Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Ultimate Resort - cover

Ultimate Resort

David Scott Ewers

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An artists community is planning something big for this year's gathering - something to put them back on the map. The sudden influx of capital piques the interest of a couple of investigators searching for the mysterious benefactors.  
Thousands of miles away Avery Krizan and Aisha Sandoval recount their journey through Primera, their encounters with the local color, and what exactly led them to this place. Was it the search for a book? Wanderlust? Some sort of conspiracy? "Build you and the world will come" and in time all three things - the dream, the dream-come-true, and the memory - will merge.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Jackal's Head - cover

    The Jackal's Head

    Elizabeth Peters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Althea Tomlinson's ostensible reason for returning to Egypt is to chaperone a spoiled teenager through this fabulous desert land. The truth is more complex . . . and dangerous. Ten years ago, something that happened here brought about her father's ruin and subsequent death—and Althea intends to clear her disgraced parent's name and finally lay a dark past to rest. But there are some mysteries best left buried in the shifting sands, and a devoted daughter's search for answers is stirring up forgotten memories almost too painful to endure, that propel her onward among ancient tombs, legendary treasures, miraculous discoveries . . . and ever-closer to her own threatened doom.
    Show book
  • The Devils of D-Day - cover

    The Devils of D-Day

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Unsealing the hatch of a rusty old WWII tank will unleash a demonic nightmare in this novel by “the master of modern horror” (Library Journal).   Thirty-five years have passed since the Allied invasion of Normandy on D-Day turned the tide of World War II against Adolf Hitler and the Nazi Reich, and it’s been more than three decades since the residents of the tiny French village of Le Vey witnessed the horrific slaughter of hundreds of German soldiers by thirteen black tanks. One of the tanks remains on the outskirts of town—its hatch mysteriously sealed, trapping its controller inside—only to be discovered by American surveyor and cartographer Dan McCook.   Driven by curiosity and an inexplicable compulsion, McCook is about to do the unthinkable and release what lives within the tank upon an unsuspecting world. And once the monstrous occupant reunites with others of its demonic kind, a new world war will begin, one that threatens to wash the earth in blood and drag every man, woman, and child through the fiery gates of hell.   A chilling and ingeniously original tale of demonic possession and apocalyptic possibilities, The Devils of D-Day is classic horror at its best, from the award-winning author of The Manitou.
    Show book
  • Girl: Repurposed - cover

    Girl: Repurposed

    Meaghan Curley

    • 1
    • 10
    • 1
    Tranquila Obiit is smart enough to save a stranger’s life.  But when Tran’s salty, daytime-television-addicted grandmother tricks her into selling her soul to Hades, dodging near-death experiences becomes a daily ritual. 
    Now, as an employee of the Underworld, Tranquila seeks out her purpose in life while pet-sitting a three-headed dog that is hell-bent on destroying her.  
    She’s not alone.  None of the Gods are any better off: Hades is battling negative Hollywood stereotypes.  Persephone is trying to overcome her jealousy issues.  Most importantly, Hera is trying to gain control of a domain that isn’t hers.  Will their insanity be Tranquila’s demise? 
    Girl: Repurposed is a refreshing satire on the American Dream that’ll keep readers laughing all the way to the Underworld.
    Show book
  • The Outcasts - A Novel - cover

    The Outcasts - A Novel

    Stephen Becker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An American engineer journeys to the tropics to build a bridge and reclaim his manhood in this brilliant tragicomedy written during the height of the Cold War Fleeing two bad marriages and the sneaking suspicion that failure is his destiny, Bernard Morrison boards a flight bound for a freshly liberated country in desperate need of infrastructure. When the plane finally touches down, the pilot has happy news: The airport and the capital are not under attack. So far, so good, thinks Morrison as he heads for the jungle.   The bridge he has been sent to build may be in the middle of nowhere, but the work requires discipline and fortitude—qualities long missing from Morrison’s routine—and his interactions with the native laborers and their bosses are refreshingly out of the ordinary. When he discovers a primitive tribe living near the construction site, Morrison revels in their freedom and lack of inhibition. He vows to protect the innocent tribespeople, not realizing that it’s too late—the bridge to the future has already been built.   Part farce, part tragedy, The Outcasts is a powerful morality tale in the tradition of Joseph Conrad and Graham Greene.
    Show book
  • The Dead Sea Cipher - cover

    The Dead Sea Cipher

    Elizabeth Peters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It was the start of a grand adventure in a land of antiquity, a rare opportunity to visit biblical places shrouded in mystery. But in a Jerusalem hotel room a world away from everything she knows, Dinah van der Lyn hears angry voices through the wall, followed by a crash and a brief cry in English...for help! The brutal shattering of an evening's stillness becomes a prelude to terror. Without warning, Dinah has been unwittingly pulled into something unholy transpiring in a sacred city, and she must find answers hidden in the shadows. And she must trust an enigmatic stranger as she races through ancient, twisting streets teeming with secrets and peril, a man who may be leading her to safety...or to her doom.
    Show book
  • The Laughter of Dead Kings - A Vicky Bliss Novel of Suspense - cover

    The Laughter of Dead Kings - A...

    Elizabeth Peters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A royal treat….Welcome back, Vicky Bliss!...For readers new to Vicky’s sassy and distinctively smart stories, The Laughter of Dead Kings will mark the start of a beautiful friendship.”—Tampa Tribune New York Times bestselling Grand Master Elizabeth Peters—author of the thrilling fictional exploits of archaeologist Amelia Peabody in the Land of the Pharaohs—brings back beautiful, brainy art expert and sometime sleuth Vicky Bliss for one last adventure in The Laughter of Dead Kings. The incomparable Peters sends Vicky and her colorful entourage racing across modern-day Egypt to investigate the brazen theft of one the ancient desert land’s most priceless treasures. Smart, funny, evocative, and suspenseful, The Laughter of Dead Kings is a fond and fitting farewell to the ever-delightful Vicky…and a superior mystery fit for a King Tutankhamen.
    Show book