Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Renewal: Queer Sci Fi's Fourth Annual Flash Fiction Contest - QSF Flash Fiction #3 - cover

Renewal: Queer Sci Fi's Fourth Annual Flash Fiction Contest - QSF Flash Fiction #3

J. Scott Coatsworth

Publisher: Mischief Corner Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Re.new.al (noun) 
 
1) Resuming an activity after an interruption, or 
2) Extending a contract, subscription or license, or 
3) Replacing or repairing something that is worn out, run-down, or broken, or 
4) Rebirth after death. 
 
Four definitions to spark inspiration, a limitless number of stories to be conceived. Only 110 made the cut. 
 
Thrilling to hopeful, Renewal features 300-word speculative fiction ficlets about sexual and gender minorities to entice readers. 
 
Welcome to Renewal.

Other books that might interest you

  • Q-Ship Chameleon - Castle Federation #4 - cover

    Q-Ship Chameleon - Castle...

    Glynn Stewart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A heroic Captain denied command 
    A battered but relentless enemy 
    A covert operation to strike at the heart of an unstoppable foe! 
    Captain Kyle Roberts has commanded the carrier Avalon through the most vicious battles of the war against the Terran Commonwealth—but with Avalon in for repair, his political enemies deny him a new ship. 
    Unwilling to accept a desk, he takes command of a covert operation using a captured Commonwealth warship to strike at the very heart of their enemy, drawing away the reinforcements that could destroy the Alliance’s recent gains. 
    But the spies who planned the operation have secrets they haven’t shared. Their allies have their own agendas—and the Commonwealth has surprises of its own!
    Show book
  • Moonbreeze - The Dragonian Series #4 - cover

    Moonbreeze - The Dragonian...

    Adrienne Woods

    • 5
    • 369
    • 0
    The life or a star-studded royal has not been kind to eighteen-year-old Elena Watkins. With a Council breathing down her neck and a dragon that refuses to accept her as his rider, she must convince everyone that she is ready to rule Paegeia like her parents before her. But she has made a promise to her father, King Albert, that she will not go looking for him and free the people of Etan. Elena has promised to never truly fulfill her destiny. However, situations out of her control will soon force her to confront herself and the evil that seeks to destroy her. Elena must look inside of herself to discover if she can defeat the approaching darkness, be accepted by the people of Paegeia, bring her dragon back to light and fulfill the destiny written in their stars.
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • Broken Legions - Fantasy Skirmish Wargames in the Roman Empire - cover

    Broken Legions - Fantasy...

    Mark Latham

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Roman Empire rules the civilised world with an iron fist, seemingly all-powerful and limitless. And yet, the power of Rome is secured not by its mighty legions, but by small bands of warriors and agents fighting a secret war. Tasked by the Emperor to explore ancient temples, forgotten labyrinths and beast-haunted caverns, they seek out artefacts hidden by the gods themselves, hunt creatures of myth and face enemies that would use dark magic against the empire. 
    Broken Legions is a set of fantasy skirmish rules for a war unknown to history, fought in the shadows of the Roman Empire. Various factions recruit small warbands to fight in tight, scenario-driven battles that could secure the mystical power to defend – or crush – Rome. A points system allows factions to easily build a warband, and mercenaries and free agents may also be hired to bolster a force. Heroes and leaders may possess a range of skills, traits and magical abilities, but a henchman's blade can be just as sharp, and a campaign can see even the lowliest henchman become a hero of renown.
    Show book
  • Rimward Stars - Castle Federation #5 - cover

    Rimward Stars - Castle...

    Glynn Stewart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 1
    A helpless ally calls for aid 
    A ruthless enemy strikes without mercy 
    The fate of empires turns on even the smallest actions 
    When a minor trade partner sends the Castle Federation a desperate call for aid, they have few resources to spare from their all-consuming war against the Terran Commonwealth. Unwilling to be seen failing their allies but able to spare only a tiny force, Castle sends a hero to command the task group: Captain Kyle Roberts, the Stellar Fox. 
    Beyond the Rimward frontier of the Federation and its allies, little is as it seems. The pirates are being armed by an outside force, and the politics of these worlds is made deadlier by their poverty. When the Coraline Imperium—the Federation’s oft-difficult ally—sends forces as well, it risks a conflict that could undermine the Alliance protecting them both. 
    There are deeper games afoot as local schemes play the great powers against each other. Captain Roberts is caught in the chaos as fire and blood explode across the region. There is only one certainty: these Rimward Stars must not fall.
    Show book
  • To Prevent World Peace - Magical Mayhem #1 - cover

    To Prevent World Peace - Magical...

    Emily Martha Sorensen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The villains are dead.  The world is at peace.  And now the magical girls want to conquer it. 
    Chronos has the power to see the future, and that's the future Chronos foresees.  All she wants is to get a good night's sleep, so she decides to have a simple conversation with the fated ringleader in hopes that it will set that horrible future straight. 
    But Kendra is not an easy person to convince.  Kendra wants to save the world.  And if she has to cram that down the world's throat, well, so be it.
    Show book