Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Storm Damage - CLIFF SAINT JAMES #1 - cover

Storm Damage - CLIFF SAINT JAMES #1

ED KOVACS

Publisher: THE PHOENIX GROUP

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Critically-acclaimed author Ed Kovacs presents Book One in his thrilling Cliff Saint James series of murder mystery crime novels set in New Orleans. Publisher’s Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus, the Associated Press, and many other major reviewers have given great reviews to this series of private detective cop thrillers. New York Times Bestselling Author Jonathan Maberry said “Kovacs comes out of the gate with a bang.” And Steve Berry called Kovacs a “vivid addition to the thriller genre.” 
In STORM DAMAGE, Cliff Saint James, who’s practically homeless and on the verge of bankruptcy due to the killer Storm, tenaciously navigates the gritty aftermath of a broken city that’s barely functioning. He's a mixed-martial arts coach and bare-knuckled former cop who takes on a cold case murder as a private investigator because he desperately needs the money. 
The case is a tough one: the last homicide before a Category 5 hurricane wiped out New Orleans. With no forensic evidence, a destroyed crime scene, and no corpse, the task looks to be impossible. But the cold trail quickly heats up, propelling him into a battle of wits and brawn with the deadliest killers operating in the apocalyptic, post-hurricane ruins of the city. 
The more layers of deceit Saint James peels away surrounding the case, the grander is the conspiracy that comes into focus, placing him squarely in the cross-hairs of those who specialize in remaining unknown. 
This revised, Second Edition of STORM DAMAGE is in the time-honored tradition of works by Michael Connelly, Lee Child, James Patterson, James Ellroy, Raymond Chandler, Dennis Lehane, and Dashiel Hammet.

Other books that might interest you

  • Strange Tombs - An Essex Witch Museum Mystery - cover

    Strange Tombs - An Essex Witch...

    Syd Moore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Halloween in Essex, and things are going well for the writers on the Mystery and Suspense course at old Ratchette Hall. Things however take a turn for the downright nasty when early on All Saints Day the course administrator is discovered dead in the hall. Lips drawn back, eyes wide open, his face a mask of utter terror, it looks to all intents and purposes that Graham has been scared to death. When he is found to be clutching a cold stone finger the writers are thrown into confusion and fear, convinced the long dead knights have claimed his soul.
    
    But how could the marble effigies have come back to life on Halloween? And why would anyone, dead or alive, want to kill mild-mannered Graham?
    
    There is only one way to get to the bottom of the mystery and the Essex Witch Museum investigators are quickly drafted in.
    
    Very soon, however, Rosie and Sam realise not everything, and everyone are what they seem at Ratchette Hall, appearances can be deceiving, someone certainly has a grudge.  As their investigation progresses they find more questions than answers:  who is making the unearthly howling noises late into the night? What is the strange glimmering glimpsed in the woods about the Hall? Why is one of the church crusaders missing a finger? And what of the enigma of the ancient empty tomb?
    
    When another one of the writers turns up dead Rosie and Sam realise strange forces are at play. The pair must use their experience of folklore, mystery and magic as well as their wits to solve the mystery before the body count grows.
    Show book
  • Dance of the Bones - A J P Beaumont and Brandon Walker Novel - cover

    Dance of the Bones - A J P...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    J. P. Beaumont and Brandon Walker, two of New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance’s most acclaimed series characters, join forces for the first time in one of the most suspenseful works of her career. 
    Years ago, Amos Warren, a prospector, was gunned down out in the desert and Sheriff Brandon Walker made the arrest in the case. Now, the retired Walker is called in when the alleged killer, John Lassiter, refuses to accept a plea deal that would release him from prison with time served. Lassiter wants Brandon and The Last Chance to find Amos's "real" killer and clear his name. 
    Sixteen hundred miles to the north in Seattle, J.P. Beaumont is at loose ends after the Special Homicide Investigation Team, affectionately known as S.H.I.T., has been unexpectedly and completely disbanded. When Brandon discovers that there are links between Lassiter’s case and an unsolved case in Seattle, he comes to Beau for help. 
    Those two cases suddenly become hot when two young boys from the reservation, one of them with close ties to the Walker family, go missing. Can two seasoned cops, working together, decipher the missing pieces in time to keep them alive?
    Show book
  • The Old Blue Line - A Joanna Brady Novella - cover

    The Old Blue Line - A Joanna...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Butch Dixon has been taken for a ride … 
    Not a jump in the car, see the sights kind of ride. He's been taken for everything he has. He's lost his house, his restaurant business, his savings, his car, his best friend, his faith—all to his conniving ex-wife. But that was seven years ago. He picked himself up, left Chicago, and started over in Peoria, Arizona, running the Roundhouse Bar and Grill. He doesn't look back on those bad years; there's no point. Not until two curious cops show up at the Roundhouse. 
    Faith, Butch's ex-wife, has been murdered, and the evidence points to him. Stunned, Butch quickly realizes that the black-hearted woman is going to ruin him again, from her grave. Lucky for Butch, the Old Blue Line, a group of retired—but still sharp and tenacious—former legal and law enforcement coots, have taken it upon themselves, as a favor, to make sure he doesn't cross that thin line. After the dust settles, Butch's life is again upended—when a little red-haired ball of fire, Sheriff Joanna Brady, takes a seat at his bar.
    Show book
  • Improbable Cause - A JP Beaumont Novel - cover

    Improbable Cause - A JP Beaumont...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perhaps it was fitting justice: a dentist who enjoyed inflicting pain was murdered in his own chair. The question is not who wanted Dr. Frederick Nielsen dead, but rather who of the many finally reached the breaking point. The sordid details of this case, with its shocking revelations of violence, cruelty, and horrific sexual abuse, would be tough for any investigator to stomach. But for Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont, the most damning piece of the murderous puzzle will shake him to his very core -- because what will be revealed to him is nothing less than the true meaning of unrepentant evil.
    Show book
  • The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

    The Miniaturist - A Novel

    Jessie Burton

    • 3
    • 4
    • 0
    Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS 
    Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
    ”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
    On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
    But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
    Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
    Show book
  • Violet Dawn - cover

    Violet Dawn

    Alex Hyland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Talented young pickpocket, Michael Violet, is now working for a government intelligence agency and on the right side of the law for the first time in his adult life. When the agency set their sights on bringing down Miami drug lord, Lenny Tripps, Michael is deemed the perfect agent for the job. Tripps is a Howard Hughes style recluse who hasn’t left his heavily-guarded penthouse in years – only a man with Michael’s talents could even think about getting inside. However, once inside Lenny Tripp’s world, nothing is what it seems. Michael soon finds himself out of depth as he desperately tries to save the life of an innocent young boy caught in the middle of a vicious drugs war.
    Show book