Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Bess Time - cover

The Bess Time

Yvonne Pont

Publisher: Yvonne Pont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Have you ever wanted to go back in time? Here is your opportunity.” Bess Turner, a woman of the twenty-first century, would like to invite you to accompany her on a journey to London, England. The season is Christmas. The year is 1847. The adventure begins with a light in a window. Mesmerized, Bess hears street noises behind her. No, that cannot be; she is in her living room, looking at a miniature building on the mantel. True, but …. Meet her colourful Victorian family, stay for a cup of tea, and taste the flaming plum pudding. Hold your breath and squeeze into the dreaded corset. Swirl around the majestic Vauxhall to the Viennese Waltz. Take in the smells and sounds of the horse-drawn carriages along busy Fleet Street. Enjoy the ride; it is The Bess Time.

Other books that might interest you

  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • Stand Down - A JP Beaumont Novella - cover

    Stand Down - A JP Beaumont Novella

    J. A. Jance

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    An e-original novella from New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance.  
    Life has shifted for J. P. Beaumont. After a tragic accident that devastated—and ultimately disbanded—his Special Homicide Investigation Team, he accepts that he has left homicide detection behind at this point, but he has a lot of unanticipated free time on his hands. He's keeping busy with renovations on the new house that he and his wife, Mel Soames, the newly appointed chief of police in Bellingham, Washington, have bought. But new fixtures and paint palettes can occupy only so much of Beau's daily life, and Mel is encouraging him to return to where he is needed: investigating crimes. 
    In the meantime, she is struggling to gain control of her new situation, cast into a department where some are welcoming—and some are not. It's been a few months, and the tension in the police department is rising, but Beau realizes Mel has to tackle things in her own way, so he refrains from advising. But when Beau shows up one afternoon to survey the construction at their new house and finds Mel's car there but no sign of her, his investigative instincts kick in. Suddenly he's back in the game—except this time, his heart is on the line as well as his professional dignity.
    Show book
  • The Killer in the Choir - cover

    The Killer in the Choir

    Simon Brett

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Although she hadn’t known Leonard Mallett very well, nor liked him particularly, Carole Seddon feels duty bound to attend her fellow committee member’s funeral. As she suspected, the hymns, readings and sermon are all very predictable – not unlike Leonard himself. What she couldn’t have predicted was that the deceased’s daughter would use the occasion to publicly accuse her stepmother of murder.
    Did Heather Mallett really kill her husband, as many Fethering residents believe? Deciding to get to the heart of the matter, Carole’s neighbour Jude joins the new community choir – and discovers that amidst the clashing egos and petty resentments lurk some decidedly false notes. At least one chorister would appear to be hiding a deadly secret – and it’s up to Carole and Jude to unearth the truth.
    Show book
  • Cobra - A Novel - cover

    Cobra - A Novel

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A riveting thriller from the acclaimed “King of South African crime” and the author of Blood Safari: “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters” (Michael Connelly).   Deon Meyer is a world-class writer whose page-turning thrillers probe the social and racial complexities of his native country. In Cobra, a famous English mathematician is kidnapped and his two bodyguards are killed at a guest house in the beautiful wine country outside Cape Town. It’s clearly a professional hit, and the spent shell cases offer a chilling clue: Each is engraved with the head of a spitting cobra.   Meanwhile, in the city, a skilled thief is using his talents to put his sister through college. But he picks the wrong pocket, grabbing the wallet of a young American woman delivering something very valuable and dangerous to South Africa. The thief not only becomes the target of the deadly hit man known as the Cobra, but unwittingly holds the key to stopping a deadly international threat. It’s up to Captain Benny Griessel and his elite investigation team to find the pickpocket and track down the Cobra as the novel hurtles toward a brilliant, heart-stopping finale on the suburban commuter trains.   “Mr. Meyer, the leading thriller writer in his native country, traffics in crime-novel situations familiar the world over: drunken cops, charming robbers, dangerous murderers, sudden violence—and sometimes, issues of race.” —The Wall Street Journal  
    Show book
  • The Vanished - cover

    The Vanished

    Lotte Hammer, Søren Hammer

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Lying at the bottom of his apartment stairs, a postman is found dead.  
     
    At first glance, his death appears to be a simple fall, a straightforward accident and the perfect case for Detective Chief Superintendent Konrad Simonsen to return to after a severe heart attack. But when he is called to investigate, new forensic evidence comes to light and something doesn't add up. Did the postman fall or was he pushed? 
     
    When life-size images of a girl are discovered plastering the walls of the dead man's attic, the case takes a new and sinister turn. Who is she? Could she be alive? 
     
    Soon the homicide team find themselves delving into the past, but as they approach the truth, Simonsen discovers long-hidden skeletons in his own closet.
    Show book
  • Gettysburg - cover

    Gettysburg

    Kevin Morris

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    As a young man, John Reynolds fled his provincial hometown of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania for Los Angeles, lured by the promise of a life fueled by the excitement of show business. But after twenty years in Hollywood, Reynolds feels existentially unfulfilled. He resides in a beautiful mansion with his wife and daughter, and his business is booming, but Reynolds remains despondent as his attempts to pivot into producing his own movie projects fail again and again. 
    Depressed and at a creative dead-end, Reynolds finds himself inexplicably drawn back to the historical setting of his youth: he has secretly signed up to participate in a weekend-long reenactment of the Battle of Gettysburg in the unlikely California town of Enchino, sixty miles east of Los Angeles. Just before his departure, an ex-Playmate—the very centerfold of Reynolds’s adolescent daydreams—pitches him her idea for a reality TV show. When Reynolds impulsively invites the former Playmate and her best friend, a former Miss Universe, to accompany him to the reenactment, his plans for a solitary weekend of self-discovery run amok. 
    With a compulsively readable narrative that offers a satirical portrait of Hollywood—the deal-making, the politics, the pitches—Gettysburg is an intelligent and powerful book about contemporary America.
    Show book