As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Underworld and the Afterlife - Viking Legends & Norse Mythology #1 - cover

The Underworld and the Afterlife - Viking Legends & Norse Mythology #1

Mark David

Publisher: Mark David

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The Series Viking Legends & Nordic Mythology 
In the 21st century as in the 8th and 9th, nothing ever stands still. Wikipedia is a wonderful resource, as are online libraries of the world’s historical texts, but there are no narratives linking different articles together. This book is one such narrative, drawing on many other publications and online digital resources such as the ones available to us from Project Gutenberg and Sacred Texts online. This publication is published as an eTEXT book (more than just an eBook) intended for the mobile-digital audience using the benefits of hyperlinking.  
Volume 1: The Underworld and the Afterlife 
For the ancient Scandinavians, death was part of life: In many ways, it was a society based on a system of belief concerning the dead and the gods who ruled the realms between which man passed in life and death. For the late iron-age people of Scandinavia – well before, in fact Viking times – the folk of the land believed each tree, each rock had a spirit attached to it and that when dead, life passed back to the land from where it came from.  
In Viking times, burial sites of ancestor worship often featured the device of the boat carrying the dead to the halls of Valhalla. Of this we can only speculate, since the sagas that have come down to us, mostly from Icelandic sources, are only fragmentary. Scholars do not have any answers to the question whether the dead would remain for some time in the grave and later depart for the realm of the dead, what the purpose of the grave goods was, or if ‘the ship in the barrow’ was to transport the deceased to the realm of the dead.  
The Norse were driven by their beliefs, they conditioned what they thought and what they did. For the Norse, the concept of the afterlife was a very real part of the lives of people for whom superstition was a way of life. 
In this first volume of Viking Legends and Norse Mythology, The Underworld and the Afterlife, I examine the key myths: legends like the living undead, the Draugar, the destinations in the afterlife. I weave threads linking sagas to beliefs, eye witness reports to legends, covering Scandinavian, Northern Germanic and Anglo-Saxon Norse sources, amidst the backdrop of Viking and pre-Viking folk superstition. 
This book arises from much of the source material gathered over the years, part of my quest to write ‘The Lord Of The Rings in the real world’, to envisage and realize a hard-boiled world as anything from fantasy. The tales are many, and in many of the tales, if the dead were taken care of, they would in return protect the homestead and its people, as well as provide for its fertility. If not, they would return and take the bodies of the living as the living undead.  
In this publication I look at these and many more aspects of the living, the dead, the underworld and the afterlife

Other books that might interest you

  • Hard to Love - Essays and Confessions - cover

    Hard to Love - Essays and...

    Briallen Hopper

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    A sharp and entertaining essay collection about the importance of multiple forms of love and friendship in a world designed for couples, from a laser-precise new voice. 
     
    Sometimes it seems like there are two American creeds, self-reliance and marriage, and neither of them is mine. I experience myself as someone formed and sustained by others' love and patience, by student loans and stipends, by the kindness of strangers. 
     
    Briallen Hopper's Hard to Love honors the categories of loves and relationships beyond marriage, the ones that are often treated as invisible or seen as secondary--friendships, kinship with adult siblings, care teams that form in times of illness, or various alternative family formations. She also values difficult and amorphous loves like loving a challenging job or inanimate objects that can't love you back. She draws from personal experience, sharing stories about her loving but combative family, the fiercely independent Emerson scholar who pushed her away, and the friends who have become her invented or found family; pop culture touchstones like the Women's March, John Green's The Fault in Our Stars, and the timeless series Cheers; and the work of writers like Joan Didion, Gwendolyn Brooks, Flannery O'Connor, and Herman Melville (Moby-Dick like you've never seen it!). 
     
    Hard to Love pays homage and attention to unlikely friends and lovers both real and fictional. It is a series of love letters to the meaningful, if underappreciated, forms of intimacy and community that are tricky, tangled, and tough, but ultimately sustaining.
    Show book
  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • The Norway Campaign and the Rise of Churchill 1940 - cover

    The Norway Campaign and the Rise...

    Anthony Dix

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    While the campaign in Norway from April to June 1940 was a depressing opening to active hostilities between Britain and Nazi Germany, it led directly to Churchill's war leadership and The Coalition. Both were to prove decisive in the long term.This well researched work opens with a summary of the issues and personalities in British politics in the 1930s. The consequences of appeasement and failure to re-arm quickly became apparent in April 1940. The Royal Navy, which had been the defence priority, found itself seriously threatened by the Luftwaffe's control of the skies. The economies inflicted on the Army were all too obvious when faced by the Wehrmacht. Losses of men and equipment were serious and salutary.As the Author describes, the campaign itself was fought in three phases: the landings in support of the Norwegians, the evacuation from Central Norway which led to Chamberlain's resignation and, finally, the campaign in the North which remained credible until the fall of France. At the same time he covers the political background and activity in London and cabinet in-fighting.The Norway Campaign and the Rise of Churchill 1940, with its informed mix of politics and war fighting, provides a well informed and balanced overview of the opening campaign of the Second World War and its immediate and wider consequences.As featured in the Dover Express, Folkestone Herald and Essence Magazine.
    Show book
  • Olympe de Gouges - Escritos disidentes - cover

    Olympe de Gouges - Escritos...

    Lina Meruane, Olympe de Gouges

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    En 1793, la escritora de la primera reivindicación de los derechos de la mujer, Olympe de Gouges, fue guillotinada en la actual Place de la Concorde de París. En plena Revolución francesa, de Gouges se convierte en una de las intelectuales más osadas de su tiempo: empuñaba su pluma para escribir tratados, diatribas, ensayos epistolares e incluso teatro abolicionista, enfrentando los incesantes sabotajes de sus pares políticos y literarios.
    Estos escritos, que ella misma imprimía en formato de libros, afiches y panfletos, revistieron los muros de la ciudad. De Gouges pasó a la historia como una de las figuras más importantes de las primeras corrientes feministas, hasta ahora leída únicamente a través de biografías. Escritos disidentes coloca en circulación, por primera vez en nuestra lengua, una selección de su dramaturgia y ensayos políticos prologados por Lina Meruane. Ambas autoras conforman una escena letrada ficticia donde irrumpen con la potencia de su imaginación política y dialogan en las lindes de sus propias épocas.
    Show book
  • Brainwashed - How Universities Indoctrinate America's Youth - cover

    Brainwashed - How Universities...

    Ben Shapiro

    • 1
    • 42
    • 0
    Brainwashed is the explosive exposé of the leftist agenda at work in today's colleges, revealed by firebrand Ben Shapiro, a recent UCLA gratudate, syndicated columnist, and one of today's most exciting new conservative voices, who's been on the front lines of the battle for America's young minds. This book proves once and for all that so-called higher education continues to sink lower and lower into the depths of liberal madness as close-minded professors turn their students into socialists, atheists, race-baiters, and sex-crazed narcissists. "Ben Shapiro's writing is smart, informative, and incisive.  He is wise byond his years without losing the refreshing fearlessness of youth." ?Ann Coulter, best-selling author of High Crimes and Misdeameanors, Slander, and Treason "In Brainwashed, Shapiro tells the truth?that universities are forums of left-liberal indoctrination, where dissent is discouraged and penalized, with more restrictions on free speech rather any other part of American society. Parents who are paying for tutition might want to take note, and see what their hard-earned money is paying for." ?Michael Barone, U.S. News & World report and co-author of The Almanac of American Politics "Welcome to P.C. 101. In ths trenchant insider's expose, Ben Shapiro bears witness to the modern American campus freak show. You'll get up close and personal with the Marxist loons, moral relativists, multicultural zealots, and American-haters who are corrupting young minds. Brainwahed reveals the ignominious lows to which higher education has sunk. Get deprogrammed.   Buy this book!" ?Michelle Malkin, nationally syndiated columnist and author of Invasion "Sharp thinking, tight writing, crazy-but-true stories:  Ben Shapiro sees campus brainwashing and raises a national protest. This is a good book to give both freshmen who need warning and voters/alumni who need to take action." ?Dr. Marvin Olasky, University of Texas professor and editor-in-chief of World magazine "A worthy successor to God and Man at Yale and Harvard Hates America in exploring the bely of the academic beast." ?David Horowitz, founder of Students for Academic Freedom and author of Radical Son and Left Illusions "What Animal House did for the toga party, Brainwashed should do for American resistance to campus radicalism." ?Rusty Humphries, nationally syndicated radio talk show host
    Show book
  • Jihad Academy - The Rise of Islamic State - cover

    Jihad Academy - The Rise of...

    Nicolas Hénin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When you keep repeating that the worst is about to happen, it finally does. The threat of terrorism has caught up with us. By invading Iraq in 2003 and not intervening in Syria since 2011, we have helped fuel radicalization. And we continue to fuel it, by making diplomatic compromises with dictators, by refusing to heed the suffering of populations, and by failing to invent counter-speech. What is the responsibility of our societies in the creation of these new jihadists? How are they molded? How have we played the Islamic State's game and spread its propaganda, allowing it to invade our neighborhoods and enlist more and more recruits ready to fight for a distorted fantasy of Islam? Nicolas Hénin presents the case against the West, showing how its mistakes and inaction have contributed to the disaster. He also advances possible strategies to repair what can still be repaired.
    Show book