Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Ever Spirits - cover

The Ever Spirits

Sonya Lano

Publisher: Sonya Lano

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Alynah Commonborn no longer exists. 
Forged into a pawn taught to fight, detect poisons, and disconnect my soul, I am a concocted lie: decoy, princess, murderess, spy, with one truth left: greater loyalty to my family than my country. I play the overlord's heartless daughter to save their lives, but in so doing, I condemn my nation to an alliance that will destroy it. 
Then a ruthless foe takes me for his own agenda. I try to escape - to stop the coming disaster, but every attempt fails, and the stakes keep rising. I'm falling in love with my silver-haired captor, making it harder to fight him. Too many die for my deception, making it harder to believe in. And the ever spirits in the spirit realm keep reviving me from the dead, meaning more than my family's lives hang in the balance, and not only my people will break if I fail. 
But I am Alynah Commonborn - what's left of her - and I will not fail. 
WARNING: While the main character herself is not abused, some of the other characters in this book have been held as sex slaves and a few graphic memories from their pasts are relived through her mind.

Other books that might interest you

  • Mildred's Resistance - The Network Series #5 - cover

    Mildred's Resistance - The...

    Katie Cross

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Absolute Power Corrupts Even the Best of Friends. 
    Mildred Graeme is a witch that knows what it’s like to fail. She loathes small talk, struggles with magic, and grew up wretchedly poor. What’s easy for her best friend Evelyn, a wealthy, powerful socialite, is difficult for Mildred. 
    The two lifelong friends reunite at Chatham Castle where they fight together for the dream of a better world. Mildred wants to save the Network from political elitism, while Evelyn encourages it. When Evelyn gains power and threatens to obliterate the Network, Mildred realizes that she must overcome her fear of failure to save the lives of those she loves, even if it means betraying her best friend. 
    Mildred’s Resistance is the prequel to The Network Series and a gripping tale of intrigue, betrayal, and unexpected romance that defies all odds to rise above the ghosts of failure. 
    Schedule
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • The Conflagration - Book 3 in The Awakening Series - cover

    The Conflagration - Book 3 in...

    Lisa M. Lilly

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The suspense continues in The Conflagration, the third installment in the four-part series that began with occult thriller The Awakening. Reeling from violent attacks, Tara struggles to make sense of an ancient letter that hints she will destroy the world. Then she learns her infant daughter, reputed to have supernatural healing abilities, has been kidnapped, and the woman sent to guard her has disappeared. Tara follows a trail that leads from a psychiatric ward to a Parisian market for religious antiquities. Desperate, Tara turns to a leader of The Brotherhood, a religious order that sees her and her child as the ultimate evil. But her bargain with him only enflames the controversy around her. Denounced by some as a fraud and feared by others, can she find her daughter and harness her own power in time to save those she loves most? The Conflagration is the third installment of the bestselling four-book Awakening supernatural thriller series. The series includes The Awakening (Book 1), The Unbelievers (Book 2), The Conflagration (Book 3), and The Illumination (Book 4).
    Show book
  • Death Comes But Once - Decker's War #1 - cover

    Death Comes But Once - Decker's...

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Zack Decker wanted only one thing in life: to fight as a Marine Pathfinder. But his temper and his loathing for careerist officers cost him dearly. Forced into early retirement, with a wife who left him long ago, no job, no friends and no future, the former sergeant crawled into a bottle and stayed there, moving from planet to planet, looking for some reason to keep on living. Until, that is, he wandered into a bar owned by an old Marine buddy who offered to help. On the run after killing a corrupt cop, and nowhere to hide, he accepted. 
     
    Decker would have done better to head for the hills, or surrender to the militia, however old friends could be persuasive and he soon found himself signing on as security officer of a starship with dubious owners and a dubious crew, doing things for his new employer that tested the old saying 'Once a Marine, always a Marine.' Curiosity was Decker's other major failing and in short order he was on the run, hunted by a shadowy government organisation, and in possession of a secret that could destroy the Commonwealth. It was a secret to die for, and the people on his trail wanted to make sure he did. Along the way, they forgot that he could still fight like one of the Few...
    Show book
  • Imperial Bounty - cover

    Imperial Bounty

    William C. Dietz

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Since her brother's absence, Princess Claudia has seized the throne and brought the Empire to the brink of war with the Il Ronn. Only the missing Prince Alexander can stop Claudia's plans--and Sam McCade has only three months to find him. But Princess Claudia controls the Imperial Fleet and will stop at nothing to keep McCade from bringing in his imperial bounty? 
    Show book
  • Moonbeam - Beam Series #1 - cover

    Moonbeam - Beam Series #1

    Adrienne Woods

    • 2
    • 66
    • 0
    A Dragonian Series Novel. 
    Moonbeam follows Blake and Elena ten years later from where the last novel, Starlight, ended. 
      
    What if your 'what if' just becomes an option. Would you go back to change the past?
    Show book