"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Bess Time - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

The Bess Time

Yvonne Pont

Publisher: Yvonne Pont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Have you ever wanted to go back in time? Here is your opportunity.” Bess Turner, a woman of the twenty-first century, would like to invite you to accompany her on a journey to London, England. The season is Christmas. The year is 1847. The adventure begins with a light in a window. Mesmerized, Bess hears street noises behind her. No, that cannot be; she is in her living room, looking at a miniature building on the mantel. True, but …. Meet her colourful Victorian family, stay for a cup of tea, and taste the flaming plum pudding. Hold your breath and squeeze into the dreaded corset. Swirl around the majestic Vauxhall to the Viennese Waltz. Take in the smells and sounds of the horse-drawn carriages along busy Fleet Street. Enjoy the ride; it is The Bess Time.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl in the Pink Raincoat - A gripping World War 2 saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court - cover

    The Girl in the Pink Raincoat -...

    Alrene Hughes

    • 3
    • 54
    • 0
    In wartime it takes courage to follow your heart. 
     
    Manchester, 1939. 
     
    Everyone hated the heat and the deafening noise, but for Gracie the worst thing was the smell of chemicals that turned her stomach every morning when she arrived at the Rosenberg Raincoats factory. 
     
    Gracie is a girl on the factory floor. Jacob is the boss's charismatic nephew. When they fall in love, it seems as if the whole world is against them – especially Charlie Nuttall, who also works at the factory and has always wanted Gracie for himself. 
     
    But worse is to come when Jacob disappears and Gracie is devastated, vowing to find him. Can she solve the mystery of his whereabouts? Gracie will need all her strength and courage to find a happy ending.
    Show book
  • The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller - cover

    The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz...

    Stella Rimington

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For fans of Homeland and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot. 
     
    A Russian immigrant lies dying in a hospice in upstate Vermont. When a stranger visits, claiming to be a childhood friend, the FBI is alerted and news quickly travels to MI5 in London. 
     
    Liz Carlyle and her colleague Peggy Kinsolving are already knee-deep in conspiracies, and as they unravel the events that landed the man in the hospital, Liz learns of a network of Russians and their plot to undermine the German government. Liz and Peggy set out to locate and stop this insidious network, traveling the world from Montreal to Moscow.  
     
    The latest expertly plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities, and global espionage.
    Show book
  • Wizard's First Rule - cover

    Wizard's First Rule

    Terry Goodkind

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Wizard’s First Rule, the first novel by Terry Goodkind, was a phenomenon from the moment it was published by Tor Books in 1994, selling more than 100,000 copies in North America alone. It still sells more than 100,000 copies a year and has gone on to bestsellerdom in the United Kingdom and in more than twenty foreign translations as well as audiobook form. 
    It is now being developed as one of the most ambitious television miniseries of all time. Executive Producer Sam Raimi (director of the three Spider-Man movies), in collaboration with Disney/ABC, is creating a 22-episode adaptation of the book to be filmed in New Zealand. 
    Richard and Kahlan’s story unfolds over ten more novels, collectively known as the Sword of Truth series, concluding with Confessor in 2007. Placing Goodkind in the elite club of #1 New York Times bestselling authors, the series has sold more than twenty million copies to date worldwide. 
    In Wizard’s First Rule, Goodkind introduced the world to an ordinary forest guide, Richard Cypher, and the mysterious, powerful woman he comes to love, Kahlan Amnell. Learning his true identity, Richard accepts his destiny as the one man who can stop the bloodthirsty tyrant Darken Rahl. Hunted relentlessly, betrayed and alone, Kahlan calls upon Richard to reach beyond his sword and invoke something more noble within himself as the final confrontation with Darken Rahl looms. 
    The importance of Wizard’s First Rule is sourced in Goodkind taking on the toughest of all literary challenges: to tell an electrifying story of action, violence, and adventure that also makes people think, and that would influence the choices and actions of its readers.
    Show book
  • Fate - cover

    Fate

    Zhou Haohui

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The second book in China's bestselling crime series to date. 
     
    THE LAW IS WEAK 
     
    Last week, the vigilante killer who terrified and thrilled the city of Chengdu with his 'death notices' performed his own execution to escape capture by the police.
     
    I OFFER REAL JUSTICE 
     
    But when two students are violently murdered, the only clue left by the killer is a death notice. The executioner? Eumenides. Now Captain Pei Tao and his task force face a terrifying prospect: that Eumenides left a protégé to carry on his work.
     
    NOW MEET YOUR FATE 
     
    Once again, Eumenides is one step ahead of their investigation – but this time, it's worse. Because this time, someone on the inside is helping him. Can Pei and his team root out the mole, and hunt down their new opponent? Or are they doomed to watch history repeat itself?
     
    Gripping, explosive and fiendishly inventive, Fate is the second instalment in the Death Notice trilogy: the Chinese crime-writing phenomenon and a Sunday Times thriller of the year.
     
    Reviews for Death Notice: 
     
    'Fiendishly inventive' Wall Street Journal
     
    'Extraordinary' Sunday Times
     
    'A perfect cat-and-mouse killer' Book Riot
    Show book
  • Face of Evil - cover

    Face of Evil

    George Morris De'Ath

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    If you play games with a killer... you can't afford to lose. 
     
    Looking for a subject for her book about evil, Lydia Tune travels to the infamous Mortem Asylum in seedy Decanten City. Her target is Jason Devere, a death row serial killer notorious for his precise and grotesque murders.
     
    Lydia is beautiful, ruthless and manipulative – she always gets what she wants. She knows the only way to get Jason to speak is to engage him in a dangerous battle of wits. Local detective and old friend Alex Gilbey warns her off the case, but he has no idea just how far Lydia will go to court darkness.
     
    The more Lydia digs into Jason's story, the clearer it becomes that there is a bigger story to uncover. But the problem with playing with killers is that they never play nice...
     
    A glittering and suspenseful debut psychological thriller, Face of Evil is impossible to put down. 
     
    What readers are saying about Face of Evil:
     
    'Dark and mysterious ... The stuff nightmares are made of. The atmosphere of the book set me on edge before the story actually began ... This is a spine-tingling and pacey read with twists and turns I didn't see coming. The ending is excellent and a rollercoaster ride of revelations. Very enjoyable' 4* reader review
     
    'There were creepy, tense, and twisty moments that I really enjoyed. If you like thrillers that involve asylums, serial killers and stories that grab you right away, you need to read this book' 3* reader review
     
    'I really enjoyed this thriller ... I could not put it down' 4* reader review
     
    'Fantastic read. I have been completely unable to put this one down. I cannot wait to read more by this author' 5* reader review
     
    'The author outdid himself on this one. The gore. The way it's written. It's just great! One of my favourites' 4* reader review
     
    'Not suitable for the faint of heart. Face of Evil is one of the most intense books I have read in a long time – but I love a book that can consume me so completely ... I loved every wakeful moment I spent with this book. This book is gory and intense and perfect for anyone who enjoys a bone-chilling horror mystery. Do I recommend this book – only if you are open to a brilliantly evil tale with a twist that will leave you unable to sleep for days on end' 4* reader review
    Show book
  • Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 1 - cover

    Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders...

    Richard Fierce

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Dragons can be dangerous …
     
    … if you don’t bond with them first.
     
    Eldwin wants to follow in his father’s footsteps and become a Dragon Guard, but not for the glory. With his family dead and their lands dying, the opportunity to join the dragon rider school is all he has. But before Eldwin can bond with a dragon and guard the skies, he must pass three tests to prove his worth.
     
    Compassion, magical aptitude, and armed combat.
     
    He’s determined to pass, but his maimed arm is a constant reminder of his disadvantage. Will the obstacles Eldwin faces keep him from reaching his dreams, or will he finally see what it’s like to ride the skies?
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    Trial by Sorcery is the first episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror
     
    Book 6: Eyes of Stone
     
    Book 7: Tooth and Claw
     
    Book 8: A Servant of Souls
     
    Book 9: Smoke and Shadow
     
    Book 10: The Dark Rider
    Show book