Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Dangerous Ideals - Hollow #2 - cover

Dangerous Ideals - Hollow #2

Kent Silverhill

Publisher: Mirke Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Drome hasn't been in the crazy, inside-out world of Hollow long but already loads of people are out to kill him. He's not entirely sure why they're after him but one thing is sure: he needs to get back to his village soon to warn his fellow humans of the danger coming their way. 
 
The trouble is he and his somatically-challenged companion have been shipwrecked in the middle of nowhere and need help. Unfortunately, almost everyone they meet is intent on sticking sharp, pointy objects in Drome's tender body. And Drome's relationship with his skeletal travelling partner is getting a little too weird for comfort. 
 
Meanwhile, things aren't going too well in Drome's village. Civilisation is clinging on by its fingertips as factions compete for the village's dwindling resources. Plots, counter plots and general greed are the order of the day. The struggle to find a way back to Earth – and to be the one who controls that way – is a deadly business. 
 
What chance do Drome or the villagers have with Vester, the emperor's power hungry ex-advisor, against them? As far as Vester is concerned, nothing can be allowed to threaten Hollow's political status quo. Especially not upstart humans with their interstitial travel technology. They all need to be killed and their interstitial travel device destroyed. He has despatched the emperor's elite troops, the skalpriss, to do just that. 
 
Will Drome be in time to warn the villagers? Will they succeed in rebuilding the device that can get them home to Earth? 
 
Or will the skalpriss get there first? 
Book 2 in the Hollow series (approx 278 pages) 
 
Interview with the author, Kent Silverhill 
 
Q. Why did you choose a living skeleton to be Drome's companion? 
A. I liked the idea Drome's companion having a bizarre condition that made things even more difficult for the fleeing pair. Readers share in the dilemma of having to consider every situation from the point of view of someone who has no flesh. I think it makes for great comedy fantasy. 
 
Q. The villains in your books are often quite inept. Why is that? 
A. I read a lot of fantasy books and the antagonists are often shallow and infallible, at least until the end when the hero wins. Real life villains might have a broad plan to be leader of the world or whatever, but they still have to deal with things that go wrong day to day. They might seem sure of themselves but, like the rest of us, they have to make it up as they go along. My baddies have as many foibles as anyone else… plus massive egos which often get in the way. 
 
Q. The villagers of Amblesby quickly fall apart. Surely they would pull together in their situation? 
A. I used to live in a village much like Amblesby. It was warm and friendly but just below the surface, there was often division and tension. As I developed the story I realised that some villagers would not cooperate. This was one reason I placed Amblesby in a remote area. If aliens started turning up then the villagers would unite. 
 
There are people who think of others and will work together in a crisis. Then there are those who will try turn any situation to their advantage. In between are a number of people who can be swayed one way or another. Then there are the ditherers. 
 
Q. Why are there different types of magic in Hollow? 
A. Physics, chemistry, medicine, religion and every other area of knowledge have many branches so why not to magic too? I wanted there to be 'normal' magic as well as sympanometry which is a blend of science and magic.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Jungle - cover

    The Jungle

    Upton Sinclair

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Upton Sinclair's dramatic and deeply moving story exposed the brutal conditions in the Chicago stockyards at the turn of the nineteenth century and brought into sharp moral focus the appalling odds against which immigrants and other working people struggled for their share of the American dream. Denounced by the conservative press as an un-American libel on the meatpacking industry, this book was championed by more progressive thinkers, including then president Theodore Roosevelt, and was a major catalyst to the passing of the Pure Food and Meat Inspection act, which has tremendous impact to this day.
    Show book
  • The Rogue Retrieval - cover

    The Rogue Retrieval

    Dan Koboldt

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of Terry Brooks' Landover series, Piers Anthony Xanth books, and Terry Pratchett's Discword novels, scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval.  
    Sleight of hand…in another land 
    Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. 
    What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real. 
    That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out. 
     
    Show book
  • Naughty Pussy Tales - cover

    Naughty Pussy Tales

    Edith Nesbit

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A selection of stories about very naughty cats and their adventures. Cats confess in their conversations what it is like to live with humans of different ranks and professions. Some of the very dark secrets also revealed here. Cats aren't always friendly with each other, apparently. And of course these delightful tales told the eyes of the animal are full of with and humour which only cats know how to express best.
    Show book
  • A Kiss for Queens (A Throne for Sisters—Book Six) - cover

    A Kiss for Queens (A Throne for...

    Morgan Rice

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    “Morgan Rice's imagination is limitless. In another series that promises to be as entertaining as the previous ones, A THRONE OF SISTERS presents us with the tale of two sisters (Sophia and Kate), orphans, fighting to survive in a cruel and demanding world of an orphanage. An instant success. I can hardly wait to put my hands on the second and third books!”
    --Books and Movie Reviews (Roberto Mattos)
    
    The new #1 Bestselling epic fantasy series by Morgan Rice!
    
    In A KISS FOR QUEENS (A Throne for Sisters—Book Six), it is time for Sophia to come into her own. It is time for her to lead an army, to lead a nation, to step up and be the commander of the most epic battle the realm may ever see. Her love, Sebastian, remains imprisoned and set to be executed. Will they reunite in time?
    
    Kate has finally freed herself from the witch’s power, and is free to become the warrior she was meant to be. Her skills will be tested in the battle of her life, as she fights at her sister’s side. Will the sisters save each other?
    
    The Queen, furious at Rupert and Lady D’Angelica, exiles him and sentences her to execution. But they just may have their own agenda.
    
    And all of this converges in an epic battle that will decide the future of the crown—and the fate of the realm—forever.
    
    A KISS FOR QUEENS (A Throne for Sisters—Book Six) is book #6 in a dazzling new fantasy series rife with love, heartbreak, tragedy, action, adventure, magic, swords, sorcery, dragons, fate and heart-pounding suspense. A page turner, it is filled with characters that will make you fall in love, and a world you will never forget. 
    
    Book #7 in the series will be released soon.
    
    “[A Throne for Sisters is a] powerful opener to a series [that] will produce a combination of feisty protagonists and challenging circumstances to thoroughly involve not just young adults, but adult fantasy fans who seek epic stories fueled by powerful friendships and adversaries.”
    --Midwest Book Review (Diane Donovan)
    Show book
  • Blood Blade (Skinners Book 1) - cover

    Blood Blade (Skinners Book 1)

    Marcus Pelegrimas

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Welcome to the nightmare . . . 
    There is a world you don't know about, inhabited by supernatural creatures of darkness—vampires, werewolves, and all manner of savage, impossible beasts that live for terror and slaughter and blood. They are all around us but you cannot see them, for knowledge of their presence—so close and so hungry—would surely drive any ordinary human insane.  
    But for centuries a special breed of hunter has kept the monsters at bay, preventing them from breaking through the increasingly fragile barriers protecting our mortal realm.  
    These guardians are called skinners.  
    But beware . . . for there are very few of them left.
    Show book
  • The Deceiver - The Way to Freedom #8 - cover

    The Deceiver - The Way to...

    H.M. Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Book 8 is here! 
     
    Dearen and her newfound Suenese allies are on their way to Daegarouf to enlist Pydarki help in their struggle against the Kingdom of Arran.  
     
    But the journey reveals the tip of a hidden agenda that makes Dearen question who her friends really are.
    Show book