Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Parlour Game - Helen Shepherd Mysteries #11 - cover

Parlour Game - Helen Shepherd Mysteries #11

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When Edgar Asheford-Browne is found dead in his palatial home, with a hole in his head and a bloody fire poker next to his body, the cause of death seems obvious. Edgar Asheford-Browne was beaten to death. 
But as Detective Inspector Helen Shepherd and her team begin to unravel the case, it suddenly seems much less clear. For Helen has to deal not only with contradictory evidence, but also with an entire library full of suspects who are all accusing each other. 
This is a mystery novelette of 10800 words or approximately 38 print pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fell Purpose - cover

    Fell Purpose

    Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The brand-new Bill Slider Mystery - Bank Holiday Monday, and beautiful Zellah Wilding straight-A student, prefect, future Head Girl lies deadnear the famous Wormwood Scrubs prison in London. What was this good Christian girl doing out there, dressed to kill, when she was supposed to be at a sleep-over with schoolfriends? A secret boyfriend from a run-down estate and a recently-released rapist look tasty; or could the nearby fairground or prison have something to do with it?
    Show book
  • The Sinister Pig - cover

    The Sinister Pig

    Tony Hillerman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The victim, well dressed but stripped of identification, is found at the edge of the vast Jicarilla Apache natural gas field just inside the jurisdiction of the Navajo Tribal Police, facing Sergeant Jim Chee with a complex puzzle. 
     Why did the Washington office of the FBI snatch custody of this case from its local agents, cover it with secrecy, and call it a hunting accident? What was the victim seeking among the maze of pipelines and pumping stations in America's largest gas field? Was he investigating the embezzlement of billions of dollars from the Indian Tribal royalty trust in the Department of the Interior? 
     On a level nearer to Chee's heart, did the photographs Bernie Manuelito took on an exotic game ranch near the Mexican border reveal something connected with this crime? Did Bernie, once a member of Chee's squad but now a rookie Border Patrol Officer, put herself in terrible danger?  
    Tony Hillerman leads his readers through another of his intricate plots to the solution of this crime, with a cast of vivid characters: a Washington political mogul and his more-or-less renegade pilot; a customs official who bends the rules; a Mexican smuggler with a conscience; and, finally, "Legendary Lieutenant" Joe Leaphorn, now retired, who connects the lines on a dusty old map to find the answers -- and the Sinister Pig -- among the great scimitar-horned oryx grazing on the historic Tuttle Ranch.
    Show book
  • A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”—New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens  
    “Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”—Washington Times 
    Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.
    Show book
  • Loose Ends - A Jack Taggart Mystery - cover

    Loose Ends - A Jack Taggart Mystery

    Don Easton

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Jack Taggart, an undercover Mountie, lives in a world where the good guys and the bad guys change places in a heartbeat. Taggart is very good at what he does. Too good to be playing by the rules, so the brass assign a new partner to spy on him.
     
     
    
    Taggart’s new partner discovers a society dependent upon unwritten rules. To break these rules is to lose respect, and to lose respect is to lose one’s life. Loose Ends is is a tale of violence, corruption, and retribution, but it is also a story of honour and respect.
    Show book
  • The Tiger's Prey - A Novel of Adventure - cover

    The Tiger's Prey - A Novel of...

    Wilbur Smith, Tom Harper

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The New York Times bestselling author of Desert God and Pharaoh adds another chapter to his popular historical saga featuring the seafaring Tom Courtney, the hero of Monsoon and Blue Horizon, with this magnificent swashbuckling saga set in the eighteenth century and packed with action, violence, romance, and rousing adventure. 
    Tom Courtney, one of four sons of master mariner Sir Hal Courtney, once again sets sail on a treacherous journey that will take him across the vast reaches of the ocean and pit him against dangerous enemies in exotic destinations. But just as the winds propel his sails, passion drives his heart. Turning his ship towards the unknown, Tom Courtney will ultimately find his destiny—and lay the future for the Courtney family. 
    Wilbur Smith, the world’s greatest storyteller, once again recreates all the drama, uncertainty, and courage of a bygone era in this thrilling saga of the sea.
    Show book
  • The Temptation of Forgiveness - A Commissario Guido Brunetti Mystery - cover

    The Temptation of Forgiveness -...

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    All of Donna Leon’s recent Brunetti books have appeared on the New York Times Bestseller List. Leon’s latest, Earthly Remains, debuted at #12. 2016’s The Waters of Eternal Youth reached #10, and her previous book, Falling in Love, debuted at #5 in hardcover fiction, her highest debut ever. By Its Cover and The Golden Egg, books 22 and 23, both reached #7.
    
     
    
    Earthly Remains was also an Amazon Best Book of the Month (Mystery) and a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice
    
    
    
    Leon recently appeared on the cover of Mystery Scene, for which she provided an in-depth interview in support of the US publication of Earthly Remains.
    
    
    
    Leon’s Commissario Guido Brunetti Mysteries have sold more than two million copies in North America.
    
    
    
    In recent years Donna Leon’s sales and critical esteem have only risen. These are fantastic books that just keep getting better.
    
    
    
    Donna Leon has been named one of the 50 Greatest Crime Writers of all time by both Time and the Times of London.
    
    
    
    Leon has fans everywhere; Ruth Bader Ginsburg is a close friend and supporter, and both Hillary Clinton and R.L. Stine named Leon as a favorite writer in the New York Times Book Review’s “By the Book” section.
    Show book