Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Substrate Wars - cover

The Substrate Wars

Jeb Kinnison

Publisher: Jeb Kinnison Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Graduate students discover instantaneous quantum gateways and use their discovery to rebel against the repressive security state the US has become. A fast-paced page-turner, with the world's governments trying to stop the rebels as they colonize a distant planet and use it as their base to change the world and open the universe to human colonization.  
 
"... Sci-fi series follows idealistic rebels who can manipulate reality using quantum portals... Kinnison bursts wide the scope of his continuously rewarding series in this latest entry. As in the previous novels, he challenges his characters to evolve morally as well as technologically; when Justin and Steve appear secretive about the discoveries on an alien ship, NASA astronaut Maddy Rahama reminds them why they fought the United States when she says, "I thought you guys were going to be the most transparent government ever." Keen sociological insights are crucial to the plot, as when Justin says, "Just because no one goes hungry, doesn't mean people stop envying and hating." The narrative, despite approaching war, proves riveting in the classic mold of Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein's works, in which action never eclipses heart and intellect. A novel about a galactic threat that offers an addictive barrage of lofty ideas infused with soul. ~ Kirkus Reviews 
"Kinnison has crafted a futuristic world that touches on philosophical, moral, and ethical ramifications of survival... engaging and intriguing... a captivating entry in the series and a stellar piece of sci-fi."  ~ IndieReader.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bared By The Bear Shifter - cover

    Bared By The Bear Shifter

    Angelina White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Her heart skipped a beat as she saw the lust-filled look in his eyes, barely human...
    
     
    Keith is cocky, arrogant, and always presses his luck. With his looks he's able to get away with it, but when Jenna Green moves out to the remote logging community for work, she does her best to resist his charm.
    
     
    Her best isn't good enough.
    
     
    Beyond his carefree smile, there lies a hidden secret. It's only when Jenna goes out late into the silent, moonlit forest that his secret is revealed - he's a bear shifter, and when he discovers her watching she realizes the reason he needs to keep it a secret - when he changes he becomes a different person. Muscles bulging, hair standing on end, and filled with animalistic lust, Keith wants only one thing.
    
     
    Jenna.
    Show book
  • Stardust - cover

    Stardust

    Neil Gaiman

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Young Tristran Thorn will do anything to win the cold heart of beautiful Victoria—even fetch her the star they watch fall from the night sky. But to do so, he must enter the unexplored lands on the other side of the ancient wall that gives their tiny village its name. Beyond that old stone wall, Tristran learns, lies Faerie—where nothing, not even a fallen star, is what he imagined. 
    From #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman comes a remarkable quest into the dark and miraculous—in pursuit of love and the utterly impossible.
    Show book
  • Heretic - Archangel Project #3 - cover

    Heretic - Archangel Project #3

    C. Gockel

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The day of reckoning is coming … 
     
    Commander Noa Sato has almost reached the Kannukah Cloud. Within hours her crew may be able to reach Sol System through a hidden time gate. If they make it, she and her crew won’t just save their own lives--they’ll save millions from genocide at the hands of Luddeccean fanatics. 
     
    But the Luddeccean "fanatics" may not be as mad as Noa believes. 
     
    If the Ark reaches Sol, Professor James Sinclair will be revealed as the imposter he is. Designed to be the perfect spy, James's love for Noa seems to be the only thing truly his own. But what can love be to an agent of the gates? 
     
    When the final confrontation occurs, and the truth of the gates is revealed, James and Noa will have choices to make ... Choices that may divide them forever and lead to the destruction of the human race.
    Show book
  • Ratha's Creature - cover

    Ratha's Creature

    Clare Bell

    • 1
    • 26
    • 0
    One brave feline, exiled from her clan, must fight to survive in this PEN Award–winning author’s epic fantasy adventure about a tribe of prehistoric cats. Twenty-five million years in the past, a clan of sentient, prehistoric big cats called “the Named” have their own language, traditions, and law. Led by Meoran, the Named herd horses and deer for food. They keep order and peace, fending off predatory raiders—the UnNamed—from all sides. But, the battle has taken its toll, and the Named are skirting the edge of survival. Much to the displeasure of Meoran, a young female named Ratha discovers a powerful defense against the UnNamed. She calls it “the Red Tongue,” and it is a creature of incredible power. Red Tongue is fire, a force of both life and destruction that must be at once nurtured and tamed. Sensing that Ratha’s mastery of fire threatens his power, Meoran banishes her from the clan. As she travels out amongst the savage UnNamed, Ratha learns about both them and herself. But, her tribe needs her. Can she return? Will the Named survive constant attacks without the Red Tongue? Will the power of the Red Tongue change the clan forever? Acclaimed author Clare Bell crafts a serious coming-of-age story filled with adventure, triumph, and heartbreak. Perfect for readers of Jean M. Auel’s The Clan of the Cave Bear, Ratha’s Creature will have readers hooked and clamoring for more stories of these big, noble cats.  
    Show book
  • One Day At A Time - cover

    One Day At A Time

    Rita Schulz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After massive comet strikes the Pacific Ocean off shore of their small town Ellen fears she, her husband, Lee, and her grandson Mathew will not survive the impending tidal wave headed their way.
    
    
    
    Deadly tsunamis, earthquakes, and even the San Andreas Fault crumble killing millions of people along the west coast of North America.
    
    
    
    Ellen’s determined their families future will not end today.  Somehow they must survive.
    Show book
  • Wild Prince - Takhini Shifters #4 - cover

    Wild Prince - Takhini Shifters #4

    Vivian Arend

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A light-hearted, STAND ALONE paranormal in the Takhini Shifters world by NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR Vivian Arend 
    ----- 
    Wolf shifter Cole Masterson has been waiting impatiently for his future to arrive. The prophecy declared at his birth seems like pure gibberish, but he’s still spent the past thirty-three years trying to prepare for whatever’s coming. When his mate finally arrives, her appearance—on a skidoo stolen from him, no less—triggers a cascade of events he’s not sure he’s ready for. 
    Dani Neville thought the covert training offered by the leader of an ultra-secret shifter association was her only escape from being stuck forever on an isolated island with her bear-shifter clan. But when her first assignment goes awry, and she ends up being chased through the wilderness by the sexiest, growliest wolf she’s ever met, Dani begins to wonder if her goals were big enough. 
    Suddenly Cole’s got to deal with the most delectable thief he’s ever had the misfortune to meet—a woman who’s also his fated mate, and years younger than him. Dani’s got to figure out if being a ninja wannabe is her true desire, or if the chance to stay with her growly wolf is worth fighting for. Meanwhile, a prophecy that’s been waiting for years steamrollers them toward their ultimate destiny. 
    Not everything is as it appears…not even fated love.
    Show book