Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Ayers - The Mindguard Saga #3 - cover

Ayers - The Mindguard Saga #3

Andrei Cherascu

Publisher: Andrei Cherascu

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In the corrupt city of Mei Jhabo, a mysterious new thoughtenhancer has devastating effects on the consumer’s brain. Its emergence is linked to the sudden rise of one of the city’s most ruthless drug gangs. Leading the fight against it, Commissioner Celia Wallace employs the services of the famous Ayers-Ross Thoughtprotection Agency. Their mission: retrieve an undercover agent sent to infiltrate the gang and protect the information inside his mind. 
 
For ambitious young telepath Alex Lea, this seems like the perfect opportunity to prove that he is a worthy successor to his idol, legendary Mindguard Sheldon Ayers. But, in this profession, the course of things can change in an instant. 
 
After an ambush leaves him separated from his team, Alex must learn to become his own guardian first. Pushed to the limits of his ability, he comes across an enemy far more dangerous than anyone suspects and a plot that threatens the very future of the Federation. 
 
AYERS is a prequel set a few months before the events of MINDGUARD. It can be read as a stand-alone or at any point in the series. For reasons pertaining to themes and character study the author recommends reading the books in order of publication.

Other books that might interest you

  • Habitat 762 - cover

    Habitat 762

    Valery Keith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Deep Space, Nobody Wants to be Left Behind. 
     
    In the last few days of a two-year assignment, a survey team, isolated on a beautiful but toxic planet, finds out that mistakes and accidents can extract a brutal price. Now, things are coming apart at every turn as their equipment and shelter begins to break down all around them, despite the efforts of Ms. Betty, their habitat's self-aware, artificial intelligence. 
    Lindsey, the team's biology tech, begins to wonder about the causes of the accidents. Are they simply because of worn-out equipment, or are the hostile conditions of the planet to blame? 
     
    Now the clock is ticking. Will she survive long enough to learn the truth?
    Show book
  • Go West - cover

    Go West

    David Quantick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    GO WEST is a novel about Charlie Bread, self-styled Antiques Whisperer and forgery hunter. When Charlie is sent on the trail of a mysterious document that may have been written by the inventor of Peter Pan, his life becomes a road movie full of pursuit and intrigue, soundtracked by old John Peel shows, the beautiful Penelope, and a game of high road hide-and-seek all across the West Country. In a world where nothing is what it seems, Bread has to find out the truth – before the truth finds him out. 
    Go West is the second novel by David Quantick, Emmy-winning writer (Veep, The Thick Of It) and author of The Mule (“A Da Vinci Code with laughs – The Independent, “ingenious, likable, funny and above all entertaining” –Spectator, “accomplished and witty highbrow farce” – Sunday Times)
    Show book
  • The Demon of Decay - A Horror Novel - cover

    The Demon of Decay - A Horror Novel

    Alex C. Gates

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A broken man. An evil bargain. Will he wreck his soul to rebuild his life?Joseph Daniels longs to give his wife the child they both crave. So when she announces her pregnancy on their trip to the secluded family farm, he should be overjoyed. Problem is: the baby can't possibly be his... and the real father isn't the only fiend prowling the ghost-town streets.Bitter and humiliated, Joseph turns to a mysterious stranger with a cure-all for his troubles... at a staggering price. Only after the miracle pills bring out the demon in him does he discover the dark force taking him captive.Can Joseph fight his way back to freedom and family or will his soul be dragged to hell?The Demon of Decay is a standalone classic horror novel. If you like terrifying choices, blood-chilling suspense, and dark psychological twists, then you'll love Alex C. Gates' spine-tingling tale.Buy The Demon of Decay to battle the darkness today!
    Show book
  • The Mystery of the Yellow Room - cover

    The Mystery of the Yellow Room

    Mary Roberts Rinehart

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The world-famous locked-room mystery from a master of detective fiction A frightful act of malice committed in Paris: the dastardly attempted assassination of the daughter of a famed scientist who was working late in his laboratory with an assistant when the attack took place in the adjacent room. A locked chamber, windows barred, no one hiding inside. The poor young lady unconscious, covered with blood, violent marks on her throat and a wound at her temple. The scientist’s revolver removed from its cabinet and sealed in the room with her. The only trace of her assailant is a large, bloody handprint on the wall.   At a loss, the chief of the Sûreté telegraphs for the famous detective Frédéric Larsan to be assigned to the seemingly unsolvable case. A genre-defining novel, The Mystery of the Yellow Room follows the investigation step by step, with thorough descriptions of the crime scene to allow the reader access to the same opaque clues to the crime that the detectives have.   This ebook features a new introduction by Otto Penzler and has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
    Show book
  • A Girl Called Nine - The Sentinel Series #1 - cover

    A Girl Called Nine - The...

    Valery Keith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Rand Matthews witnesses a teen runaway attack a man in a diner, only to find her leaping out of his truck bed once he returns home to his ranch, he's at a loss. There's something strange about this girl, like she's been mistreated or abused.   
     
    Worried about how the child might have gotten that way, Rand is determined to help her. As he and his ranch-hand Cole learn more about her and the events which brought her to the ranch, they soon realize that their new house guest is no ordinary girl....
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book