Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Liquid Muse - cover

Liquid Muse

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Jonah Winter has developed the perfect creativity enhancing drug – one hundred percent effective, non-addictive and safe. 
Ron Varnhagen has experienced the drug's remarkable properties for himself and plans to invest in Jonah's venture. But then he learns of the horrifying secret behind the drug and its production… 
This is a short science fiction story of 2600 words or approx. 10 print pages altogether.

Who read this book also read:

  • Sudden Backtrack - A Hollows Short - cover

    Sudden Backtrack - A Hollows Short

    Kim Harrison

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    #1 New York Times bestselling author Kim Harrison returns to the ever-after one last time in this never-before-published short story! 
    The origins of the elf and demon war have been shrouded – until now. Told from a demon’s point of view, join Al as he helps Newt spin the curse that caused the elven downfall… and perhaps holds the beginnings of their own reclamations.
    Show book
  • Fated (Book #11 in the Vampire Journals) - cover

    Fated (Book #11 in the Vampire...

    Morgan Rice

    • 4
    • 17
    • 0
    "A book to rival TWILIGHT and VAMPIRE DIARIES, and one that will have you wanting to keep reading until the very last page! If you are into adventure, love and vampires this book is the one for you!" --Vampirebooksite.com (Turned)FATED is Book #11 in the #1 Bestselling series THE VAMPIRE JOURNALS, which begins with TURNED (Book #1)! In FATED, 16 year old Scarlet Paine struggles to understand what’s happening to her, as she wakes and realizes she’s becoming a vampire. Alienated from her parents and her friends, the only person she has left to turn to is Sage, the mysterious boy who has quickly become the love of her life. Yet Sage, whose house she finds boarded up, is nowhere to be found. Scarlet, alone in the world, with nowhere left to turn, seeks out her friends and tries to reconcile with them. All seems to be patched up when they invite her to join them on a trip to an abandoned island in the Hudson—but as things get out of hand and Scarlet’s true powers are revealed, who her friends and enemies are becomes more confusing than ever. Blake, still interested in her, tries to make amends. He seems sincere, and Scarlet is confused as she has to grapple with whether to be with Blake or to wait for Sage, who is nowhere to be found. When Scarlet finally finds Sage, they have the most romantic time of her life; yet it is tinged with tragedy, as Sage is dying, with but a few days left to live. Kyle, meanwhile, turned into the only other vampire left in the world, is on a murderous rampage, seeking Scarlet; Caitlin and Caleb consult with Aiden, and they each embark on different missions—Caleb to stop and kill Kyle, and Caitlin, to the famed Yale University library, to research the ancient relic rumored to both cure and kill vampires for all time. It is a race against time, and it may be too late. Scarlet is changing rapidly, barely able to control what she’s becoming, and Sage is dying with each passing moment. As the book culminates in an action-packed, shocking twist, Scarlet will be left with a monumental choice—one that will change the world forever. Will Scarlet make the ultimate sacrifice to save Sage’s life? Will she risk everything she has for love?
    Show book
  • Lilith's Brood - Dawn Adulthood Rites and Imago - cover

    Lilith's Brood - Dawn Adulthood...

    Octavia E. Butler

    • 0
    • 18
    • 0
    Three novels in one volume: the acclaimed science fiction trilogy about an alien species that could save humanity after nuclear apocalypse—or destroy it. The newest stage in human evolution begins in outer space. Survivors of a cataclysmic nuclear war awake to find themselves being studied by the Oankali, tentacle-covered galactic travelers whose benevolent appearance hides their surprising plan for the future of mankind. The Oankali arrive not just to save humanity, but to bond with it—crossbreeding to form a hybrid species that can survive in the place of its human forebears, who were so intent on self-destruction. Some people resist, forming pocket communities of purebred rebellion, but many realize they have no choice. The human species inevitably expands into something stranger, stronger, and undeniably alien. From Hugo and Nebula award–winning author Octavia Butler, Lilith’s Brood is both a thrilling, epic adventure of man’s struggle to survive after Earth’s destruction, and a provocative meditation on what it means to be human.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Octavia E. Butler including rare images from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • The Long List Anthology Volume 2 - The Long List Anthology #2 - cover

    The Long List Anthology Volume 2...

    Aliette de Bodard, Ann Leckie,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the second annual edition of the Long List Anthology. Every year, supporting members of WorldCon nominate their favorite stories first published during the previous year to determine the top five in each category for the final Hugo Award ballot. Between the announcement of the ballot and the Hugo Award ceremony at WorldCon, these works often become the center of much attention (and contention) across fandom. But there are more stories loved by the Hugo voters, stories on the longer nomination list that WSFS publishes after the Hugo Award ceremony at WorldCon.  
     
    The Long List Anthology Volume 2 collects 18 fiction stories from that nomination list, along with 2 essays from the book Letters to Tiptree that was also on the nomination list, totaling over 500 pages of fiction by writers from all corners of the world. Within these pages you will find a mix of science fiction and fantasy and horror, the dramatic and the lighthearted, from android caretakers to Lovecraftian romances, from adventures to quests and more. There is a wide variety of styles and types of stories here, and something for everyone. 
     
    The stories included are: 
    "Damage" by David D. Levine  
    "Pockets" by Amal El-Mohtar  
    "Today I Am Paul" by Martin L. Shoemaker  
    "The Women You Didn't See" by Nicola Griffith (a letter from Letters to Tiptree) 
    "Tuesdays With Molakesh the Destroyer" by Megan Grey  
    "Wooden Feathers" by Ursula Vernon  
    "Three Cups of Grief, By Starlight" by Aliette de Bodard  
    "Madeleine" by Amal El-Mohtar  
    "Neat Things" by Seanan McGuire (a letter from Letters To Tiptree)  
    "Pocosin" by Ursula Vernon  
    "Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers" by Alyssa Wong  
    "So Much Cooking" by Naomi Kritzer  
    "The Deepwater Bride" by Tamsyn Muir  
    "The Heart's Filthy Lesson" by Elizabeth Bear  
    "Grandmother-nai-Leylit's Cloth of Winds" by Rose Lemberg  
    "Another Word For World" by Ann Leckie  
    "The Long Goodnight of Violet Wild" by Catherynne M. Valente  
    "Our Lady of the Open Road" by Sarah Pinsker  
    "The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn" by Usman T. Malik  
    "The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps" by Kai Ashante Wilson
    Show book
  • Kissed By Shadows (Kissed By Shadows Series Book 1) - Kissed By Shadows - cover

    Kissed By Shadows (Kissed By...

    Lola StVil

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    ***Kissed By Shadows is a must read for fans of A Shade of Vampire, Twilight and The Mortal Instruments.*** 
    Meet Atlas Morgan; the hero who just found the villain of her dreams… 
    A ruthless, demonic army stands ready to attack; to bathe in the blood of all mankind. The only thing that has protected us from them is a mystical river which will run dry by midnight of the winter solace.  
    The paranormal community— referred to as Shadows—has been given seven chances to complete a quest that will replenish the river. They have failed six times. So, for the seventh and final time, the Shadows look to an unlikely source--seventeen-year-old human girl--Atlas Morgan.  
    Atlas has just lost the only person in the world that ever truly loved her—her mother.  Though she is drowning in grief and sorrow, when she learns she is the chosen one, she gathers up the courage to agree to the quest. However, Atlas encounters something far more frightening than Werewolves, Vampires and Witches—love. His name is Kane and she’s shocked to learn that, like her, Kane has been chosen too--not to save the world but to end it… 
    Show book
  • The Frozen Witch Book Five - The Frozen Witch - cover

    The Frozen Witch Book Five - The...

    Odette C. Bell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The time for sacrifice is upon her. Lilly will have to decide who lives and dies in the thrilling conclusion to The Frozen Witch Series. With the false gods pushing into town and Vali on the line, Lilly is thrust into the battle of her life. Lose, and everyone will lose with her….
    Show book