Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Ayers - The Mindguard Saga #3 - cover

Ayers - The Mindguard Saga #3

Andrei Cherascu

Publisher: Andrei Cherascu

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In the corrupt city of Mei Jhabo, a mysterious new thoughtenhancer has devastating effects on the consumer’s brain. Its emergence is linked to the sudden rise of one of the city’s most ruthless drug gangs. Leading the fight against it, Commissioner Celia Wallace employs the services of the famous Ayers-Ross Thoughtprotection Agency. Their mission: retrieve an undercover agent sent to infiltrate the gang and protect the information inside his mind. 
 
For ambitious young telepath Alex Lea, this seems like the perfect opportunity to prove that he is a worthy successor to his idol, legendary Mindguard Sheldon Ayers. But, in this profession, the course of things can change in an instant. 
 
After an ambush leaves him separated from his team, Alex must learn to become his own guardian first. Pushed to the limits of his ability, he comes across an enemy far more dangerous than anyone suspects and a plot that threatens the very future of the Federation. 
 
AYERS is a prequel set a few months before the events of MINDGUARD. It can be read as a stand-alone or at any point in the series. For reasons pertaining to themes and character study the author recommends reading the books in order of publication.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Wrong - cover

    Dead Wrong

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Juggling a family and a career has never been easy for Cochise County Sheriff Joanna Brady. Now the impending birth of her second child only adds to her burden, especially when two brutal crimes fall under her jurisdiction.  
    A corpse is discovered in the Arizona desert with the fingers severed from both hands—the body of an ex-con who served twenty years for a murder he claimed not to remember. Soon after, one of Joanna's female officers is savagely assaulted and left for dead while on an unauthorized stakeout. Since the victim is one of their own, the department directs the bulk of its resources toward finding her attacker. But the desert slaying haunts Joanna as well, and neither her pregnancy nor family concerns will keep her from doing  her duty, no matter how perilous. Because justice must be served. And enforcing the law has become more than what Joanna Brady does—it's what she is.
    Show book
  • The Club - cover

    The Club

    Takis Würger

    • 1
    • 7
    • 1
    For fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Leïla Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny, The Club is a smoldering story of class, privilege, and matters of the heart 
    The Club is a blistering, timely, and gripping novel set at Cambridge University, centering around an all-male dining club for the most privileged and wealthy young men at Cambridge and following an outsider who exposes the dark secrets of this group, the Pitt Club.  
     As a boy, Hans Stichler enjoys a fable-like childhood among the rolling hills and forests of North Germany, living an idyll that seems uninterruptable. A visit from Hans’s ailing English aunt Alex, who comes to stay for an entire summer, has a profound effect on the young Hans, all the more so when she invites him to come to university at Cambridge, where she teaches art history. Alex will ensure his application to St. John’s College is accepted, but in return he must help her investigate an elite university club of young aristocrats and wealthy social climbers, the Pitt Club. The club has existed at Cambridge for centuries, its long legacy of tradition and privilege largely unquestioned. As Hans makes his best efforts to prove club material and infiltrate its ranks, including testing his mettle in the boxing ring, he is drawn into a world of extravagance, debauchery, and macho solidarity. And when he falls in love with fellow student Charlotte, he sees a potential new life of upper-class sophistication opening up to him. But there are secrets in the club’s history, as well as in its present—and Hans soon finds himself in the inner sanctum of what proves to be an increasingly dangerous institution, forced to grapple with the notion that sometimes one must do wrong to do right.
    Show book
  • Violet Dawn - cover

    Violet Dawn

    Alex Hyland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Talented young pickpocket, Michael Violet, is now working for a government intelligence agency and on the right side of the law for the first time in his adult life. When the agency set their sights on bringing down Miami drug lord, Lenny Tripps, Michael is deemed the perfect agent for the job. Tripps is a Howard Hughes style recluse who hasn’t left his heavily-guarded penthouse in years – only a man with Michael’s talents could even think about getting inside. However, once inside Lenny Tripp’s world, nothing is what it seems. Michael soon finds himself out of depth as he desperately tries to save the life of an innocent young boy caught in the middle of a vicious drugs war.
    Show book
  • Cajun Nights - cover

    Cajun Nights

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A “suspenseful . . . welcome debut” mystery set in New Orleans (The Washington Post Book World).   When a disturbing series of murder-suicides terrorizes the Big Easy, young NOPD criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn is eager to take the case and prove her mettle. She discovers some bizarre connections between the perpetrators: They all share the same blood type, drive old cars, and reportedly hummed a nursery rhyme before committing their grisly acts.   As she uncovers the scope of the crimes, Franklyn turns to Andy Broussard, the chief medical examiner whose love of the truth is matched only by his love of New Orleans cuisine. Together, they follow a dangerous trail that leads into the Crescent City’s dark past, and an old Cajun curse that seems to have returned with a vengeance. Now Broussard and Franklyn need to fight off some very bad juju, or their partnership may end before it begins.   This first mystery featuring Broussard and Franklyn is a “fast-paced thriller” that “won’t be easily put down” (The Commercial Appeal, Memphis).
    Show book
  • Dismissed with Prejudice - A JP Beaumont Novel - cover

    Dismissed with Prejudice - A JP...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Top ten New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance′s classic tale of suspense featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont and his desperate race to track down a twisted killer. 
     Japanese businessman Tadeo Kurobashi had many passions, including computers, poetry, money, and Samurai lore. So his suicide method of choice would naturally be the ancient art of seppuku - what the uninitiated call ⧡ra-kiri.⟂ut despite the bloody Samurai sword Kurobashi clutches tightly in his lifeless hand, Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont senses the dead software magnate played a less active role in his own demise. Because glaring errors have been made in the time-honoured Asian death ritual - which has Beau looking for someone with a less traditional passion䥯r cold-blooded homicide.
    Show book
  • Hardcastle's Traitors - cover

    Hardcastle's Traitors

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It is New Year’s Eve 1915 and the Hardcastle family are welcoming 1916 at their home in Kennington, London. But an hour into the New Year, Hardcastle is called to a murder in a jeweller’s shop in Vauxhall.  In a first for the A Division senior detective, the killers apparently made their escape in a motor car.As Hardcastle’s enquiry progresses, what he believed to be a fairly straightforward investigation turns into one with ramifications extending from Chelsea via Sussex and Surrey to France, close to the fighting on the Western Front. And as is so often the case in wartime, the army becomes involved and so, to Hardcastle’s dismay, does Scotland Yard’s Special Branch . . .
    Show book