Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Desolate Mantle - Street Games - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have 800,000 other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Desolate Mantle - Street Games

L.K. Hill

Publisher: Liesel Hill

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In the most dangerous city in the country, one controlled by the sadistic Sons of Ares gang, Kyra Roberts recently crossed paths with detective Gabe Nichols. She dismissed any liaison with him as impossible, but telling him the truth may prove inevitable... 
 
Walking the Slip Mire nightly, dressed in her disguise and trying to infiltrate a homicidal gang, Kyra sees plenty of things she can’t explain. When she begins to suspect a serial killer might be at work, she decides to approach Gabe again. 
Gabe has plenty to keep him busy: a bizarre missing persons case, a new development in his brother’s cold case, a new neighbor, and the grisly murders that are a nightly ritual in the Slip Mire. When Kyra shows up unexpectedly, he jumps at the chance keep her around, but it’s harder than he bargained for. She’s not an average source any more than she’s an average Mireling. Gabe wishes she would be sensible about her own safety. 
 
Their partnership crumbles, but when things become even darker than usual in the Slip Mire, they’ll need one another get survive a hellish situation. If they can’t work together to shoulder their burdens, they’ll find themselves utterly alone. In Abstreuse, it’s not a matter of not coming out of the darkness, but of being absorbed by the darkness itself…

Other books that might interest you

  • The Last Hard Men - cover

    The Last Hard Men

    Brian Garfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After breaking free from a chain gang, the prisoners seek refuge in the desertZach Provo saw the dawn of the twentieth century from inside the walls of Yuma’s prison. After twenty-eight years on an Arizona chain gang, Provo seizes an opportunity to escape. He smashes one guard’s face with a rock, takes his shotgun, and blows the other guard away. Soon the twenty-eight men of the chain gang are on the loose. Provo sends most of them into the desert to hide, holding back the nine smartest fugitives. While the police hunt for the men who ran, his group waits for nightfall, hidden in the mud of a dry riverbed. At dark they sneak back into Yuma. Escape was only the first part of Zach Provo’s plan. Now comes time to deal with the man who sent him away—and the bloody vengeance of which he has dreamed for decades.
    Show book
  • The Kit Marlowe Mysteries Omnibus - Books 1 and 2 - cover

    The Kit Marlowe Mysteries...

    M.J. Trow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This entertaining Tudor mystery series features playwright Christopher Marlowe as an intriguing series sleuth. As a young Cambridge undergraduate Marlowe must discover who murdered a fellow student.  His success draws him to the attention of Sir Francis Walsingham, the Queen’s spymaster, who has future plans for him. 
    Dark Entry
    First in the thrilling new Kit Marlowe historical mystery series - Cambridge, 1583. About to graduate from Corpus Christi, the young Christopher Marlowe spends his days studying and his nights carousing with old friends. But when one of them is discovered lying dead in his King’s College room, mouth open in a silent scream, Marlowe refuses to accept the official verdict of suicide. Calling on the help of his mentor, Sir Roger Manwood, Justice of the Peace, and the queen’s magus, Dr John Dee, a poison expert, Marlowe sets out to prove that his friend was murdered.
    Silent Court
    November, 1583. Desperate not to let the Netherlands fall into the hands of Catholic Spain, the Queen's spymaster orders Cambridge scholar and novice spy Christopher Marlowe to go there to assist its beleaguered leader, William the Silent. However, travelling in disguise as part of a troupe of Egyptian players, Marlowe encounters trouble even before he leaves England. When the players make a detour to perform at the home of Dr John Dee, one of their tricks ends in tragedy - and an arrest for murder...
    Show book
  • Final Curtain - cover

    Final Curtain

    Priscilla Masters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Just back from her honeymoon, the last thing Detective Inspector Joanna Piercy wants deal with on her return to work is nuisance calls from an old lady ringing the police incessantly to report seemingly trivial incidents.The woman in question is Timony Weeks, a sixties’ child star in the once-popular soap Butterfield Farm, who lives in an isolated farmhouse. Is she putting on an act and wasting police time, or is someone really trying to frighten her? Joanna is dubious, but as events become even more creepy and disturbing, her instinct tells her something is not right. What is Timony hiding? As she digs into her past, Joanna discovers a shocking secret. It seems that someone may have sinister intentions towards Timony after all . . .
    Show book
  • Witch's Sabbath - cover

    Witch's Sabbath

    J. M. Gregson

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Chief Inspector Percy Peach, Detective Sergeant Lucy Blake and the team, hindered as usual by the direction of Chief Superintendent Thomas Bulstrode Tucker, have one of their most puzzling and compelling mysteries to solve.In an area famous for the Lancashire Witches four centuries earlier, it seems that witchcraft still flourishes. When a body is discovered in a derelict farmhouse, it is partly mummified, a pathetic ruin. Although an identity is quickly established, that is only the first of many problems. No one reported this young woman's disappearance when she went missing four months earlier. Most of those who were closest to her, from her former employer to her newly-acquired boyfriend, had reasons to keep quiet. Her flatmate, a woman of her own age, seems to have been very sure that Annie Clark was never going to return. And it appears she was a member of a modern coven, containing both male and female members...
    Show book
  • Icefall- A Dane Maddock Adventure - Dane Maddock Adventures #4 - cover

    Icefall- A Dane Maddock...

    David Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When the bones of the Magi are stolen from their resting place in a German cathedral, a dying priest's whispered clue catapults Dane and Bones into the midst of a deadly race to solve a centuries-old conspiracy. Danger lurks at every turn and no one knows where the clues will lead... or what they will uncover. From ancient cathedrals, to hidden temples, to icy mountain peaks, Dane and Bones must outrun and outwit their enemies in the pulse-pounding adventure- Icefall. Fans of Dan Brown, Clive Cussler, and James Rollins will love this thrilling novella!
    Show book
  • Hopscotch - cover

    Hopscotch

    Brian Garfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Edgar Award winner: Bored with retirement, an ex-spy challenges his old agency to a game  Miles Kendig is one of the CIA’s top deep-cover agents, until an injury ruins him for active duty. Rather than take a desk job, he retires. But the tawdry thrills of civilian life—gambling, drinking, sex—offer none of the pleasures of the intelligence game. Even a Russian agent’s offer to go to work against his old employers seems dull. Without the thrill of unpredictable conflict, Kendig skulks through Paris like the walking dead. To revive himself, he begins writing a tell-all memoir, divulging every secret he accumulated in his long career. Neither CIA nor KGB can afford to have it in print, and so he challenges them both: Until they catch him, a chapter will go to the publisher every week. Kendig’s life is fun again, with survival on the line.
    Show book