Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
Paradise Gardens - cover

Paradise Gardens

Susan I. Weinstein

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Weinstein’s PARADISE GARDENS is an Orwellian speculative fiction set in a near future world, where the Federal government has dissolved amid ecological breakdown. In the 2250s, Nate Greenfield, real estate visionary, with the help of P.R. maven Madge Chilton, sells corporate business on his “eden underground.”  PARADISE GARDENS becomes the home of the United Business Estates (U.B.E). Left behind are the Unconnected, people outside corporate protection. Capitalism has devolved into the corporate feudalism of the U.B.E., where employees are conceived as Superior or Average to fit the needs of business. 
Suspended between the settings of 2250s on the Earth's surface in NYC and 3011s underground, chapters alternate with a revolving cast of characters. Fates are determined by the Psychologicians, who manage the civilization’s data base. Yet, when model employee Janet McCarthy finds herself caught in a web of alternate identities, only her lover Michael can attempt to cut her loose. At stake, is the reset of the planet. In this cautionary near-future, Sinclair Lewis’ classic It Can’t Happen Here, has already happened. It is a vision at once strange and familiar. The recognition it brings is a dark pleasure. 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Sacrifice of Souls - Chest of Souls #4 - cover

    Sacrifice of Souls - Chest of...

    Michelle Erickson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Brenna is on the other side of time to be trained. It is a place she cannot reach or see Talon and others are there including her mysterious teacher - a woman known only as the Forest Wife. This woman is beautiful, as hard as Tasut, and as intelligent as Brenna’s mother. That combination doesn’t leave a lot of wiggle room. Somehow, the Forest Wife knows Brenna will do whatever she has to do, pay whatever price must be paid, to save Talon and that guarantees her obedience – for now.  
     
    Talon is in Sogo – courtesy of his father’s great fist. He is to be sold at auction and join those destined for the Barracks. He doesn’t understand why. He can’t see how he can protect Brenna while he's in Sogo. His plan, at the moment, is to survive the training and the odds are stacked against him: 300-1
    Show book
  • Galactic Alliance - Betrayal - cover

    Galactic Alliance - Betrayal

    Benson Tony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Galactic Alliance has brought advanced technology and trade to Earth. The governments of Earth see them as a friend – why invest in global defences when we have the Galactic Alliance as an ally? 
    Daniel thinks they're wrong. Nobody, not even Ruth, believes him when he stumbles upon a Galactic Alliance plot to take over Earth and subject humanity to brutal, dehumanising slavery. 
    Separated from Ruth by Vorth astro-pirates, Daniel is torn between trying to warn sceptical Earth governments and finding Ruth. The astro-pirates, meanwhile, discover that Ruth is not the pushover they expect her to be. 
    Pursued across the galaxy by hostile aliens, Daniel confronts the Galactic Alliance, plunging himself and Ruth into the heart of the biggest conflict in Earth’s history.
    Show book
  • Europa Strike - Book Three Of The Heritage Trilogy - cover

    Europa Strike - Book Three Of...

    Ian Douglas

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    2040: Ruins of ancient civilization uncovered on Mars reveal startling truths about the creation of humankind. 
    2042: In the gray dust of the Earth's Moon, an extinct enslaving race left behind more answers, more questions...and a grim warning. 
    2067: As Earth's warring factions clash in space for scraps of alien technology, a strange artifact lies trapped beneath the ice-locked oceans of Europa: a machine that holds the key to the final human destiny. 
    It is called "The Singer" for the eerie tone it emits.An artificial intelligence built eons ago, it may ultimately solve the mystery of the vanished alien races responsible for the birth and development of humanity.  But after decades of war, the hostile nations of Earth care more for power than for knowledge.  And now all that stands between the coveted Al and an all-out Chinese assault is a vastly outnumbered contingent of U.S. marines, dug in beneath the baleful red eye of Jupiter.  As terrifying events light years distant begin to converge---with confrontation imminent and annihilation inevitable---a secret history of creation and doom must at long last be contended with...if humankind is to finally claim its glorious heritage among the stars.2040: Ruins of ancient civilization uncovered on Mars reveal startling truths about the creation of humankind. 
    2042: In the gray dust of the Earth's Moon, an extinct enslaving race left behind more answers, more questions...and a grim warning. 
    2067: As Earth's warring factions clash in space for scraps of alien technology, a strange artifact lies trapped beneath the ice-locked oceans of Europa: a machine that holds the key to the final human destiny. 
    It is called "The Singer" for the eerie tone it emits.  An artificial intelligence built eons ago, it may ultimately solve the mystery of the vanished alien races responsible for the birth and development of humanity.  But after decades of war, the hostile nations of Earth care more for power than for knowledge.  And now all that stands between the coveted Al and an all-out Chinese assault is a vastly outnumbered contingent of U.S. marines, dug in beneath the baleful red eye of Jupiter.  As terrifying events light years distant begin to converge---with confrontation imminent and annihilation inevitable---a secret history of creation and doom must at long last be contended with...if humankind is to finally claim its glorious heritage among the stars.2040: Ruins of ancient civilization uncovered on Mars reveal startling truths about the creation of humankind. 
    2042: In the gray dust of the Earth's Moon, an extinct enslaving race left behind more answers, more questions...and a grim warning. 
    2067: As Earth's warring factions clash in space for scraps of alien technology, a strange artifact lies trapped beneath the ice-locked oceans of Europa: a machine that holds the key to the final human destiny. 
    It is called "The Singer" for the eerie tone it emits.  An artificial intelligence built eons ago, it may ultimately solve the mystery of the vanished alien races responsible for the birth and development of humanity.  But after decades of war, the hostile nations of Earth care more for power than for knowledge.  And now all that stands between the coveted Al and an all-out Chinese assault is a vastly outnumbered contingent of U.S. marines, dug in beneath the baleful red eye of Jupiter.  As terrifying events light years distant begin to converge---with confrontation imminent and annihilation inevitable---a secret history of creation and doom must at long last be contended with...if humankind is to finally claim its glorious heritage among the stars.
    Show book
  • Raging Chaos - The Vampire & Werewolf Chronicles #4 - cover

    Raging Chaos - The Vampire &...

    Chrissy Peebles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is book 4.  
    A curse is unleashed upon the land. When the vampires can't feed, they are ravenous with hunger. A war breaks out between the vampires and the wolves, and raging chaos ensures. Can Sophie stop it before all is lost?
    Show book
  • Bitten By Cupid - cover

    Bitten By Cupid

    Lynsay Sands, Pamela Palmer,...

    • 4
    • 15
    • 0
    Just in time for Valentine’s Day, there’s Bitten by Cupid, a trio of sinfully hot novellas from three true masters of paranormal romance. These are contemporary love stories with a bite—as Lynsay Sands, New York Times bestselling author of The Renegade Hunter and the popular Argeneau vampire series, joins exciting up-and-comers Pamela Palmer and Jamie Rush to explore the passions of sexy shape-shifters, genetically enhanced humans, and (of course) the undead. Fans of Heroes, The X-Files, Fringe, and Torchwood will surely catch the love bug once they are Bitten by Cupid.
    Show book
  • Royal Secrets - The Vampire & Werewolf Chronicles #6 - cover

    Royal Secrets - The Vampire &...

    Chrissy Peebles

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This is book 6.  
    On the hunt to take down the Falcar and stop Halo from rising, Sophie stops at nothing, even risking her life as she travels to a lost city in the Rainforest to obtain an ancient sword. 
    Show book