Come on board for a journey through literature!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Teacher's Pet - Windy City Weddings #1 - cover

Teacher's Pet - Windy City Weddings #1

Kayla Drake

Publisher: Four-Ply Publishing

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Not a single detail escaped Dennis's notice. Not the curls in Audrey's hair, or the graceful curves of her feminine shape. Not the easy way she sat on the classroom floor with his young son, or the way she smiled at their game. 
And certainly not the way she looked up at Dennis and blinked slowly once, then again, before rising to greet him. He'd caught her off guard, but she was very good at hiding it and composing herself. 
Dennis approved of her quick recovery. 
That was his way – to carefully absorb every detail, and then to assess and manage everything within his control. He was methodical by nature. Precise. Thorough. 
Why, then, as she walked forward to greet him, did he seem to forget everything around him but Audrey? 
Just for the briefest moment, at the touch of her hand, he was utterly certain that nothing could ever go wrong if she was in his life. 
But things could go very, very wrong. He knew that beyond any doubt. It was the reason he was now a single father, the reason he had to monitor every detail in his son's life. How else could he keep the boy safe? How else could he ensure his son would have a good and happy life? 
Audrey could help with that. She owned a private daycare, best in the city. She understood children, knew his son, and even looked beautiful when she blushed. 
Suddenly, Dennis knew exactly what he wanted. 
And what Dennis wanted, he always found a way to get.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sold to a Laird - cover

    Sold to a Laird

    Karen Ranney

    • 3
    • 33
    • 0
    In Sold to a Laird, the latest passionate Scottish love story from author Karen Ranney, a stubborn beauty sold into marriage by her father is determined to resist the charms of her new husband, a complete stranger. But Douglas Eston and and Lady Sarah Baines won’t be strangers for long . . .
    Show book
  • The Pleasure of the Rose - The MacNeil Legacy - Book One - cover

    The Pleasure of the Rose - The...

    Jane Bonander

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Long a master of the historical and the heartfelt, Jane Bonander pens a sweeping Scottish romance, perfect for readers of Mary Balogh.
    "Jane Bonander reaches out to her readers' hearts." —RT Book Reviews
    As Fletcher MacNeil sat in a jail cell, the last thing he expected was a Scottish solicitor bearing news of an inheritance. Fletcher, half Comanche and half Scottish, is the only surviving heir to Castle Sheiling and a fortune beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he must escape his current predicament and travel across the ocean—to a world of loyal clans and kinsmen where Fletcher’s very appearance marks him as outsider.
    Rosalyn Geddes, housekeeper of Sheiling, is relieved to hear that the new earl of Kintyre has been located in America. But the last thing she expected was the mysterious, darkly handsome man who appears on the castle doorstep. Rosalyn cannot believe he is a MacNeil, let alone the new earl. But there’s something about this man—a power and magnetism that draws her in.
    Fletcher learns that his inheritance comes with a caveat—he must produce an heir within one year’s time or the fortune goes to a rogue cousin of the late earl. A marriage of convenience is proposed, and Roz reluctantly agrees. What begins as purely a business transaction blossoms into something more. Roz begins to feel herself open up to the possibility of love, but the question of whether Fletcher will leave her once he’s met the terms of the will continues to loom over their relationship. Can they overcome Roz’s tragic past and Fletcher’s uncertain future?
    Show book
  • When a Scot Ties the Knot - Castles Ever After - cover

    When a Scot Ties the Knot -...

    Tessa Dare

    • 12
    • 65
    • 0
    On the cusp of her first London season, Miss Madeline Gracechurch was shy, pretty, and talented with a drawing pencil, but hopelessly awkward with gentlemen. She was certain to be a dismal failure on the London marriage mart. So Maddie did what generations of shy, awkward young ladies have done: she invented a sweetheart. 
    A Scottish sweetheart. One who was handsome and honorable and devoted to her, but conveniently never around. Maddie poured her heart into writing the imaginary Captain MacKenzie letter after letter . . . and by pretending to be devastated when he was (not really) killed in battle, she managed to avoid the pressures of London society entirely. 
    Until years later, when this kilted Highland lover of her imaginings shows up in the flesh. The real Captain Logan MacKenzie arrives on her doorstep—handsome as anything, but not entirely honorable. He's wounded, jaded, in possession of her letters . . . and ready to make good on every promise Maddie never expected to keep.
    Show book
  • The Duke and I With 2nd Epilogue - cover

    The Duke and I With 2nd Epilogue

    Julia Quinn

    • 5
    • 72
    • 0
    From #1 New York Times bestselling author Julia Quinn comes the first novel in her beloved Regency-set series featuring the charming, powerful Bridgerton family—soon to be a Netflix series. 
    In the ballrooms and drawing rooms of Regency London, rules abound. From their earliest days, children of aristocrats learn how to address an earl and curtsey before a prince—while other dictates of the ton are unspoken yet universally understood. A proper duke should be imperious and aloof. A young, marriageable lady should be amiable…but not too amiable. 
    Daphne Bridgerton has always failed at the latter. The fourth of eight siblings in her close-knit family, she has formed friendships with the most eligible young men in London. Everyone likes Daphne for her kindness and wit. But no one truly desires her. She is simply too deuced honest for that, too unwilling to play the romantic games that captivate gentlemen. 
    Amiability is not a characteristic shared by Simon Basset, Duke of Hastings. Recently returned to England from abroad, he intends to shun both marriage and society—just as his callous father shunned Simon throughout his painful childhood. Yet an encounter with his best friend’s sister offers another option. If Daphne agrees to a fake courtship, Simon can deter the mamas who parade their daughters before him. Daphne, meanwhile, will see her prospects and her reputation soar. 
    The plan works like a charm—at first. But amid the glittering, gossipy, cut-throat world of London’s elite, there is only one certainty:  
    Love ignores every rule… 
      
      
      
      
     
      
     
    Show book
  • Shades of Trust - Trust Series Books 1-4 - cover

    Shades of Trust - Trust Series...

    Cristiane Serruya

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    Two billionaires who never fail to get what they want. They both want the same woman. Only one can have her.
     
    Ethan, an international steel tycoon with a traumatic past, doesn’t believe he can love a woman, or be loved by one—until he meets Sophia.
     
    Alistair, a powerful but guilt-ridden banker, has no trouble finding one-night stands to indulge him in his desire to dole out punishment and appease his tortured soul. Now he’ll do anything to have Sophia—if only once.
     
    Sophia, a young, wealthy Brazilian widow with partial amnesia, lives a lonely existence in London, torn between her love for a dead man and the fear of being discovered after a tragic accident.
     
    When their paths cross Sophia’s, Ethan and Alistair must each either overcome his guilt, fear, and pain and learn to see himself through forgiving eyes—or finally succumb to misery, alone.
     
    Ethan doesn’t believe he’s worthy of love. Alistair doesn’t believe anyone else is. Sophia will prove them both wrong. And then she must make a choice.
     
    A sizzling suspenseful romance for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Steel Brothers! If you like authors Barbara Freethy, Jill Shalvis, and Helen Hardt, you’ll love Shades of Trust by USA Today bestselling author Cristiane Serruya! 
    Show book
  • Unpredictable Love - Shades of Love 2 - cover

    Unpredictable Love - Shades of...

    Cristiane Serruya

    • 2
    • 13
    • 0
    He needs a woman to rescue him from his past. She needs a man to save her from the horrible things she’s done. Together, they might save each other…or get themselves killed.
     
    Billionaire Tavish MacCraig survived Afghanistan as a POW. Despite being back home and working at his family’s worldwide renowned art gallery, Tavish feels shattered. Wracked by PTSD, Tavish’s days are bleak; his nights, living nightmares; and his heart, an empty shell. And no one can understand the torture and pain eating at his soul. 
     
    No one but painter Laetitia Galen.
     
    Laetitia fled hell on earth when she was sixteen…at a very high price. She’s recently found peace and doesn’t want to disturb the false safety her small world gives her by falling for Tavish or accepting his gallery offer of an exclusive contract. Yet, she can’t resist the powerful and sizzling attraction that ignites between them. 
     
    But there is a man plotting a long-awaited revenge against Laetitia, and he will do whatever it takes to make her—and, incidentally, Tavish—pay for what she’s done. Before he kills them.
     
    Tavish and Laetitia will discover that falling in love is life’s greatest risk!
     
    Suspenseful and steamy, UNPREDICTABLE LOVE is a thrilling contemporary romance novel in the tradition of Barbara Freethy, Jill Shalvis, and Melissa Foster! 
    Show book