Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Apricot Eyes - cover

Apricot Eyes

Rohan Quine

Publisher: EC1 Digital

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In Apricot Eyes by Rohan Quine, a cat-and-mouse pursuit through the New York City night involves a preacher, a psychic and a dominatrix, broadcast live on air - until a horror is unearthed, bringing two of them together and the third to a sticky end. 
  
Having partially regained a power of second sight that he'd once possessed but lost, Jaymi Peek uses this ability in a live weekly television show online, where he channels onto the screen those unexpected places, hidden colours and hatching plans that he can perceive throughout New York City. He applies this sight to the task of relocating his old friend Scorpio, who has gone missing, but succeeds in catching only a glimpse of him in some unidentified corner of the city's underbelly. 
  
Across a subway station, Jaymi notices an unwelcome visitor from his and Scorpio's past - Kev Banton, who has now become a prominent evangelical preacher intent upon a moral cleansing of the population. Jaymi tails Kev discreetly through the subway, and is surprised when Kev's journey ends at a waterfront waste ground in an industrial corner of the Bronx, where Kev slips out of sight amid an odd hum of underground engines... 
  
The monstrous population beneath this waste ground, and the malign purposes for which the preacher and his wife have been feeding it, are revealed in the course of a triangular cat-and-mouse pursuit involving Jaymi, Scorpio and the preacher. This unfolds in Scorpio's physical pursuit of Kev through the crackle and night-pulse of the streets, from Times Square to the marginalised fringes of the city; in Jaymi's psychic pursuit of Scorpio, whether streaking up high through the skyscrapers' shine or secreted on a tanker as it rattles through the Bronx; and on screen, in the colourised shimmer of what Jaymi broadcasts live. 
  
In its rollicking journey through these hidden planes of New York, to the simplicity and sensuality of its ending, Apricot Eyes is a blast of fun that trumpets boldness, tolerance and voltage, celebrating the mystery and dangers furled just behind the surface of the everyday. 
 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story - cover

    City of Wishes: The Complete...

    Rachel Morgan

    • 6
    • 37
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: A human slave, a fae prince, and a Godmother who’ll grant any wish—if you pay the price.
     
     
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where magic is real and wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is on society's bottommost rung: she's human.
     
    To make matters worse, she's also a slave, bound to her stepmother by magic.
     
    Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it.
     
    But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep.
     
    Elle has never been desperate enough to summon her.
     
    Until now.
     
     
     
    This collection includes all 6 episodes in the CITY OF WISHES Cinderella retelling:
     
    1. The Memory Thief
     
    2. The Vampire Trap
     
    3. The Moonlight Masquerade
     
    4. The Eternal Night
     
    5. The Starlight Quest
     
    6. The Everafter Wish
    Show book
  • Resonance - cover

    Resonance

    P.E. Padilla

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The master revealed…the end in sight.
     
    Ayim Rasaad is dead, the threat apparently ended. After all the battles, all the death, all the heartache, Sam and the other heroes of Gythe thought they had finally won.
     
    They were wrong.
     
    Somehow, Rasaad’s master pilfered the two artifacts of power his apprentice had found. Only one remains hidden. When the three are united, magical might as had not been known for ages will be at the user’s fingertips.
     
    Sam Sharp intends to be the one to obtain the last object, stopping his mysterious enemy once and for all.
     
    All he needs to do is find the missing item that has been hidden for millennia, destroy the army trying to crush everything good in the world, and defeat a villain who may or may not be the most renowned Zouyim master who ever lived.
     
    Get the final book in the Harmonic Magic trilogy and experience the struggle, the danger, the liberation of Gythe…or its destruction.
    Show book
  • Elemental Thief - cover

    Elemental Thief

    Rachel Morgan

    • 3
    • 25
    • 0
    She's a thief. He's the guy she just stole from. Now they'll have to work together.
     
    On an average night, seventeen-year-old Ridley uses her forbidden magic to steal from the wealthy and secretly give to those in need.But tonight, someone follows her home—and ends up murdered outside her apartment.The guy who happens to be too close to the scene?Archer Davenport, heir to the city's largest fortune.He's also the guy Ridley just stole from.Archer reveals a dangerous truth: the artifact Ridley stole from him contains secrets that could put many lives in danger.Which means Ridley has to get it back.And Archer doesn't trust her to do it alone.Together, they'll journey into the hidden parts of the city, searching for the artifact while Ridley tries to unravel the mystery of the murder.She's determined to find answers.Even if it means putting her own life at risk.A near-future city, forbidden magic, and plenty of secrets.Start reading today to get lost in a dystopian urban fantasy adventure!
     
    ~ ~ ~THE RIDLEY KAYNE CHRONICLES:Elemental Thief - out now!Elemental Power - out now!Elemental Heir - 2020
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    "OH MY GOSH THIS WAS SO GOOD!"~ Caitlin on Goodreads ★★★★★"A real page-turner, couldn't put it down."~ Lisa K. on Goodreads ★★★★★"... mesmerizing from the word go!"~ Angie T. on Goodreads ★★★★★"Spellbinding! I absolutely loved it!"~ Ashley M. on Goodreads ★★★★"Rachel Morgan is one of my auto-buy authors."~ Rachel on Goodreads ★★★★★
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 9
    • 48
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau’s bed? He’s not dessert—he’s the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there’s another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger’s bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That’s a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • Wait for Dusk - The Fifth Dark Days Novel - cover

    Wait for Dusk - The Fifth Dark...

    Jocelynn Drake

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “A must-read addition to the urban fantasy genre, filled both with action and satisfying characters.”—Kim Harrison “Jocelynn Drake will have you coming back for more.”—Jeaniene Frost Vampire enforcer Mira must thwart the malevolent schemes of an ancient coven in the fifth action-packed Dark Days novel from New York Times bestselling author Jocelynn Drake. Wait for Dusk is gripping, stellar urban fantasy in the vein of Kim Harrison and Vicki Pettersson, with enough sensual heat to enthrall readers of Christine Feehan, J. R. Ward, and Jeaniene Frost.
    Show book
  • Modern Magick Volume 2 - Books 4-6 - cover

    Modern Magick Volume 2 - Books 4-6

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The fight to save British magick rages on — and it’s taking the Society’s beleaguered champions away from Home. Far, far away, to worlds long lost; worlds no one could ever have imagined existed.
     
    Dangers and mysteries abound, which is way up Ves’s street. Jay isn’t quite so sure. Severed as they are from the Society’s support, will magick’s unlikely heroes make it Home unscathed?
     
    It’ll be fine. After all, these lost magickal domains are the Society’s ultimate dream. What could possibly be so bad about that?
     
    The Society for Magickal Heritage battles modern decay in three thrilling new Modern Magick adventures: The Fifth Britain, Royalty and Ruin, and Music and Misadventure.
    Show book