Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Eye of a Needle: And other stories - cover

Eye of a Needle: And other stories

Cornelia Fick

Publisher: Feathers Publications

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Experimenting with different styles and forms of storytelling, this debut collection is written with a compassionate eye for the fragile position of women, the dispossessed and the poor. The forty stories vary in length and type quite widely, from a one-line story to a short novella. ‘Flying ants’ is about the emotional neglect and abuse of Mrs Prinn, a woman displaced by her daughter; ‘Belinda’ a slice of life in a small South African town. ‘Knit one’, about a retired couple, solidifies the tone and major theme of the collection: the decay and unseen emotional damage caused by unequal and patriarchal relationships.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Big Score - cover

    The Big Score

    Michael Kilian

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A billionaire’s commission draws an architect into a conspiracy of sex, lies, and murder The ship is dead in the water. Its lines are tangled and its sails are slack as it drifts toward the rocky coast. A fisherman spies the vessel and steps aboard, expecting it to be deserted. But there is 1 passenger: a lovely young woman with a rolled-up painting in her hand and 2 bullets in her chest.   Across Lake Michigan, Matthias Curland returns to Chicago for the 1st time since he gave up architecture to devote himself to fine art. After emptying his bank accounts for the pursuit of painting, he’s shocked to find that his once-affluent family is also destitute, and their famed architecture firm is on the verge of bankruptcy. When the Curland name is linked to the dead woman’s painting, Matthias finds himself facing off against a power-mad billionaire who could bring Chicago to its knees.
    Show book
  • Girl: Repurposed - cover

    Girl: Repurposed

    Meaghan Curley

    • 1
    • 9
    • 1
    Tranquila Obiit is smart enough to save a stranger’s life.  But when Tran’s salty, daytime-television-addicted grandmother tricks her into selling her soul to Hades, dodging near-death experiences becomes a daily ritual. 
    Now, as an employee of the Underworld, Tranquila seeks out her purpose in life while pet-sitting a three-headed dog that is hell-bent on destroying her.  
    She’s not alone.  None of the Gods are any better off: Hades is battling negative Hollywood stereotypes.  Persephone is trying to overcome her jealousy issues.  Most importantly, Hera is trying to gain control of a domain that isn’t hers.  Will their insanity be Tranquila’s demise? 
    Girl: Repurposed is a refreshing satire on the American Dream that’ll keep readers laughing all the way to the Underworld.
    Show book
  • Between Worlds: the Collected Ile-Rien and Cineth Stories - cover

    Between Worlds: the Collected...

    Martha Wells

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This collection includes the previously published stories “The Potter’s Daughter” (a prequel to the novel The Element of Fire), “Holy Places,” “Rites of Passage,” “Houses of the Dead,” “Reflections” (the Giliead and Ilias stories, prequels to the Fall of Ile-Rien trilogy), as well as “Night at the Opera” (a Nicholas and Reynard story original to this collection, set before the Nebula-nominated novel The Death of the Necromancer). 
    Show book
  • City of Bones - cover

    City of Bones

    Martha Wells

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Charisat is a city at the Fringe of the Waste, a rocky and treacherous area of desolation formed more than a thousand years ago when a mysterious holocaust drained the sea and destroyed the flourishing civilization of the Ancients. It is a city which survives by trade, and its most valuable merchandise is relics, artifacts from the remains of the Ancient city that once occupied Charisat's present location. Relics are priceless, and in a city where living space is at a premium and water is a scarce and valuable commodity, they are dangerous to own.Khat, a member of a humanoid race created by the Ancients to survive in the Waste, and Sagai, his human partner, are relic dealers working on the edge of society, trying to stay one step ahead of the Trade Inspectors and to support Sagai's family. When Khat is hired to find relics believed to be part of one of the Ancients' arcane engines, they are both reluctant to become involved. But the request comes from the Warders, powerful mages who serve Charisat's Elector. Khat soon discovers that the deadly politics of Charisat's upper tiers aren't the only danger. The relics the Warders want are the key to an Ancient magic of unknown power, and, as all the inhabitants of Charisat know, no one understands the Ancients' magic.
    Show book
  • The Wizard Hunters - cover

    The Wizard Hunters

    Martha Wells

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Once a fertile and prosperous land, Ile-Rien is under attack by the Gardier, a mysterious army whose storm-black airships appear from nowhere to strike without warning. Every weapon in the arsenal of Ile-Rien's revered wizards has proven useless. 
    And now the last hope of a magical realm under siege rests within a child's plaything.
    Show book
  • Little Girl Lost - A Lucy Black Thriller - cover

    Little Girl Lost - A Lucy Black...

    Brian McGilloway

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Tana French and Dennis Lehane. 
    Midwinter. A child is found wandering through the snowy woods, her hands covered in someone else's blood. And she cannot—or will not—speak, not even to share her name. 
    Who is this little girl lost? The only adult she seems to trust is the young officer who found her, Detective Lucy Black. Before long, Lucy manages to connect her case to that of a missing teenager, the kidnapped daughter of a local real estate tycoon. As the investigation twists and turns, Lucy is forced to question not only a range of dangerous suspects, but also everything she thought she knew about her own past.
    Show book