Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Selfish Genie - cover

The Selfish Genie

Mokokoma Mokhonoana

Publisher: Sekoala Publishing Company (Pty) Ltd

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Have you ever thanked someone for helping you—or for saying something useful or nice to or about you? If so, you shouldn’t have. With this funny yet extremely thought-provoking essay, Mokokoma Mokhonoana scrutinizes the principle and the practice of selflessness, which is, as we all know, also known as altruism. 
 
Don’t get him wrong. He, like most sane human beings, thinks that altruism is a beautiful thing. Having said that, Mokokoma, unlike most sane human beings, thinks that it is humanely impossible to be selfless. As a matter of fact, he strongly believes that human beings are inherently selfish. In other words, he is of the conviction that the primary—and in some cases the only—reason we did every single thing we have done is because we knew that one way or another we were going to derive something we need or want from either the deed or the end result of the deed. 
 
In short, good people are good people primarily, if not only, for their own sake. 
 
As a means to substantiate that controversial conviction, Mokokoma will put a few facets of man's life under the microscope—areas such as our relationships with our friends, those with our family members, those with people with whom we are in a relationship or frequently in bed, the relationship between employees and their employers, and the relationship between believers and God; and, as you have probably presumed after seeing this essay’s cover, he will also put people such as Mahatma Ghandi, Mother Theresa, and Nelson Mandela, under the microscope. 
 
So, if you read the first half of this essay, you are likely to think twice before thanking anyone from then on. And, believe it or not, if you are tolerant enough to read every sentence herein, you are unlikely to ever thank another human being regardless of what they have said to you or what they have done for or to you. 
 
In essence, the main goal of this essay is to destroy the phrase “Thank you!”

Who read this book also read:

  • Discovering Your Center - your natural essence versus your false personality - cover

    Discovering Your Center - your...

    Osho

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The longing to be who we really are…. Osho explains how we became alienated from our own essence, what it means to live in that disconnect, and how to rediscover our authenticity. Osho delivers a lot in one small talk!
    Show book
  • The path to HAPPY - Unlock more energy consciousness and authentic action - cover

    The path to HAPPY - Unlock more...

    Rait Mark

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This series of non-fiction self-discovery is devoted to improving the human experience. 'The path to' series of self-discovery is made up of inspiring and practical guides examining the themes of Happiness, Love, Peace and Purpose (the first four in the series). The series is a carefully researched and uniquely distilled blend of psychology, philosophy, science, spirituality, mindfulness, health and wellbeing and common sense, whilst giving expression to Mark's personal experience and his search for the truest path. 
    Show book
  • Happiness Pleasure Joy Bliss - cover

    Happiness Pleasure Joy Bliss

    Osho

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Happiness, Pleasure, Joy, Bliss are addressed here by Osho and we learn the different levels of development: "Let us start from the lowest because that will be easier to understand, that’s where man biologically is born. Pleasure is physical..."Ordinarily, in the dictionaries you will find bliss defined as happiness, pleasure, joy. Linguistically they all appear to have a similar meaning; existentially it is not so. And you will have to understand the subtle nuances and differences; only then you may be able to catch some hold of the phenomenon called bliss.
    Show book
  • Orgone Shiatsu - cover

    Orgone Shiatsu

    Alvin Avalon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Originating in Japan, Shiatsu is a popular form of holistic massage therapy that combines traditional Chinese five-element theory with the concept of Ki, or life-energy. Shiatsu uses a range of techniques to facilitate the flow of Ki through the body, resulting in a deep sense of wellbeing and relaxation. This short ebook presents an alternative form of Shiatsu, based around the esoteric concept of Orgone energy in place of Ki, and using the familiar four elements of Earth, Air, Fire and Water in place of the Chinese elements. Orgone Shiatsu is specifically designed to give modern women the kind of vigorous stimulation and fulfilling release they need after a stressful day at work.
    Show book
  • 6 Weeks to a Hollywood Body - Look Fit and Feel Fabulous with the Secrets of the Stars - cover

    6 Weeks to a Hollywood Body -...

    Steve Zim

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    As featured in SELF and on Weekend Today"Steve Zim's plan helped me drop my body fat more quickly than with any other program I've ever tried. I couldn't be more pleased."--Jessica Biel, star of The IllusionistIn 6 Weeks to a Hollywood Body, the top Hollywood trainer and Weekend Today show fitness expert Steve Zim unlocks the secrets of the stars and shows you how to have a Hollywood body of your own. Want to add shape and strength to your legs? Have a great butt? Make your back and arms stronger and leaner? Develop an amazing chest or breasts? After you've completed the easy-to-follow Hollywood Body program in six short weeks, you'll be runway ready for your grand entrance and you'll look amazing and feel healthier and happier than ever before. In this book, Steve Zim reveals the three keys to his Hollywood Body system:HOLLYWOOD NUTRITION: The easy and effective Hollywood Body way to supercharge your metabolism with protein, good carbs, and good fatsHOLLYWOOD HEART: Ramp up your cardio health and melt away fat and inches the Hollywood Body wayHOLLYWOOD SCULPT: A revolutionary set of all-new Hollywood Body exercises designed to sculpt and reshape your musclesThis proven program works no matter what your body type is. So get started--your Hollywood body awaits you!
    Show book
  • NeuroWisdom - The New Brain Science of Money Happiness and Success - cover

    NeuroWisdom - The New Brain...

    Mark Robert Waldman, PhD Manning

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for readers of How God Changes Your Brain, two researchers present over thirty brain exercises to help readers generate happiness and success, in business and in life.
    
    
    ”This remarkable book translates state-of-the art neuroscience into practical techniques that rapidly promote personal transformation. If you want to double your happiness and your income, start using these powerful brain-changing exercises today!” ―John Assaraf, New York Times bestselling author and CEO of NeuroGym
    
    Adapted from a business school course they created for professionals, bestselling author Mark Waldman and Chris Manning present simple brain exercises, based on the latest neuroscience research, to guide readers to improvement in all parts of life, from work to home, from how we think to how we feel. 
    
    Their promise is to help people create more "wealth" in their lives, defined as the combination of money, happiness, and success. Using the latest research studied by two experts in their field, the book presents both the scientific background and sets of “NeuroWisdom” exercises that will help people reduce neurological stress and increase happiness, motivation, and productivity. The “worry” centers of the brain are turned off and the optimism circuits are turned on. Work becomes more pleasurable and creativity is increased, enabling the brain to anticipate and solve problems more efficiently.
    
    From the cutting edge of brain science to real-world solutions, these exercises help readers gain the wisdom that leads to greater fulfillment.
    Show book