Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Girl Called Nine - The Sentinel Series #1 - cover

A Girl Called Nine - The Sentinel Series #1

Valery Keith

Publisher: Valery Keith

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When Rand Matthews witnesses a teen runaway attack a man in a diner, only to find her leaping out of his truck bed once he returns home to his ranch, he's at a loss. There's something strange about this girl, like she's been mistreated or abused.   
 
Worried about how the child might have gotten that way, Rand is determined to help her. As he and his ranch-hand Cole learn more about her and the events which brought her to the ranch, they soon realize that their new house guest is no ordinary girl....

Other books that might interest you

  • False Gods - A Rafferty PI Mystery - cover

    False Gods - A Rafferty PI Mystery

    W. Glenn Duncan Jr.

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rafferty's Rule 17: Never take a client at face value. (Amendment B): Or a case.
     
    Teenager Kimberly has run away with her boyfriend though her Mom, Kathy-Lee, doesn't want to admit it. All cases should be this easy; Rafferty'll have it wrapped up by the weekend. 
     
    But with boyfriend Brian home alone, that idea bears rethinking. The last sight of Kimberly was of her putting the missionary in the position with the charismatic cult leader, Dariell Thof, and Brian doesn't know where she's gone since then. Or much care.
     
    By the time Rafferty tracks Kimberly to a remote compound in the Texas desert, he's stuck between a pack of gun-toting religious zealots, and an ATF agent playing hardball to protect his agenda. 
     
    Can Rafferty get Kimberly out before the two sides come together and all hell breaks loose? 
     
    He'll do his damnedest. And after what he's learnt about Dariell's twisted thirst for young girls, Rafferty's itching to organize a personal meeting for the cult leader and his god.
     
    If you're a fan of Spenser, Mike Hammer or Matt Scudder, then this hardboiled pulp thriller from W. Glenn Duncan Jr. will keep you reading late into the dark night.
     
    FALSE GODS is a hardboiled P.I. mystery in the tradition of the best pulp thrillers.
     
    Rafferty's a Dallas P.I. and an ex-cop who spent enough time on the streets to understand how things work. And when they don't, Rafferty's the guy you'll want on your side. He may quote Latin occasionally, smoke too much and be a cynical sonofabitch, but when it all hits the fan and you need someone you can trust, you'll be glad you called Rafferty.
     
    FALSE GODS is the first new Rafferty P.I. story in 25 years. Written by W. Glenn Duncan Jr. (son of the original author) it picks up where the previous books left off, pitting Rafferty and his old friends (and a few new ones) against a shadowy cult leader, in a winner-take-all dash to save a teenage girl.
     
    Join the Rafferty Readers' Group at the Rafferty PI website to get behind the scenes info, the latest updates on new releases and the first announcement of special offers.
     
    Praise for W. Glenn Duncan:
     
    "Sometimes it seemed W. Glenn Duncan's Texas P.I. Rafferty had a rule for everything, but the fact remains that most of them were a hoot. And, of course, a further irony is that "Rafferty's Rules" is, in fact, an Australian football term for "no rules at all." - Thrilling Detective Website
     
    "I have all of the Rafferty titles in my collection. I've gotten rid of a lot of stuff over the years, but the Rafferty books are a mainstay. I think they're terrific!" - Paul Bishop
     
    "Duncan truly captured the pure essence of the definitive smart-ass private eye in his character Rafferty. Take part Sam Spade with a little Mike Hammer, mix in some Spenser and you have an awesome character." - Cliff Fausset
     
    "At first sniff, it may smell like Spenser with a cowboy hat, but take a good whiff: W. Glenn Duncan's Dallas, Texas private eye RAFFERTY was actually a blast of fresh air in what was rapidly becoming a glut of sensitive, soul-searching, overly politically-correct cookie cutter P.I.s in the late eighties. Of course, it helps that Dallas ain't Boston." - Kevin Burton Smith
    Show book
  • Dead Ringer - cover

    Dead Ringer

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bennie Rosato is fighting the battle of her life -- against her own twin. The action starts innocently enough, with a stolen wallet, but in no time events escalate and the twin wreaks havoc that can be created only by a dead ringer. Her twin tries to destroy Bennie's law firm, Rosato & Associates, and then strikes at her very heart -- which just happens to be otherwise engaged by a handsome, hunky stranger with the perfect amount of chest hair. But when a brutal murder occurs, Bennie realizes that the stakes have turned deadly. And the face of evil looks like her own.
    Show book
  • Inside - cover

    Inside

    D.M. Siciliano

    • 2
    • 41
    • 2
    “Inside is a gripping, page-turning novel from a promising new horror writer.” -April A Taylor, award-winning author of The Haunting of Cabin Green and Sinkhole
     
    1987 “Does it burn in the dark?”Reid is a bully, but he’s still Alex’s best friend. When Reid pushes Alex and their friends into invading a historically haunted Massachusetts house, Alex knows it’s a terrible idea, but indulges his friend. What could go wrong?Inside, a mysterious Shadow looms in the darkness. The door to the house vanishes, leaving them trapped. The group flees through the tiny, one-roomed house that defies logic, constantly shifting, presenting them with new doors, hallways, and rooms that seem to be plucked from their memories and fears. One by one, the Shadow hunts them, intent on burning them all from within.Is there any way to escape? Or will they be burned from the inside out?
    Show book
  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • Courting Trouble - cover

    Courting Trouble

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Anne Murphy is the redheaded rookie at the Philadelphia law firm of Rosato & Associates, and one morning she wakes up to front-page headlines proclaiming lawyer murdered -- above her own picture. If she wants to stay alive, she's got to play dead. She'll have to trust people she barely knows -- colleagues who hate her, homicide cops who want her out of the crime-fighting business, and a new love who inconveniently happens to be opposing counsel. But her knack for courting trouble makes it almost impossible for Anne to play well with others, and an unexpected event places her in lethal jeopardy and leaves her with everything to lose.
    Show book
  • Good Man Gone Bad - An Aaron Gunner Mystery - cover

    Good Man Gone Bad - An Aaron...

    Gar Anthony Haywood

    • 1
    • 6
    • 1
    Hard times are nothing new for private investigator Aaron Gunner.  Working on the mean streets of South Central Los Angeles, he's seen more than his fair share of trouble.  But when his cousin and confidante Del Curry commits suicide after allegedly killing his wife and critically injuring their daughter Zina, Gunner knows he's about to face the hardest times of all. He doesn't buy the LAPD's version of the shooting and isn't going to wait for Zina to regain consciousness to disprove it.  Whatever drove Del to take his own life---and possibly assault his wife and daughter---Gunner's going to find it, even if it means learning things about his late cousin he'll wish he never knew. But first, he has a paying case to work, proving the innocence of an Afghan War veteran accused of murder.  Plagued by seering migraines and occasional fits of rage, Harper Stowe III is counting on Gunner to fill the holes in his ruined memory that make him the perfect suspect in the killing of his former employer. With a new era of American racism and divided politics on the rise all around him, Gunner must seek the truth behind two fatal shootings now, and grieve for his beloved cousin later.
    Show book