Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Evolved - cover

Evolved

Matthew McKay

Publisher: Big G Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In a futuristic society where silicon-based and organic life forms commingle seamlessly, society’s government has been scientifically managing evolution to produce individuals with extraordinary cerebral prowess. The government’s ultimate goal is to use these “evolved” subjects’ super-brains to find a way to survive the impending, apocalyptic depletion of available energy sources. When the project’s last successful subject – unwitting, fourteen year-old Amos Hare -- is birthed to join the mission, he uncovers a corrupt government seeking immortality for its own members at the price of destroying all other life forms. Through a friendship with his emotional handler, Sarah, assigned to help him acclimate to life on the ship, Amos also discovers the bonds of human love.  While working together to solve the mystery of Pregnant Time, a tense struggle erupts between good and evil, silicon and flesh. Amos and Sarah must choose between physical salvation and spiritual depth -- abandoned by humanity long ago.

Other books that might interest you

  • Paranormal Shifter Romance Sons of the Oracle Box Set BBW Dragon Shifter Paranormal Romance - cover

    Paranormal Shifter Romance Sons...

    Diane Hills

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    5 HOT and SEXY Dragon Romances At The Incredible Price Of $0.99 For A Limited Time! 
    Watched Over by Dragons 
    Ruled Over by Dragons 
    Fought Over by Dragons 
    Lusted Over by Dragons 
    The Dragons' Daughter 
    For fans of Milly Taiden and T.S. Joyce stories! 
    Each book in the Sons of the Oracle series can be read as a standalone and has a guaranteed HEA, no cliffhanger!
    Show book
  • Greenwood Cove - Sunshine Walkingstick #1 - cover

    Greenwood Cove - Sunshine...

    Celia Roman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I had three loves in my life: my daddy, him what my mama killed in cold blood; my son Henry, God rest him; and tall as an oak Riley Treadwell. 
     
    I lost all of 'em, one way or t'other, 'til Riley showed up on my stoop with a monster problem and tried to wiggle his way back into my life. 
     
    Only, weren't no monster bothering him; was the one bothering his ex-girlfriend what'd stirred up a hornet's nest out on Lake Burton amongst the muckity mucks. Weren't no never mind to me, see? I was fine letting well enough alone, 'cept curiosity got the best of me, and Riley, well. He weren't above using that silver tongue of his to persuade me 'round to his way of thinking. If I'da listened to my gut, maybe I woulda avoided stepping knee deep into somebody else's trouble. 
     
    Then again, I ain't never been one to heed a warning when monsters come a-calling. 
     
    Author's Note: Greenwood Cove was written in the native dialect of the narrator, found in the rural areas of the Southern Appalachians. The grammar, spelling, and syntax are not standardized American English.
    Show book
  • Foxblood: The Trilogy - cover

    Foxblood: The Trilogy

    Raquel Lyon

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Containing all three books in the Foxblood trilogy.
    
    
    
     
    A Brush with the Moon
    
     
    One incident can change your life. For Sophie, it was the day the fox attacked her.
    
     
    All Sophie ever wanted was a way out. Only a few weeks ago, she was a quiet art student with an overbearing mother and no higher dream than starting university and reuniting with her BFF, but destiny intervenes in the form of a fox bite.
    
     
    If being attacked by a rabid animal isn’t freaky enough, her new town has secrets. People are dying, and Sophie feels she is being watched. Then there’s the arrogant and annoyingly sexy Sebastian with his plummy accent and come-to-bed eyes creeping her out. She should stay well away, but then he does live in the spooky manor house, and curiosity is her middle name.
    
    
    
     
    Rise of the Hellion
    
     
    Something’s stalking Sophie—and it’s not just her boyfriend’s cute cousin!
    
     
    Pulled from a life of obscurity and chosen to take over from a dying goddess, Sophie is thrown into a world where the supernatural is normal and the humans are oblivious.
    
     
    Without meaning to, Sophie is making enemies, and as corpses mount, she fears for the people she cares for, but when someone she loves is accused of the killings, Sophie is convinced it can’t be true and sets out to prove their innocence.
    
    
    
     
    Fall from Grace
    
     
    Girl or goddess? Sophie has a decision to make.
    
     
    With the supernatural world in a state of unrest and her feelings for Connor intensifying, Sophie’s life is out of control, and she needs to get it back on track. But no matter how hard she tries, her desire to do what is right is faltering.
    
     
    Life is complicated.
    
     
    Is the chance of happiness really worth destroying her future?
    
     
    One thing is certain. To fulfil her destiny, she must leave behind everything she loves.
    
    
    
     
    This book was written, produced, and edited in the UK, where some spelling, grammar, and word usage will vary from US English.
    Show book
  • Lilith's Brood - The Complete Xenogenesis Trilogy - cover

    Lilith's Brood - The Complete...

    Octavia E. Butler

    • 0
    • 30
    • 0
    Three novels in one volume: the acclaimed science fiction trilogy about an alien species that could save humanity after nuclear apocalypse—or destroy it. The newest stage in human evolution begins in outer space. Survivors of a cataclysmic nuclear war awake to find themselves being studied by the Oankali, tentacle-covered galactic travelers whose benevolent appearance hides their surprising plan for the future of mankind. The Oankali arrive not just to save humanity, but to bond with it—crossbreeding to form a hybrid species that can survive in the place of its human forebears, who were so intent on self-destruction. Some people resist, forming pocket communities of purebred rebellion, but many realize they have no choice. The human species inevitably expands into something stranger, stronger, and undeniably alien. From Hugo and Nebula award–winning author Octavia Butler, Lilith’s Brood is both a thrilling, epic adventure of man’s struggle to survive after Earth’s destruction, and a provocative meditation on what it means to be human.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Octavia E. Butler including rare images from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • Stopping Time - Kerrigan Chronicles #1 - cover

    Stopping Time - Kerrigan...

    W.J. May

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    USA Today Bestselling author, W.J. May brings you a continuation of the international bestselling series, The Chronicles of Kerrigan! Come back and enjoy the famous characters, or step into the series right here. You won't be disappointed! 
    How can you save the future, when someone's slowly unraveling your past? 
    Rae Kerrigan and her friends finally have the lives they've always wanted. Jobs, children, security, no super villains trying to destroy the world—things are about as normal as they can get for a band of superspies. But when someone jumps back into the past and starts messing with their future—everything they've worked so hard to build goes up in smoke. 
    To save their future, the Kerrigan gang must travel back into the past. Using her father's tatu, Rae and the others embark upon a wild time-hopping goose chase as they try to track down this latest threat before things are broken beyond repair. 
    Will they stop the time traveler before things are too late? Can they manage not to lose themselves in the process? More importantly… 
    …how far down the rabbit hole are they willing to go? 
    Kerrigan Chronicles 
    Stopping Time 
    Passage of Time 
    Ticking Clock 
    READ THE WHOLE SERIES: 
    Prequel Series: 
    Christmas Before the Magic 
    Question the Darkness 
    Into the Darkness 
    Fight the Darkness 
    Alone in the Darkness 
    Lost in Darkness 
    The Chronicles of Kerrigan Series 
    Rae of Hope 
    Dark Nebula 
    House of Cards 
    Royal Tea 
    Under Fire 
    End in Sight 
    Hidden Darkness 
    Twisted Together 
    Mark of Fate 
    Strength & Power 
    Last One Standing 
    Rae of Light 
    The Chronicles of Kerrigan Sequel 
    A Matter of Time 
    Time Piece 
    Second Chance 
    Glitch in Time 
    Our Time 
    Precious Time 
    The Chronicles of Kerrigan: Gabriel 
    Living in the Past 
    Present for Today 
    Staring at the Future 
    Kerrigan Chronicles 
    Stopping Time, A Passage of Time, Ticking Clock
    Show book
  • Beyond: Time - cover

    Beyond: Time

    Scott Overton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three thrilling tales that transcend time:
    
    
    
     
    The Long Commute
    
     
    Shon Howard and others like him go to work every day to reverse the
    ravages of climate change, pollution, and other evils. His daughter’s life
    depends on it. Because in Shon’s world, mistakes of past centuries can be
    corrected by visiting key moments in time. As long as he doesn’t get caught.
    
     
    A Taste Of Time
    
     
    Gabby Dufour hates the blueberries that grow over the site of her home
    town, destroyed in a fire decades ago. Then young berry-loving Amanda comes to
    visit, with inexplicable knowledge about the town, and Gabby is forced to
    wonder if there’s more to blueberries than meets the tongue. (First published
    in On Spec #88 vol 24 no 1, August 2014.)
    
     
    Hurricane
    
     
    The crew of a Hurricane Hunter aircraft is assigned to monitor an
    experiment designed to collect the awesome energy of a powerful storm. When the
    project succeeds too well, nowhere is beyond its destructive reach.
    
    
    
     
    Praise
    for Scott Overton:
    
     
    “A storyteller of boundless skill…a writer
    to watch.”
    
     
    “A gifted wordsmith.”
    Show book