Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Crane and the Crab - cover

The Crane and the Crab

SR Nathan

Publisher: Epigram Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A long, long time ago in a kampong, there was a pond with plenty of fish. 
 
But the pond soon begins to dry up, and a watchful and greedy crane has an idea: He fools the fish into thinking that he will bring them to a large, sparkling lake. In the meantime, a crab who has been watching the crane has plans of his own… 
 
Illustrated with engaging artwork, former Singapore President SR Nathan’s retelling of this wonderful folktale has a timeless message that can be enjoyed by children of all ages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Kisses from Hell - cover

    Kisses from Hell

    Kelley Armstrong, Kristin Cast,...

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Truly, Madly, Undead-ly 
    This irresistible collection features stories of love amid vampires by five of today's hottest authors—Kristin Cast (Tempted), Richelle Mead (Vampire Academy), Alyson Noël (Evermore), Kelley Armstrong (The Summoning), and Francesca Lia Block (Pretty Dead). 
    From a fugitive vampire forced to trust a boy who might work for the group bent on destroying her to the legendary romance of two immortals whose love compels them to risk everything, this heart-pounding collection brings new meaning to the words "love you forever." Whether you're into romances that are dark and moody or light and fun, these stories will quench that insatiable thirst for enchanting tales of the beautiful undead.
    Show book
  • The Monsters We Deserve - cover

    The Monsters We Deserve

    Marcus Sedgwick

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    'Do monsters always stay in the book where they were born? Are they content to live out their lives on paper, and never step foot into the real world?' 
     
    The Villa Diodati, on the shore of Lake Geneva, 1816: the Year without Summer. As Byron, Polidori, and Mr and Mrs Shelley shelter from the unexpected weather, old ghost stories are read and new ghost stories imagined. Born by the twin brains of the Shelleys is Frankenstein, one of the most influential tales of horror of all time. 
     
    In a remote mountain house, high in the French Alps, an author broods on Shelley's creation. Reality and perception merge, fuelled by poisoned thoughts. Humankind makes monsters; but who really creates who? This is a book about reason, the imagination, and the creative act of reading and writing. Marcus Sedgwick's ghostly, menacing novel celebrates the legacy of Mary Shelley's literary debut in its bicentenary year.
    Show book
  • He Said She Said - cover

    He Said She Said

    Kwame Alexander

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sparks will fly in this hip-hop-hot teen novel that mixes social protest and star-crossed romance, from Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Honor–winning author Kwame Alexander! He Said, She Said is perfect for fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rachel Vail alike. 
    He says: Omar "T-Diddy" Smalls has got it made—a full football ride to UMiami, hero-worship status at school, and pick of any girl at West Charleston High. She says: Football, shmootball. Here's what Claudia Clarke cares about: Harvard, the poor, the disenfranchised, the hungry, the staggering teen pregnancy rate, investigative journalism . . . the list goes on. She does not have a minute to waste on Mr. T-Diddy Smalls and his harem of bimbos. 
    He Said, She Said is a fun and fresh novel from Kwame Alexander that throws these two high school seniors together when they unexpectedly end up leading the biggest social protest this side of the Mississippi—with a lot of help from Facebook and Twitter. The stakes are high, the romance is hot, and when these worlds collide, watch out!
    Show book
  • Raven - A Creepy Hollow Story - cover

    Raven - A Creepy Hollow Story

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The glittering magic of high society faerie life, with a hint of forbidden romance ...
     
    When design student Raven Rosewood, daughter of high society fae, is almost killed in an explosion, her parents insist on assigning a bodyguard to protect her at all times. Raven agrees, but only if she can choose the guard.
     
    Flint's life couldn't be more different from that of his employers. He doesn't agree with their extravagant ways, but he's admired their daughter Raven since he first met her. When asked to guard her more closely after her life is threatened, Flint is happy to take on the assignment.
     
    Despite the gulf between their stations in life, Raven and Flint can't help growing close to one another. As the pressure of Raven's final fashion show builds, along with the threat of her parents discovering her relationship with a guard, Raven and Flint must decide whether their differences will push them apart or bring them closer together.
     
     
     
    Raven is a companion story to the bestselling YA fantasy Creepy Hollow series. While it is best enjoyed in conjunction with the rest of the series, it is a standalone story that can be read on its own.
    Show book
  • Cruel Beauty - cover

    Cruel Beauty

    Rosamund Hodge

    • 3
    • 24
    • 0
    If you’re excited about the upcoming Disney film Beauty and the Beast, starring Emma Watson, don’t miss Cruel Beauty.  
    The romance of Beauty and the Beast meets the adventure of Graceling in this dazzling fantasy novel about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny. 
    Perfect for fans of bestselling An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses, this gorgeously written debut infuses the classic fairy tale with glittering magic, a feisty heroine, and a romance sure to take your breath away. 
    Betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom, Nyx has always known that her fate was to marry him, kill him, and free her people from his tyranny. But on her seventeenth birthday when she moves into his castle high on the kingdom's mountaintop, nothing is what she expected—particularly her charming and beguiling new husband. Nyx knows she must save her homeland at all costs, yet she can't resist the pull of her sworn enemy—who's gotten in her way by stealing her heart.
    Show book
  • The Complete Creepy Hollow Series - cover

    The Complete Creepy Hollow Series

    Rachel Morgan

    • 5
    • 13
    • 0
    Over 3000 pages of magic, intrigue, action and romance, with a collective 8000+ 5-star Goodreads reviews. Binge-read this bestselling fantasy series today!
     
    "Some of my favorite fantasy EVER!!" ~ booksmoviesandmoreohmy ★★★★★ 
     
    "I cannot recommend this series enough ..." ~ Kez's Korner ★★★★★ 
     
    "Put these books at the top of your must read list!!!!" ~ ★★★★★ 
     
    "Excellent world building, excellent writing and great romance." ~ ★★★★★ 
     
    Violet has one job: protect humans from dangerous magical creatures. It’s a job she’s good at—until her latest assignment, the cute human guy whose life she just saved, follows her into the fae realm.
     
    Now she’s broken faerie law, putting graduation and her future at the Guild of Guardians at risk. She needs to get Nate home and make him forget everything he’s discovered—but it won’t be as easy as she hopes.Someone has been waiting for Nate, and now that he’s entered the fae realm, a dangerous plot is set in motion. Vi is about to find herself fighting for Nate’s life and her own as the two of them are pulled deeper into the darker side of the fae world.
     
    - - -
     
    An epic story of dazzling magic, heart-pounding action, thrilling twists, and swoon-worthy romance. Grab your copy and let yourself be swept away into this enchanting world!
     
    The Complete Creepy Hollow Series includes the following books: 1. The Faerie Guardian 2. The Faerie Prince 3. The Faerie War 4. A Faerie's Secret 5. A Faerie's Revenge 6. A Faerie's Curse 7. Glass Faerie 8. Shadow Faerie 9. Rebel Faerie
    Show book