Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
St Nicholas of Hell's Kitchen - The Silencer #8 - cover

St Nicholas of Hell's Kitchen - The Silencer #8

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Christmas time in 1930s New York. After escaping through the chimney of an orphanage in Hell's Kitchen, Richard Blakemore a.k.a. the masked crimefighter known only as the Silencer is mistaken for Santa Claus by one of the children and learns that the orphanage is under siege by both a gang of brutal racketeers and an unscrupulous landlord. 
Richard vows to help the children and their guardians. However, it turns out that the attacks on the orphanage are only part of a much larger plot, when Richard's quest for justice leads him into the upper echelons of Manhattan's high society. 
Soon, the Silencer finds himself face to face with one of the most powerful men in the city, while Richard and Constance struggle to save the orphanage and give the children of Hell's Kitchen an unforgettable Christmas. 
This is a novella of 30000 words or approximately 100 pages in the Silencer series, but may be read as a standalone.

Who read this book also read:

  • Otherwise Occupied - Evan Arden #2 - cover

    Otherwise Occupied - Evan Arden #2

    Shay Savage

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Evan Arden is a hit man for a Chicago mob boss and moves through life with darkness in his soul and a gun in his hand.  Those who know him for what he is fear him, and those who find out the hard way never get a chance to tell anyone else.  The few people who get a glimpse inside his head wish they never had.  A merciless killer, his only loyalty resides with his employer, the man who calls the shots that rain from Evan’s weapon. 
    As a POW of the Gulf War, Evan spent months in captivity, and the memories of his confinement combine with thoughts of the woman he left in Arizona.  He lives his life day-to-day with little more than the company of his dog, Odin.  As insomnia overtakes him, he seeks comfort from an unlikely source, but will confiding in her be his undoing? 
    He’s struggling to forget his past and to keep himself Otherwise Occupied.
    Show book
  • Murder for Love - cover

    Murder for Love

    Nell Goddin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A beautiful corpse. Zero clues. Peace in Castillac shattered once more. 
    
    When another native of the French village is found dead, Molly and the gendarmes are stumped. Complicating matters, Ben is hired to defend Molly’s prime suspect. Uh oh, mixing romance with detective work can be a dangerous business…or at least, it can lead to some unsteady conclusions. 
    
    Will Molly figure out where she’s gone wrong in time to nail the killer? Or will her scheme to unmask the murderer at Lawrence’s disco birthday party fall apart?
    
    (This book was originally published as Red for Love.)
    Show book
  • TATTOOED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #3 - cover

    TATTOOED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The discovery of a bog body could crack a cold case that has haunted the city – and unravel the darkest secrets of Kate’s oldest foe in the third installment of the bestselling Kate Lange thriller series. For fans of John Grisham, Tess Gerritsen and James Patterson. 
    She is obsessed with tattoos.   
    He is obsessed with her. 
    When a body is found on the outskirts of Halifax, rumors run wild about the victim’s identity. But tattoo artist Kenzie Sloane knows exactly who she is. They share a tattoo… and a decade-old secret. 
    Lawyer Kate Lange remembers Kenzie Sloane. The former wild child was part of the same crowd that attracted her little sister, Imogen, before her death. Now Kenzie needs her help. And Kate needs answers. 
    But there are others who know about the tattoo and its history. And one of them is watching Kenzie’s every move, waiting for the perfect moment to fulfill a dark promise that had been inked in her skin. 
    “… there is no shortage of drama and suspense to keep readers on the hook right through to the heart-pounding finale.” —Chronicle Herald 
    “The story is suspenseful and well-plotted, and the characters — even the villains —are intriguing and multidimensional.” —RT Book Reviews 
     “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; TATTOOED has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.” —The Eclectic Reader 
    Book 3 of the Kate Lange Thriller Series 
    364 pages
    Show book
  • The Shrunken Head - cover

    The Shrunken Head

    Robert L. Fish

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Captain José Da Silva has the daunting task of finding a murderer. Hired by the Brazilian Foreign Office, Da Silva sets out to end these jungle killings, but doesn’t quite have all the facts. When Agent Wilson shows him one of the victims—-not all of him, just his shrunken head—-Da Silva realizes that this murder case isn’t as open-and-shut as it seems. Now he must investigate, evading the powerful magic and numerous mysteries of the Amazon jungle. 
    Show book
  • The Legend - cover

    The Legend

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Peter Arundsen is bored—bored with his conventional wife, and bored with his conventional city job. He hankers after his dangerous past, when he was a spy with the SIS, and cherishes his contact with ex-colleagues at weekend parties hosted by their old chief, Philip Wetherby.   When one of these parties is overshadowed by news of a defection, Arundsen resists Wetherby’s request to investigate. But he cannot resist Wetherby’s beautiful and mysterious niece. He finds himself, against his better judgement, drawn into the investigation, and so into a tangle of treason, intrigue—and a trap from which it seems there is no escape.
    Show book
  • Mykonos After Midnight - cover

    Mykonos After Midnight

    Jeffrey Siger

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Mykonos holds tight to its past even as it transforms from an obscure, impoverished Aegean island into a tourist mecca and summertime playground for the world’s rich. This process has made the Mykonian people some of the wealthiest in Greece. The old guard is still a force to be reckoned with despite the new money.
    
    One of them, a legendary nightclub owner, has been found savagely bludgeoned in his home. All evidence points to obvious thugs. Yet the murder has put long hidden, politically explosive secrets in play and drawn a dangerous foreign investor to the island paradise. Andreas Kaldis, feared head of Greece’s special crimes division, is certain there’s a far more complex solution to the murder thanrobbery, and he vows to find it.
    
    His quest for answers cuts straight into the entrenched cultural contradictions that soon have him battling ruthless opportunists preying on his country’s weakened financial condition. Kaldis becomes locked in a war with a powerful, clandestine international force willing to do whatever it takes to change and wrest control of Mykonos, no matter the collateral damage. Such is global crime. And the need for a wily hero to stand against it.
    Show book