Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Blind Tribute - cover

Blind Tribute

Mari Anne Christie

Publisher: Whaley Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

As America marches toward the Civil War, Harry Wentworth, gentleman of distinction and journalist of renown, finds his calls for peaceful resolution have fallen on deaf—nay, hostile—ears. As such, he must finally resolve his own moral quandary: comment on the war from his influential—and safe—position in Northern Society, or make a news story and a target of himself South of the Mason-Dixon Line, in a city haunted by a life he has long since left behind? 
The day-to-day struggle against countervailing forces, his personal and professional tragedies on both sides of the conflict, and the elegant and emotive writings that define him, all serve to illuminate the trials of this newsman’s crusade, irreparably altering his mind, his body, his spirit, and his purpose as an honorable man. Blind Tribute exposes the shifting stones of the moral high ground, as Harry’s family and friendships, North and South, are shattered by his acts of conscience.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • Wool dynasty - cover

    Wool dynasty

    DAVID PHILLIPS

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shortz!Series - a novella in the Settlement of Australia Series. 
    Early arrivals in a far distant land; settlement of a new colony;the miniscule beginnings of a major pastoral industry. 
    The losses; the triumphs; expansion; family conflicts;commercial attacks;  the indigenous prople; strikes; skullduggery.
    Show book
  • Press Baron - Shortz!Series - cover

    Press Baron - Shortz!Series

    DAVID PHILLIPS

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A new colony needs news and the press will be a major purveyor of recent activities and actions affecting the population. One paper leads to another and competition can become bitter, leading to extreme measures in striving to be number one in the founding setllement of Sydney, Australia. 
    A novella in the 'Settlement of Australia' series.
    Show book
  • Crown in Candlelight - cover

    Crown in Candlelight

    Rosemary Hawley Jarman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Katherine of Valois, raised amidst the madness and lechery of the French court, wed to a conquering English king, Henry V, and now alone and afraid in a world of treachery and violence. Owen Tudor, incredibly handsome and gifted, a poet and singer by nature, a warrior by necessity, and now a man ready to risk life for love. Theirs was a passion too perilous to reveal and too fiery to be long restrained or concealed...
    Show book
  • Secret Anniversaries - cover

    Secret Anniversaries

    Scott Spencer

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A naïve young woman faces a decision so important it will change her life forever in this masterful novel from bestselling author Scott Spencer At the height of the Second World War, Caitlin Van Fleet moves to Washington, D.C., to become a “government girl” in the office of pro-German Congressman Stowe. Young and impressionable, she enters into a passionate love affair with the congressman’s aide, Betty Sinclair. But their relationship, while intense, is short-lived: When Caitlin befriends Joe Rose, an undercover reporter working to expose Stowe as a Nazi collaborator, she must decide once and for all what she stands for. Arranged like the calendar from January to December, while moving freely through the years, Secret Anniversaries brings to life the political controversies surrounding World War II, and delves into the universal themes surrounding friendship and love. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Scott Spencer, including rare photos from the author’s personal collection.
    Show book
  • The 13th Apostle - A Novel of a Dublin Family Michael Collins and the Irish Uprising - cover

    The 13th Apostle - A Novel of a...

    Dermot McEvoy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The story—both romantic and terrifying—of how a handful of men, armed with nothing more than handguns and guts, forced the greatest nation in the world from their shores.On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the general post office on O’Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins’s secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed “The Twelve Apostles.” On November 21, 1920, the squad—with its thirteenth member, young Eoin—assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan’s The Year of the French and Leon Uris’s Trinity, The 13th Apostle is a story that will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction—novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
    Show book