As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Gristle & Bone - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Gristle & Bone

Duncan Ralston

Publisher: Shadow Work Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Seven terrifying short stories and novellas in the vein of Stephen King and Clive Barker. 
"Intelligent, character-driven horror tales." - Jack Ketchum, author of The Girl Next Door 
Baby Teeth - When doctors tell her she can never be pregnant, Candace learns that not every child is a gift. 
Beware of Dog - Disgraced soldier Dean Vogel returns to his hometown and confronts the bullies, and a violent incident, from his past. 
Viral - A reporter uncovers what really happened to the latest internet sensation, a troubled teenage girl who vanished on camera.  
Artifact (#37) - Gonzo pornographers learn a brutal lesson following a tragedy they inadvertently caused when life imitated "art." 
//END USER - Anti-social conspiracy theorist Mason Adler's life is turned upside-down when he begins receiving eerily personal and prophetic spam that could be heralding the Apocalypse. 
Fat of the Land - A couple discovers the secret of a tourist town's prosperity may lie in its sinfully delicious cuisine, and they might be on the menu.  
Scavengers - When successful restaurant owners confess to a grisly series of small town murders, their neighbor learns the gruesome truth that led them to kill. In Knee High, Nebraska, someone--or something--has been stalking household pets in the dead of night... but would they rather be hunting us? 
 
Short and novella-length fiction from the twisted imagination of Duncan Ralston, author of Salvage and WOOM. Includes a new Introduction from Chris Hall of DLS Reviews. 
"Duncan Ralston is writing honest stories about real people, pitched headlong into extraordinary situations. And that is what makes them so horrifying." - Ken Preston, author of the Joe Coffin series

Other books that might interest you

  • The Renegade Hunter - A Rogue Hunter Novel - cover

    The Renegade Hunter - A Rogue...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 16
    • 0
    Nicholas Argeneau is not your typical rogue hunter in The Renegade Hunter, the latest installment of the Rogue Hunter series from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands. Though he spent centuries targeting vampires who break the immortal laws, for the past 50 years Nicholas has been a rogue himself. But then he saves a beautiful mortal from a terrifying bloodsucker, and everything changes . . .
    Show book
  • Love Bites - cover

    Love Bites

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 38
    • 0
    “Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.”Katie MacAlister, author of A Girl’s Guide to Vampires In the world of the sexy and seductive Argeneau family of vampires, true love is good from the first bite to the last. Love Bites is a classic from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lynsay Sands, the second volume in her much beloved Argeneau series—the  story of an achingly hot three hundred year-old bachelor immortal and the beautiful coroner he chooses as his lifemate. Paranormal romance just doesn’t get any tastier than this!
    Show book
  • The Immortal Hunter - A Rogue Hunter Novel - cover

    The Immortal Hunter - A Rogue...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 14
    • 0
    Even vampires need a vacation. But Decker Argeneau's ends abruptly when he's asked to help hunt the group of rogue vampires targeting mortals -- one that might include a defector in his own family. Before he can worry about that, though, he's got to rescue the latest victim. It's all part of the job, including taking a bullet for a beautiful doctor. 
    Dr. Danielle McGill doesn't know if she can trust the man who just saved her life. There are too many questions, such as what is the secret organization he says he's part of, and why do his wounds hardly bleed? However, with her sister in the hands of some dangerous men, she doesn't have much choice but to trust him. 
    Except now Decker's talking about life mates and awakening a passion that's taking Dani beyond anything she's ever known. Being undead may not be half-bad...especially if it means spending forever with a man who would love her with his mind, body, and immortal soul.
    Show book
  • Exile - The Lunnaria Trilogy - cover

    Exile - The Lunnaria Trilogy

    Luiza Dobrzynska

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the distant future the humanity is subject to meticulous control and class segregation. The criterion for belonging to one of the classes is IQ, determined at birth according to measurements of synaptic density of the brain. Permits to have a child are issued by committees that severely assess the physical and mental health of future parents, and marriages between castes are prohibited.
     
    The young librarian, Leeta finds herself accidentally at the center of political game and as the only witness to an attack on members of the global government she becomes a threat to many prominent figures. Her protector, Citizen Hakat, decides to send the girl to the moon, to an industrial city where she would be safer than on Earth.
     
    The city of Lunnaria is completely dependent on supplies from Earth and theoretically falls under its jurisdiction, but it is really ruled by large mining corporations. Leeta gets assigned to the local police.
    Show book
  • The House on Widows Hill - cover

    The House on Widows Hill

    Simon R. Green

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Ishmael Jones investigates a haunted house . . . but is haunted by his own past in the latest of this quirky paranormal mystery series.
    
    "That house is a bad place. Bad things happen there . . ."
    
    Set high on top of Widows Hill, Harrow House has remained empty for years. Now, on behalf of an anonymous prospective buyer, Ishmael and Penny are spending a night there in order to investigate the rumours of strange lights, mysterious voices, unexplained disappearances, and establish whether the house is really haunted.
    
    What really happened at Harrow House all those years ago? Joined by a celebrity psychic, a professional ghost-hunter, a local historian and a newspaper reporter, it becomes clear that each member of 'Team Ghost' has their own pet theory as to the cause of the alleged haunting. But when one of the group suddenly drops dead with no obvious cause, Ishmael realizes that if he can find out how and why the victim died, he will have the key to solving the mystery.
    Show book
  • Stake - cover

    Stake

    Kevin J. Anderson

    • 3
    • 9
    • 0
    Vampire hunter or serial killer? That depends on whether vampires exist . . .
    
    Simon Helsing believes the only way to stop a bad guy with fangs is a good guy with a stake. He has devoted his life to ridding the world of vampires. He hunts them, finds their daytime lairs, and pounds a stake through their hearts.
    
    Lexi Tarada wants to believe. She's desperate to prove that the strange and impossible can be real. She runs a website for the unexplained and tries to sift through the crazy conspiracy theories to find out what is - or might be - real.
    
    Detective Todd Carrow is a skeptic. Haunted by visions of brutal killings from a previous case, he sees the latest gruesome murders as nothing more than the actions of a madman targeting innocents. 
    
    Helsing is convinced he's doing good, but what if vampires aren't real and Carrow is right?
    Show book