Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Headless - cover

Headless

Tristram Lowe

Publisher: Mortimer & Ambrose

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A serial killer in Japan is chopping off heads. An unlikely pair of journalists try not to lose theirs. 
 
Being a photographer at a Tokyo newspaper is no walk in the park—unless you’re Akio Tsukino and only get assigned to shoot parades and park festivals. All that changes when a serial killer starts chopping off heads in nearby Kofu. Akio maneuvers his way onto the assignment in order to prove himself and get closer to enigmatic staff writer Masami Sato.  
 
When the investigation takes a supernatural turn, the unlikely partners find themselves caught between solving the mystery and saving their own lives.  
 
In this thrilling and imaginative debut by Tristram Lowe, getting the story may cost them their heads.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Fall of the House of Usher - cover

    The Fall of the House of Usher

    Edgar Allan Poe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Edgar Allan Poe's gothic tale of the crumbling Usher mansion -- and its ghastly inhabitants -- comes to life as never before in this amazing audiobook. 
    SUMMARY: 
    The tale opens with the unnamed narrator arriving at the house of his boyhood friend, Roderick Usher, having received a letter from him in a distant part of the country complaining of an illness and asking for his help. Although strong-willed Poe wrote this short story before the invention of modern psychological science, Roderick's symptoms can be described according to its terminology. They include hyperesthesia (hypersensitivity to light, sounds, smells, and tastes), hypochondria (an excessive preoccupation or worry about having a serious illness), and acute anxiety. It is revealed that Roderick's twin sister, Madeline, is also ill and falls into cataleptic, death-like trances. The narrator is impressed with Roderick's paintings, and attempts to cheer him by reading with him and listening to his improvised musical compositions on the guitar. Roderick sings "The Haunted Palace", then tells the narrator that he believes the house he lives in to be sentient, and that this sentience arises from the arrangement of the masonry and vegetation surrounding it.
    Show book
  • Festival of Fear - cover

    Festival of Fear

    Graham Masterton

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A gala of gore from the “master of modern horror” (Library Journal) Award-winning horror writer and master of the macabre, Graham Masterton presents a blood-curdling array of treats: twelve stories of terror celebrating the bizarre and grotesque, guaranteed to quicken the pulse. Marvel at the mirror dug up in secret and better off buried. . . Thrill at a pair of lovers, whose promise to each other lead them down a disturbing path. Observe the haunted house. . . Come closer, dear reder - the hour of the festival is upon us . . .
    Show book
  • Nightmares - A New Decade of Modern Horror - cover

    Nightmares - A New Decade of...

    Richard Kadrey, Caitl?n Kiernan,...

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Unlucky thieves invade a house where Home Alone seems like a playground romp. An antique bookseller and a mob enforcer join forces to retrieve the Atlas of Hell. Postapocalyptic survivors cannot decide which is worse: demon women haunting the skies or maddened extremists patrolling the earth.In this chilling twenty-first-century companion to the cult classic Darkness: Two Decades of Modern Horror, Ellen Datlow again proves herself the most masterful editor of the genre. She has mined the breadth and depth of ten years of terror, collecting superlative works of established masters and scene-stealing newcomers alike.
    Show book
  • Lethal Kisses - 18 Tales of Sex Horror and Revenge - cover

    Lethal Kisses - 18 Tales of Sex...

    Ellen Datlow

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Stories of dark desire and wicked payback from Jonathan Lethem, Joyce Carol Oates, Caitlín R. Kiernan, Richard Christian Matheson, and more. From Shakespeare to Poe, revenge has always been one of the great themes in literature. This anthology contains eighteen stories of ruthless vengeance. A philanderer spends a night with one nameless woman too many. A second-rate music video talent turns down a chance at superstardom and escapes a deadly contract. A comedy duo realizes that retribution is no laughing matter. And a single woman must face the shocking reasons for her solitary lifestyle.   Multiple-award-winning editor Ellen Datlow commissioned these and fourteen other tales from some of the most talented authors of our time to make up Lethal Kisses. Available for the first time in the United States, this is a collection of eighteen horrifying tales on evening the score.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Ellen Datlow, including rare photos from the editor’s personal collection.
    Show book
  • The Heirloom - cover

    The Heirloom

    Graham Masterton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'One of the most original and frightening storytellers of our time' PETER JAMES. 
     
    An antique chair comes into a family's possession. But they soon discover that this is no ordinary heirloom. All manner of strange things begin to occur, including shifts in the fabric of time itself... 
     
    In the vein of The Wells Of Hell and The Devils Of D-Day, The Heirloom is a fast-paced, entertaining horror.
    Show book
  • Wolf Landing - Alpha Underground #3 - cover

    Wolf Landing - Alpha Underground #3

    Aimee Easterling

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An alpha's greatest challenge lies within. 
     
    Half-shifter Fen Young enjoys the perfect life --- an adoring mate, a supportive pack, and acres of wildland to roam across. But can she keep it? 
     
    Her reality shatters when Fen's inner beast rebels and threatens werewolves and humans alike. A sheep is killed, a child is terrified, and a serial killer stalks unnoticed through the night. 
     
    Throw in a slew of unruly alphas and the new leader is faced with her greatest challenge yet. Will a council of her peers decide that Fen has what it takes or will she lose it all as she puts her status as alpha on the line? 
     
    The Alpha Underground trilogy begins with Half Wolf, continues with Lone Wolf Dawn, and concludes with Wolf Landing.
    Show book