Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Last Falcon - The Cael Stone - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Last Falcon - The Cael Stone

Colleen Ruttan

Publisher: Colleen Ruttan

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Erynn Taylor was fourteen when she witnessed the brutal murder of her father. She should be dead, too, she knew that. But a reclusive golden dragon swooped down upon the scene—scattering her attackers and sparing her life, but ultimately denying her justice. 
Two years later, Erynn's attackers ride boldly into her kingdom for a visit with her king. But her elation at the nearness of justice turns to anger and then fear as she learns there is more to this visit than meets the eye—a conspiracy that threatens the entire kingdom—and that it just might bring her the death she so narrowly avoided. Erynn wants justice…but does she want it badly enough to die 
When the mystery of her own past makes her a target, Erynn flees the castle where she has lived since her father's murder—setting off a manhunt that can only end in bloodshed. The question is, whose blood will be spilled?

Other books that might interest you

  • Vampire Granny and Other Surprising Stories - cover

    Vampire Granny and Other...

    Lura Dymond

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Meet the entertaining characters of this short story collection and follow them on their action-filled adventures. The dozen stories are contemporary science fiction with a twist, except for the last one. Granny Evans is a sweet old lady who bakes cookies and babysits. None of her neighbors know that she was made a vampire more than 175 years ago in New Orleans. Then her too-handsome vampire son comes for a visit and wreaks havoc in the neighborhood. Sindra is an initiative in the Cult of the Virgin, using a portal to travel between worlds, when the universe sends her flying in another direction and she ends up at the cookie store in the West Temple Mall. She has to evade an evil flute player and find the arches that will take her home. Janey and Timmy are playing tag across time one Sunday when they become embroiled in the 1381 Peasants Revolt and Janey has a baby named after her in the fourteenth century. As for the story that isn't science fiction? It'll break your heart.
    Show book
  • The Annual Migration of Clouds - cover

    The Annual Migration of Clouds

    Premee Mohamed

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A novella set in post–climate disaster Alberta; a woman infected with a mysterious parasite must choose whether to pursue a rare opportunity far from home or stay and help rebuild her community
    		 
    The world is nothing like it once was: climate disasters have wracked the continent, causing food shortages, ending industry, and leaving little behind. Then came Cad, mysterious mind-altering fungi that invade the bodies of the now scattered citizenry. Reid, a young woman who carries this parasite, has been given a chance to get away — to move to one of the last remnants of pre-disaster society — but she can’t bring herself to abandon her mother and the community that relies on her. When she’s offered a coveted place on a dangerous and profitable mission, she jumps at the opportunity to set her family up for life, but how can Reid ask people to put their trust in her when she can’t even trust her own mind?
    		 
    With keen insight and biting prose, Premee Mohamed delivers a deeply personal tale in this post-apocalyptic hopepunk novella that reflects on the meaning of community and asks what we owe to those who have lifted us up.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • The House of Untold Stories - 50 Unexpected Tales - cover

    The House of Untold Stories - 50...

    Peter Chiykowski

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    An orphanage for wayward stories. A labyrinth of secrets. A home on the border of reality…Open each door to find a world of magic and menace waiting for you, if you dare. In The House of Untold Stories, every page is a door, and every door leads to a new tale of heartbreak, triumph, horror, or imagination. Wander into an enchanted mansion of pocket universes and miniature tales, where each door leads to a micro-fiction story. With tales about anger thieves, a deadly pizza delivery service, haunted music boxes, and more, each room will take you on an unexpected journey.
    Show book
  • Aether Ones - cover

    Aether Ones

    Wendi Coffman-Porter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A science fiction mystery with political upheaval and dangerous secrets. It’s got a kick-butt female lead and lots of really neat alien races.” —The Bookwyrm’s Den 
     
    Long ago, the Great Sundering ripped the universe apart, creating two separate realities. The kuldain realm developed advanced technology, and its inhabitants travel the universe on massive ships to colonize and expand their empire. The aether realm, meanwhile, harnessed the magic of the massively powerful eldrich energy that connects everything within their realm. 
     
    Now, a tentative peace reigns between the two realms, maintained by a treaty and by the Imperial Investigative Service—a force designed to monitor interactions between the realms and ensure that most kuldain inhabitants don’t even know aether space exists. 
     
    Leilani Falconi, a talented agent of the IIS, polices the galaxy with quick sarcasm and a quicker temper. When a series of suspicious deaths in kuldain space threatens the secrecy and peace, Lei must solve the mystery—fast—before both her realities change forever. 
     
    “Impressive and original world building . . . an entertaining read and a book which transported me to a fascinating and vivid universe.” —Facing the Story 
     
    “Aether Ones with its incredible protagonist and refreshing take on a science fiction slash fantasy genre is a very engaging, fast-paced read.” —Lili’s Blissful Pages
    Show book
  • Frostgrave: Dark Alchemy - cover

    Frostgrave: Dark Alchemy

    Joseph A. McCullough

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dark Alchemy is an ebook only mini-expansion for Frostgrave that includes a three-scenario campaign which can be played by either solo by one player or by two players working co-operatively. It also includes an expanded potions table, with numerous new magical elixirs, as well as new rules for the buying, selling, and creation of potions.
    Show book