Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Dry Drowning - Jacob Schmidt Crime Fiction Series - cover

Dry Drowning - Jacob Schmidt Crime Fiction Series

Kevin Hopson

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Some men prey on weakness. Some use force to display power. And some will use words to break a soul. But Jacob Schmidt is not one of those men. He’ll take his nicks in order to protect others and stand up against injustice.

Other books that might interest you

  • False Gods - A Rafferty PI Mystery - cover

    False Gods - A Rafferty PI Mystery

    W. Glenn Duncan Jr.

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rafferty's Rule 17: Never take a client at face value. (Amendment B): Or a case.
     
    Teenager Kimberly has run away with her boyfriend though her Mom, Kathy-Lee, doesn't want to admit it. All cases should be this easy; Rafferty'll have it wrapped up by the weekend. 
     
    But with boyfriend Brian home alone, that idea bears rethinking. The last sight of Kimberly was of her putting the missionary in the position with the charismatic cult leader, Dariell Thof, and Brian doesn't know where she's gone since then. Or much care.
     
    By the time Rafferty tracks Kimberly to a remote compound in the Texas desert, he's stuck between a pack of gun-toting religious zealots, and an ATF agent playing hardball to protect his agenda. 
     
    Can Rafferty get Kimberly out before the two sides come together and all hell breaks loose? 
     
    He'll do his damnedest. And after what he's learnt about Dariell's twisted thirst for young girls, Rafferty's itching to organize a personal meeting for the cult leader and his god.
     
    If you're a fan of Spenser, Mike Hammer or Matt Scudder, then this hardboiled pulp thriller from W. Glenn Duncan Jr. will keep you reading late into the dark night.
     
    FALSE GODS is a hardboiled P.I. mystery in the tradition of the best pulp thrillers.
     
    Rafferty's a Dallas P.I. and an ex-cop who spent enough time on the streets to understand how things work. And when they don't, Rafferty's the guy you'll want on your side. He may quote Latin occasionally, smoke too much and be a cynical sonofabitch, but when it all hits the fan and you need someone you can trust, you'll be glad you called Rafferty.
     
    FALSE GODS is the first new Rafferty P.I. story in 25 years. Written by W. Glenn Duncan Jr. (son of the original author) it picks up where the previous books left off, pitting Rafferty and his old friends (and a few new ones) against a shadowy cult leader, in a winner-take-all dash to save a teenage girl.
     
    Join the Rafferty Readers' Group at the Rafferty PI website to get behind the scenes info, the latest updates on new releases and the first announcement of special offers.
     
    Praise for W. Glenn Duncan:
     
    "Sometimes it seemed W. Glenn Duncan's Texas P.I. Rafferty had a rule for everything, but the fact remains that most of them were a hoot. And, of course, a further irony is that "Rafferty's Rules" is, in fact, an Australian football term for "no rules at all." - Thrilling Detective Website
     
    "I have all of the Rafferty titles in my collection. I've gotten rid of a lot of stuff over the years, but the Rafferty books are a mainstay. I think they're terrific!" - Paul Bishop
     
    "Duncan truly captured the pure essence of the definitive smart-ass private eye in his character Rafferty. Take part Sam Spade with a little Mike Hammer, mix in some Spenser and you have an awesome character." - Cliff Fausset
     
    "At first sniff, it may smell like Spenser with a cowboy hat, but take a good whiff: W. Glenn Duncan's Dallas, Texas private eye RAFFERTY was actually a blast of fresh air in what was rapidly becoming a glut of sensitive, soul-searching, overly politically-correct cookie cutter P.I.s in the late eighties. Of course, it helps that Dallas ain't Boston." - Kevin Burton Smith
    Show book
  • Mistaken Identity - cover

    Mistaken Identity

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A humdinger”—USA Today 
    “Ratcheting suspense, dynamic characters, and a master’s touch”—David Baldacci, New York Times bestselling author of The Sixth Man 
    With the spellbinding crime fiction masterwork, Mistaken Identity, Lisa Scottoline rocketed onto the New York Times bestseller list—and she’s remained there ever since! A stunning tale of mystery and suspense, this classic from the beloved, Edgar® Award-winning author once again leads readers down the gritty streets of Philadelphia and into the offices of the law firm of Rosato & Associates. When a new client who’s been accused of murder—and who bears an astonishing resemblance to Bennie Rosato—asks the crusading criminal defense attorney to take her case, Bennie finds herself entangled in a sticky web of murder, corruption, and violence that threatens to reveal the shocking truth about her own past. If you haven’t read Lisa Scottoline before, Mistaken Identity will prove to you what her many fans already know: nobody does it better!
    Show book
  • Dirty Blonde - cover

    Dirty Blonde

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Cate Fante is strong and sexy and wears designer suits like overpriced armor. She's just become a judge but leads a dark double life that she hides from everyone. 
    Her cover is blown when a high-profile case in her courtroom takes a stunning turn. Overnight the tabloids tell her secret, her boyfriend dumps her, and her new career hangs in tatters. But Cate's troubles are only beginning. An enemy no one anticipated sends her running for her life, and she'll have to fight her way back to the truth . . . or die trying.
    Show book
  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • Real Monsters - cover

    Real Monsters

    Liam Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'From the scorched desert to the marital bedroom, Real Monsters is a memorable and moving portrait of the futility of 21st century conflict.' --Benjamin Myers, author of Pig Iron and Beastings 
    We are surrounded by monsters. The lines are now so blurred, no one knows who the real enemy is anymore. 
    Reeling from the terrorist attack that killed her father, Lorna lurches through an inebriated adolescence until she finds redemption in a young soldier called Danny. However, her dream of a stable life is shattered when Danny is called to serve in war overseas. 
    Danny is lost in the desert. Most of his unit is dead – victims, it would seem, of a brutal ambush. With their equipment destroyed and food running out, the small band of men stumble through the sand and shadows, desperate to find salvation. As their hope fades, they begin to turn on each other, until finally it becomes clear that only the truly monstrous will survive. 
    Brown creates a compelling and gripping experience alternating between the soldier and home narrative. Cleverly employing letters and unique voices we are drawn completely into the raw desert while being left with a thought-provoking and graphic view of modern warfare. 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Beautifully written, smart and punchy'. Sam Mills, author of The Quiddity of Will Self 
    'A memorable and moving portrait of the futility of 21st century conflict'. Benjamin Myers, author of Pig Iron and Beastings
    Show book
  • Found in the Street - cover

    Found in the Street

    Patricia Highsmith

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Fabulous, in all senses of that word . . . combining the best features of the suspense genre with the best of existential fiction—a thrilled reflection.”—Paul TherouxElsie Tyler turns heads wherever she goes. After leaving her hometown upstate for Greenwich Village, the charming young waitress soon finds herself surrounded by admirers, including Jack and Natalia Sutherland, a married couple who invite Elsie into their bohemian inner circle and help her launch a career as a model. Meanwhile, Ralph Linderman, a middle-aged security guard with a dog named God, is nursing his own obsession with Elsie. He sets out to protect her from the “bad company” she attracts, but his uninvited affections are overbearing, possibly even pathological. When Ralph finds Jack’s wallet on a morning stroll through the Village, and returns it, he is entirely unprepared for the complex maze of sexual obsession and disturbing psychological intrigue he is about to be drawn into.Originally published in 1986, Found in the Street is classic Highsmith—an engrossing, unsettling thriller that explores the bleakest alleyways of human desire, and a kaleidoscopic portrait of 1980s New York City. Patricia Highsmith, author of Strangers on a Train and The Talented Mr. Ripley, has been called “one of the finest crime novelists” by the New York Times and is now considered one of the most original voices in twentieth-century American fiction.
    Show book