Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
St Nicholas of Hell's Kitchen - The Silencer #8 - cover

St Nicholas of Hell's Kitchen - The Silencer #8

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Christmas time in 1930s New York. After escaping through the chimney of an orphanage in Hell's Kitchen, Richard Blakemore a.k.a. the masked crimefighter known only as the Silencer is mistaken for Santa Claus by one of the children and learns that the orphanage is under siege by both a gang of brutal racketeers and an unscrupulous landlord. 
Richard vows to help the children and their guardians. However, it turns out that the attacks on the orphanage are only part of a much larger plot, when Richard's quest for justice leads him into the upper echelons of Manhattan's high society. 
Soon, the Silencer finds himself face to face with one of the most powerful men in the city, while Richard and Constance struggle to save the orphanage and give the children of Hell's Kitchen an unforgettable Christmas. 
This is a novella of 30000 words or approximately 100 pages in the Silencer series, but may be read as a standalone.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Company of Saints - cover

    The Company of Saints

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    As the new head of the Secret Intelligence Service, Davina Graham faces her most daunting challenge: solving a series of seemingly random political murders in international waters  The first female head of Britain’s Secret Intelligence Service, Davina Graham is taking a well-deserved holiday with her lover, advertising executive Tony Walden. But her Venetian idyll is short-lived. On the Grand Canal, widowed US Secretary of the Defense Henry Franklyn and his daughter are killed when a bomb blows their gondola to smithereens. The local police believe it was the work of the rabid Red Brigade or the Palestine Liberation Organization because Franklyn was a Jew. But Davina is certain that Igor Borisov, the power-hungry head of the KGB who ordered the assassination of Davina’s Russian defector husband, is behind it.  Another murder soon makes international headlines: the massacre of France’s minister of the interior and her family. Then the Soviet prime minister is killed in Poland, followed by the death of a pacifist British priest in London. The assassinations bring Davina’s ex-lover out of retirement. Forced to once again join forces with Intelligence agent Colin Lomax, while coping with a sudden death in her own family, Davina is determined to find evidence linking Borosov to the executions. The hunt leads to a shadowy organization called the Company of Saints, a private brigade of hired killers whose chilling end game is just beginning.  The Company of Saints is the 4th book in the Davina Graham Thrillers, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • Second Debt - Indebted #3 - cover

    Second Debt - Indebted #3

    Pepper Winters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    The Third Book in the New York Times Bestselling Series. 
    “I tried to play a game. I tried to wield deceit as perfectly as the Hawks. But when I thought I was winning, I wasn’t. Jethro isn’t what he seems—he’s the master of duplicity. However, I refuse to let him annihilate me further.” 
    Nila Weaver has grown from naïve seamstress to full-blown fighter. Every humdrum object is her arsenal, and sex…sex is her greatest weapon of all. 
    She’s paid the First Debt. She’ll probably pay more. 
    But she has no intention of letting the Hawks win. 
    Jethro Hawk has found more than a worthy adversary in Nila—he’s found the woman who could destroy him. There’s a fine line between hatred and love, and an even finer path between fear and respect. 
    The fate of his house rests on his shoulders, but no matter how much ice lives inside his heart, Nila flames too bright to be extinguished. 
    280 pages--full length book. 
    To receive release date alerts, please fill in: http://eepurl.com/120b5
    Show book
  • Murder in a Hot Flash - cover

    Murder in a Hot Flash

    Marlys Millhiser

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Reluctant psychic Charlie Greene is called on to solve the case when a horror-film director gets the ax—and Charlie’s mother is the prime suspect  Between doing lunches, making deals, and being a full-time single mom, Hollywood literary agent and part-time psychic Charlie Greene doesn’t have time to solve crimes. But when the number-one suspect in the murder of schlock horror director Gordon Cabot is her menopausal mother, Charlie suddenly finds herself a major player in a real-life movie more shocking than any screenwriter could have dreamed up.   Cabot’s callous disregard for the teeming plant life and critters serving as extras in his overbudget new film has made him plenty of enemies, including Charlie’s mother, a biology professor specializing in rodents of the high-desert plateau. In spite of their volatile relationship, Charlie’s certain that her mother’s hot flashes have nothing to do with the corpse chilling out in this remote stretch of Utah desert, and to clear her mom’s name, Charlie teams up with swoonworthy superstar environmentalist Mitch Hilsten.   Amid warring film crews, wild cliff glides, and fears that Charlie’s agency is going under, she and Mitch race to catch a cunning killer of the lethal, two-legged variety in this electrifying novel.
    Show book
  • Faithful Addiction (The Safeguard Series Book Two) - The Safeguard Series #2 - cover

    Faithful Addiction (The...

    Kennedy Layne

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    USA Today Bestselling Author Kennedy Layne follows up her latest romantic suspense novel with a romantic thriller that will have you leaving the lights on at bedtime... 
    Former Marine Royce Haverton had needed a break from the bloodshed he’d witnessed time and again during his last combat tour.  He’d fulfilled his contract to the Corps and it was now time to move on.  Little did he know the job he’d just accepted would lead him down the same violent path as before. 
    Cailyn Geneva had spent the last three months recovering from a brutal hit and run her family swore was intentional.  Another vicious attempt on her life proves their suspicions to be true and her brother takes matters into his own hands by hiring a security firm to look after her.  She agrees to do whatever it takes to stay alive…even if that means facing her past mistakes. 
    Royce doesn’t like surprises, so walking into the office to find an old family friend desperate for a favor certainly doesn’t make his morning.  Neither does discovering a cold-blooded murderer is after the one woman who had once meant everything to him.  Will they be given the time to explore the still smoldering desire that lies beneath the surface before a ruthless killer tries to finish what he started? 
    Series Description: Safeguard Security & Investigations (SSI) is owned and operated by Townes Calvert, a retired Marine Gunnery Sergeant who returned home to the States a bit more damaged than he'd care to admit. Not that anyone could tell outside of a very select group of former active duty buddies. It had taken Townes quite a while to acclimate to civilian life and he'd kept himself busy in the interim working in treacherous situations with even more dangerous friends. The final result is a close-knit unit of highly trained former military men who have the experience to protect the innocent, investigate crimes on the gritty edge, and aid local law enforcement when justice has taken a back seat to political correctness. Follow along as Kennedy Layne conveys each of their gripping stories as they work together on investigations that lead them down perilous paths of passion, intrigue, and suspense...
    Show book
  • Written on the Wind - Maggie Mulgrew Mysteries #2 - cover

    Written on the Wind - Maggie...

    Cate Dean

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Book 2 of The Maggie Mulgrew Mysteries. 
     
    Welcome back to Holmestead, England ~ where a mysterious book, a cryptic note, and murder shake up this picture postcard village. 
     
    When Maggie Mulgrew finds an old book in the box she buys from a local charity sale, she has no idea that her discovery is about to set off a chain of events. 
     
    Events that will end in murder. 
     
    Now she has to find out why a book is important enough to kill for, and fast, before someone else becomes a victim. 
     
    Maggie Mulgrew Mysteries: 
    Book 1 - Ghost of a Chance 
    Book 2 - Written on the Wind 
    Book 3 - Spirit of the Season 
    Show book
  • The Sacrificial Man - cover

    The Sacrificial Man

    Ruth Dugdall

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER THE WOMAN BEFORE ME 
    'Utterly chilling and enthralling from the first line to the last.' Karen Maitland 
    'An unflinching journey, chilling and insightful, into the darker reaches of the human mind.' Michelle Spring 
    What I want to say is that suicide is my choice. No-one else is to blame. Man seeks beautiful woman for the journey of a lifetime: Will you help me to die? 
    When Probation Officer Cate Austin is given her new assignment, she faces the highest-profile case of her career. Alice Mariani is charged with assisted suicide and Cate must recommend a sentence. 
    Alice insists her story is one of misinterpreted love, forcing those around her to analyse their own lives. Who is to decide what is normal and when does loyalty turn to obsession? 
    Investigating the loophole that lies between murder and euthanasia, Cate must now meet the woman who agreed to comply with her lover's final request. Shocking revelations expose bitter truths that can no longer be ignored. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah
    Show book