Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
SPUD 19: A Vietnam Aviator's Battles with PTSD - cover

SPUD 19: A Vietnam Aviator's Battles with PTSD

George Davis

Publisher: War Writers' Campaign, Inc.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This is the life story of Major George P. Davis III, U.S. Army (Retired) and his battle with PTSD, from the time he was in Vietnam until today. Raised in rural West Virginia, he rose through the ranks eventually becoming part of an elite group of Army aviators flying an OV-1 Mohawk for several years. The Mohawk’s mission was unarmed reconnaissance and surveillance of enemy movement, with most being flown over enemy territory known as “Indian Country.”  
After several years, he lost the ability to be able to fly as his PTSD kept getting worse and worse. It really hit home after he retired and it has been a full-blown battle ever since, even up until today. His internal battles changed his life and only recently has he been able to begin to cope with them. Agent Orange has also wrecked havoc on his body and added to his psychological issues. This is his story.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Papaya King - cover

    The Papaya King

    Adam Pelzman

    • 2
    • 8
    • 1
    "An eccentric outsider is baffled by contemporary Manhattan in this engrossing second novel" by Adam Pelzman. —Kirkus Reviews
     
    Bobby Walser’s tragic childhood has left him a man frozen in time and mired in a world of his own making—one that has little in common with reality. Genteel and old-fashioned, his manners and habits are more suited to an aristocrat from a Chekhov play than to a young man on Manhattan’s Upper West Side.
     
    Haunted by his failure to live up to the legacy of his great father, Walser’s sense of ineffectuality is compounded when he suffers a series of deflating professional setbacks. He’s baffled by the people around him, and his only solace is the hope of a romance—conducted via handwritten letters—with a mysterious woman who may not even exist.
     
    As his despair with twenty-first century life reaches a breaking point, Walser bristles at a newly constructed sculpture that represents everything he loathes about these times. Realizing that he has more to care about—and fight for—outside himself, he marches toward a final showdown with this towering symbol of oppressive technology.
     
    "This is another entrancing, deeply memorable offering from Pelzman … Devilishly sharp social commentary." —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • The Third Policeman - A Novel - cover

    The Third Policeman - A Novel

    Flann O'Brien

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    One man wants to publish, so another must perish, in this darkly witty philosophical novel by “a spectacularly gifted comic writer” (Newsweek).  The Third Policeman follows a narrator who is obsessed with the work of a scientist and philosopher named de Selby (who believes that Earth is not round but sausage-shaped)—and has finally completed what he believes is the definitive text on the subject. But, broke and desperate for money to get his scholarly masterpiece published, he winds up committing robbery—and murder.   From here, this remarkably imaginative dark comedy proceeds into a world of riddles, contradictions, and questions about the nature of eternity as our narrator meets some policemen with an obsession of their own (specifically, bicycles), and engages in an extended conversation with his dead victim—and his own soul, which he nicknames Joe.   By the celebrated Irish author praised by James Joyce as “a real writer, with the true comic spirit,” The Third Policeman is an incomparable work of fiction.   “’Tis the odd joke of modern Irish literature—of the three novelists in its holy trinity, James Joyce, Samuel Beckett and Flann O’Brien, the easiest and most accessible of the lot is O’Brien. . . . Flann O’Brien was too much his own man, Ireland’s man, to speak in any but his own tongue.” —The Washington Post  
    Show book
  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • Dark Circles - cover

    Dark Circles

    Udayan Mukerjee

    • 2
    • 44
    • 1
    Can one indiscretion be allowed to scar a family for life?  
      
    Ronojoy's mother dies alone in the Ashram she had abruptly retreated to twenty-eight years ago, leaving him - then only twelve- to fend for the emotional needs of himself and his six-year-old brother.  
    When the cremation rites are complete, Ronojoy is handed a letter from his mother that is not so much a farewell as a confession. As before, it is left to him to decide whether to share the disturbing contents with his brother, whom he has always sought to protect. 
       Thus, begins another tumultuous cycle in the lives of the two brothers who already carry deep scars from their childhood; their fragile minds ever at risk of succumbing to the dark. 
    Written in spare, stark prose, Dark Circles deftly weaves past and present, offering tantalizing glimpses of bottled truths buried deep in the recesses of repressed memory; brilliantly exposing the dark undercurrents that swirl under the seemingly placid lives of families.
    Show book
  • The Magic Chair Murder - A 1920s English mystery - cover

    The Magic Chair Murder - A 1920s...

    Diane Janes

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Introducing amateur sleuths Frances Black and Tom Dod in the first of an intriguing new historical mystery series set in the north of England. 1929.The night before she’s due to make a speech to the Robert Barnaby Society on the subject of the famous writer’s ‘magic chair’, committee member Linda Dexter disappears. When her body is discovered two days later, fellow members Frances Black and Tom Dod determine to find out the truth about her death.Could Linda have discovered something about Robert Barnaby that got her killed? Or does the answer lie in the dead woman’s past?  As they pursue their investigations, Fran and Tom find the Barnaby Society to be a hotbed of clashing egos, seething resentments and ill-advised love affairs – but does a killer lurk among them?
    Show book
  • Mistaken Identity - cover

    Mistaken Identity

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A humdinger”—USA Today 
    “Ratcheting suspense, dynamic characters, and a master’s touch”—David Baldacci, New York Times bestselling author of The Sixth Man 
    With the spellbinding crime fiction masterwork, Mistaken Identity, Lisa Scottoline rocketed onto the New York Times bestseller list—and she’s remained there ever since! A stunning tale of mystery and suspense, this classic from the beloved, Edgar® Award-winning author once again leads readers down the gritty streets of Philadelphia and into the offices of the law firm of Rosato & Associates. When a new client who’s been accused of murder—and who bears an astonishing resemblance to Bennie Rosato—asks the crusading criminal defense attorney to take her case, Bennie finds herself entangled in a sticky web of murder, corruption, and violence that threatens to reveal the shocking truth about her own past. If you haven’t read Lisa Scottoline before, Mistaken Identity will prove to you what her many fans already know: nobody does it better!
    Show book