Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Evolved - cover

Evolved

Matthew McKay

Publisher: Big G Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In a futuristic society where silicon-based and organic life forms commingle seamlessly, society’s government has been scientifically managing evolution to produce individuals with extraordinary cerebral prowess. The government’s ultimate goal is to use these “evolved” subjects’ super-brains to find a way to survive the impending, apocalyptic depletion of available energy sources. When the project’s last successful subject – unwitting, fourteen year-old Amos Hare -- is birthed to join the mission, he uncovers a corrupt government seeking immortality for its own members at the price of destroying all other life forms. Through a friendship with his emotional handler, Sarah, assigned to help him acclimate to life on the ship, Amos also discovers the bonds of human love.  While working together to solve the mystery of Pregnant Time, a tense struggle erupts between good and evil, silicon and flesh. Amos and Sarah must choose between physical salvation and spiritual depth -- abandoned by humanity long ago.

Other books that might interest you

  • Resonance - cover

    Resonance

    P.E. Padilla

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The master revealed…the end in sight.
     
    Ayim Rasaad is dead, the threat apparently ended. After all the battles, all the death, all the heartache, Sam and the other heroes of Gythe thought they had finally won.
     
    They were wrong.
     
    Somehow, Rasaad’s master pilfered the two artifacts of power his apprentice had found. Only one remains hidden. When the three are united, magical might as had not been known for ages will be at the user’s fingertips.
     
    Sam Sharp intends to be the one to obtain the last object, stopping his mysterious enemy once and for all.
     
    All he needs to do is find the missing item that has been hidden for millennia, destroy the army trying to crush everything good in the world, and defeat a villain who may or may not be the most renowned Zouyim master who ever lived.
     
    Get the final book in the Harmonic Magic trilogy and experience the struggle, the danger, the liberation of Gythe…or its destruction.
    Show book
  • The Everafter Wish - cover

    The Everafter Wish

    Rachel Morgan

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: Fae, vampires, shifters, and a Godmother who’ll grant you any wish—if you pay the price.
     
    Armed with knowledge that could change everything for humankind, Elle must confront the king.
     
    But it's the Godmother who now poses the greatest threat. Can Elle and Dex stop her from taking control of the kingdom?
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    This is episode 6 of 6 of a SERIALIZED Cinderella retelling. It is not novel-length. Approximately 29,000 words or 130 print pages.
     
    **Prefer to binge-read all the episodes together? Look for City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story**
     
    ~ ~ ~
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is human, bound to her stepmother by a slave charm. Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it. But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep. Is Elle willing to pay it?
    Show book
  • City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story - cover

    City of Wishes: The Complete...

    Rachel Morgan

    • 6
    • 36
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: A human slave, a fae prince, and a Godmother who’ll grant any wish—if you pay the price.
     
     
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where magic is real and wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is on society's bottommost rung: she's human.
     
    To make matters worse, she's also a slave, bound to her stepmother by magic.
     
    Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it.
     
    But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep.
     
    Elle has never been desperate enough to summon her.
     
    Until now.
     
     
     
    This collection includes all 6 episodes in the CITY OF WISHES Cinderella retelling:
     
    1. The Memory Thief
     
    2. The Vampire Trap
     
    3. The Moonlight Masquerade
     
    4. The Eternal Night
     
    5. The Starlight Quest
     
    6. The Everafter Wish
    Show book
  • Wait for Dusk - The Fifth Dark Days Novel - cover

    Wait for Dusk - The Fifth Dark...

    Jocelynn Drake

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “A must-read addition to the urban fantasy genre, filled both with action and satisfying characters.”—Kim Harrison “Jocelynn Drake will have you coming back for more.”—Jeaniene Frost Vampire enforcer Mira must thwart the malevolent schemes of an ancient coven in the fifth action-packed Dark Days novel from New York Times bestselling author Jocelynn Drake. Wait for Dusk is gripping, stellar urban fantasy in the vein of Kim Harrison and Vicki Pettersson, with enough sensual heat to enthrall readers of Christine Feehan, J. R. Ward, and Jeaniene Frost.
    Show book
  • Through a Dark Glass - cover

    Through a Dark Glass

    Barb Hendee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tale of castles and assassins, ambition and envy, toil and desire—and one woman’s three very different lives—from the New York Times–bestselling author.   On her seventeenth birthday, Megan of Chaumont discovers she’ll be sold as a bride to the brutish Volodane family—within hours. Her father grants only that she may choose which one of the ruthless, grasping lord’s three sons she weds: There’s Rolf, the eldest, who is stern, ambitious, and loyal; Sebastian, the second son, is sympathetic, sly, and rebellious; or Kai, the youngest, who is bitter, brooding, and proud.   As shy, horrified Megan flees the welcome dinner for her in-laws-to-be, she finds an enchanted mirror that will display how her life unrolls with each man, as if she were living it out in a breath. But there is no smooth “happily ever after” in her choices.   Deaths and honors, joys and agonies, intrigues and escapes await her in a remote, ramshackle keep, where these rough but complex men reveal one side and then another of their jagged characters—and bring out new aspects of Megan, too. But the decisions of one teenaged marriage-pawn reverberate much farther than any of them have could have guessed . . .   “Evokes the medieval world of poetry and images we have seen in the paintings of Bourne-Jones and Millais as well as the poetry of the Pre-Raphaelites. It is a world of great beauty, difficult choices, and uncertain endings that Ms. Hendee evokes with skill.” —Kings River Life Magazine
    Show book
  • The Faking of the President - Nineteen Stories of White House Noir - cover

    The Faking of the President -...

    Peter Carlaftes

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Follows similar content and marketing model of The Obama Inheritance, which received prominent national media coverage
    Inclusive collection, with a focus on stories by diverse authors 
    Release date is timed to coincide with election frenzy and the need to have a humorous perspective on politics
    Extensive ARC distribution planned with extra marketing focus on national media outlets including NPR, New York Times, Vanity Fair, Atlantic, Entertainment Weekly, and more.
    A unique act of creative resistance, with quality writing that will resonate long beyond the current era.
    Show book