Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Storm Damage - CLIFF SAINT JAMES #1 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Storm Damage - CLIFF SAINT JAMES #1

ED KOVACS

Publisher: THE PHOENIX GROUP

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Critically-acclaimed author Ed Kovacs presents Book One in his thrilling Cliff Saint James series of murder mystery crime novels set in New Orleans. Publisher’s Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus, the Associated Press, and many other major reviewers have given great reviews to this series of private detective cop thrillers. New York Times Bestselling Author Jonathan Maberry said “Kovacs comes out of the gate with a bang.” And Steve Berry called Kovacs a “vivid addition to the thriller genre.” 
In STORM DAMAGE, Cliff Saint James, who’s practically homeless and on the verge of bankruptcy due to the killer Storm, tenaciously navigates the gritty aftermath of a broken city that’s barely functioning. He's a mixed-martial arts coach and bare-knuckled former cop who takes on a cold case murder as a private investigator because he desperately needs the money. 
The case is a tough one: the last homicide before a Category 5 hurricane wiped out New Orleans. With no forensic evidence, a destroyed crime scene, and no corpse, the task looks to be impossible. But the cold trail quickly heats up, propelling him into a battle of wits and brawn with the deadliest killers operating in the apocalyptic, post-hurricane ruins of the city. 
The more layers of deceit Saint James peels away surrounding the case, the grander is the conspiracy that comes into focus, placing him squarely in the cross-hairs of those who specialize in remaining unknown. 
This revised, Second Edition of STORM DAMAGE is in the time-honored tradition of works by Michael Connelly, Lee Child, James Patterson, James Ellroy, Raymond Chandler, Dennis Lehane, and Dashiel Hammet.
Available since: 03/23/2017.

Other books that might interest you

  • Black Mask 4: The Parrot That Wouldn't Talk - And Other Crime Fiction from the Legendary Magazine - cover

    Black Mask 4: The Parrot That...

    Otto Penzler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From its launch in 1920 until its demise in 1951, the magazine Black Mask published pulp crime fiction. The first hard-boiled detective stories appeared on its pages. Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, Erle Stanley Gardner and John D. MacDonald got their start in Black Mask. The urban crime stories that appeared in Black Mask helped to shape American culture. Modern computer games, films, and television are rooted in the fiction popularized by “the seminal and venerated mystery pulp magazine” (Booklist).Otto Penzler selected and wrote introductions to the best of the best, the darkest of these dark, vintage stories for the collection The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories. Now that collection is available for the first time on audio. Includes: “Bracelets” by Katherine Brocklebank; read by Carol Monda“Diamonds Mean Death” by Thomas Walsh; read by Alan Sklar“Murder in the Ring” by Raoul Whitfield; read by Jeff Gurner“The Parrot That Wouldn’t Talk” by Walter C. Brown; read by Pete Larkin“Let the Dead Alone” by Merle Constiner; read by Oliver Wyman
    Show book
  • Hell To Pay - A Detective Loxley Nottinghamshire Crime Thriller Book 2 - cover

    Hell To Pay - A Detective Loxley...

    A.L. Fraine

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A vindictive killer, deadly secrets, and a community on a knife edge.When Emmett opens his wheelie bin to dispose of the morning waste, he finds a decapitated head staring back at him.Someone is killing the local prostitutes, chopping them up, and dumping the parts in wheelie bins around the old mining villages close to Mansfield.Assigned the case, recently promoted DI Rob Loxley and his new team start the hunt for this vicious killer.They're desperate to stop this monster before these vulnerable women are targeted again. But when their investigation reveals the organised crime behind the working girl's lives, Rob discovers a link to his past that's a little too close to home.As tensions in the community rise and the killings threaten to spark an all-out gang war, Rob must find the killer before all hell breaks loose and innocent people are caught in the crossfire.Hell to Pay is a gripping and compelling British crime thriller, perfect for fans of TG Reid, Jack Gatland and Rachel Maclean.
    Show book
  • Case of the Berlin Conference The - The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Episode 18 (Unabridged) - cover

    Case of the Berlin Conference...

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Nora Godwin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Disguised as Diplomats and on behalf of the British Intelligence Holmes and Watson attend the Congo Conference in Berlin. But when a high ranking representative disappears without a trace, the Congress threatens to fail. The German Chancellor, Bismarck, urges Holmes for help.
    Show book
  • A Royal Witch - Beechwood Harbor Magic Mysteries Series Book 7 - cover

    A Royal Witch - Beechwood Harbor...

    Danielle Garrett

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Beechwood Manor is filling up fast, and Holly's feeling the pinch.There are several new roommates in the Beechwood Manor, and one of them is a royal witch.Literally.Unrest in a haven-ally magical kingdom leads a foreign princess into hiding and the Supernatural Protection Agency deems the Beechwood Manor as the perfect safe house.When tragedy strikes, the royal's problems land at the manor's front door, and it's going to take all hands on deck if the paranormal roomies hope to make it out alive.
    Show book
  • Kcpd Protector - cover

    Kcpd Protector

    Julie Miller

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Miller returns to The Precinct with a tale of a killer on the loose and a tornado about to hit Kansas City There was no way Deputy Commissioner George Madigan was going to let his beautiful assistant fall prey to a stalker. Because Elise Brown wasn't just another employee. Her vulnerable blue eyes triggered all of George's protective instincts…and now her life was in jeopardy. Working together almost 24/7 to bring the perp to justice—and sharing kisses passionate enough to ignite a Kansas City heat wave—George and Elise had forged the kind of partnership that could keep her out of harm's way and potentially lead to happily ever after.  Until a deadly tornado struck and Elise was taken hostage….
    Show book
  • Murder by the Book - cover

    Murder by the Book

    Eric Brown

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Who is killing the crime writers of London? Find out in this “consistently entertaining . . . crime debut from sci-fi veteran Brown” (Kirkus Reviews).   London, 1955. When crime writer Donald Langham’s literary agent asks for his help in sorting out “a delicate matter,” little does Langham realize what he’s getting himself into. For a nasty case of blackmail leads inexorably to murder as London’s literary establishment is rocked by a series of increasingly bizarre deaths. With three members of the London Crime Writers’ Association coming to sudden and violent ends, what at first appeared to be a series of suicides looks suspiciously like murder—and there seems to be something horribly familiar about the various methods of dispatch.   With the help of his literary agent’s assistant, the delectable Maria Dupré, Langham finds himself drawing on the skills of his fictional detective hero as he hunts a ruthless and fiendishly clever killer—a killer with old scores to settle.   “[A] well-paced first mystery. . . . Readers will hope a sequel is in the works.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book