Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Nick of Time - cover

Nick of Time

Yvonne Pont

Publisher: Yvonne Pont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Something is different. True it is 1848 and Bess Turner, alias Bess N-ike, has returned to London, England after a year’s absence, but --- where are the people? Where is the noise and bustle of street life? Had something gone wrong on her journey from the 21st century back to the 19th century? Will Bess not spend Christmas with her Dickens family? Unprepared, she finds herself in the middle of a cholera epidemic. Forced to flee London, Bess is hustled on a train to parts unknown. Rescued by a charming gentleman, she is introduced to smugglers, seamen and a quaint, but mysterious fishing village. And --- thus Bess’s journey continues

Other books that might interest you

  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 16
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book
  • Shallow End - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Shallow End - A Stonechild and...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The fourth Stonechild and Rouleau mystery
    Kala Stonechild is the first female First Nations sleuth in Canadian crime fiction
    Author’s last four novels garnered strong reviews and advance praise. Publishers Weekly called the previous book in the series a “thoroughly enjoyable whodunit that will leave readers eager for the next installment”
    The first Stonechild and Rouleau mystery, Cold Mourning, was nominated for Arthur Ellis Best Crime Novel
    Author’s mystery In Winter's Grip was called “a fine debut by a talented writer” in the Globe and Mail
    Author is well-connected in the crime-writing community as a member and past president of the Capital Crime Writers and the Crime Writers of Canada.
    Show book
  • The First Eagle - cover

    The First Eagle

    Tony Hillerman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When Acting Lt. Jim Chee catches a Hopi poacher huddled over a butchered Navajo Tribal police officer, he has an open-and-shut case--until his former boss, Joe Leaphorn, blows it wide open. Now retired from the Navajo Tribal Police, Leaphorn has been hired to find a hot-headed female biologist hunting for the key to a virulent plague lurking in the Southwest. The scientist disappeared from the same area the same day the Navajo cop was murdered. Is she a suspect or another victim? And what about a report that a skinwalker--a Navajo witch--was seen at the same time and place too? For Leaphorn and Chee, the answers lie buried in a complicated knot of superstition and science, in a place where the worlds of native peoples and outside forces converge and collide.
    Show book
  • Snowblind - cover

    Snowblind

    Anna Velfman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An Empire seeking to reclaim its power...
     
    An Emperor who is not what he seems...
     
    A girl who could change the fate of the nation... whether she wants to, or not.
     
    All Lanna wants is to find peace in her tiny village on the fringes of the Great Northern Empire. After escaping the frozen south and the superstitions surrounding her falling-sickness, she is ready to settle.
     
    However, Lanna's seizures bring her the unwanted attention of the Empire's First Chemist- Chowa. Forced to travel to the Imperial palace, Lanna must survive the court intrigues and avoid a poisonous nemesis: the ninth concubine- Ceseed.
     
    Yet, Lanna's illness is not quite the curse she thought it was. It could be the key to reclaiming a lost talent. But this will come at a price, as the Emperor has grand schemes of his own.
     
    Snowblind is filled with toxic political intrigue, a search for lost knowledge and power-hungry characters. Join a young woman who will not be tamed on a remarkable adventure. Let the first instalment of the Pler trilogy take you on an extraordinary journey like no other.
    Show book
  • Nemesis - A Harry Hole Novel - cover

    Nemesis - A Harry Hole Novel

    Jo Nesbo

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    “Nesbø’s storytelling abilities are incomparable. Nemesis is crime novel as art form and great entertainment.” 
    —USA Today 
    The #1 international bestseller from one of the most celebrated crime writers in Europe—the New York Times bestselling author of The Snowman—Jo Nesbø’s extraordinary thriller Nemesis features Norwegian homicide detective Harry Hole, “the next in the long line of great noir crime detectives,” (San Diego Union-Tribune) in a case as dark and chilling as an Oslo winter’s night. The second Harry Hole novel to be released in America—following the critically acclaimed publication of The Redbird—Nemesis is a superb and surprising nail-biter that places Jo Nesbø in the company of Lawrence Block, Ian Rankin, Michael Connelly, and other top masters of crime fiction. Nesbø has already received the Glass Key Award and the Booksellers’ Prize, Norway’s most prestigious literary awards. Nemesis is proof that there are certainly more honors in this extraordinary writer's future. 
    *Edgar Nominee for Best Novel of the Year
    Show book
  • A Melanie Dickerson Collection II - The Silent Songbird and The Noble Servant - cover

    A Melanie Dickerson Collection...

    Melanie Dickerson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Two novels from New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson are now available in a low-priced, one-volume e-collection! 
    The Silent Songbird 
    Evangeline is gifted with a heavenly voice, but she is trapped in a sinister betrothal until she embarks on a daring escape and meets brave Westley le Wyse. Can he help her discover the freedom to sing again? More than Evangeline’s future is at stake as she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue that threatens England’s monarchy. Should she give herself up to protect the only person who cares about her? If she does, who will save the king from a plot to steal his throne? 
    The Noble Servant 
    Magdalen lost everything to the scheme of an evil servant. When a handsome shepherd befriends her, Magdalen and the shepherd uncover a sinister plot. She might just gain what she’s always wanted . . .if she makes it in time. New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson beautifully re-imagines The Goose Girl by the Brothers Grimm into a medieval tale of adventure, loss, and love.
    Show book