"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Nick of Time - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Nick of Time

Yvonne Pont

Publisher: Yvonne Pont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Something is different. True it is 1848 and Bess Turner, alias Bess N-ike, has returned to London, England after a year’s absence, but --- where are the people? Where is the noise and bustle of street life? Had something gone wrong on her journey from the 21st century back to the 19th century? Will Bess not spend Christmas with her Dickens family? Unprepared, she finds herself in the middle of a cholera epidemic. Forced to flee London, Bess is hustled on a train to parts unknown. Rescued by a charming gentleman, she is introduced to smugglers, seamen and a quaint, but mysterious fishing village. And --- thus Bess’s journey continues

Other books that might interest you

  • Door of Bruises - cover

    Door of Bruises

    Sierra Simone

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Twelve years ago, our fates were sealed with a kiss.We are all, for better or worse, doomed to love each other until death do us part. My heart belongs to Proserpina and St. Sebastian--even if he no longer wants it. Even if she has left it behind to follow him.Delphine's fled back home, and Becket's holy calling is in peril.And now only Rebecca and I remain at Thornchapel to face the unknown.The door is open. The door that shouldn't exist; the door that people have died to close. I don't feel like the lord of the manor. I don't feel like a king or a wild god. I am a friend and a boyfriend and a brother--and a failure at being all of these things. But the door doesn't care about my guilt. It only cares about the sacrifice I'll make to close it.As the bruising dark of Samhain approaches, so does the fate of our circle, of Thornchapel and the village and the valley beyond it. And I must don the crown, because one thing is still true, even if I must face it alone.Here at Thornchapel, the kings must go to the door.Here at Thornchapel, all kings must die.*Door of Bruises is the fourth and final book in the Thornchapel Quartet*
    Show book
  • The Warrior's Call - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 3 - cover

    The Warrior's Call - Dragon...

    Richard Fierce

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Darkness threatens the land.With an evil creature killing dragons and riders alike, the False King’s reign of terror spills across the border. While the king of Osnen and the Citadel’s riders struggle to stem the assault, Eldwin flies to the Conclave to plead for help from the other schools.
     
    Unless the schools unite and arrive in time, the world is doomed.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    The Warrior's Call is the third episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror
     
    Book 6: Eyes of Stone
     
    Book 7: Tooth and Claw
     
    Book 8: A Servant of Souls
     
    Book 9: Smoke and Shadow
     
    Book 10: The Dark Rider
    Show book
  • Hedge Witch - cover

    Hedge Witch

    Simon Kewin

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Two worlds, one nightmare…
     
    Cait Weerd has no idea the undain are hunting her. She doesn’t know the vile creatures need her blood to survive. She doesn’t even know she’s a witch, descended from a long line of witches. Cait Weerd doesn’t know much, but all that’s about to change.
     
    At Manchester Central Library, she’s caught in the crossfire between the witches and the undain, two worlds fighting for an old book. Cait takes the book and is told to run, hide the book or destroy it. The undain’s secrets are buried in its pages, and they want it almost as much as they want her.
     
    The fate of two worlds is at stake. Cait has to decide what to do: run, fight, or hope it all goes away.
     
    But then she learns who she really is, along with the terrible truth of what the undain have been doing in our world all this time…
    Show book
  • All That We Carried - A Novel - cover

    All That We Carried - A Novel

    Erin Bartels

    • 0
    • 6
    • 1
    "Bartels proves herself a master wordsmith and storyteller."--Library Journal, starred review 
     
    "This subdued tale of learning to forgive is Bartels's best yet."--Publishers Weekly 
     
    "A deeply personal, thoughtful exploration of dealing with pain and grief."--Life Is Story 
     
    "Taut and engaging."--Foreword 
     
    *** 
     
    Ten years ago, sisters Olivia and Melanie Greene were on a backcountry hiking trip when their parents were in a fatal car accident. Over the years, they grew apart, each coping with the loss in her own way. Olivia plunged herself into law school, work, and a materialist view of the world--what you see is what you get, and that's all you get. Melanie dropped out of college and developed an online life-coaching business around her cafeteria-style spirituality--a little of this, a little of that, whatever makes you happy. 
     
    Now, at Melanie's insistence (and against Olivia's better judgment), they are embarking on a hike in the Porcupine Mountains of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. In this remote wilderness they'll face their deepest fears, question their most dearly held beliefs, and begin to see that perhaps the best way to move forward is the one way they had never considered. 
     
    Michigan Notable Book Award winner Erin Bartels draws from personal experience hiking backcountry trails with her sister to bring you a story about the complexities of grief, faith, and sisterhood.
    Show book
  • The Malady of Death - cover

    The Malady of Death

    Marguerite Duras

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “[An] erotic, existential mystery . . . part philosophical meditation, part fantasy” from the Prix Goncourt-winning author of The Lover (The Guardian). 
     
    A man hires a woman to spend several weeks with him by the sea. The woman is no one in particular, a “she,” a warm, moist body with a beating heart—the enigma of Other. Skilled in the mechanics of sex, he desires through her to penetrate a different mystery: he wants to learn to love. It isn’t a matter of will, she tells him. Still, he wants to try . . . 
     
    This beautifully wrought erotic novel is an extended haiku on the meaning of love, “perhaps a sudden lapse in the logic of the universe,” and its absence, “the malady of death.” 
     
    “The whole tragedy of the inability to love is in this work, thanks to Duras’ unparalleled art of reinventing the most familiar words, of weighing their meaning.”—Le Monde 
     
    “Deceptively simple and Racinian in its purity, condensed to the essential.”—Translation Review 
     
    Praise for Marguerite Duras’s international bestseller, The Lover 
     
    “Powerful, authentic, completely successful . . . perfect.”—The New York Times Book Review 
     
    “An exquisite jewel of a novel, as multifaceted as a diamond, as seamless and polished as a pearl.”—Boston Herald 
       
    “A vivid, lingering novel . . . a brilliant work of art.”—Cleveland Plain Dealer
    Show book
  • The Three Graces Collection - cover

    The Three Graces Collection

    Laura du Pre

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Travel back to the court of the French Renaissance!
     
    Mingle with the royal court of France with the Cleves sisters.  Now get the stories of each sister: Marie, Henriette, and Catherine, in a single volume.  
     
    Book One:  Almost a Queen. Who wouldn't want to be Queen?
     
    Cousins to the King of Navarre, the Cleves sisters witness the glamour and danger of the French royal court firsthand. Youngest sister, Marie is trapped in an unhappy arranged marriage with her cousin, Henri, Prince de Conde. Determined to make the best of her situation, she awaits the wedding of the King of Navarre in Paris.
     
    Paris of 1572 boils with religious war, and few will make it out of the wedding celebrations alive. Those that do survive face an impossible choice: convert or die. Will Marie and Conde make the decision to abandon their Protestant faith in order to save their lives? Will it cost them their souls?
     
    Along with the threat of death comes a chance for true love with the king's younger brother, the Duc d'Anjou. Yet Marie promised to love honor and cherish her husband till death did them part. Will death soon part them? Is it possible to find love in the midst of tragedy?
     
    Book Two: Lady of the Court.  
     
    What do you do when your world falls apart?
     
    Eldest sister, Henriette, sits at the apex of the royal court, wife to one of King Henri III's most trusted advisors
     
    In a country torn apart by religious war, things can change in an instant, and no one in France is safe. Henriette is desperate to hold on to her life, and hand it on to the next generation. To do so, she must have an heir, something that she has so far failed to do.
     
    Book Three:  Fate's Mistress.  Fate can be a cruel mistress...
     
    Middle sister, Catherine, is married to the Duc de Guise, the most rabid Catholic in France. Ambitious and well-connected, Guise is the main rival for the French throne, which is currently occupied by an unpopular Henri III.
     
    Guise managed to win concessions from Henri, but concessions come with a steep price on his head. As his Duchesse, Catherine is in a dangerous position of her own. Determined to play her part in bringing about the downfall of the Valois and the rise of the Guise, Catherine will risk her own safety.
     
    But is the risk worth the rewards? Will either of them escape with their lives? Catherine has to take a chance for herself, and the consequences will change French history.
    Show book