Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Headless - cover

Headless

Tristram Lowe

Publisher: Mortimer & Ambrose

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A serial killer is chopping off heads in Japan. When an unlikely pair of journalists investigate, the story creeps into the dark and uncertain world of the supernatural.  
Akio Tsukino is a photographer stuck in the back pages of the Dainichi Dailyin Tokyo. He sees the story as a front-page opportunity and maneuvers his way on it. It never occurs to him he'd find himself in the path of a monster.  
Masami Sato, a top staff writer on the police beat, is a tenacious woman going toe-to-toe with men in a male-dominated arena. She's being sent to the nearby city of Kofu to get the scoop.  
As they struggle to get along, and ghost stories of evil samurai become the order of the day, Akio and Masami soon realize that the price for getting the story may be their own heads. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Star Soldier Episode Two - Star Soldier #2 - cover

    Star Soldier Episode Two - Star...

    Odette C. Bell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ami is now trapped by the army. There’s nothing she can do to escape as they experiment on her. But outside the thick, safe walls of Central Command, the war continues. 
    The army has made mistakes, and soon they will pay for them. Ami will be dragged into the center of their mess. And if she can’t keep up, she’ll be killed. 
    … 
    Star Soldier Episode Two is the second instalment in the Star Soldier Series.
    Show book
  • Scimitar's Glory - Swordships Odyssey #1 - cover

    Scimitar's Glory - Swordships...

    Dietmar Arthur Wehr

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With alien races both overtly and covertly hostile pressing into human space on all sides. war finally comes to the Space Force that defends our frontiers. But when a panicked flag officer orders a riskly long-range jump that goes horribly wrong, a fleet finds itself a LONG way from home with not enough food for everyone to make it back. Hard decisions have to be made with both challenges and opportunities along the way. Can the fleet make it back in time to help win the war or will they get home only to find human worlds overrun and conquered?
    Show book
  • Red - cover

    Red

    Jessi McPherson

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Everyone has read the tale of Little Red Riding Hood... Such a carefree, naïve girl who fell victim to the wolf and had to be saved by the Huntsman. I'd like to set that story straight. It all began with a girl, a curse, and wolf. We all have a hero inside. All it takes is to believe. Cara knew the legends of her village but she never thought she'd become one.
    Show book
  • A Crown for Assassins (A Throne for Sisters—Book Seven) - cover

    A Crown for Assassins (A Throne...

    Morgan Rice

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Morgan Rice's imagination is limitless. In another series that promises to be as entertaining as the previous ones, A THRONE OF SISTERS presents us with the tale of two sisters (Sophia and Kate), orphans, fighting to survive in a cruel and demanding world of an orphanage. An instant success. I can hardly wait to put my hands on the second and third books!”
    --Books and Movie Reviews (Roberto Mattos)
    
    The new #1 Bestselling epic fantasy series by Morgan Rice!
    
    In A CROWN FOR ASSASSINS (A Throne for Sisters—Book Seven), Sophia, Kate and Lucas finally get the chance to journey in search of their long-lost parents. Will they find them?
    
    Are they alive?
    
    And what message do they hold for them?
    
    Their journey demands a price, though. Ashton is left without a ruler, and the Master of Crows still lies in wait, ready to strike. As the fate of the realm lies in the balance, help may come from the most unlikely place of all: Stonehome.
    
    A CROWN FOR ASSASSINS (A Throne for Sisters—Book Seven) is book #7 in a dazzling new fantasy series rife with love, heartbreak, tragedy, action, adventure, magic, swords, sorcery, dragons, fate and heart-pounding suspense. A page turner, it is filled with characters that will make you fall in love, and a world you will never forget. 
    
    Book #8 in the series will be released soon.
    
    “[A Throne for Sisters is a] powerful opener to a series [that] will produce a combination of feisty protagonists and challenging circumstances to thoroughly involve not just young adults, but adult fantasy fans who seek epic stories fueled by powerful friendships and adversaries.”
    --Midwest Book Review (Diane Donovan)
    Show book
  • A Song for Orphans (A Throne for Sisters—Book Three) - cover

    A Song for Orphans (A Throne for...

    Morgan Rice

    • 3
    • 43
    • 0
    “Morgan Rice has come up with what promises to be another brilliant series, immersing us in a fantasy of valor, honor, courage, magic and faith in your destiny. Morgan has managed again to produce a strong set of characters that make us cheer for them on every page.…Recommended for the permanent library of all readers that love a well-written fantasy.”
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (regarding Rise of the Dragons)
    
    From #1 Bestseller Morgan Rice comes an unforgettable new fantasy series. 
    
    In A SONG FOR ORPHANS (A Throne for Sisters—Book Three), Sophia, 17, journeys in search of her parents. Her quest takes her to foreign and strange lands—and to a shocking secret she could never imagine.
    
    Kate, 15, is summoned by the witch, as her time has come to repay the favor. But Kate is changing, coming of age, become ever more powerful—and what will become of Kate if she makes a deal with darkness?
    
    Sebastian, a romantic, follows his heart, throwing it all away to reject his family and find Sophia. But Lady D’Angelica is still bent on killing her—and may have other plans.
    
    A SONG FOR ORPHANS (A Throne for Sisters—Book Three) is the third book in a dazzling new fantasy series rife with love, heartbreak, tragedy, action, adventure, magic, swords, sorcery, dragons, fate and heart-pounding suspense. A page turner, it is filled with characters that will make you fall in love, and a world you will never forget. 
    
    Book #4 in the series will be released soon.
    
    “An action packed fantasy sure to please fans of Morgan Rice’s previous novels, along with fans of works such as The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini…. Fans of Young Adult Fiction will devour this latest work by Rice and beg for more.” 
    --The Wanderer, A Literary Journal (regarding Rise of the Dragons)
    Show book
  • Shadow Descendant - Descendants #1 - cover

    Shadow Descendant - Descendants #1

    L.D. Hall

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A powerful witch, a centuries-old vampire, and a passion that can't be denied… 
     
    Naomi Feldman has never understood the strange energy that hums beneath her senses. But when she comes across an ancient artifact that seems to beckon to her, she may finally find the answers she's been seeking. 
     
    Alaric, a centuries-old vampire, lives a solitary life by choice. When he's assigned to protect Naomi, long dormant emotions stir to life. 
     
    Pursued by a dangerous enemy and battling their growing attraction, Naomi and Alaric follow the mystery of the artifact from the museums of Athens, the streets of London, towards a confrontation that will decide the fate of two worlds… 
     
    Fans of Charlaine Harris, Deborah Harkness, and Karen Marie Moning will love Shadow Descendant, the first book of a mesmerizing new paranormal romance series. Scroll up and grab your copy today! 
    Show book