Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Substrate Wars - cover

The Substrate Wars

Jeb Kinnison

Publisher: Jeb Kinnison Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Graduate students discover instantaneous quantum gateways and use their discovery to rebel against the repressive security state the US has become. A fast-paced page-turner, with the world's governments trying to stop the rebels as they colonize a distant planet and use it as their base to change the world and open the universe to human colonization.  
 
"... Sci-fi series follows idealistic rebels who can manipulate reality using quantum portals... Kinnison bursts wide the scope of his continuously rewarding series in this latest entry. As in the previous novels, he challenges his characters to evolve morally as well as technologically; when Justin and Steve appear secretive about the discoveries on an alien ship, NASA astronaut Maddy Rahama reminds them why they fought the United States when she says, "I thought you guys were going to be the most transparent government ever." Keen sociological insights are crucial to the plot, as when Justin says, "Just because no one goes hungry, doesn't mean people stop envying and hating." The narrative, despite approaching war, proves riveting in the classic mold of Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein's works, in which action never eclipses heart and intellect. A novel about a galactic threat that offers an addictive barrage of lofty ideas infused with soul. ~ Kirkus Reviews 
"Kinnison has crafted a futuristic world that touches on philosophical, moral, and ethical ramifications of survival... engaging and intriguing... a captivating entry in the series and a stellar piece of sci-fi."  ~ IndieReader.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Ledberg Runestone - cover

    The Ledberg Runestone

    Patrick Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of Demon Jack delivers the first novel ina daring Southern urban fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and M.D. Massey.Magic: To some, it’s spectacle. To Jonah, it’s pure profit.A shaman for hire, Jonah can tap into his powers as easily as turning on a light switch, but the real money is in putting on a show. And after putting himself in debt to the Carver brothers, Asheville’s version of a mafia, in order to save his father’s business, he’s in need of some real money. Then a mysterious woman makes Jonah a staggering offer: $20,000—to find and deliver the Ledberg runestone, a legendary artifact of Norse myth. He’s suspicious of the case and the buyer, but when the Carvers threaten Jonah’s father if they don’t get their payment within the month, Jonah starts his investigation. As he explores Asheville’s seedy magical underbelly, Jonah discovers he’s not alone on the hunt. Will Jonah survive long enough to save his father, or will his past of swindling mortals and dodging debt collectors finally catch up with him? “The plot itself is fun . . . We have twists and an exceptional one at the end; but what holds it together is this unique character and the foundations it lays for something truly epic to come.”—Fangs for the Fantasy
    Show book
  • Protect the Prince - cover

    Protect the Prince

    Jennifer Estep

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    USA TODAY Bestseller!  
    Magic, murder, adventure, and romance combine in this second novel in the exciting Crown of Shards saga from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Estep. 
    Everleigh Blair might be the new gladiator queen of Bellona, but her problems are far from over. 
    First, Evie has to deal with a court full of arrogant, demanding nobles, all of whom want to get their greedy hands on her crown. As if that wasn’t bad enough, an assassin tries to kill Evie in her own throne room. 
    Despite the dangers, Evie goes ahead with a scheduled trip to the neighboring kingdom of Andvari in order to secure a desperately needed alliance. But complicating matters is the stubborn Andvarian king, who wants to punish Evie for the deaths of his countrymen during the Seven Spire massacre. 
    Dark forces are also at work inside the Andvarian palace, and Evie soon realizes that no one is safe. Worse, her immunity to magic starts acting in strange, unexpected ways, which makes Evie wonder whether she is truly strong enough to be a Winter Queen. 
    Evie’s magic, life, and crown aren’t the only things in danger—so is her heart, thanks to Lucas Sullivan, the Andvarian king’s bastard son and Evie’s … well, Evie isn’t quite sure what Sullivan is to her. 
    Only one thing is certain—protecting a prince might be even harder than killing a queen…
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 9
    • 51
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau’s bed? He’s not dessert—he’s the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there’s another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger’s bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That’s a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • Only the Devil Is Here - cover

    Only the Devil Is Here

    Stephen Michell

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “A gripping, cinematic supernatural thriller, shot through with unsettling imagery and startling insights into the nature of good and evil.” —David Demchuk, Sunburst Award–winning author of The Bone Mother   Kidnapped from his foster home, six-year-old Evan desperately searches for a way to escape his brutally violent captor, Rook. Armed with supernatural abilities, Rook is no ordinary man, but then Evan is no ordinary boy. And it soon becomes clear that on their frantic journey through a world teeming with unimaginable horrors and unnatural predators, Rook is Evan’s only hope for survival . . .   “With Only the Devil Is Here, Stephen Michell announces himself as a new and powerful presence on the literary horror scene. This is curt, violent, poetic storytelling, a Cormac McCarthyesque journey from darkness into even deeper darkness, suffused from moment one on with gothic nighttime awe and terror yet also shot through with the slimmest threads of hope—intimations of numinosity, if not of salvation.” —Gemma Files, Shirley Jackson Award–winning author of Spectral Evidence   “Michell subtly upends expectations with a genuinely insightful examination of the essence of good and evil. By the novel’s end, Michell delivers an invigorating chase story, a suspenseful horror-action hybrid with memorably warped characters, and terrific B-movie cinematic flair.” —Publishers Weekly   “How Rook acquired his superhuman strength and came to accept his unholy mission are just two of the many revelations Michell has in store for readers. Better still is the poignant father-son relationship that slowly builds between Rook and the orphaned Evan, who is also gifted with supernatural powers. A very promising debut from a new author to watch.” —Toronto Star
    Show book
  • The Immortal Who Loved Me - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    The Immortal Who Loved Me - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 6
    • 37
    • 0
    A few hours ago, Sherry Carne would have sworn that vampires didn’t exist. That’s before rogue immortals rampage through her store, leaving bloody chaos (literally) in their wake. The kicker comes when Sherry learns that one of the vamps on the bad guys’ trail may be her life mate. Her head says it’s impossible. The rest of her takes one look at Basileios Argeneau and has much more interesting ideas. 
    Whatever Basil expected in a life mate, funny, outspoken Sherry isn’t it. But mind-blowing chemistry and instinct don’t lie. They tell him something else, too—that Sherry’s connection to the immortal world goes deeper than she knows. And that she’s in the kind of danger only Basil can save her from—if she’ll just trust him, now and forever . . .
    Show book
  • Hunted By The Wolves - A Paranormal Romance - cover

    Hunted By The Wolves - A...

    Susan G. Charles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A vampire, set in his ways, is jolted out of his routine by the discovery of a mysterious new woman. Who is she? And even more importantly, why is he so attracted to her even though she is rude to him at best?
     
    For Hunter, life as he knows it has been forever changed. In two shorts months, he went from contented bachelor to the "boyfriend" of a mysterious woman who has knocked him off his feet. Now Hunter must learn to control his feelings and be with her, all the while falling deeper in love.
     
    Soon he realizes that to understand her fully, he must pull out all the stops. Then he learns a truth he was not expecting... she is a werewolf with incredible powers of her own. Along the way, alliances are tested and new enemies rise to hunt the couple. And when tragedy strikes, Hunter must make the ultimate choice... and face an evil far greater than anything he'd ever read about in his beloved books.
     
    This werewolf and vampire romance contains some violence and shapeshifter action with many thrilling situations. Recommended for ages sixteen and up.
    Show book