Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Terror & Tears: A Darrell Darker Mystery - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Terror & Tears: A Darrell Darker Mystery

Michelle Beddows

Publisher: Black Rose Writing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Detective Darker is a 25 year veteran of Homicide division, close to retirement he gets the biggest case of his career. A serial killer who is killing women. The serial killer has been named by the tortured girls as 'The Whisperer' because he whispers a Bible passage to them before he kills them and then dumps their tortured and maimed bodies in an industrial park. Detective Darker has a new partner and is working with the Behavioral Science Unit of the Federal Bureau of Investigations to solve this crime. Things get worse before they get better, but Detective Darker being the consumate professional, must catch the killer before the body count gets too high and the entire city becomes a powder keg.

Other books that might interest you

  • Before It's Too Late - cover

    Before It's Too Late

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first DI Will Jackman crime thriller from the author of Beneath the Ashes and The Lies Within.“Dark, sinister and page turning.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins seriesFollowing an argument with her British boyfriend, Chinese student Min Li is abducted whilst walking the dark streets of picturesque Stratford-upon-Avon alone.Trapped in a dark pit, Min is at the mercy of her captor. Detective Inspector Will Jackman is tasked with solving the case and in his search for answers discovers that the truth is buried deeper than he ever expected.But, as another student vanishes and Min grows ever weaker, time is running out. Can Jackman track down the kidnapper, before it’s too late?“My kind of book. Jane Isaac writes with real confidence and attention to detail. An enjoyable and authentic British police procedural.”—Mari Hannah, author of the Kate Daniels Mysteries“The criminal world is always closer than you think . . . Tense and cop-savvy.”—Phil Rickman, author of the Merrily Watkins Mysteries“Sharp writing and extremely authentic—a very engaging read.”—Mel Sherratt, bestselling author of the DS Grace Allendale series“A dark, tense and pacy thriller with satisfying twists. Jane Isaac knows how to write crime novels, and this one will leave you wanting more.”—SJI Holliday, author of The Last Resort “An involving and clever plot; a sympathetic protagonist. In a crowded field, Jane Isaac writes like a seasoned professional.”—Mick Herron, CWA Gold Dagger Award-winning author of the Slough House series
    Show book
  • Hush Little Baby - the electrifying new domestic crime thriller - cover

    Hush Little Baby - the...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons. 
     
    Someone stole a baby... 
     
    One sunny day in July, someone took three-month-old Alicia Owen from her pram outside a supermarket. Her mother, Marie, was inside. No one saw who took Alicia. And no one could find her. 
     
    They silenced her cry... 
     
    Fifteen years later, a teenager on a construction site sees a tiny hand in the ground. When the police investigate, they find a baby buried and preserved in concrete. Could it be Alicia? 
     
    But the truth will always out. 
     
    When Alicia disappeared, the papers accused Marie of detachment and neglect. The Owens never got over the grief of their child's disappearance and divorced not long after. By reopening the case, DC Beth Chamberlain must reopen old wounds. But the killer may be closer than anyone ever suspected... 
     
    The latest crime thriller featuring Family Liaison Officer DC Beth Chamberlain, Hush Little Baby is tightly plotted, fraught with tension and impossible to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and K.L. Slater. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt on For Better, For Worse. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book
  • Three Bodies by the River - cover

    Three Bodies by the River

    John Kralik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     Sam Straight wants to be a good lawyer. Instead he finds himself disillusioned in 1990s LA, daydreaming in court of the gentle savior he wants to be, and drinking away his frustrations at night in his office. But he is violently shaken from the despairing emptiness of his life one evening when an intruder at the law firm brutally stabs him and his partner. 
    With his partner on the brink of death, Sam discovers that he is the LAPD's most likely suspect. But the answer to the mystery attacker might lie with the law firm's prized new client, an eighteen-year-old dot-com entrepreneur known as "the Kid." Is the Kid a money launderer? An inspirational religious leader? A sexual predator? 
    Sam struggles to stay out of prison as he makes his way through an apocalyptic LA landscape of bombings, fires, and organized crime to a fateful encounter with three bodies on the concrete banks of the LA River. His only hope is a first-year associate with an athlete's body but an unproven legal mind. Can he maintain his integrity while exposing depravity in his own client? But more importantly, will he even survive?
    Show book
  • For Better For Worse - Domestic noir meets police procedural in this gripping page-turner - cover

    For Better For Worse - Domestic...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt. 
     
    Stuart Ingram was once a respected local councillor... 
     
    The first time the police knocked on Gina's door, they arrested her husband. 
     
    The second time, they accused him of child abuse. 
     
    But he died a guilty man. 
     
    This time, the police are here for Gina – to tell her that her husband is dead. Murdered, just two weeks before his trial. 
     
    Gina always stood by her husband. Even when everyone else walked away. She believed the trial would clear his name. But now Stuart is dead. 
     
    And his wife is the suspect. 
     
    It's a race against time for DC Beth Chamberlain to uncover the truth – especially when a second man turns up dead. 
     
    Domestic noir meets police procedural in this pacy thriller from Jane Isaac, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing, Fiona Barton and K.L. Slater. Previously published as Presumed Guilty. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons on Hush Little Baby. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book
  • The Wolves of Savernake - A gripping medieval mystery from the bestselling author - cover

    The Wolves of Savernake - A...

    Edward Marston

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ralph Delchard, a soldier who fought at the Battle of Hastings, and Gervase Bret, a talented lawyer, have been commissioned by William the Conqueror to look into irregularities brought to light during the compilation of the Domesday Book, the great survey of  England. Their investigations take them throughout the kingdom, but the pair often find themselves embroiled in more sinister mysteries in the towns they visit. The King’s work is a dangerous business. 
    A man’s body is found mutilated in Savernake Forest and the residents of Bedwyn sleep uneasy at night, fearing a monster stalking the town. When Ralph Delchard and Gervase Bret arrive, they soon discover that the locals are harbouring dark secrets and that the real killer may be a little closer to home…
    Show book
  • The Day She Died - cover

    The Day She Died

    S. M. Freedman

    • 4
    • 21
    • 1
    A mind-bending psychological thriller that's The Girl on the Train meets The Silent Patient with a tragic, whimsical tone
    Told in alternating chapters of Eve’s unreliable, murky memories, and flashbacks of her childhood birthdays and that of her dead friend, the picture of Eve’s dark, twisted past begins to form, leaving the reader guessing until the very end
    Central questions around what is real and what is imagined and what makes something “real” or “fake”
    Author's debut novel was selected by Suspense Magazine as one of the "Best Books of 2015" in the Debut Author category
    Author is a former private investigator
    Show book