Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Shot in Cherry Hills - Cozy Cat Caper Mystery #5 - cover

Shot in Cherry Hills - Cozy Cat Caper Mystery #5

Paige Sleuth

Publisher: Marla Bradeen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

What starts off as a foster dog wellness check turns into a nightmare when Kat Harper discovers a dead body. But who would want to murder Eric Halstead? Kat's not sure, but Eric's orphaned tuxedo cat just might lead her to the killer.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Egyptian Cross Mystery - cover

    The Egyptian Cross Mystery

    Ellery Queen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Queens are intrigued when a grisly murder mars a small town’s Christmas 
    It’s Christmas in Chicago, and Inspector Richard Queen is enjoying a busman’s holiday at a conference on gangland violence—but his son, amateur sleuth Ellery, isbored silly. Until, that is, Ellery reads of an unusual killing in rural Arroyo, West Virginia: A schoolmaster has been found beheaded and crucified. Ellery hustles his father into his roadster and heads east, since there is nothing he’d like better for Christmas than a juicy, gruesome puzzle. When the Queens arrive in Arroyo, they learn that the victim was an eccentric atheist, but not the sort to make enemies. What initially looks to be the work of a sadistic cult turns out to be something far more sinister. In the months ahead, more victims will turn up all over the world—all killed in the same horrifying manner. It will take several bodies before Queen divines the clue that unlocks the mystery of the Christmas crucifixion.
    Show book
  • The Missing Year of Juan Salvatierra - cover

    The Missing Year of Juan...

    Pedro Mairal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The New Republic Best Books of 2013 and World Literature Today Best Books of 2013. 
    "A simple mystery constructed very cleverly ... an atmospheric and understated book with vivid settings and characters, a true delight to read."–10 Best Books Shorter than 150 Pages, Publishers Weekly 
    "Mairal's quickening prose moves from the ordinary to the opulent . . . without skipping a beat."—Jed Perl, The New Republic 
    "Mairal isn't your old college literature professor's idea of an Argentine novelist."—Los Angeles Times 
    "Affirms Pedro Mairal's stature as one of the most significant Argentine writers working today."—David Leavitt, author of The Two Hotel Francforts 
    At age nine, Juan Salvatierra became mute following a horse riding accident. At twenty, he began secretly painting a series of long rolls of canvas, minutely detailing six decades of life in his village on Argentina's river frontier with Uruguay. After the death of Salvatierra, his sons return to the village from Buenos Aires to deal with their inheritance: a shed packed with canvases stretching over two miles in length, depicting personal and communal history. Museum curators come calling to acquire this strange, gargantuan artwork but an essential one of its rolls is missing. A search that illuminates the links between art and life ensues, as an intrigue of family secrets buried in the past cast their shadows on the present. 
    Pedro Mairal, born in Buenos Aires in 1970, is one of the most exciting Argentine novelists of his generation. In 2007 he was included in the Bogotá 39, which named the best Latin American authors.
    Show book
  • Spectrum - cover

    Spectrum

    Alan Jacobson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    FBI profiler Karen Vail is haunted by a serial killer from her rookie days in a “pulse-pounding” thriller by a USA Today bestselling author (Providence Journal). New York City: home to world-renowned museums, theater, restaurants, iconic sports franchises. Central Park. Wall Street. And an infamous serial killer who’s terrorized the Big Apple for decades. The year is 1995 and the NYPD has just graduated a promising new patrol officer named Karen Vail. The rookie’s first day on the job is anything but easy when she finds herself at the crime scene of a young woman murdered in an unusual manner. Vail is unsure of what she’s looking at or what it means—but it’s a case that will weigh on her mind for nearly twenty years. As the years pass, Vail’s career takes unexpected twists and turns—as does the case that’s come to be known as Hades. Now a skilled FBI profiler, will Vail be in a better position to catch the killer? Or will Hades prove to be Karen Vail’s hell on earth? The character who has captivated readers worldwide—and who won the praise of literary giants Michael Connelly, James Patterson, and Nelson DeMille—returns in a story that captures the experiences that shaped the revered profiler and made her the top cop she is today.
    Show book
  • Flawless Dreams - Dreams and Reality #12 - cover

    Flawless Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Four months ago, the branch of the federal government that enforces the Serial Killer & Mass Murder laws was attacked.  It was organized and used every ruthless killer that could be scrounged up to carry it out.  Aislinn Cain and the SCTU lead the charge to take back their neighborhood and the Fortress.   
    They succeeded, but at high costs to law enforcements and civilians.  It left Kansas City and the government reeling.  Backlash was immediate and harsh.  The Violent Crimes Unit of the FBI was disbanded, leaving Malachi Blake and Caleb Green without jobs.  Aislinn Cain was suspended for three months.  However, the worst part was that most of the killers involved escaped. 
    When piles of bones begin turning up in public parks around Kansas City, nobody wants to deal with such a blatant statement that a serial killer is stalking their backyards.  He’s organized and arranges to the bones to shock anyone that might find them.  He wants everyone to read the stories that the bones tell about his victims. 
    With all the turmoil, Aislinn Cain’s suspension is lifted so that she can lead her own unit to track this home town serial killer.  Most of her team are in training.  They are the beginnings of a second SCT unit.  They must move quickly though because this killer has been at it for years and has suddenly accelerated his killing pace. 
    Just as Aislinn thinks things can’t get any worse, a mystery man shows up.  He brings violence and death with him.  Her unwanted stalker is willing to kill for her, but she doesn’t know who he is or why.  Until she gets a single clue and realizes the past of one SCTU member could force them to stop investigating the bone cleaner and start a frantic search for a far darker serial killer. 
    Show book
  • Angel's Tip - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Angel's Tip - A Novel of Suspense

    Alafair Burke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Angel’s Tip is a riveting read that snaps with the beat of New York….A knuckle-biting journey that’ll keep you turning pages until the very end.”—Faye Kellerman, bestselling author of the Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus novels 
    “Alafair Burke has created a winning heroine in Ellie Hatcher, someone to root for.”—Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road 
    “Complex plotting, multi-layered characters, a creepy serial killer—in Angel’s Tip, Burke has once again proven herself a terrific storyteller.”—Sandra Brown, bestselling author of Lethal 
    Acclaimed thriller writer Alafair Burke delves into the underworld of the Manhattan nightclub scene in Angel’s Tip. Burke is the daughter of crime fiction superstar James Lee Burke, creator of Cajun detective Dave Robicheaux, prompting the Fort Worth Star-Telegram to proclaim that “this fast-paced-but-human thriller proves that writing talent is genetic.” A superb crime novel featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher (“a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone” —Boston Globe), Angel’s Tip follows Ellie’s investigation into the murder of a young college student, quite possibly by a member of New York’s young moneyed elite, and fans of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, and Sue Grafton will most definitely want to trail along.
    Show book
  • Others of My Kind - A Novel - cover

    Others of My Kind - A Novel

    James Sallis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    At age eight, Jenny Rowan was abducted and kept for two years in a box beneath her captor's bed. Eventually she escaped and, after living for eighteen months on scraps at the local mall, was put into the foster care system. Suing for emancipation at age sixteen, she became a legal adult. Now she works as a production editor for the local public TV station, and is one of the world's good people. 
       
     One evening she returns home to find a detective waiting for her. Though her records are sealed, he somehow knows her story. He asks if she can help with a young woman who, like her many years before, has been abducted and traumatized. 
       
     Initially hesitant, Jenny decides to get involved, reviving buried memories and setting in motion an unexpected interaction with the president herself. Brilliantly spare and compact as are all of James Sallis's novels, set in a near future of political turmoil, Others of My Kind is a story of how we shape ourselves by what happens to us, and of how the human spirit, whatever horrors it undergoes, will not be put down.
    Show book