Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Nick of Time - cover

Nick of Time

Yvonne Pont

Publisher: Yvonne Pont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Something is different. True it is 1848 and Bess Turner, alias Bess N-ike, has returned to London, England after a year’s absence, but --- where are the people? Where is the noise and bustle of street life? Had something gone wrong on her journey from the 21st century back to the 19th century? Will Bess not spend Christmas with her Dickens family? Unprepared, she finds herself in the middle of a cholera epidemic. Forced to flee London, Bess is hustled on a train to parts unknown. Rescued by a charming gentleman, she is introduced to smugglers, seamen and a quaint, but mysterious fishing village. And --- thus Bess’s journey continues

Other books that might interest you

  • The Way to Rainy Mountain 50th Anniversary Edition - cover

    The Way to Rainy Mountain 50th...

    N. Scott Momaday

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The Way to Rainy Mountain recalls the journey of Tai-me, the sacred Sun Dance doll, and of Tai-me’s people in three unique voices: the legendary, the historical, and the contemporary. It is also the personal journey of N. Scott Momaday, who on a pilgrimage to the grave of his Kiowa grandmother traversed the same route taken by his forebears and in so doing confronted his Kiowa heritage. It is an evocation of three things in particular: a landscape that is incomparable, a time that is gone forever, and the human spirit, which endures. Celebrating fifty years since its 1969 release, this new edition offers a moving new preface and invites a new generation of readers to explore the Kiowa myths, legends, and history with Pulitzer Prize–winning author N. Scott Momaday.
    Show book
  • Out of the Dawn Light - cover

    Out of the Dawn Light

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A brand new medieval mystery from the author of the Hawkenlye series - England, 1087. On her sister's wedding day, Lassair meets an attractive and enigmatic stranger who brings a breath of the fascinating outside world to her backwater Fenland village. When he asks Lassair to use her unique talents to help locate a mysterious treasure she accepts, despite the dangers. But this is no ordinary treasure hunt; the object of the perilous search is five hundred years old and has a terrifying power of its own . . .
    Show book
  • The Noble Servant - cover

    The Noble Servant

    Melanie Dickerson

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson beautifully re-imagines “The Goose Girl” by the Brothers Grimm into a medieval tale of adventure, loss, and love. 
    “When it comes to happily-ever-afters, Melanie Dickerson is the undisputed queen of fairy-tale romance, and all I can say is—long live the queen!” —JULIE LESSMAN, award-winning author of The Daughters of Boston, Winds of Change, and Heart of San Francisco series 
    She lost everything to the scheme of an evil servant. 
    But she might just gain what she’s always wanted . . . if she makes it in time. 
    The impossible was happening. She, Magdalen of Mallin, was to marry the Duke of Wolfberg. Magdalen had dreamed about receiving a proposal ever since she met the duke two years ago. Such a marriage was the only way she could save her people from starvation. But why would a handsome, wealthy duke want to marry her, a poor baron’s daughter? It seemed too good to be true. 
    On the journey to Wolfberg Castle, Magdalen’s servant forces her to trade places and become her servant, threatening not only Magdalen’s life, but the lives of those she holds dear. Stripped of her identity and title in Wolfberg, where no one knows her, Magdalen is sentenced to tend geese while she watches her former handmaiden gain all Magdalen had ever dreamed of. 
    When a handsome shepherd befriends her, Magdalen begins to suspect he carries secrets of his own. Together, Magdalen and the shepherd uncover a sinister plot against Wolfberg and the duke. But with no resources, will they be able to find the answers, the hiding places, and the forces they need in time to save both Mallin and Wolfberg?
    Show book
  • The Ballymara Road - cover

    The Ballymara Road

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The final gripping instalment of the bestselling Four Streets trilogy which began with THE FOUR STREETS and continued in HIDE HER NAME. 
     
    Christmas morning, 1963. Fifteen-year-old Kitty Doherty gives birth in a cold, unfriendly Irish convent. She knows her beautiful baby boy presents a huge danger to her family's Catholic community back in Liverpool's Four Streets. When her baby is adopted by a wealthy family in Chicago, Kitty considers the problem solved. But soon it's obvious the baby is very sick and only his birth mother can save him. 
     
    In Liverpool, a charismatic new priest has arrived. As the Dohertys cope with the tragic consequences of Kitty's pregnancy, the police seem close to solving the double murder which rocked the Four Streets to the core. But now all that is about to be put at risk once again. 
     
    What people are saying about THE BALLYMARA ROAD: 
     
    'Brilliant finale to the other books, tied up all the loose ends and a good ending' 
     
    'Beautifully written, I found myself really engrossed in the characters and the author had a magical way of making you feel you were right there with them' 
     
    'Looking forward to the next book Nadine Dorries writes, she will definitely be on my pre-order list from now on' 
     
    It's not often you get a series where each of the following books were better than the last! Highly recommended!'
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Above the Waterfall - A Novel - cover

    Above the Waterfall - A Novel

    Ron Rash

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this poetic and haunting tale set in contemporary Appalachia, New York Times bestselling author Ron Rash illuminates lives shaped by violence and a powerful connection to the land. 
    Les, a long-time sheriff just three-weeks from retirement, contends with the ravages of crystal meth and his own duplicity in his small Appalachian town. 
    Becky, a park ranger with a harrowing past, finds solace amid the lyrical beauty of this patch of North Carolina. 
    Enduring the mistakes and tragedies that have indelibly marked them, they are drawn together by a reverence for the natural world. When an irascible elderly local is accused of poisoning a trout stream, Les and Becky are plunged into deep and dangerous waters, forced to navigate currents of disillusionment and betrayal that will force them to question themselves and test their tentative bond—and threaten to carry them over the edge. 
    Echoing the heartbreaking beauty of William Faulkner and the spiritual isolation of Carson McCullers, Above the Waterfall demonstrates once again the prodigious talent of “a gorgeous, brutal writer” (Richard Price) hailed as “one of the great American authors at work today” (Janet Maslin, New York Times).
    Show book