Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Semper Audacia - cover

Semper Audacia

M. Pax

Publisher: M. Pax

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The last soldier's last stand. 
Alone. Leda is the last living member of the brigade, the sole defender of her world. War took everyone she knew, leaving her in the company of memories and ghosts. Or is it madness? The siren blares. The enemy is coming. Or is it? The approaching vessel isn’t a friendly design, but it answers with the correct code. Leda must figure out whether the arrival is reinforcements or the final assault. In an aging flyer, she ventures out to meet her world’s fate, the last stand. 
Space opera. Short story.

Who read this book also read:

  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • Nine Women - Stories - cover

    Nine Women - Stories

    Shirley Ann Grau

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “luminescent” collection of stories about nine Southern women from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Keepers of the House (The New York Times). The nine namesake women of this collection come from widely disparate worlds, from isolated bayou towns to New Orleans high society. All, however, struggle with grief, longing, and hope.   In “Widows Walk,” Myra Rowland tries to make sense of life after the death of her husband. “In the Beginning” depicts a daughter trying to understand her own mother’s determination to raise her up from abject poverty. “Ending,” meanwhile, tells of a couple whose union dissolves just as their daughter marries. In many cases, these protagonists are struggling to accept the sudden loss of life and love in a land teeming with both.   In this unforgettable volume, one of America’s most masterful storytellers writes with an eye for the female experience and the teeming diversity of life in the Deep South. “Grau’s tremendous powers of description, ability to conjure atmosphere, and impeccable prose elevate her to the top tier of American short story stylists” (Booklist).  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Shirley Ann Grau, including rare photos and never-before-seen documents from the author’s personal collection.    
    Show book
  • Tel Aviv Noir - cover

    Tel Aviv Noir

    Etgar Keret, Assaf Gavron

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Etgar Keret is one of the most popular Israeli authors around the world, and is very active in both books and film. The Israeli Consulate in New York will actively help promote the book. Brand-new stories by: Etgar Keret, Gadi Taub, Lavie Tidhar, Deakla Keydar, Matan Hermoni, Julia Fermentto,  Gon Ben Ari,  Shimon Adaf, Alex Epstein, Antonio Ungar, Gai Ad, Assaf Gavron,  Silje Bekeng, and Yoav Katz. Timely publication, given the prominence of Israel in the news. To be published simultaneously with Tehran Noir. Publicize to major dailies, weeklies, literary publications, alternative publications. Major radio and television push. Akashic's promotion will have a strong social media component Promote to general crime-fiction and literary audiences, but also to Middle East and Israel-themed venues. All stories translated into English, from Hebrew, by Yardenne Greenspan.Assaf Gavron will have a new book out from Scribner in the Fall, at the same time as this book.
    Show book
  • Trading in Futures - Adventures in the Liaden Universe® #5 - cover

    Trading in Futures - Adventures...

    Steve Miller, Sharon Lee

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Adventures in the Liaden Universe® Number 5 
     
    The short story "Balance of Trade" introduces Jethri Gobelyn, an aspiring Terran apprentice Trader who comes to the attention of a Liaden Master Trader. 
     
    In "A Choice of Weapons," Daav yos'Phelium must Balance an insult amid the elegant formality of a Liaden garden party. 
     
     
    "The writing is as rich with detail as anything by C. J. Cherryh, while the general approach... reminds of Andre Norton." -- Tom Easton, Analog 
     
    "...the authors' craftsmanship is top-notch, recalling the work of Elizabeth Moon and Lois McMaster Bujold..." -- Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Duty Bound - Adventures in the Liaden Universe® #3 - cover

    Duty Bound - Adventures in the...

    Steve Miller, Sharon Lee

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    "Pilot of Korval" finds Er Thom yos'Galan and Daav yos'Phelium, raised together as brothers, separated and beginning to learn their adult roles of trader and scout. 
     
    In "Breath's Duty," a grown-up Daav must undertake a painful duty of friendship -- find his best friend's ship, which was lost in the aftermath of a space battle, and return it, if he can, to Scout Headquarters.
    Show book