Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Let's Give It Up for Gimme Lao! - cover

Let's Give It Up for Gimme Lao!

Sebastian Sim

Publisher: Epigram Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Finalist for the 2015 Epigram Books Fiction Prize 
 
“I don’t aspire to be nice. I do what is necessary to get what I want.” 
 
Born on the night of the nation’s independence, Gimme Lao is cheated of the honour of being Singapore’s firstborn son by a vindictive nurse. This forms the first of three things Gimme never knows about himself, the second being the circumstances surrounding his parents’ marriage, and the third being the profound (but often unintentional) impact he has on other people’s lives. 
 
Talented, determined and focused, young Gimme is confident he can sail the seven seas, but he does not anticipate his vessel would have to carry his mother’s ambition, his wife’s guilt and his son’s secret. Tracing social, economic and political issues over the past 50 years, this humorous novel uses Gimme as a hapless centre to expose all of Singapore’s ambitions, dirty linen and secret moments of tender humanity.

Other books that might interest you

  • Christmas at Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop - A Novel - cover

    Christmas at Rosie Hopkins'...

    Jenny Colgan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fans of Debbie Macomber and Jojo Moyes will love this warm, funny, moving holiday tale from the New York Times bestselling author of Christmas at the Cupcake Café and Little Beach Street Bakery. 
    It’s a white Christmas in England, and Rosie Hopkins is feeling festive: Her sweetshop is festooned with striped candy canes, luscious chocolate boxes, and happy, sticky children, and she and her boyfriend are eagerly awaiting the arrival of their families. 
    But when a tragedy strikes at the heart of their charming town, all of Rosie's plans for the future seem to be blown apart. Can she and her loved ones see their way through the difficult times? 
    Sweet and soulful, heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is the perfect novel for the holidays (or any time of year).
    Show book
  • Best in Class - Essential Wisdom from Real Student Writing - cover

    Best in Class - Essential Wisdom...

    Tim Clancy

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the very first week of Tim Clancy's 25-year career as a high school English teacher, he began to notice and collect funny and strange moments he discovered in his students' writing, such as: "The word 'witch' has become a household word, like 'spatula,'" and "Wherever excitement is, there will always be romance. Trust me." He would occasionally share them with his classes, who enjoyed them as much as he did, and so this book was born. Best in Class collects nearly 200 of the most entertaining of these moments culled from real student writing and complements them with dozens of playful illustrations to create a sympathetically hilarious book for anyone who has muddled their way through the wilderness of a school writing assignment.
    Show book
  • Tails From The Deep - Mermaid Cozy Mysteries #1 - cover

    Tails From The Deep - Mermaid...

    Diane Vallere

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three sisters vying for attention. One matriarch to keep them in line. 
    A world of adventure filled with nefarious characters, hidden secrets, mysterious activities, and sunken treasure. 
    Sunken treasure? 
    Yes, sunken treasure. Because this is the ocean, where pearls are common, crimes are not, and mysteries lurk behind every cluster of coral. 
    Welcome to Sirenia, the mermaid colony in unchartered waters! 
    TAILS FROM THE DEEP – Mermaid Mystery #1 
    There's something fishy going on at the edge of Sirenia… 
    Zoe wasn't looking for trouble. As the middle daughter in a family of three mermaid sisters, she never gets the attention she deserves. She spends her days frolicking with sea creatures by the sunken battleship that sits at the edge of Sirenia, and her nights being lectured about danger. But when she finds a diver trapped in the kelp by the wreckage, she overcomes her shock to free him. The problem? The only available tool to cut him loose is the knife in the body on the ocean floor by his feet. 
    What happens when a mermaid saves dangerous stranger?  
    If you're that mermaid, you might have to solve a mystery to save yourself. 
    Zoe learns the diver is a detective tasked with solving the dead man's murder. Being in the unique position of finding evidence underwater, Zoe volunteers to help . . . until she finds a clue that links the body to her older sister. Now the only way to ensure the safety of her sister—and protect the mermaid colony she always dreamed of leaving behind—is to discover the dead man's identity herself. Zoe is used to being invisible around the other mermaids, but what happens when her sleuthing for clues exposes herself to the humans who may be responsible for a murder? With the evidence hidden in the ocean floor, digging for clues could lead to an early grave . . . in Davy Jones's Locker. 
    You'll love splashing around in the virtual world of Sirenia, because mermaid mysteries are the perfect escapist fiction. 
    Get it now!
    Show book
  • The Snowden Avalanche - cover

    The Snowden Avalanche

    Derek Swannson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the very near future, only the rich and the devious have privacy. The Snowden Avalanche has revealed the private transgressions of ordinary US citizens in such astonishing numbers that the whole aggrieved nation has come to the collective decision that the Puritan prudery of America’s first settlers finally, and forever, has to be kicked to the curb.
    
    Manhattan-based iAesthetician Sabina Hrafnsson has made a lucrative career out of buffing up the images of those who got caught in the Snowden Avalanche with their metaphorical (and sometimes literal) pants down. Aside from her sucky luck at romance, she’s happy with the way things have turned out. But when Sabina agrees to do some PR work for a secretive Wall Street billionaire—“the Thomas Pynchon of high-frequency trading firm CEOs”—the complications in her life suddenly go viral.
    
    Sabina becomes entangled in a web of conspiracies so vast and bizarre that it soon feels like she’s living a sequel to Orwell’s 1984. Only this time Big Brother faces a more formidable foe than Winston Smith: a wily and gleefully foul-mouthed New York City blonde who looks “like that intrepid Alpine waif, Heidi, all grown up into a high-strung slut wearing see-through yoga pants from Lululemon.”
    
    If Big Brother has any plans for slut-shaming, he’d better watch his f#@king back…
    Show book
  • Girl From The Tree House - Women Of Our Time #1 - cover

    Girl From The Tree House - Women...

    Gudrun Frerichs

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It all unraveled at the funeral...  
    Horace Reid's death opened the door to our freedom. His widow, Elizabeth, exists only on paper. She disappeared thirty years ago. It's us, the Tribe, who live in her body now. But nobody knows that. Us are Elise, the reluctant host, Lilly the closer, Ama, the proverbial mother, Sky, our wise guide, Amadeus, the warrior, and Luke, the man around the house. There are others, but we make sure they stay hidden and away from harm. 
    After Horace's funeral, they tried to lock us in a mental hospital. Our sister-in-law had it all carefully planned. Thanks to quick thinking—yes, being a multiple has its advantages—we escaped to New Zealand's South Island. Tucked away in the West Coast wilderness we... well, the plan was to continue our healing. We didn't expect that monsters from our past still had us on their radar. When the police accuse us of murder we have to run again. Where to go, which way to turn? Our neighbor Scott appears helpful, but can we trust him? Can we trust ourselves? Can we trust anyone?  
    THE GIRL FROM THE TREE HOUSE is the first of a series of psychological thrillers set in current day New Zealand. It describes how Elizabeth, a thirty-two-year-old woman with multiple personalities (Dissociative Identity Disorder, DID), fights for her sanity and freedom. Four core personalities tell the story from the inside out, giving a touching insight into the workings of the dissociated mind. There are no graphic descriptions of abuse.  
     
    Gudrun Frerichs is a retired psychotherapist and trauma specialist in the field of (sexual) abuse recovery. She successfully worked with many clients who had a DID diagnosis. Recovery from trauma and dissociation has been the focus of her Master's dissertation (2000) and Ph.D. thesis (2008) and is also the topic of her blog Multiple Voices. THE GIRL FROM THE TREE HOUSE is a spectacular departure from her romance series THE GOLDEN GIRLS.
    Show book