Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Substrate Wars - cover

The Substrate Wars

Jeb Kinnison

Publisher: Jeb Kinnison Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Graduate students discover instantaneous quantum gateways and use their discovery to rebel against the repressive security state the US has become. A fast-paced page-turner, with the world's governments trying to stop the rebels as they colonize a distant planet and use it as their base to change the world and open the universe to human colonization.  
 
"... Sci-fi series follows idealistic rebels who can manipulate reality using quantum portals... Kinnison bursts wide the scope of his continuously rewarding series in this latest entry. As in the previous novels, he challenges his characters to evolve morally as well as technologically; when Justin and Steve appear secretive about the discoveries on an alien ship, NASA astronaut Maddy Rahama reminds them why they fought the United States when she says, "I thought you guys were going to be the most transparent government ever." Keen sociological insights are crucial to the plot, as when Justin says, "Just because no one goes hungry, doesn't mean people stop envying and hating." The narrative, despite approaching war, proves riveting in the classic mold of Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein's works, in which action never eclipses heart and intellect. A novel about a galactic threat that offers an addictive barrage of lofty ideas infused with soul. ~ Kirkus Reviews 
"Kinnison has crafted a futuristic world that touches on philosophical, moral, and ethical ramifications of survival... engaging and intriguing... a captivating entry in the series and a stellar piece of sci-fi."  ~ IndieReader.

Other books that might interest you

  • Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A heartbreaking set of murders bring detectives Leith and Dion together in the Lower Mainland, where violence flows like a riptide. 
     
    
    
    Last summer the inlet waters washed an unnamed woman’s body onto the rocks of North Vancouver’s Neptune shipyards. When RCMP Constable Cal Dion returns home after a year’s absence, he finds the case still open and grown cold. 
     
    
    
    While Dion works to fit back in and put closure to the Jane Doe drowning case, newly relocated Constable Dave Leith is learning to cope with his first big-city posting. But they have bigger concerns: Why would anyone beat up a young electrician, then track down his wife and baby girl to finish them off? It is a motiveless and haunting killing that leaves behind one small witness and a handful of cryptic clues. And who battered and asphyxiated a wealthy nightclub owner in his own garage? A case of home invasion, by the looks of it. But Leith has a less abstract set of suspects to deal with: the victim’s business partner and his strange little clan. 
     
    
    The North Vancouver General Investigations Section is put to the test, with two files to solve, one tragic cold case, and Dion seemingly lost at sea.
    Show book
  • Yesterday's Murder - cover

    Yesterday's Murder

    Craig Rice

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the author of the John J. Malone Mysteries: An estranged relative becomes heir to a Chesapeake Bay fortune—and his family’s ghostly history.   If it hadn’t been for his great-uncle Philip, David Telefair would’ve grown up unwanted, forlorn, and poverty stricken in a New England parsonage. But for twenty years, David’s generous benefactor paid for his education, yearly summer camps, living expenses as he grew older, and any amenities he ever needed. Odd that David had never spoken to him in his entire life. Odder still that after all this time, the aging Philip has now extended an invitation for David to meet him at his isolated estate on Telefair Island in the Chesapeake.   From the moment David arrives, something feels . . . off. First was the local minister’s daughter’s queer way of describing David’s visit: inevitable; then the unaccountable loathing in the eyes of a Telefair servant; and finally a perilously pale female cousin who welcomes David with a warning: “You ought never to have come.” This is less a family reunion than an ingeniously designed trap of murder, madness, and nasty family secrets.   This stand-alone novel by Craig Rice, the first mystery writer ever to appear on the cover of Time magazine, is “an incredible tale . . . where ghosts still pull the strings of human lives, where revenge and hate outlast a generation and punishment is insidiously prolonged . . . a haunting sense of impending gloom” (Kirkus Reviews).  
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book
  • Edwina Currie - Diaries 1992-1997 - cover

    Edwina Currie - Diaries 1992-1997

    Edwina Currie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Never far from centre stage, Edwina Currie falls comfortably into that category of celebrity you simply cannot ignore. Her first published diaries explosively revealed an affair with former Prime Minister John Major. This second volume, which begins in 1992 with her refusal to serve in Major's government, is no less revelatory about her colleagues, encounters with others in the public eye and, of course, her extraordinary career. Honest, compulsive and of the moment, this collection covers her life in Parliament up to the election of Blair's Labour government, but more importantly sees Edwina's emergence as a mainstay in the public imagination, first as a bestselling author, then as a commentator, broadcaster, presenter and performer. Shot through with her trademark effervescence and sense of fun, this volume of diaries documents one of the biggest characters in British public life at her saucy, scathing best.
    Show book
  • Deadly Sins: Sloth Sloane Monroe Stories #1 - Sloane Monroe Series #15 - cover

    Deadly Sins: Sloth Sloane Monroe...

    Cheryl Bradshaw

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fed up with her her lazy, unruly neighbor, Mary Pritchard sprints across the street, determined to give Darryl a piece of her mind.  
    She arrives to find he's been shot, the bullet piercing the center of his forehead. He's been executed, and that's not all. A mysterious woman is sprawled out on the floor in Darryl's hallway. She's dead too. Who is the woman? Why is she there? And why have they both been murdered? 
    If you enjoy the twists and turns of a good suspense story, the Deadly Sins series will thrill you.  
    The Deadly Sins stories series a part of Cheryl Bradshaw's New York Times bestselling mystery series.  
    "Full of surprises!"  
    "Many twists and turns."  
    "Kept my attention the entire time."
    Show book
  • When It Grows Dark - cover

    When It Grows Dark

    Jorn Lier Horst

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Stavern 1983: Christmas is approaching, snow is falling heavily, and a young ambitious policeman named William Wisting has just become the father of twins. After a brutal robbery he is edged off the investigation by more experienced officers, but soon he is on another case that is not only unsolved but has not even been recognised as murder. Forgotten in a dilapidated barn stands a bullet riddled old car, and it looks as if the driver did not get out alive. This case will shape William Wisting as a policeman and give him insight that he will carry with him for the rest of his professional career: generations form an unbroken chain.
    Show book