Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Last Falcon - The Cael Stone #1 - cover

The Last Falcon - The Cael Stone #1

Colleen Ruttan

Publisher: Colleen Ruttan

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Is it possible for a single falcon to save a kingdom? 
Erynn Taylor was fourteen the day she witnessed the random and brutal murder of her father. She should have died that day too, alone on a forest road in a kingdom that was not her own, but a reclusive golden dragon swooped down upon the scene—scattering her attackers and sparing her life, but ultimately denying her justice. 
Two years later, her father’s killer reappears—riding boldly into her kingdom for a visit with her king. But her elation at the nearness of justice turns to anger and then fear as she learns there is more to his visit than meets the eye—a conspiracy that threatens the entire kingdom and just might bring her the death she so narrowly avoided. 
Fleeing the castle where she has lived ever since her father’s murder, and soon becoming the subject of a kingdom-wide manhunt, Erynn sets out to find the man who holds the key to her past only to discover that her escape will not be so easy. That reclusive golden dragon is back—and following her. There is a fast-flowing river she needs to cross. And then there are those unresolved problems she left behind. 
She wants justice. She also wants to save her kingdom and her king. But does she want either badly enough to die? 
THE LAST FALCON is the first installment of the epic fantasy adventure series THE CAEL STONE. It was awarded a starred review from Publishers Weekly, and has been listed on the Kirkus Reviews website as a “similar book” to GAME OF THRONES. If you like fast-paced, quest-adventure stories that are also brimming with mystery and political intrigue and set in a world filled with dragons, elves, and dwarves, then you will love this series from Colleen Ruttan. 
Download THE LAST FALCON and get started on your adventure with Erynn today!

Who read this book also read:

  • Period 8 - cover

    Period 8

    Chris Crutcher

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In this terrifying and provocative novel by the bestselling and award-winning author of Deadline and Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes, a teenage boy tries to uncover what happened to a girl who has vanished from his high school. Was she abducted, or did she run for her life? 
    Paul "The Bomb" Baum tells the truth. No matter what. It was something he learned at Sunday school. But telling the truth can cause problems, and not just minor ones. And as Paulie discovers, finding the truth can be even more problematic. Period 8 is supposed to be that one period in high school where the truth can shine, a safe haven. Only what Paulie and Hannah (his ex-girlfriend, unfortunately) and his other classmates don't know is that the ultimate liar is in their midst. Terrifying, thought-provoking, and original, this novel combines all the qualities of a great psychological thriller with the controversy, ethics, athletics, humor, and raw emotion of a classic Crutcher story.
    Show book
  • Five Children and It - cover

    Five Children and It

    E. Nesbit

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this classic tale of adventure and wish fulfillment, five city kids find the countryside to be filled with magic and wonder  Be careful what you wish for.   After two years cooped up in London, Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane, and their baby brother, “the Lamb,” are thrilled to be living in the country. The best thing about their new home is that there are no rules, no places that are off limits. One day while playing in a gravel pit, they uncover a fat, furry creature that has been asleep for thousands of years. The Sand-fairy, also known as It, grants them one wish a day, to be shared among them. At sunset, the wish will turn to stone.   But every wish brings a disastrous result. When the children wish to be beautiful, no one recognizes them. When they wish to be rich, their gold doesn’t buy them anything. When they wish to be able to fly, they end up stuck on top of a church tower with no way to get down. Other wishes lead to a confrontation with Indians, a scuffle with kidnappers, and accusations of thievery. When the children beg the Sand-fairy for more wishes to set things right, It agrees—on the condition that they never ask for another wish again.   E. Nesbit’s pioneering fantasy novel continues to delight new generations of young readers.   This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
    Show book
  • Bright Before Sunrise - cover

    Bright Before Sunrise

    Tiffany Schmidt

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Jonah and Brighton are about to have the most awkwardly awful night of their lives. For Jonah, every aspect of his new life reminds him of what he has had to give up. All he wants is to be left alone. Brighton is popular, pretty, and always there to help anyone . . . but has no idea of what she wants for herself. Her seemingly perfect life is marred only by Jonah, the one person who won't give her the time of day, but also makes her feel, well, something. So when they are repeatedly thrown together over the course of one night, anything can-and does-happen. Told in alternating chapters, this poignant, beautiful novel's energy and tension, amidst the humor and romance, builds to a new beginning of self-acceptance and hope.
    Show book
  • Ironman - cover

    Ironman

    Chris Crutcher

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Bo Brewster has been at war with his father for as long as he can remember. Following angry outbursts at his football coach and English teacher that have cost him his spot on the football team and moved him dangerously close to expulsion from school, he turns to the only adult he believes will listen: Larry King. 
    In his letters to Larry, Bo describes his quest for excellence on his own terms. No more coaches for me, he tells the talk show icon, no more dads. I'm going to be a triathlete, an Ironman. 
    Relegated to Mr. Nak's before-school Anger Management group (which he initially believes to be populated with future serial killers and freeway snipers), Bo meets a hard-edged, down-on-their-luck pack of survivors with stainless steel shields against the world that Bo comes to see are not so different from his own. It is here he meets and falls in love with Shelly, a future American Gladiator, whose passion for physical challenge more than matches his. 
    Ironman is a funny, sometimes heartbreaking story about growing up in the heart of struggle. It is about standing up, getting knocked down, and standing up again. It is about being heard--and learning to listen.
    Show book
  • Angelfire - cover

    Angelfire

    Courtney Allison Moulton

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    First there are nightmares.  
    Every night Ellie is haunted by terrifying dreams of monstrous creatures that are hunting her, killing her. 
    Then come the memories.  
    When Ellie meets Will, she feels on the verge of remembering something just beyond her grasp. His attention is intense and romantic, and Ellie feels like her soul has known him for centuries. On her seventeenth birthday, on a dark street at midnight, Will awakens Ellie's power, and she knows that she can fight the creatures that stalk her in the grim darkness. Only Will holds the key to Ellie's memories, whole lifetimes of them, and when she looks at him, she can no longer pretend anything was just a dream. 
    Now she must hunt. 
    Ellie has power that no one can match, and her role is to hunt and kill the reapers that prey on human souls. But in order to survive the dangerous and ancient battle of the angels and the Fallen, she must also hunt for the secrets of her past lives and truths that may be too frightening to remember.
    Show book
  • Better Than Perfect - cover

    Better Than Perfect

    Melissa Kantor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the acclaimed author of Maybe One Day, Melissa Kantor, comes a poignant coming-of-age story that skillfully captures the singular experience of being a teenage girl. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen. 
    Juliet Newman has it all. A picture-perfect family; a handsome, loving boyfriend; and a foolproof life plan: ace her SATs, get accepted into Harvard early decision, and live happily ever after. 
    But when her dad moves out and her mom loses it, Juliet begins questioning the rules she's always lived by. And to make everything even more complicated there's Declan, the gorgeous boy who makes her feel alive and spontaneous—and who's totally off-limits. Torn between the life she always thought she wanted and one she never knew was possible, Juliet begins to wonder: What if perfect isn't all it's cracked up to be?
    Show book