Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Pushing Water - cover

Pushing Water

Margaret Mendel

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

VIETNAM, 1939. Sarah, an expat, working as an Archivist for the French Colonial Government in Hanoi, is devastated when she finds a Vietnamese co-worker murdered. 
Determined to find the killer, Sarah suspects she knows what prompted the murder when she discovers a secret document in a packet of poetry the co-worker had borrowed from the archives. 
The papers include a secret colonial communication outlining a direct order that will bring about devastating hardship for the Vietnamese people. 
Sarah’s life is further complicated by the arrival of an old friend, Julia, who brings with her remembrances of a past Sarah would rather forget. Then Albee, Sarah’s part time lover comes on the scene. He claims to be an archaeologist working on a dig in China, though Sarah suspects he is a fulltime communist revolutionary. 
Sarah attempts to deal with her problematic personal life, wishing for her solitude to return, when a friend is arrested and executed for revolutionary activities. Heartsick, Sarah decides to return back to the States. Though there is one more hurtle to overcome. The world is in a chaotic mess and within one devastating day nothing will ever be the same again.

Who read this book also read:

  • Heaven to Betsy (What Doesn't Kill You #5): An Emily Romantic Mystery - cover

    Heaven to Betsy (What Doesn't...

    Pamela Fagan Hutchins

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When a dead body swan-dives from a balcony into the pool at a wedding, gossip comes to a halt about disgraced paralegal and former rodeo queen Emily—whose husband left her for a woman who turns out to be a man. Enter Jack, a secretive attorney and sexy mix of cowboy and Indian. She refuses to work for him, until she learns about the disappearance of the six-year old daughter of his notorious client Sofia, the wedding shooter, who is also an illegal immigrant. Emily feels a strange affinity with the girl and launches a desperate search for her. Bodies pile up in her wake across Texas and New Mexico as the walls around her own secrets begin to crumble, and the authorities question whether the child is anything but a figment of her imagination. her biggest danger yet.
    Show book
  • The Sacrificial Man - cover

    The Sacrificial Man

    Ruth Dugdall

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER THE WOMAN BEFORE ME 
    'Utterly chilling and enthralling from the first line to the last.' Karen Maitland 
    'An unflinching journey, chilling and insightful, into the darker reaches of the human mind.' Michelle Spring 
    What I want to say is that suicide is my choice. No-one else is to blame. Man seeks beautiful woman for the journey of a lifetime: Will you help me to die? 
    When Probation Officer Cate Austin is given her new assignment, she faces the highest-profile case of her career. Alice Mariani is charged with assisted suicide and Cate must recommend a sentence. 
    Alice insists her story is one of misinterpreted love, forcing those around her to analyse their own lives. Who is to decide what is normal and when does loyalty turn to obsession? 
    Investigating the loophole that lies between murder and euthanasia, Cate must now meet the woman who agreed to comply with her lover's final request. Shocking revelations expose bitter truths that can no longer be ignored. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah
    Show book
  • The Silver Swan - The Elite King's Club #1 - cover

    The Silver Swan - The Elite...

    Amo Jones

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Riddle me this... 
    "I am neither dead, nor alive, and I'm not something little Madison can hide. 
    But you will be dead, by the time this is done... 
    the timer starts now, and the games have just begun..." 
     
    Madison Montgomery comes from money and power, but when someone close to her commits the ultimate crime, Madison must live with her tainted name for the rest of her life. When she begins Riverside Preparatory Academy, the private school her father has swept her into in The Hamptons, she hopes for a fresh start. What she wasn't hoping for was the pack of bad boys who run the school; ten, to be exact. When Madison gains the attention of their leader, Bishop Vincent Hayes, a whole new world that she didn't think existed is exposed to her. A whole world that starts and ends with The Elite Kings Club and these boys, are about to flip her world upside down. Secrets are overflowing and family lies are about to be exposed. Is there more to Madison Montgomery than even she knows? 
     
    About this book:  
    I need to admit something right now. The Silver Swan is f*cked. It might be the most insane story I've ever written with equally insane characters. Who knew? You know, when I started this book, it was supposed to be YA. I wanted to write a book that my sisters could read. A book that won't have people look at my mum like "damn... what sort of messed up shit happened to your kid?". The angst, the assholeness, the games, the f**kery, the WHAT THE F**KING F**K ARE YOU DOING???!!!...  
    I cannot even.... anyway, this is a warning (and the only one I'll give you). It's crazy. I don't compare my work to my others, but this book is f**ked. It will most likely stomp all the f**k over people's hard limits (and not give a sh*t while it's doing it) and will make you second guess all the morals you thought you had. 
    This most definitely is not looking like a love story right now... more like a..... I don't even....*shakes head* anyway, I apologise now. You asked for it..........
    Show book
  • Carry On Wayward Son - The Claire Wiche Chronicles Book 3 - The Claire Wiche Chronicles #3 - cover

    Carry On Wayward Son - The...

    Cate Dean

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Book 3 of the action packed paranormal series.NOTE: These are short novels, between 150-160 pages. Claire Wiche is home again - and putting together the pieces of her life. The life she thought she left behind forever.Now that new life is tested by a familiar stranger, and a ghost haunting that becomes much more.Claire and her friend Annie will have to face off with a volatile force, who traps them with his own needs. And Claire will face her true self, making a sacrifice that will change what she is, and what she will become.
    Show book
  • The Academy - Accessory - The Scarab Beetle Series #4 - cover

    The Academy - Accessory - The...

    C. L. Stone

    • 3
    • 26
    • 0
    Kayli Winchester is still recovering from her last adventure and is out hunting for her missing brother, Wil, when Ethan Murdock calls, asking for help. Billions of dollars have gone missing and Kayli is the perfect person to find them – as one of the few people Ethan trusts. 
    Only one problem: The team is led by Blake Coaltar. 
    Kayli negotiates her way into a co-lead position, but for the Academy guys, that might not be good enough. The Academy doesn’t trust Blake and the last thing they want is for her to get mixed up with him. 
    The guys can't persuade the willful Kayli to abandon the cause. They give her five days to convince them they should stay in this job. If she can’t, the boys want her to walk away. 
    Kayli goes undercover and becomes the hot topic around some of the most wealthy and powerful CEOs in Charleston. Now she has to prove she’s a secret investor for old Mr. Murdock from before he disappeared, and convince them all she’s the real deal. She dives into her assignment head-first, but one uncovered complication after another threatens the mission.  
    No matter how close to the chest Kayli plays her hand, secrets have a way of being discovered, and Axel, Corey, Brandon, Marc and Raven aren't going to like the truth she’s keeping from them. Being forced to work together for a week with an enemy may tear them all apart, leaving Kayli with nothing. 
    It might be up to Blake Coaltar to save them from each other.
    Show book
  • Behind the Wire - cover

    Behind the Wire

    Rachel Amphlett

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Dan Taylor is trying to keep a low profile when an old friend contacts the Energy Protection Group seeking his help. 
    
    The man’s daughter is alone in North Africa, and her life is in grave danger.
    
    Thrust back into active duty, Dan soon realises that getting Anna to safety is only half his problem. The forensic accountant holds the key to preventing Western Sahara from descending into chaos, and exposing the puppet masters behind an imminent coup d’etat.
    
    With a group of militants in pursuit and willing to do anything to stop him, Dan must draw on old survival skills and luck to make his way across the desert landscape and ensure Anna and the evidence she has in her possession reach safety. 
    
    Behind the wire lies a secret – a secret that people will kill to protect.s
    Show book