Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Terror & Tears: A Darrell Darker Mystery - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Terror & Tears: A Darrell Darker Mystery

Michelle Beddows

Publisher: Black Rose Writing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Detective Darker is a 25 year veteran of Homicide division, close to retirement he gets the biggest case of his career. A serial killer who is killing women. The serial killer has been named by the tortured girls as 'The Whisperer' because he whispers a Bible passage to them before he kills them and then dumps their tortured and maimed bodies in an industrial park. Detective Darker has a new partner and is working with the Behavioral Science Unit of the Federal Bureau of Investigations to solve this crime. Things get worse before they get better, but Detective Darker being the consumate professional, must catch the killer before the body count gets too high and the entire city becomes a powder keg.

Other books that might interest you

  • Pieces of Her - A Novel - cover

    Pieces of Her - A Novel

    Karin Slaughter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    COMING TO NETFLIX! 
    Mother. Hero. Liar. Killer. How can you tell when all you have is... 
    PIECES OF HER 
    What if the person you thought you knew best turns out to be someone you never knew at all . . . ? 
    Andrea knows everything about her mother, Laura. She knows she’s spent her whole life in the small beachside town of Belle Isle; she knows she’s never wanted anything more than to live a quiet life as a pillar of the community; she knows she’s never kept a secret in her life. Because we all know our mothers, don’t we? 
    But all that changes when a trip to the mall explodes into violence and Andrea suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. Because it turns out that before Laura was Laura, she was someone completely different. For nearly thirty years she’s been hiding from her previous identity, lying low in the hope that no one would ever find her. But now she’s been exposed, and nothing will ever be the same again. 
    The police want answers and Laura’s innocence is on the line, but she won’t speak to anyone, including her own daughter. Andrea is on a desperate journey following the breadcrumb trail of her mother’s past. And if she can’t uncover the secrets hidden there, there may be no future for either one of them. . . .
    Show book
  • Dead Air - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    Dead Air - A Cullen and Cobb...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Sequel to Serpents Rising (2014) in the Cullen and Cobb series of western crime novels that teams up a former cop with an investigative journalist
    A crime series set in Calgary, a booming city often overlooked in genre fiction
    Author has written 20+ books and has a high profile, particularly in western Canada
    As an actor and award-winning novelist, author is a savvy marketer, speaker, and interviewee
    Author has won the Sakura Medal in Japan, been shortlisted for the Forest of Reading White Pine Award, and is currently a writer in residence at the Saskatoon Public Library
    Show book
  • False Gods - A Rafferty PI Mystery - cover

    False Gods - A Rafferty PI Mystery

    W. Glenn Duncan Jr.

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rafferty's Rule 17: Never take a client at face value. (Amendment B): Or a case.
     
    Teenager Kimberly has run away with her boyfriend though her Mom, Kathy-Lee, doesn't want to admit it. All cases should be this easy; Rafferty'll have it wrapped up by the weekend. 
     
    But with boyfriend Brian home alone, that idea bears rethinking. The last sight of Kimberly was of her putting the missionary in the position with the charismatic cult leader, Dariell Thof, and Brian doesn't know where she's gone since then. Or much care.
     
    By the time Rafferty tracks Kimberly to a remote compound in the Texas desert, he's stuck between a pack of gun-toting religious zealots, and an ATF agent playing hardball to protect his agenda. 
     
    Can Rafferty get Kimberly out before the two sides come together and all hell breaks loose? 
     
    He'll do his damnedest. And after what he's learnt about Dariell's twisted thirst for young girls, Rafferty's itching to organize a personal meeting for the cult leader and his god.
     
    If you're a fan of Spenser, Mike Hammer or Matt Scudder, then this hardboiled pulp thriller from W. Glenn Duncan Jr. will keep you reading late into the dark night.
     
    FALSE GODS is a hardboiled P.I. mystery in the tradition of the best pulp thrillers.
     
    Rafferty's a Dallas P.I. and an ex-cop who spent enough time on the streets to understand how things work. And when they don't, Rafferty's the guy you'll want on your side. He may quote Latin occasionally, smoke too much and be a cynical sonofabitch, but when it all hits the fan and you need someone you can trust, you'll be glad you called Rafferty.
     
    FALSE GODS is the first new Rafferty P.I. story in 25 years. Written by W. Glenn Duncan Jr. (son of the original author) it picks up where the previous books left off, pitting Rafferty and his old friends (and a few new ones) against a shadowy cult leader, in a winner-take-all dash to save a teenage girl.
     
    Join the Rafferty Readers' Group at the Rafferty PI website to get behind the scenes info, the latest updates on new releases and the first announcement of special offers.
     
    Praise for W. Glenn Duncan:
     
    "Sometimes it seemed W. Glenn Duncan's Texas P.I. Rafferty had a rule for everything, but the fact remains that most of them were a hoot. And, of course, a further irony is that "Rafferty's Rules" is, in fact, an Australian football term for "no rules at all." - Thrilling Detective Website
     
    "I have all of the Rafferty titles in my collection. I've gotten rid of a lot of stuff over the years, but the Rafferty books are a mainstay. I think they're terrific!" - Paul Bishop
     
    "Duncan truly captured the pure essence of the definitive smart-ass private eye in his character Rafferty. Take part Sam Spade with a little Mike Hammer, mix in some Spenser and you have an awesome character." - Cliff Fausset
     
    "At first sniff, it may smell like Spenser with a cowboy hat, but take a good whiff: W. Glenn Duncan's Dallas, Texas private eye RAFFERTY was actually a blast of fresh air in what was rapidly becoming a glut of sensitive, soul-searching, overly politically-correct cookie cutter P.I.s in the late eighties. Of course, it helps that Dallas ain't Boston." - Kevin Burton Smith
    Show book
  • Inside - cover

    Inside

    D.M. Siciliano

    • 2
    • 41
    • 2
    “Inside is a gripping, page-turning novel from a promising new horror writer.” -April A Taylor, award-winning author of The Haunting of Cabin Green and Sinkhole
     
    1987 “Does it burn in the dark?”Reid is a bully, but he’s still Alex’s best friend. When Reid pushes Alex and their friends into invading a historically haunted Massachusetts house, Alex knows it’s a terrible idea, but indulges his friend. What could go wrong?Inside, a mysterious Shadow looms in the darkness. The door to the house vanishes, leaving them trapped. The group flees through the tiny, one-roomed house that defies logic, constantly shifting, presenting them with new doors, hallways, and rooms that seem to be plucked from their memories and fears. One by one, the Shadow hunts them, intent on burning them all from within.Is there any way to escape? Or will they be burned from the inside out?
    Show book
  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • Hiding in Plain Sight - cover

    Hiding in Plain Sight

    Mary Ellis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing private investigator Kate Weller in the first of the brand-new Marked for Retribution mystery series.On the run from a troubled past, Kate Weller, the newest member of Price Investigations, covers her tracks, changes her name and takes a case in Charleston, South Carolina, where she can hide in plain sight.Renting a charming room with a waterfront view, Kate sets about trying to locate her adopted client’s natural siblings, only to find more questions than answers when she eventually tracks down a long-lost sister. Meanwhile, her new landlord won’t stop sticking his nose into her case. As far as Kate’s concerned, Eric Manfredi should focus on whatever competitor is bent on ruining his family business. But when petty vandalism turns lethal, and Eric’s father is arrested for murder, Kate determines to prove his innocence. Can she find the real culprit before a killer from her own past tracks her down?
    Show book