Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
13 Forevers: Stories and Reflections on Death and Love - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

13 Forevers: Stories and Reflections on Death and Love

Kevin Chaba

Publisher: Kevin Chaba

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

There are two things that can last into eternity. 13 Forevers: Stories and Reflections on Death and Love is a collection of short works (mostly stories) which dives deep into dual themes, both in all of their emotional complexity.Meet a cannibal who's starved for affection in "Consumption." 
Experience a mystical connection forged through our memorial rituals in "Flowers at Funerals." 
Discover how mind-blowing sex can lead to murder in "The Position."Listen in on a first date between serial killers in "Bloody Bloody" and the interactions of two interred corpses in “Love Afterlife.” 
Combining liberal doses of dark satire and gruesome farce with heartfelt grief, staggering affection, and a sprinkling of hard-won wisdom, 13 Forevers is a wide-ranging yet thematically coherent collection of stories, poems, and essays as keen and compelling as a switchblade. In Kevin Chaba's own words, the book explores his “borderline obsession with the single worst—and single best—aspects of life.”
Available since: 06/20/2017.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl Who Cried Diamonds & Other Stories - cover

    The Girl Who Cried Diamonds &...

    Rebecca Hirsch Garcia

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    “Bridging tenderness and violence, and brimming with danger and magic, The Girl Who Cried Diamonds will leave you breathless.” — Anuja Varghese, author of Chrysalis
    		 
    “In these 14 hard-edged and unapologetic stories, debut author Garcia tackles topics ranging from human trafficking and drug abuse to eating disorders and middle-age angst, and in no-frills prose, carves out bizarre and palpable realities, breathing strange life into a horde of depressed, deprived, and abused characters.” — Publishers Weekly
    		 
    The boundaries between realist and fabulist, literary and speculative, are shattered in this remarkable debut collection for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, André Alexis, and Angélique Lalonde 
    A girl born in a small, unnamed pueblo is blessed—or cursed—with the ability to produce valuable gems from her bodily fluids. A tired wife and mother escapes the confines of her oppressive life and body by shapeshifting into a cloud. A girl reckons with the death of her father and her changing familial dynamics while slowly, mysteriously losing her physical senses.
    		 
    Infused with keen insight and presented in startling prose, the stories in this dark, magnetic collection by newcomer Rebecca Hirsch Garcia invite the reader into an uncanny world out of step with reality while exploring the personal and interpersonal in a way that is undeniably, distinctly human.
    Show book
  • Grey Dog - cover

    Grey Dog

    Elliott Gish

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Gish’s prose is as sharp as a scalpel.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
    		 
    “Grey Dog is a bewitching tale of the horrors of spinsterhood in the early 1900s, with madness and magic threaded through every sentence.” — Heather O’Neill, author of When We Lost Our Heads and Lullabies for Little Criminals
    		 
    A subversive literary horror novel that disrupts the tropes of women’s historical fiction with delusions, wild beasts, and the uncontainable power of female rage
    		 
    The year is 1901, and Ada Byrd — spinster, schoolmarm, amateur naturalist — accepts a teaching post in isolated Lowry Bridge, grateful for the chance to re-establish herself where no one knows her secrets. She develops friendships with her neighbors, explores the woods with her students, and begins to see a future in this tiny farming community. Her past — riddled with grief and shame — has never seemed so far away.
    		 
    But then, Ada begins to witness strange and grisly phenomena: a swarm of dying crickets, a self-mutilating rabbit, a malformed faun. She soon believes that something old and beastly — which she calls Grey Dog — is behind these visceral offerings, which both beckon and repel her. As her confusion deepens, her grip on what is real, what is delusion, and what is traumatic memory loosens, and Ada takes on the wildness of the woods, behaving erratically and pushing her newfound friends away. In the end, she is left with one question: What is the real horror? The Grey Dog, the uncontainable power of female rage, or Ada herself?
    Show book