Ted Sanders’s Keepers series, hailed by the New York Times Book Review as a “satisfying and original quest tale.”  
    As Horace and Chloe adjust to their newfound talents—Horace can see the future and Chloe can walk through walls—a girl called April is drawn toward the Keeper stronghold, the Warren. She comes with a Tan’ji of her own, though it is damaged and there is no telling what will happen if it cannot be made whole again. Accompanied by a mysterious woman with a power of her own and the young boy leading them in the right direction, April is being pursued by a pack of sinister hunters. Will she reach the Warren in time, and will it offer safety or only more danger? 
    Ted Sanders’s series has the feel of classic fantasy with a science fiction twist, and this second book, The Harp and the Ravenvine, will thrill readers with adventure, intrigue, and the unexpected at every turn.
    Show book
  • Fridays with the Wizards - cover

    Fridays with the Wizards

    Jessica Day George

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    The fourth book  in the New York Times bestselling series by Jessica Day George, where a dangerous wizard threatens to destroy Castle Glower for good . . .  
     
    Fridays  at Castle Glower are about to get interesting! With newborn griffins  hatching left and right, new Castle passageways to explore, and an  out-of-the-blue wedding to plan, life is as exciting as ever for Celie,  Lilah, and Rolf. But when the dangerous, ancient wizard Arkwright  escapes from the dungeon, no one can rest until he is found. Celie has  an idea of where he may be hiding, but the only way to stop him could be  to erase parts of the Castle for good. With danger lurking behind every  tapestry and under every trapdoor, can Celie outsmart Arkwright fast  enough to save her family and Castle Glower? 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book