Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Sir E Robert Smythe and the Lost Detective - Sir E Robert Smythe and the Galactic Safety Council - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Sir E Robert Smythe and the Lost Detective - Sir E Robert Smythe and the Galactic Safety Council

Christina Weigand

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

During summer vacation, while Anna and her brother Ben, along with Bridget and her brother, Sam, are participating in the Summer Reading Adventure at the local library, the town council announces they are building low-income housing for the homeless. While the housing is being constructed a tent community has been established on an old soccer field on the other side of a haunted swamp. Sam is upset by this turn of events, but his anger is only beginning. 
In the meantime, unbeknownst to them, the girls befriend Zoe, one of the homeless people living in the tents. The girls spend time together tracking down clues supplied by the books they are borrowing from the library that will eventually lead to a prize at the end of the Summer Reading Adventure. 
When Bridget and Sam’s grandfather dies in a tragic car accident Sam’s anger increases when it is discovered that Zoe’s father was the drunk driver in the truck that crashed into his grandfather’s car. The family lawyer reveals in the will that the farm and house have been left to the community to build low income housing for the homeless. 
Sam’s anger reaches a boiling point and he directs it at Zoe, hatching a plan to get back at the people he thinks are taking away everything he holds dear.

Other books that might interest you

  • Kings of the Court - cover

    Kings of the Court

    Alison Hughes

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When the Gladiators basketball team's nasty coach finally gets turfed midseason, things couldn't possibly get worse. The team hasn't won a game yet, and morale is at rock bottom. Sameer, who announces the games and keeps score, and Vijay, the team mascot, have their hands full keeping the team's spirits up. When they get promoted to assistant coach and manager, can they help a small, unathletic, Shakespeare-quoting drama teacher coach the team to victory, or at least to dignity? Or will the courtside drama eclipse even the school play?
    Show book
  • Thin Places - cover

    Thin Places

    Lesley Choyce

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A YA novel told in haunting verse, about a boy who has trouble fitting in, returning to his Irish roots in search of a girl from another world, whom he knows only as a voice in his head
    Author’s previous verse novel, Jeremy Stone, was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Award; and author has been awarded The Dartmouth Book Award, The Atlantic Poetry Prize, and The Ann Connor Brimer Award
    Author has written over 90 books
    Draws on Celtic myths, with a feel of contemporary realism
    Show book
  • In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart - cover

    In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart

    Melody Fitzpatrick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Third book in the Hannah Smart trilogy about a precocious, impulsive pre-teen girl with a knack for finding the spotlight — and getting into trouble
    Hannah is 14 now and has a part-time job working at the local TV station
    Carries on theme of self-reliance and responsibility
    Comedic and light-hearted in tone, but with messages including the importance of being yourself and not feeling you have to exaggerate or lie to impress others
    Material has tested well with grade 5 and 6 students of both sexes
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • Fox + Chick: The Sleepover - and Other Stories - cover

    Fox + Chick: The Sleepover - and...

    Sergio Ruzzier

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fox and Chick are back in this newest book in the hilarious early reader series by Geisel Honoree Sergio Ruzzier.In the tradition of Frog and Toad, this critically acclaimed early reader series features Fox and Chick – two unlikely friends who despite their differences always manage to find a way to get along. In this third book in the series, Fox and Chick have a sleepover, search for a lost hammer and throw a surprise party that unexpectedly surprises everyone. The universal characters, humor and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.• BUDDY BOOKS ARE PERENNIAL: From Frog and Toad to Elephant & Piggie to Ivy & Bean, kids of all ages respond to books about friendship.• PERFECT FOR NEW READERS: The universal characters, humor, and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.• AWARD-WINNING: The first book in the series won a Geisel Award Honor for "the most distinguished book for beginning readers" by the American Library Association. It was also a New York Times Notable Children's Book and appeared on many Best Book of the Year lists.• KIDS LIKE GRAPHIC NOVELS:  This series will appeal to kids who are visually oriented readers as well as new readers who are eager to tackle graphic novels.Perfect for:• Parents, caregivers, and grandparents• Teachers and librarians • Fans of Frog and Toad, Elephant & Piggie, Bink & Gollie, Charlie & Mouse, and Barkus
    Show book
  • Touch - The Delta Girls - Book Five - cover

    Touch - The Delta Girls - Book Five

    Juliet Madison

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    In the astonishing conclusion to The Delta Girls series, the mystery that has haunted the Delcarta sisters will finally be answered, but discovering the truth may be the last thing they learn.When Talia and her sisters take part in a live studio audience for a television show, the last thing the eldest Delta Girl expects is for her psychic gift to be unwillingly broadcast to the nation. Now the media are hounding her, and the sisters’ secret life and the power they hold threatens to become public knowledge.As Talia seeks refuge in a sculpture class, she meets mysterious loner and talented artist Marco Rodriguez. He seems to be the only person who doesn’t treat her differently after discovering her apparent supernatural ability. But someone else has heard about Talia’s gift―someone dangerous―and he will stop at nothing to get what he wants from her. Talia realizes that the evil threatening her may be linked to her father’s disappearance. She is thrust into a conflicting dilemma of wanting to free herself from danger, but knowing that doing so may mean she never gets to find out the truth about her dad. When her investigations lead her to become unintentionally separated from her sisters, how will The Delta Girls use their gift without each of the five sisters being present? Talia will have to decide how much she is prepared to risk in order to bring about justice and put an end to the mystery that has haunted their entire family.
    Show book