Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Chance Encounter (Two Short Stories) - cover

Chance Encounter (Two Short Stories)

Lane Champion

Publisher: Silver Heart Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Two short stories of supernatural suspense. A ride in an elevator takes a strange turn after a mishap puts Donna Blakely where she shouldn’t be in “Chance Encounter”. A man contends with a magazine subscription card in bonus short “Subscribe Now and Save”. Total of 3,700 words or 13 pages. 
Includes an excerpt of Halloween horror novella, The Legend of Jack Straw.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Collected Short Stories of Conrad Aiken - cover

    The Collected Short Stories of...

    Conrad Aiken

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    This indispensable volume, which includes the classic stories “Silent Snow, Secret Snow” and “Mr. Arcularis,” is a testament to the dazzling artistry of one of the twentieth century’s most influential writers A young woman passes through the countryside to visit her dying grandmother for a final time. A cabbie, exhausted from a long day’s work, fights to get an intoxicated woman out of his taxi. A man on his way to a bachelor party tries to come to grips with the brutishness that lies within every gentleman—and finds that Bacardi cocktails do nothing to help.   A master craftsman whose poetry and prose offer profound insight into the riddle of consciousness, Conrad Aiken thrills, disturbs, and inspires in all forty-one of these astute and eloquent tales.
    Show book
  • Victor Hugo: The Complete Novels (Quattro Classics) (The Greatest Writers of All Time) - cover

    Victor Hugo: The Complete Novels...

    Victor Hugo

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book contains the complete novels of Victor Hugo in the chronological order of their original publication.
    
    Hans of Iceland 
    - Bug-Jargal
    - The Last Day of a Condemned Man 
    - The Hunchback of Notre-Dame 
    - Claude Gueux - Les Misérables 
    - Toilers of the Sea 
    - The Man Who Laughs 
    - Ninety-Three
    Show book
  • The One Tree of Luna - And Other Stories - cover

    The One Tree of Luna - And Other...

    Todd McCaffrey

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Seven fantastic tales of wild futures, strange visions, and unexpected comings-of-age, by the acclaimed coauthor of the bestselling Pern novelsNew York Times–bestselling author Todd McCaffrey is proof positive that when it comes to vision, talent, and imagination without boundaries, the apple never falls far from the tree. The son of fantasy fiction legend Anne McCaffrey, as well as her frequent coauthor, he offers up seven captivating tales that run the gamut from science fiction to humor to horror, each one a treasure and a marvel.   With heart, wit, and astonishing invention, Todd McCaffrey carries us away to places we never before dreamed we could go—whether he is chronicling the trials of a young boy with a most unfortunate name or a notorious convict released on parole. He treats us to a wild night in Paris that ends with a bang and introduces us to a talking car that simply will not shut up. With the chilling tale of a famous astronaut’s orphaned daughter, whose search for an unknown parent leads her to dark places, the strange yarn of a moon child and her very special tree, and the heartfelt story of a child burdened with soul-crushing responsibilities and the remarkable answer to his prayers, Todd McCaffrey shows himself to be a peerless storyteller whose short works of fiction are as exhilarating and powerful as his novels.
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • Changeling - Adventures in the Liaden Universe® #6 - cover

    Changeling - Adventures in the...

    Steve Miller, Sharon Lee

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    "Changeling" features the collision of two off-world Liaden Clans -- one rich and influential, one borderline respectable -- after the contract marriage between two young and promising pilots results in an unforeseeable disaster for both of them. 
    Code and honor require both Clans to follow tradition -- but when one Clan follows tradition beyond Balance and into personal vendetta tradition and lives are at stake. 
     
     
    ". . .classic space adventure. . .is full of action. . . The world building is outstanding. . ." -- Booklist 
     
    ". . .the great excellence lies in the characters" -- Analog 
     
    "Ambitiously creating a complex emotional environment, they pique our curiosity. First rate science fiction adventure" -- Romantic Times
    Show book
  • A Pot of Tea - A Tommy & Tuppence Story - cover

    A Pot of Tea - A Tommy &...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Previously published in the print anthology Partners in Crime. 
    The Beresfords meet their first client, a man whose secret affair with a shopgirl goes terribly awry when she disappears. Tommy assures him they will find her within twenty-four hours, though it is by no means certain that they will meet this impossible deadline.
    Show book