Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Getting Started - cover

Getting Started

David Allen

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

To mark his 20th anniversary at the Inland Valley Daily Bulletin, David Allen goes back to the beginning to survey his first four years of columns, when the valley was new territory for him. After unpacking endlessly, he reports for jury duty in Chino, attends a Mexican wrestling match in Pomona and pays attention to movie dialogue about Rancho Cucamonga. 
Not limiting himself to local news, he wonders what a Rolling Stones tour in the distant future might be like (sponsor: Depends), considers applying for a job in Swaziland as the town hangman and enters clothing stores alert for clues about which side is for men. 
Even if you follow David Allen's current work in your daily newspaper, you probably never saw these columns, or if you did, forgot you read them or repressed the memory. Here they are again, with all the duds removed (we hope), and with a candid introduction by the author about trying to establish himself when he was just - wait for it - getting started. 
 

Who read this book also read:

  • Violet - Chase Family Series #5 - cover

    Violet - Chase Family Series #5

    Lauren Royal

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    A Top 10 Bestseller from a New York Times Bestselling Author!England, 1673The Ashcroft family motto is "Question Convention," and eldest sister Violet agrees with the sentiment completely. For one thing, she's not planning to marry. Plain Violet is smart enough to realize any suitors would be after her large inheritance, or else interested in her beautiful younger sisters—and she'd much rather spend her time improving her mind than risking her tender heart...Having wasted six years wooing a lady who eloped with another man, Ford Chase, Viscount Lakefield, has had it with women. Ford would much rather spend his time pursuing the sciences and constructing the first watch with a minute hand. Having his young niece dropped in his lap proves an unwelcome, annoying distraction…until an uncommonly intelligent neighbor named Violet comes to help…BOOK DETAILS• Humorous historical romance • Book Five of Lauren Royal's Chase Family Series • Special Author's Cut Edition (revised in 2012) • A full-length novel of 104,000 words (about 416 printed book pages) • R-rated content: Steamy love scenes! • Originally published by Penguin Putnam (Signet)This Author's Cut Edition e-book has been completely revised from the original and includes Bonus Material: an Author's Note, a preview of Lauren's next book, and a link to an online contest where you can enter to win a piece of jewelry featured in one of Lauren's books.• Top 10 Bestseller on Kindle, Nook, iBooks, Kobo, and Google Play! • Rose Award Nominee!CONNECTING BOOKSWhile VIOLET can be read as a stand-alone novel, many readers enjoy reading it as part of a series. All of Lauren’s books feature Chase family members. Should you wish to read them in chronological order, this is the sequence:Chase Family Series 1666 - AMETHYST (Colin & Amy) 1667 - EMERALD (Jason & Caithren) 1667 - FOREVERMORE (Cameron & Clarice) 1668 - AMBER (Trick & Kendra) 1673 - VIOLET (Ford & Violet) 1677 - LILY (Rand & Lily) 1677 - ROSE (Kit & Rose)Regency Chase Family Series 1815 - LOST IN TEMPTATION (Tristan & Alexandra) 1816 - TEMPTING JULIANA (James & Juliana) 1817 - THE ART OF TEMPTATION (Sean & Corinna + Griffin & Rachael) Keywords: Restoration, Charles II, Chase Family, sexy, 1600s, trilogy, marquess, perfume, science, scientist, Christopher Wren, philosophy, viscount, gardening, sisters, matchmaking mama, matchmaking mother, matchmaker, 17th century, wedding, aristocrat, nobility, wealthy, rich, humor, comedy, romantic comedy, marriage, love, family life, friendship, sister, english, england, romantic, historical romance best sellers, authors, series, novels, sex, ebooks
    Show book
  • Reaper Man - cover

    Reaper Man

    Terry Pratchett

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    They say there are only two things you can count on ... 
    But that was before DEATH started pondering the existential. Of course, the last thing anyone needs is a squeamish Grim Reaper and soon his Discworld bosses have sent him off with best wishes and a well-earned gold watch. Now DEATH is having the time of his life, finding greener pastures where he can put his scythe to a whole new use. 
    But like every cutback in an important public service, DEATH's demise soon leads to chaos and unrest -- literally, for those whose time was supposed to be up, like Windle Poons. The oldest geezer in the entire faculty of Unseen University -- home of magic, wizardry, and big dinners -- Windle was looking forward to a wonderful afterlife, not this boring been-there-done-that routine. To get the fresh start he deserves, Windle and the rest of Ankh-Morpork's undead and underemployed set off to find DEATH and save the world for the living (and everybody else, of course).
    Show book
  • Moving Pictures - cover

    Moving Pictures

    Terry Pratchett

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Discworld's pesky alchemists are up to their old tricks again. This time, they've discovered how to get gold from silver -- the silver screen that is. Hearing the siren call of Holy Wood is one Victor Tugelbend, a would-be wizard turned extra. He can't sing, he can't dance, but he can handle a sword (sort of), and now he wants to be a star. So does Theda Withel, an ambitious ingénue from a little town (where else?) you've probably never heard of. 
    But the click click of moving pictures isn't just stirring up dreams inside Discworld. Holy Wood's magic is drifting out into the boundaries of the universes, where raw realities, the could-have-beens, the might-bes, the never-weres, the wild ideas are beginning to ferment into a really stinky brew. It's up to Victor and Gaspode the Wonder Dog (a star if ever one was born!) to rein in the chaos and bring order back to a starstruck Discworld. And they're definitely not ready for their close-up!
    Show book
  • When A Beta Roars - A Lion's Pride #2 - cover

    When A Beta Roars - A Lion's...

    Eve Langlais

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    How degrading. Stuck babysitting a woman because his alpha said so. As Pride Beta, he has better things to do with his time, like washing his impressive mane, hunting down thugs for fun, and chasing tail—sometimes his own if his lion is feeling playful.
    
     
    But his babysitting job takes an unexpected turn when the woman he’s assigned guard duty over turns out to be his mate.
    
     
    A female threatened by an outside wolf pack.
    
     
    A woman he wants to call his own.
    
     
    A mate who doesn’t fall for his charm.
    
     
    Usually Beta’s leave the roaring to the Pride’s alpha, but in this case given his level of frustration, he might have to make an exception. And if anyone doesn’t like it, they can kiss his furry tail. 
    
    Rawr!
    
     
     
    
     
    A Lion's Pride series:
    
     
    ~When An Alpha Purrs
    
     
    ~When A Beta Roars
    
     
    ~A Tiger's Bride
    Show book
  • Dirty Thoughts - A Mechanics of Love Novel - cover

    Dirty Thoughts - A Mechanics of...

    Megan Erickson

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    Some things are sexier the second time around 
    Cal Payton has gruff and grumbly down to an art...all the better for keeping people away. And it usually works. Until Jenna Macmillan—his biggest mistake—walks into Payton and Sons mechanic shop all grown up, looking like sunshine, and inspiring more than a few dirty thoughts. 
    Jenna was sure she was long over the boy she'd once loved with reckless abandon, but one look at the steel-eyed Cal Payton has her falling apart all over again. Ten years may have passed, but the pull is stronger than ever...and this Cal is all man. 
    Cal may have no intention of letting Jenna in, but she's always been his light, and it's getting harder to stay all alone in the dark. When a surprise from the past changes everything, Cal and Jenna must decide if their connection should be left alone, or if it's exactly what they need for the future of their dreams.
    Show book
  • Little Bitty Lies - cover

    Little Bitty Lies

    Mary Kay Andrews

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A delightful and hilarious tale.”—Chattanooga Times Free Press 
    “Little white lies have never been so risky—or so much fun.”—Orlando Sentinel 
    New York Times bestselling author Mary Kay Andrews delivers another treasure of a comic novel. Little Bitty Lies is a tantalizing tale about an abandoned Atlanta housewife and mother who tells one tiny white lie that sets her world spiraling outrageously out of control. This winning and wonderful romp focuses on about all the important things in life: marriage and divorce, mothers and daughters, friendship and betrayal. Throw in small town secrets, one woman’s lifelong quest for home, and the perfect chicken salad recipe, and you have an ideal escape for fans of Fannie Flagg, Jennifer Crusie, Adriana Trigiani, Emily Giffin, and the Sweet Potato Queens. No lie!
    Show book