Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Calls for Submission - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Calls for Submission

Selena Chambers

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Selena Chambers’ debut collection guides readers out of space and time and through genre and mythos to explore the micro-cosmic horrors of identity, existence, and will in the face of the world’s adamant calls for submission. 
Victorian tourists take a virtual trip through their (and the Ottoman empire’s) ideal Orient; a teenage girl learns about independence and battle of the bands, all while caring for her mesmerized, dead mother; a failed Beat poet goes over the edge while exploring the long-abandoned Government Lethal Chambers. 
Visceral, evocative, and with a distinct style that is both vintage and fresh, Calls for Submission introduces a glowing, new writer of the weird and strange.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Happy Prince and Other Tales - cover

    The Happy Prince and Other Tales

    Oscar Wilde

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In "The Model Millionaire", the destiny of a young, ambitious, brilliant pauper changes with an act of his misplaced generosity. "The Happy Prince" is one of Oscar Wilde’s renowned fairy tales. From his vantage point, high above the city, the statue of The Happy Prince gives of himself in a way most astonishing. In "The Sphinx Without a Secret", we learn of an enigmatic woman who holds a secret so close, no suitor can win her.
    Show book
  • The Signal - cover

    The Signal

    Vsevolod Garshin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'The Signal' is the story of two peasants who work as track walkers on the railway, Semyon Ivanov and Vasily Stepanych. Semyon is grateful for his job and the hut and the vegetable patch which goes with it, but Vasily is discontented with his lot and constantly complains, including to his employers. This grumbling irritates the railway officials, and eventually the situation escalates, driving Vasily to take terrible revenge on the state railway.
    Show book
  • A Tale of Two Cities - cover

    A Tale of Two Cities

    Charles Dickens

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After eighteen years as a political prisoner in the Bastille, the ageing Doctor Manette is finally released and reunited with his daughter in England. There the lives of two very different men, Charles Darnay, an exiled French aristocrat, and Sydney Carton, a disreputable but brilliant English lawyer, become enmeshed through their love for Lucie Manette. From the tranquil roads of London, they are drawn against their will to the vengeful, bloodstained streets of Paris at the height of the Reign of Terror, and they soon fall under the lethal shadow of La Guillotine.
    Show book
  • Arrow’s Rest - cover

    Arrow’s Rest

    Joel Scott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A nautical thriller for readers of Clive Cussler and Jack Higgins.
    		 
    Wooden sailboats shouldn’t play with steel yachts.
    		 
    When his lover’s sister is the latest victim in a series of sadistic assaults, Jared Kane sets out to find the guilty party. His search leads him into a tangled network of sex, power, and religion connecting high political office in the city to a secretive sect in the B.C. wilderness.
    		 
    The crimes seem connected to an exclusive yacht club in Vancouver’s West End, where Jared is able to moor his old wooden sailboat, Arrow, so he can infiltrate the elite. Jared’s friend Danny MacLean has no qualms about fleecing the club’s privileged members and joins Jared in the pursuit. Tracking their quarry on a long chase up through the furthest reaches of the Salish Sea, Arrow and her crew pay a tragic price for resolution in the bleak waters of Desolation Sound.
    Show book
  • No One Is Afraid Of Monsters Anymore and Other Stories To Read To The Thing Under The Bed - cover

    No One Is Afraid Of Monsters...

    Winslow Swan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Poor Dracula. It seems that the movie going public just isn't getting scared enough from the likes of vampires, werewolves, and even the Frankenstein monster. What can a group of monsters do? Find out in the short story written by the author of Click and The Convincer. Leave the lights on as you read these short stories to that thing that lurks under the bed, for it will enjoy them as much as you will. Meet the man who receives the DVR Plus and gets television shows that he had not counted on. The man that is fitted for Bi-focals and sees much more than he should have. The reincarnated killer who just can't get it right. All of these characters and more are presented for your terrifying enjoyment. Just remember to keep looking under the bed and see if the Thing likes them as well.
    Show book
  • The Watcher by the Threshold - cover

    The Watcher by the Threshold

    John Buchan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    John Buchan (1875 - 1940) was a scottish writer, barrister, Member of Parliament and later become Baron Tweedsmuir and Govenor-General of Canada. While he was most famous for adventure stories, such as The Thirty-nine Steps, he was also popular for his supernatural horror stories, of which The Watcher by the Threshold is a prime example.When Harry Grey receives a mysterious summons from his cousin Sybil to visit her and her husband Robert Ladlaw at their remote scottish estate, he is taken aback by the urgency of the postscript. "For Heaven's sake come and see us!" she writes. "Bob is terribly ill, and I am crazy. Come at once." And then to finish: "Don't bother about bringing doctors. It is not their business."When Grey undertakes the dismal journey to the House of More where the Ladlaws live, he finds a situation far more mysterious and terrifying than he could ever have imagined.Ladlaw is in the grips of a terrible possession... and Sybil is at her wits end. Ladlaw's split personality is so bizarre that it is sometimes hard to grasp who has the upper hand.
    Show book