Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Deprivations: The Psychopath and the Child - cover

Deprivations: The Psychopath and the Child

Lee R Jackson

Publisher: Lee R Jackson

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From the multi-award winning Lee R Jackson. ------------------------------------------------------------ Mulligan gasped, sprawling on the floor. His face and hands, visible from his suit, quickly reddened and blistered. His close fitting outfit already displayed scorching. Keeray pretended to intently study her device, casually speaking, “That was a low setting. I'm guessing you didn’t find that exposure too comfortable.” She peered at him over the top of the rod. “Please note there are other very painful things I can do to you. So it would be much nicer for you to answer my little questions. Now, I'll repeat them. Why and how did you break into Medical and why did you choose Mahisa?” ------------------------------------------------------------ Mahisa is a woman who has her sight restored in a hospital by a ruthless surgeon but, whilst there, she unexpectedly becomes pregnant. Mahisa lives in a sealed city shaped by paranoia from previous chemical wars. She gets a good job but is taken ill with a miscarriage. Then a mysterious woman tells Mahisa her healthy child was taken from her body. So she has to steal back her baby boy. Mahisa also has to avoid the surgeon and a psychopathic cat-human Head of Security. In addition, Mahisa has to help people escape the city; but she must search for her child again after she lost him due to an experimental time machine. Plus Mahisa has to save the city from a race of psychopathic cat-humans. In the midst of all that, she has to shine in her job. ------------------------------------------------------------ This book is comparable to writings by Stephen King and Iain Banks.

Other books that might interest you

  • Vampire Interrupted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Interrupted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    After seven hundred years of life, Marguerite Argeneau finally has a career. Well, the start of one, anyway. She's training to be a private investigator, and her first assignment is to find an immortal's mother. It seemed simple enough, until Marguerite wakes up one evening to find herself at the wrong end of a sword. Now she realizes she's in way over her head. 
    Julius Notte wants to protect Marguerite, and not because someone just tried to take her head off. She doesn't know it yet, but she's his lifemate and he's determined to woo her. It's been over five hundred years since he last courted a woman, but surely the techniques haven't changed. Now if only he can keep her alive—so to speak—so they can have that happily-ever-after.
    Show book
  • Bitten By Cupid - cover

    Bitten By Cupid

    Lynsay Sands, Pamela Palmer,...

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    Just in time for Valentine’s Day, there’s Bitten by Cupid, a trio of sinfully hot novellas from three true masters of paranormal romance. These are contemporary love stories with a bite—as Lynsay Sands, New York Times bestselling author of The Renegade Hunter and the popular Argeneau vampire series, joins exciting up-and-comers Pamela Palmer and Jamie Rush to explore the passions of sexy shape-shifters, genetically enhanced humans, and (of course) the undead. Fans of Heroes, The X-Files, Fringe, and Torchwood will surely catch the love bug once they are Bitten by Cupid.
    Show book
  • Final Flight - A Clockwork Dagger Story - cover

    Final Flight - A Clockwork...

    Beth Cato

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Another breathtaking short story from the author of The Clockwork Dagger and The Clockwork Crown, set in the same world… 
    Captain Hue hoped he was rid of his troubles once Octavia Leander and Alonzo Garrett disembarked from his airship Argus. But he was quickly proved wrong when his ship was commandeered by Caskentian soldiers. He is ordered on a covert and deadly mission by the smarmy Julius Corrado, an elite Clockwork Dagger. 
    Now Captain Hue must start a mutiny to regain control of his airship, which means putting his entire crew at risk—including his teenage son Sheridan. As the weather worsens and time runs out, it’ll take incredible bravery to bring the Argus down….perhaps for good.
    Show book
  • The Novice - The Black Magician Trilogy - cover

    The Novice - The Black Magician...

    Trudi Canavan

    • 1
    • 72
    • 0
    "Even if a magician's powers surface of their own accord, he will soon be dead if he does not gain the knowledge of how to control them." 
     
    Alone among all the novices in the Magicians' Guild, only Sonea comes from lowly beginnings. Yet she has won powerful allies—including Lord Dannyl, newly promoted to Guild Ambassador. But Dannyl must now depart for the Elyne court, leaving Sonea at the mercy of the lies and malicious rumors her enemies are busy spreading . . . until the High Lord Akkarin steps in. The price of Akkarin's support is dear, however, because Sonea, in turn, must protect his mysteries—and a secret that could lead a young novice mage deep into the darkness. 
    Meanwhile, Dannyl's first order to resume High Lord Akkarin's long-abandoned research into ancient magical knowledge is setting him on an extraordinary journey fraught with unanticipated peril—as he moves ever-closer to a future both wondrous . . . and terrible.
    Show book
  • Never trust a vampire - Erotic Vampire Story - cover

    Never trust a vampire - Erotic...

    Diana Scott

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    When Kimberly and Angela encounter the attractive brothers Nicolas and Vasco Santos suddenly nothing is the same as it was. The men with the incredible eyes are vampires, as beautiful as they are dangerous. And they have their own plans for the two friends. while Angela cannot resist the seductive games of Vasco for long, Kimberly leads a futile fight against Nicolas Santos. The powerful vampire is convinced that the pretty woman is part of an important prophecy which will determine his fate and the fate of all vampires. When the mysterious Jacques attempts to win her favour, Kimberly begins to realise that she has much more to lose than her mortality.
    Show book
  • The Tales of Aylfenhame Compendium - Books 1-3 - cover

    The Tales of Aylfenhame...

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fairytale fantasy meets romance meets the English Regency in these three dreamy tales.
     
    Miss Landon and Aubranael: When impoverished Miss Sophia Landon crosses over into Faerie, she meets Aubranael, an Aylir with a warm heart and a ruined face. Armed with the temporary gift of beauty, Aubranael sets out to win Sophy’s heart: and so begins an adventure that could change his life, and Sophy’s, forever.
     
    Miss Ellerby and the Ferryman: Miss Isabel Ellerby is a dutiful daughter with a well-ordered life. But when an impulsive promise to the mysterious Ferryman of the fae realm turns her life upside down, Isabel is forced to choose: will she marry the man her parents have chosen for her, or follow her heart and her destiny to Aylfenhame?
     
    Bessie Bell and the Goblin King: When housemaid Bessie Bell is thrown out into a cold October night, her prospects could scarcely seem worse. How will she survive? But on the road she meets a mysterious gentleman, and her fortunes take an immediate turn for the… strange. For they say the Goblin King wanders the hills of Lincolnshire sometimes, in the guise of a mortal man...
     
    Three courageous heroines. Three fairytale heroes. Three tales of love, magic and adventure.
    Show book