Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
At the Stroke of Midnight - cover

At the Stroke of Midnight

Lanette Curington

Publisher: Silver Heart Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Olivia DeBenning has already had three brushes with death in her life. During a Halloween masquerade party to celebrate saving Greystone Castle, Death visits one last time. Paranormal romance novelette, approx. 10,000 words or 34 pages. 
 
P.E.A.R.L. 2000 Finalist Best Novella/Short Story. 
At the Stroke of Midnight was previously published.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Forbidden Lord - cover

    The Forbidden Lord

    Sabrina Jeffries

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    Jordan Willis, the Earl of Blackmore, has played with the heart of many a society belle—yet one stolen kiss impulsively planted on the soft, irresistible lips of the preacher's daughter proves his undoing. The prim and proper Emily Fairchild's innocent response sends desire surging through the notorious rake, and he can't forget her. Now, meeting Lady Emma Campbell, an outrageously flirtatious debutante, leaves the earl more shaken than ever—for the brazen beauty is an uncanny double of the sweet Emily!Emily cannot reveal the reason for her scandalous masquerade—not even to the earl whose heated embrace awakens a sizzling passion. Her very life depends on convincing society that she is Lady Campbell, yet no disguise can hide her dangerous attraction to the earl. But does "Cinderella' dare risk losing her handsome "prince" by revealing that she is just a country girl?
    Show book
  • The League of Rogues: Books 1-3 - cover

    The League of Rogues: Books 1-3

    Lauren Smith

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series and Johanna Lindsey Malory series will love this wild and adventurous Regency romance series full of passion and intrigue!Wicked Designs- The League of Rogues Book 1A feisty young debutante is kidnapped by a brooding duke with bewitching green eyes and his league of roguish friends in revenge for her uncle's financial scheming against the duke. His Wicked Seduction- The League of Rogues Book 2A young woman embraces the Christmas spirit and decides once and for all to seduce the man she's loved all her life, her brother's best friend, an infamous member of the League of Rogues.Her Wicked Proposal- The League of Rogues Book 3An heiress desperate to escape fortune hunters after her father's death, proposes to the one man she can trust, the recently blinded golden boy of the ton, and a member of the League of Rogues.
    Show book
  • The Wicked Wallflower - cover

    The Wicked Wallflower

    Maya Rodale

    • 3
    • 19
    • 0
    Maya Rodale's captivating new series introduces London's Least Likely—three wallflowers who are about to become the toast of the ton . . . 
    Lady Emma Avery has accidentally announced her engagement—to the most eligible man in England. As soon as it's discovered that Emma has never actually met the infamously attractive Duke of Ashbrooke, she'll no longer be a wallflower; she'll be a laughingstock. And then Ashbrooke does something Emma never expected. He plays along with her charade. 
    A temporary betrothal to the irreproachable Lady Avery could be just the thing to repair Ashbrooke's tattered reputation. Seducing her is simply a bonus. And then Emma does what he never expected: she refuses his advances. It's unprecedented. Inconceivable. Quite damnably alluring. 
    London's Least Likely to Misbehave has aroused the curiosity—among other things—of London's most notorious rogue. Now nothing will suffice but to uncover Emma's wanton side and prove there's nothing so satisfying as two perfect strangers . . . being perfectly scandalous together.
    Show book
  • The Note - The book everyone's talking about - cover

    The Note - The book everyone's...

    Zoë Folbigg

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    As featured on ITV's 'This Morning'... 
     
    Based on Zoë Folbigg's true story comes an unforgettable romance about how a little note can change everything... 
     
    One very ordinary day, Maya Flowers sees a new commuter board her train to London, and suddenly the day isn't ordinary at all. Maya knows immediately and irrevocably, that he is The One. 
     
    But the beautiful man on the train always has his head in a book and never seems to notice Maya sitting just down the carriage from him every day. Eventually, though, inspired by a very wise friend, Maya plucks up the courage to give the stranger a note asking him out for a drink. After all, what's the worst that can happen? 
     
    And so begins a story of sliding doors, missed opportunities and finding happiness where you least expect it. 
     
    The Note is an uplifting, life-affirming reminder that taking a chance can change everything... 
     
    'Laugh-out-loud, tears-in-your-coffee story' OK! magazine. 
     
    'A story of sliding doors, missed opportunities and finding happiness where you least expect it' Good Housekeeping. 
     
    'The Note is perceptive, funny and likely to make your commute much more diverting' Stylist magazine. 
     
    'The perfect escapist read for hopeless romantics on their daily commute' Navaz Batliwalla, author. 
     
    'Full of wit and charm, Zoë Folbigg's debut novel is a heart-warming tale of the importance of taking a risk in life and love. You'll never see your commute in the same light again' Ian Critchley, writer and reviewer.
    Show book
  • His To Command - Self-Made Men #1 - cover

    His To Command - Self-Made Men #1

    Monica Burns

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    From the moment John Fordyce saved Charlotte Clayworth from drowning at the age of five, the two of them have been inseparable. Trapped in a deserted farmhouse on a blizzardy Christmas Eve, John desperately struggles to control his desire for the woman he’s grown up with. When a small act of discipline compromises Charlotte, honor requires John to make a marriage proposal different from the one he intended.When Charlotte realizes she’s in love with her best friend, she can’t contemplate another man caressing her the way John does. But when he states they must marry to save her reputation and satisfy his honor, she refuses. The thought of their friendship dissolving into a marriage embittered by a single indiscretion horrifies her.Their friendship crumbles as they go their separate ways until a close-knit group of Self-Made Men decide to meddle in their mentor’s love life and reunite the two lovers. But will John and Charlotte realize they both have the same wish—that the best of friends make the best of lovers?
    Show book
  • One for the Rogue - The Bachelor Lords of London - cover

    One for the Rogue - The Bachelor...

    Charis Michaels

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Beauregard “Beau” Courtland has no use for the whims of society and even less for aristocratic titles. As a younger son, he travels the world in search of adventure with no plans to settle down. Even when the title of Viscount Rainsleigh is suddenly forced upon him, he will not bend to duty or decorum. Not until an alluring young woman appears on the deck of his houseboat, determined to teach him propriety in all things and tempting him with every forbidden touch… 
    Lady Emmaline Crumbley has had a wretched year. Her elderly husband dropped dead without naming her in his will and she’s been relegated to the life of a dowager duchess at the age of 23. She has no wish to instruct a renegade viscount in respectability, but desperate to escape her greedy stepson, Beau’s family makes her an offer she cannot refuse:  teach the new lord to behave like a gentleman, and they’ll help her earn the new, self-sufficient life of her dreams. Emmaline agrees, only to discover that instructing the viscount is one thing, but resisting him is quite another. How can she teach manners to the rakish nobleman if he is determined to show her the thrill of scandal instead?
    Show book