Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Bess Time - cover

The Bess Time

Yvonne Pont

Publisher: Yvonne Pont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Have you ever wanted to go back in time? Here is your opportunity.” Bess Turner, a woman of the twenty-first century, would like to invite you to accompany her on a journey to London, England. The season is Christmas. The year is 1847. The adventure begins with a light in a window. Mesmerized, Bess hears street noises behind her. No, that cannot be; she is in her living room, looking at a miniature building on the mantel. True, but …. Meet her colourful Victorian family, stay for a cup of tea, and taste the flaming plum pudding. Hold your breath and squeeze into the dreaded corset. Swirl around the majestic Vauxhall to the Viennese Waltz. Take in the smells and sounds of the horse-drawn carriages along busy Fleet Street. Enjoy the ride; it is The Bess Time.

Other books that might interest you

  • Harry Heron: No Quarter - cover

    Harry Heron: No Quarter

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Harry Heron: No Quarter, Harry Heron and his best friend Ferghal O’Connor are cadets at Fleet College, eager to master their skills in preparation for commissioning to a ship. They’ve barely stepped foot on campus when they realize they’re targeted and sabotaged at every turn, but this doesn’t stop them from exuberant participation in the Sailing Regatta, the Gun Run, and the usual flirtations and hijinks of college life. Meanwhile, the Consortium, supporting the Johnstone Group, does everything in its power to keep them from testifying at an enquiry to expose Johnstone’s questionable research practices that nearly killed Harry in their secret laboratory on the planet Pangaea. No quarter given, none asked, Harry and Ferghal overcome every obstacle with youthful vigor and optimism, intelligence and training, and prove valuable to the Fleet as junior officers of the NECS Leander in the ongoing struggle against the Consortium.
    Show book
  • The Mother - cover

    The Mother

    Grazia Deledda

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "The Mother" is an intriguing and marvellously written book. Its note of worthiness lies in the psychological study of the three main characters: the mother, Maria Maddalena, of the young parish priest; Paul, the priest himself; and Agnes, the rich lonely woman who irrupts into the lives of both mother and son. The actual plot takes place in a very short time - barely two days - it is so interwoven with the mental conflicts, and so forced by circumstances, that the novel may be compared to an ancient Greek tragedy. Throughout the story, Paul fights his human desires and desperately tries to cling to the convened rule of celibacy in the priesthood despite the fact that such a condition has not been appointed by God in any way. He lacks the ambition to be a good priest because the choice was not his own but his mother’s. His oath was taken before he really knew his ambition in life; his role was vested on to him by others and conditioned by society. He realises that he loves Agnes and does not want to serve the Church but cannot decide in front of his mother’s distress. The story is quite believable and the ending comes as a not so unlikely surprise.
    In what is probably her greatest masterpiece, the 1926 Nobel Laureate tells us in this novel that avoiding one’s true call in life may have consequences and that the disposing of the aberrant conditions that cause people to sin is perhaps the greatest misdeed of all.
    Show book
  • Short Fuse - A Charlie Davies Short #1 - cover

    Short Fuse - A Charlie Davies...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Charlie's week just keeps going from bad to worse - and now her brother is missing. 
    Between attending school, working her terrible job, putting up with her arch nemesis and trying to keep her romance novel addiction under wraps, Charlie already had enough on her plate. But now Topher is gone. Where? And why? And what does it have to do with the weird police officer who keeps questioning her? 
    Charlie's just about ready to explode. Then again, she almost always is. 
     
    The Charlie Davies Shorts are companion novellas to the Charlie Davies Mysteries. If you're new here, start with the main series. LOSING YOUR HEAD (The Charlie Davies Mysteries Book 1) is available for free.
    Show book
  • Private Sessions Tape 1 - Kyron Santos - cover

    Private Sessions Tape 1 - Kyron...

    Wahida Clark

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Thug Shorts (to be read in this order)  
    The Letter by Trae Macklin  
    The Response by Tasha Macklin  
    Shit Just Got Real by Tasha Macklin  
    Fifty Shades of Trae by Charli Li  
    It’s That Serious by Tasha Macklin  
    Private Sessions Tape One by Kyron Santos  
      
    Kyron Santos, Kaylin’s older brother, was used by Tasha Macklin to get back at Trae for his infidelities, a relationship that ultimately ended in pregnancy, murder, broken relationships, and mistrust. No one knew about the court-ordered sessions that Kyron was forced to attend. At least not until Mari, his woman who stuck by him throughout the majority of his prison bid, dropped the recordings off to Trae Macklin, Tasha’s husband.  
    Mari never got closure over Kyron’s death. She couldn’t understand why Kaylin wasn’t more distraught than he was over his brother’s death. Her anger built over Tasha using Kyron, and now, seeing Tasha was happily reunited with her husband, it was about to explode. She had it all. But that was soon to come to an end. Her happily-ever-after would be short-lived. Mari had in her possession transcripts of taped sessions of Kyron and the psychologist, unbeknownst to Kyron, which would shed light on Tasha’s relationship with Kyron—and with an anaconda smile, she places those transcripts directly in Trae’s hands for his consumption. Mari has a few dirty tricks up her sleeve. Nothing’s off-limits. What other nasty surprises is she planning?
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • Fatal Blade - Decker's War #3 - cover

    Fatal Blade - Decker's War #3

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Someone was setting fire to the Commonwealth Rim, nurturing a storm to drag humanity through the horrors of colonial warfare and thereby hasten the rise of Empire. Their plan had just one fatal flaw: it didn’t count on an ex-Marine pathfinder with a grudge, a dagger and a deadly partner. Zack Decker had seen enough of war to know this one had to be stopped before it turned into an all-out bloodbath, even if that meant ignoring orders and risking his mission as well as his life. After all, he was still one of the Few…
    Show book