Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Bellica - The Bellica Trilogy #1 - cover

Bellica - The Bellica Trilogy #1

Katje van Loon

Publisher: The Pack Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Conspiracy. Magic. Courage. 
All Bellica Yarrow wants from life is to stay the course. Her military career fulfills her childhood dreams and affords her a freedom royalty never did. Yarrow doesn’t need anything more than the steadfast friendship of her Major, Caelum, and her Chief Medical Officer Jules. 
The Goddesses have other plans, however. They set in motion events that threaten the bellica with madness and despair. Constancy has been Yarrow’s standby, but betrayals on every side push her further into chaos. She watches the puppet-Empress, her aunt, destroy the country, and dreads the day Zardria, her power-hungry twin sister, takes the Sceptre and rules openly. 
Should Bellica Yarrow keep her military oath, or topple her sister’s cruel regime? Can she? 
The choice is nearly impossible. The longer she equivocates, the more she risks the lives of everyone she holds dear. Meanwhile, Zardria has her own idea of how events should unfold – and what Yarrow doesn’t know could cost the bellica her life. 
Bellica is the first intallment in The Bellica Trilogy, part of the over-arching epic fantasy series The Third Age. If you like books that are equal parts slow burn and fast-paced action, diverse casts of characters, and deeply mythic tales, then you’ll love Katje van Loon’s vision of humanity in the far-off future. 
Enter the world of Athering’s embattled, valiant women today!

Other books that might interest you

  • Daughter of Dragons - cover

    Daughter of Dragons

    Kathleen H. Nelson

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Taziem is a magnificent dragon: sexy, powerful, intelligent.  Like other dragons, she hoards diamonds, but unlike other dragons, she covets knowledge as well. So when the local villagers offer her one of their younglings as a sacrifice, she decides to take it home with her and study it so she might learn all there is to know about humans. If the youngling satisfies her curiosity, she’ll set it free eventually. If it disappoints, she’ll feed it to her soon-to-be-born dragonets. 
     
    As it so happens, the youngling is fearless, clever, and dragon-smart.  She quickly exceeds Taziem’s wildest expectations and winds up bonding with the newborns. Lathwi, The Soft One, they call her, and accept her as a tanglemate.  As they live and grow and play together, Lathwi forgets that she was ever human. After a time though, Taqziem must banish Lathwi from her territory for her own safety.  
     
     Forced into the human world again, Lathwi begins a journey of re-discovery, stumbling onto a plot to revive dragonkind’s ancient nemesis. She withstands sorcerous attacks and an onslaught of demons, but without her mother’s help, she knows she cannot defeat the evil that threatens to consume the world. 
     
     The question is, can she return to Taziem’s mountain in time to prevent an apocalypse? 
    Show book
  • Rhapsody in Red - Shades of Crimson #1 - cover

    Rhapsody in Red - Shades of...

    Mila Waters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Calix Mabry had everything a vampire could ever want. A mate, eternal life, and enough money to sustain them for the rest of their lives. But when his beloved is taken from him, he vows to bring her back at any cost. 
    Enter Vivienne Peltier. Long legs. Deep red hair. She is everything his Sofia wasn't. He is drawn to her like a moth to a flame. 
    Torn between his desire to bring Sofia back and his lust for Vivienne, Calix makes a decision that could potentially tear everything and everyone he knows apart. 
    True love always wins in the end. But at what cost?
    Show book
  • Antebellum Awakening - The Network Series #2 - cover

    Antebellum Awakening - The...

    Katie Cross

    • 0
    • 15
    • 0
    Never underestimate the power of a volatile witch. 
     
    Still reeling in the wake of her mother’s death, sixteen-year-old Bianca Monroe is forced to move to Chatham Castle. Not even the sudden appearance of ancient dragons in haunted Letum Wood nor her two best friends can distract her from the strength of her deep, dark rage. 
     
    Her grief puts her magical powers into chaos, endangering any witch around her. She has six months left to destroy the curse that will kill her and fulfill her contract with the most cunning enemy of all: her former teacher Miss Mabel.  
     
    Bianca must make a choice: learn to control her restless powers, or let the powers control her. 
     
    Antebellum Awakening is the second book in the thrilling new fantasy collection The Network Series. It’s a haunting tale about tragedy, loss, and the power of moving on. 
    Schedule
    Show book
  • Elemental Soul - The Eldritch Files #5 - cover

    Elemental Soul - The Eldritch...

    Phaedra Weldon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Time is running out.. 
    It's the calm before the storm, and Sam knows Dionysus is coming for her. Spirit is the only way to defeat him—the one Element she hasn't mastered. 
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • The Renegade Hunter - A Rogue Hunter Novel - cover

    The Renegade Hunter - A Rogue...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    Nicholas Argeneau is not your typical rogue hunter in The Renegade Hunter, the latest installment of the Rogue Hunter series from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands. Though he spent centuries targeting vampires who break the immortal laws, for the past 50 years Nicholas has been a rogue himself. But then he saves a beautiful mortal from a terrifying bloodsucker, and everything changes . . .
    Show book