Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Parlour Game - Helen Shepherd Mysteries #11 - cover

Parlour Game - Helen Shepherd Mysteries #11

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When Edgar Asheford-Browne is found dead in his palatial home, with a hole in his head and a bloody fire poker next to his body, the cause of death seems obvious. Edgar Asheford-Browne was beaten to death. 
  
But as Detective Inspector Helen Shepherd and her team begin to unravel the case, it suddenly seems much less clear. For Helen has to deal not only with contradictory evidence, but also with an entire library full of suspects who are all accusing each other. 
  
This is a mystery novelette of 10800 words or approximately 38 print pages in the Helen Shepherd Mysteries series, but may be read as a standalone.

Other books that might interest you

  • What She Knew - A Novel - cover

    What She Knew - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In her enthralling debut, Gilly Macmillan explores a mother’s search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One. 
    In a heartbeat, everything changes… 
    Rachel Jenner is walking in a Bristol park with her eight-year-old son, Ben, when he asks if he can run ahead. It’s an ordinary request on an ordinary Sunday afternoon, and Rachel has no reason to worry—until Ben vanishes.   
    Police are called, search parties go out, and Rachel, already insecure after her recent divorce, feels herself coming undone. As hours and then days pass without a sign of Ben, everyone who knew him is called into question, from Rachel’s newly married ex-husband to her mother-of-the-year sister. Inevitably, media attention focuses on Rachel too, and the public’s attitude toward her begins to shift from sympathy to suspicion. 
    As she desperately pieces together the threadbare clues, Rachel realizes that nothing is quite as she imagined it to be, not even her own judgment. And the greatest dangers may lie not in the anonymous strangers of every parent’s nightmares, but behind the familiar smiles of those she trusts the most. 
    Where is Ben? The clock is ticking...
    Show book
  • Dead Air - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Dead Air - A Novel of Suspense

    Michael Bradley

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Three can keep a secret, but only if two are dead. 
     
    No one knows that better than Kaitlyn Ashe, who has been running from a childhood secret her whole life. Until now. Crowned the top rated radio DJ in Philadelphia, she is finally ready to settle down with her fiancé who knows nothing about her past. When a sudden flood of anonymous letters threatens Kaitlyn's seemingly charmed life, she realizes that someone out there knows her secret. But who?
     
    As the threatening letters escalate, Kaitlyn's life spirals toward a reunion in the one place she’d hoped to never visit again: The Shallows. Isn’t her secret buried with the dead?
     
    PRAISE FOR DEAD AIR
     
    “Want to go behind-the-scenes in the fascinating world of radio? Dead Air is steeped in authenticity thanks to Bradley’s impressive career in the field. Add in flawed, complicated characters, an eerie setting, and a jaw-dropping finale, and you have an unputdownable thriller. Gripping, a brilliantly crafted novel!” —K.J. Howe, international bestselling author of Skyjack
     
    "In his newest page-turner Dead Air, Michael Bradley will cast you to the shallows, yank you to the murkiest depths of the human psyche, and won't let you up for a single breath until the final page." —Sandra Brannan, author of the Liv Bergen Mystery Series
     
    "In Dead Air, author Michael Bradly puts his unique spin on the stalker-victim story, thanks to a rich cast of characters, a serial killer subplot, and the author's inside knowledge of the radio DJ world. Everyone's a suspect in this murderous game of musical chairs, and Bradley deftly keeps you guessing until the final note sounds. Tune in. Dead Air rocks." —J.L. Delozier, author of Con Me Once and the Persephone Smith thriller series
     
    “In Michael Bradley's Dead Air, we meet Kaitlyn Ashe, a successful and well-known radio personality in Philadelphia. Kaitlyn's got the perfect life: a devoted boyfriend, great career, and a beautiful home. The future looks bright until someone begins stalking her, threatening to unearth deadly secrets that from Kaitlyn's past that she's vowed to keep hidden until her death bed. As the stalker becomes bolder, Kaitlyn has no choice but to involve the police, giving them only part of the story about her dark past. In Bradley's thriller, the pages practically turn themselves. Dead Air is an excellent read; well-written, absorbing and filled with shocking twists. Just when you think you know where this story is going, all hell breaks loose, and Bradley expertly veers the reader onto a new and exciting path. With surprises around every corner, this book will keep you up all night until you reach its stunning conclusion. Don't miss this one!” —Lisa Regan, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling crime fiction author
     
    “Just when you think you get a handle on what’s going on, another layer of the story is peeled away and you realize you have NO IDEA.” —A. S. THORNTON, author of Daughter of the Salt King“In Michael Bradley’s captivating thriller Dead Air, a radio DJ’s spotty past catches up to her . . . an exciting mystery whose flawed leads struggle to make the right decisions.” —Foreword Reviews 
    Show book
  • Kill It All Away - cover

    Kill It All Away

    Rolly Bastard

    • 0
    • 18
    • 0
    "Silence of the Lambs meets Californication... With a bit of The X Files thrown in."Why would someone try to destroy an already ruined man?
     
    Rolly Bastard’s life is a tsunami of suck.
     
    He was once a rich and famous writer, but now he’s a “recovering” addict and barely functioning. Broke and newly homeless, he has lost his wealth, his wife, his ability to write, and his daughter hates him. 
     
    And just as things can’t get any worse, someone frames him for murder.
     
    As the body count of people from Rolly’s past rises, the police think they’ve got their man. And so begins a dangerous game of cat and mouse as Rolly desperately tries to clear his name and unmask the real killer before it’s too late.
     
    Kill it All Away is an unputdownable thriller with shocking twists and turns and an unforgettable hero who you will love to hate.
     
    You don't have to be a good person to be the good guy.
     
    "Fast-paced, acid-laced Cali-noir... Definitely an addicting read." Reader Review
     
    "Excellent, well written, engaging fly by the seat of my pants thriller." Reader Review (5 stars)
    Show book
  • Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of Memory - cover

    Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of...

    Sidney Sheldon, Tilly Bagshawe

    • 3
    • 52
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe, who delivered the late beloved author’s brilliance in Sidney Sheldon’s After the Darkness, is back with an addictive, edge-of-your-seat thriller filled with shocking twists, money, power, and betrayal involving an influential family and the beautiful and formidable woman at its center whose dark secrets can destroy them all. 
    The conservative party's newest superstar, Alexia De Vere has worked hard to realize her political ambitions. The brilliant and ruthless wife of wealthy aristocrat Teddy De Vere, Alexia relishes her power and the control it gives her to shape and destroy lives. 
    Yet success has also demanded sacrifice. Her daughter, Roxie, a bitter young woman confined to a wheelchair after a failed suicide attempt, blames Alexia for ruining her life. Alexia's dashing son, Michael, is risking the family's good name to jump-start his entre-preneurial dreams. Thankfully, Alexia has Teddy, her devoted husband who will stop at nothing to protect her. 
    But beneath Alexia De Vere's gilded life and formidable facade lie secrets that are ugly, dirty, and deadly. When long-buried mistakes of her youth begin to resurface, old hatreds are rekindled and Alexia finds herself on the brink of losing everything—her power, her family, and even her own life. Now the woman who rose so high is on the brink of a perilous fall. For when the tides of memory rise, the only thing that might save her is the truth. . . .
    Show book
  • Best Friends Forever - an absolutely gripping crime thriller - cover

    Best Friends Forever - an...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kill your best friend? 
     
    Anna was the perfect wife. Perfect mother. Perfect woman. And now she's dead. Leaving behind her husband, David, and two young children their lives will never be the same. But Vicky will make sure life goes on... 
     
    These two women have been best friends forever, a lifetime of secrets lies between them and now Vicky is ready to step up into Anna's perfect shoes. But not everything is as it seems and as David begins to question Vicky's motives for walking into his life things might just get a little murderous. 
     
    The question on everyone's lips is, who killed Anna? And what actually happened on the night she died? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Rumour, The Silent Patient and The Suspect.
    Show book
  • The Pact - An addictive page-turning thriller - cover

    The Pact - An addictive...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    I'll kill yours, if you kill mine. 
     
    Maddie's life has come crashing down around her. Her husband has left her and moved on with a new woman and baby. No longer can she run from the past that's been haunting her. The past has destroyed her future. 
     
    In a new flat, trying to start a new life, Maddie meets Jade and her young son, Ben. All too swiftly Maddie finds the dark thoughts whirring through her brain. But Jade's different, she loves Ben, doesn't she? 
     
    As the two women begin to open up about their exes over a few glasses of wine, Jade conjures a plan, a pact. She'll kill Maddie's if Maddie kills hers. Laughing it off, Maddie returns to her normal life. But what if it wasn't a joke at all...
    Show book