Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
2047 Short Stories from Our Common Future - cover

2047 Short Stories from Our Common Future

Richard Friedman, John A. Frochio, Kimberly Christensen, Alison Halderman, Lene K. Kristoffersen, Ruth Mundy, L X Nishimoto, Isaac Yuen, David Zetland

Publisher: Tanja Rohini Bisgaard

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

As citizens on this blue planet of ours, we are currently experiencing great changes when it comes to global warming, pollution, and toxic substances—such as microplastic—that end up in our food and our drinking water. In addition, flora and fauna are disappearing from the places where we played when we were children, and natural resources are being depleted around the world. 
Life as we know it is changing. Some say these changes are happening faster than ever, which means we need to adapt faster too. So are we? 
Thirty years ago, the United Nations created a vision for our common future: one Earth, where we could all live together without damaging the planet for future generations. 
In this short-fiction anthology, ten authors look another thirty years into the future, giving their perspectives regarding how we might—or might not—adapt to the changes around us in the year 2047.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl of His Dreams - cover

    The Girl of His Dreams

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two detectives go undercover in Venice, Italy, in the New York Times–bestselling series by “the undisputed crime fiction queen” (The Baltimore Sun).   A priest recently returned from years of missionary work has made a personal request of Commissario Guido Brunetti—but the police detective suspects the man’s motives. A new, American-style Protestant sect has begun to meet in Venice, and it’s possible the priest is merely apprehensive of the competition. But the preacher could also be fleecing his growing flock, so Brunetti and Inspector Vianello, along with their wives, decide to go undercover. In the midst of the investigation, though, the body of a Gypsy child washes up in a canal—and Brunetti finds himself haunted by both the crime and the girl . . .   “No one knows the labyrinthine world of Venice or the way favoritism and corruption shape Italian life like Leon’s Brunetti . . . the thoughtful Venetian cop with a love of food, an outspoken wife, and a computer-hacker secretary.” —Time   “Gorgeously written.” —The New York Times Book Review
    Show book
  • The Jewels of Paradise - cover

    The Jewels of Paradise

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The New York Times–bestselling author of the Commissario Guido Brunetti series takes readers beyond the Venice police force in her first standalone novel.   Caterina Pellegrini is a native Venetian, and like so many of them, she’s had to leave home to pursue her career. With a doctorate in baroque opera from Vienna, she lands in Manchester, England. Manchester, however, is no Venice. When Caterina gets word of a position back home, she jumps at the opportunity.   The job is an unusual one. After nearly three centuries, two locked trunks—believed to contain the papers of a baroque composer—have been discovered. Deeply connected in religious and political circles, the composer died childless; now, two Venetians, descendants of his cousins, each claim the inheritance. Caterina’s job is to examine any enclosed papers to discover the “testamentary disposition” of the composer. But when her research takes her in unexpected directions, she begins to wonder just what secrets these trunks may hold. From a masterful writer, The Jewels of Paradise is a superb novel, a gripping tale of intrigue, music, history, and greed.   “Commissario Brunetti is allowed to take a vacation once in a while, but only if his replacements are as wry and erudite as Caterina.” —The Washington Post   “Fascinating . . . Boasts the same sensitivity to human behavior that distinguishes her Guido Brunetti series.” —Booklist   “A veteran mystery maven weaves present-day Venice into a 300-year-old puzzle in this engaging stand-alone . . . Packs the charms of Venice into a smart whodunit.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Elegant prose, with humorous, wonderfully detailed descriptions as seen through the eyes of her heroine.” —Opera News
    Show book
  • A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”—New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens  
    “Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”—Washington Times 
    Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Trust Me I'm Dead - cover

    Trust Me I'm Dead

    Sherryl Clark

    • 6
    • 35
    • 2
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 CWA DEBUT DAGGER FOR UNPUBLISHED FIRST NOVEL
     
    She hasn't seen her brother in years. Now, he's dead.
     
    When Judi Westerholme finds out her estranged brother has been murdered, she assumes it's connected to his long term drug addiction. Returning home, she is shocked to discover he had been clean for years, had a wife – now missing – a child and led a respectable life. But if he had turned his life around, why was he killed in a drug deal shooting? And where is his wife?
     
    Desperate to know what really happened, Judi sets out to uncover the truth, even though it means confronting her own traumatic past. But she's not the only one looking for answers...
     
    With a gutsy, unapologetic protagonist, Trust Me, I'm Dead is a gritty and bold crime thriller that explores the sacrifices people will make for their families.
     
    'Gripping and disturbing, Clark delves into dark places close to home. Trust Me, I’m Dead will linger in your mind after you have read it' - Leigh Russell, author of the bestselling Geraldine Steel series
    Show book
  • The Hawaladar - cover

    The Hawaladar

    David A. Stearns

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A thrilling novel of financial and political suspense and intrigue, The HAWALDAR recounts one man's ill-conceived attempt to meld the highly regulated culture of modern commercial banking with that of the parallel, underground netherworld of Hawala, a world-wide network of shadowy money-movers whose services are ideally suited to the needs of such nefarious clientele as organized crime, drug cartels, rogue governments and modern-day terrorist organizations. Tariq Nasir, is a brilliant, dynamic Pakistani-American, who is amassing significant wealth via a fast-growing international business empire, structured to commingle modern business systems and technology with the highly secretive commercial practices of the old world and Hawala. The attempted assimilation of controlling interest in a highly regulated U.S. financial institution, however, ushers in the gradual unraveling of a family business plan conceived in Pakistan years prior to Mr. Nasir's birth.Logan Hart, is a man who is no stranger to financial or international intrigue. Hired as number two executive at the Nasir-controlled Global United Bank of Chicago to assist in morphing the once local community bank into the kind of international banking organization conceived by the Nasir plan, the recently widowed, career banker and former special military operator questions the advisability of having accepted his new position when a series of strange events start happening shortly after his arrival. Doubt begins with the death of a much-beloved, old regulator from the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, who is murdered while examining the bank. Partnered with Cassandra Price, the federal official assigned by the OCC to investigate the circumstances surrounding the untimely death of her associate, Hart finds himself unexpectedly attracted to the senior regulator, as the two help uncover an insidious plot by an Islamic fundamentalist terror group, who are planning a coordinated attack on several American cities with a biological weapon of mass destruction. The pair find themselves at the forward edge of the battle area in the War on Terror as they work with the FBI and agencies of the Department of Homeland Security in a race against time to avert a disaster of epic proportions.
    Show book