"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Storm Damage - CLIFF SAINT JAMES #1 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Storm Damage - CLIFF SAINT JAMES #1

ED KOVACS

Publisher: THE PHOENIX GROUP

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Critically-acclaimed author Ed Kovacs presents Book One in his thrilling Cliff Saint James series of murder mystery crime novels set in New Orleans. Publisher’s Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus, the Associated Press, and many other major reviewers have given great reviews to this series of private detective cop thrillers. New York Times Bestselling Author Jonathan Maberry said “Kovacs comes out of the gate with a bang.” And Steve Berry called Kovacs a “vivid addition to the thriller genre.” 
In STORM DAMAGE, Cliff Saint James, who’s practically homeless and on the verge of bankruptcy due to the killer Storm, tenaciously navigates the gritty aftermath of a broken city that’s barely functioning. He's a mixed-martial arts coach and bare-knuckled former cop who takes on a cold case murder as a private investigator because he desperately needs the money. 
The case is a tough one: the last homicide before a Category 5 hurricane wiped out New Orleans. With no forensic evidence, a destroyed crime scene, and no corpse, the task looks to be impossible. But the cold trail quickly heats up, propelling him into a battle of wits and brawn with the deadliest killers operating in the apocalyptic, post-hurricane ruins of the city. 
The more layers of deceit Saint James peels away surrounding the case, the grander is the conspiracy that comes into focus, placing him squarely in the cross-hairs of those who specialize in remaining unknown. 
This revised, Second Edition of STORM DAMAGE is in the time-honored tradition of works by Michael Connelly, Lee Child, James Patterson, James Ellroy, Raymond Chandler, Dennis Lehane, and Dashiel Hammet.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller - cover

    The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz...

    Stella Rimington

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For fans of Homeland and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot. 
     
    A Russian immigrant lies dying in a hospice in upstate Vermont. When a stranger visits, claiming to be a childhood friend, the FBI is alerted and news quickly travels to MI5 in London. 
     
    Liz Carlyle and her colleague Peggy Kinsolving are already knee-deep in conspiracies, and as they unravel the events that landed the man in the hospital, Liz learns of a network of Russians and their plot to undermine the German government. Liz and Peggy set out to locate and stop this insidious network, traveling the world from Montreal to Moscow.  
     
    The latest expertly plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities, and global espionage.
    Show book
  • Fate - cover

    Fate

    Zhou Haohui

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The second book in China's bestselling crime series to date. 
     
    THE LAW IS WEAK 
     
    Last week, the vigilante killer who terrified and thrilled the city of Chengdu with his 'death notices' performed his own execution to escape capture by the police.
     
    I OFFER REAL JUSTICE 
     
    But when two students are violently murdered, the only clue left by the killer is a death notice. The executioner? Eumenides. Now Captain Pei Tao and his task force face a terrifying prospect: that Eumenides left a protégé to carry on his work.
     
    NOW MEET YOUR FATE 
     
    Once again, Eumenides is one step ahead of their investigation – but this time, it's worse. Because this time, someone on the inside is helping him. Can Pei and his team root out the mole, and hunt down their new opponent? Or are they doomed to watch history repeat itself?
     
    Gripping, explosive and fiendishly inventive, Fate is the second instalment in the Death Notice trilogy: the Chinese crime-writing phenomenon and a Sunday Times thriller of the year.
     
    Reviews for Death Notice: 
     
    'Fiendishly inventive' Wall Street Journal
     
    'Extraordinary' Sunday Times
     
    'A perfect cat-and-mouse killer' Book Riot
    Show book
  • Conquest - An epic historical adventure novel - cover

    Conquest - An epic historical...

    Andrew Frediani

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The final, gripping, instalment in The Invincibles series. 
     
    Octavian has revenged Caesar's name, and defeated the pirate Sextus Pompeius, but now he must ensure his complete rule of Rome. 
     
    He feels the potential of betrayal around every corner: from his wife Livia, to his best friends and allies Maecenas and Agrippa. He needs heirs, and he needs security, but he has the shadow of Mark Anthony breathing down his neck from Egypt. 
     
    Will Octavian succeed in this, the definitive duel for the Empire of Rome, or will he destroy everything he's achieved in the process?
    Show book
  • Conan Doyle's Wide World - Sherlock Holmes and Beyond - cover

    Conan Doyle's Wide World -...

    Andrew Lycett

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With fascinating extracts from his own writings, this book reveals the captivating travels and adventures of Arthur Conan Doyle - the creator of Sherlock Holmes. 
     
    Arthur Conan Doyle was not simply the creator of the world's greatest detective; he was also an intrepid traveler and extraordinary travel writer. His descriptions of his journeys and adventures--which took him to the Arctic and the Alps, throughout Africa, Australia and North America, and across every ocean in between--are full of insight, humor and exceptional evocations of place. Until now, these captivating travelogues have never been gathered together. In this ground-breaking book, Andrew Lycett, Conan Doyle's celebrated biographer, collects and annotates the best of his writings from around the world, which illuminate not just the places he visited, but the man himself.
    Show book
  • Goodbye Janette - cover

    Goodbye Janette

    Harold Robbins

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    A dynasty of women triumphs in the fiercely male-dominated world of high fashion amid the ruins of war. A daughter honors her mother’s ultimate sacrifice—by becoming a ruthless businesswoman who will stop at nothing to raise high her family’s name. Another daughter seeks to flee the toxic legacy of her family and live in peace. And both daughters have a date with destiny in a vault filled with Nazi gold… treasure that will alter the course of both their lives… 
    Goodbye, Janette is a late masterpiece by Harold Robbins, America’s most commercially successful and era-defining author of pulp fiction. The creator of erotic and ferocious turbocharged narratives of the soul-stricken rich and famous, Harold Robbins was in his day a close runner-up to Shakespeare and the Bible in numbers of books sold. Today, his ability to create an unstoppable, mesmeric tale—someone famously said about him, “In Harold’s books, the pages turn your fingers”—pushes him to the front ranks of pop novelists as new generations discover his awesome power. 
    Epic and intimate, moving from the icy nighttime streets of the Nazi occupation to the decadent beaches of St. Tropez, from the showrooms of Manhattan to the runways of Paris, Goodbye, Janette is a hypnotically gripping, mythic family saga of the power of blood to bind, to oppress, and finally to set free. Full of the shocking U-turns and unexpected revelations that make Harold Robbins a master storyteller, Goodbye, Janette transports the reader to a chic, dreamlike world where everyone wants an all-access pass… but the penalties for staying may be severe.
    Show book
  • Death and a Dog (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 2) - cover

    Death and a Dog (A Lacey Doyle...

    Fiona Grace

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    DEATH AND A DOG (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 2) is book two in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, has made a drastic change: she has walked away from the fast life of New York City and settled down in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Spring is in the air. With last month’s murder mystery behind her, a new best friend in her English shepherd, and a budding relationship with the chef across the street, it seems like everything’s finally settling into place. Lacey is so excited for her first major auction, especially when a valuable, mystery artifact enters her catalogue.
    
    All seems to go without a hitch, until two mysterious bidders arrive from out of town—and one of them winds up dead.
    
    With the small village plunged into chaos, and with the reputation of her business at stake, can Lacey and her trusty dog partner solve the crime and restore her name?
    
    Book #3 in the series—CRIME IN THE CAFE—is also available for preorder!
    Show book