Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Anarchist's Girlfriend - cover

The Anarchist's Girlfriend

Susan I. Weinstein

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Anarchist's Girlfriend walks the Bowery in early 1980's New York City and absorbs the atmosphere and emotions of those around her. Her encounters reflect her society—art, politics, business, religion. Inspired by Dostoyevsky's divine "Idiot," the AG is a clairvoyant Brooklyn Go-Go Girl who designs clothes of the future.  
The AG's roommates include her beloved Anarchist, a silkscreen artist, who wants to resolve Ireland's "troubles" with organic food, and nihilistic Sandy, a video vérité switchboard operator. The story also involves the Llama, who's in the religion business, and his employee, Wayne, a deaf mute journalist with a nose for truth. All are involved, as passion and hypocrisy erupt in a cloud of dust. And the AG must save her imperiled city. 
Delightfully retro and powerfully prescient, this novel of ideas satirizes New York's bohemian underground and the America of any time. Character truly becomes destiny and in the end, innocence is not lost but transcended.  
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Pleasuria - cover

    Pleasuria

    John J. Jessop

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    "A ripping good story." —Betsy Ashton, author of the Mad Max Mysteries
      
    Dr. Jason Longfellow is a bored FDA drug reviewer in the midst of a serious midlife crisis. He has a shiny new convertible he can’t fit into, an exasperated wife who thinks he’s lost his mind, three daughters who always side with mom, and with a new PI license he fancies himself a modern-day Jessica Fletcher. What could go wrong? Carpooling to work one morning, Jason gets his first case when his attractive brunette passenger erupts into relentless spontaneous orgasms. Intent on clearing himself of any wrongdoing in the eyes of Mrs. Longfellow, Jason stumbles onto a chain of evidence that leads to CureStuff Pharmaceuticals, a clinical drug trial, and a number of improbably good-looking female suspects. Will Jason resist temptations of the flesh, solve the case and prove once and for all that he is at least as smart as his five-year-old? Or will his clever plans get him murdered . . . by his wife?
    Show book
  • Vanished - cover

    Vanished

    Karen E. Olson

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    Computer hacker Tina Adler heads to Paris, France in search of the truth ? but discovers that someone is close on her trail in this tense and twisting thriller. With a price on her head, computer hacker Tina Adler is determined to stay offline. Only one person knows how to reach her ? and he?s in as much danger as she is.A chance discovery leads Tina to abandon her South Carolina hideaway in search of her old flame, undercover FBI Agent Zeke Chapman. What is Zeke doing in Paris, France? And what is his connection to the disappearance of American college student Ryan Whittier?En route to Paris in search of answers, Tina realizes that someone is on her trail: someone who?s getting disturbingly close. Has she been set up??
    Show book
  • Sabotage in the Secret City - A World War Two mystery set in Tennessee - cover

    Sabotage in the Secret City - A...

    Diane Fanning

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Research chemist-sleuth Libby Clark must uncover the traitor within in this gripping World War II mystery. May 1945. Harry S. Truman has become president, the Allied Forces are closing in on Berlin and the research scientists at the secret facility in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, are doing their bit to bring the war to as swift a conclusion as possible. But does the end justify the means? Libby Clark has mixed feelings about the horror she and her fellow scientists are labouring to unleash on the citizens of Japan – and it seems she’s not the only one to have doubts.A campaign of small acts of sabotage convinces Libby that one of their number is deliberately trying to delay the mission. But when the pranks turn deadly, Libby is forced once again to turn undercover sleuth in order to unmask the traitor within, prevent further deaths and keep the focus on ending World War II.
    Show book
  • The Sinner - cover

    The Sinner

    Petra Hammesfahr

    • 1
    • 59
    • 1
    Hailed as Germany’s Patricia Highsmith, Hammesfahr has written a dark spellbinding novel which stood at the top of the bestseller list for 15 months. It has been reprinted seven times and sold over 600,000 copies at home. Reviews to be expected in the New York Times, Washington Post, Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, web mystery sites as well as the feminine press. Although available in many other languages this is the first time her work is translated into English.
    Show book
  • The Power and the Prince - cover

    The Power and the Prince

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Socialite and ‘professional beauty’, Lady Odele Ashford, is taken aback when her lover, the notorious womaniser Prince Ivan Katinouski, asks her to find him a young bride, who will give him the children he has always wanted, specifying that she must be pure and innocent and of noble English birth. At first she thinks that this will surely interfere with her own intimate relationship with the handsome and immensely rich Prince. But then inspiration strikes. Her own innocent eighteen-year-old niece, the blonde, blue-eyed and beautiful Charlotte Storr is the perfect match! When Lady Storr receives a letter demanding that Charlotte is to attend a ball at his huge Castle to meet her unwanted suitor, young Charlotte is horror-stricken because her heart already belongs to Honourable Shane O’Derry, an impoverished Irish aristocrat.Desperate to distract the attention of the Prince, Charlotte’s brother Richard and Shane recruit another young beauty, a music teacher’s daughter, Alana, to pose as a young Noblewoman in the hope of distracting the Prince away from Charlotte.Alana is an ethereal and almost mystical beauty, who is an exceptional musician like her father. Reluctantly entangled in a web of intrigue Alana is at first repelled by the playboy Prince, yet finds herself drawn by some strange magical Power in his possession.
    Show book
  • Fickle - cover

    Fickle

    Peter Manus

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s You and the thrillers of S.J. Watson, Peter Manus has written a twisting noir mystery that Booklist calls, “An incredibly daring novel and a complete success.”
    
    The distance between what you see and what you believe can be the distance between life and death.
    
    On a winter night in Boston, a man falls to his death in front of a subway train. The sole witness, a shaken young woman, explains to the police how the man shoved her aside as he made his way to the tracks. But when her blog turns up on the dead man's computer, the cops begin to look for other connections. Was the man a cyber-stalker, charmed to the point of desperation by the irreverent musings of a noir-obsessed blogger? Or are the connections between subway jumper and innocent bystander more complicated?
     
    This dark and intricate tale of obsession and deception is told in the form of a blog written by an elusive narrator known only by her online name, "l.g. fickel." Deep into the night, every night, fickel blogs about "Mr. Suicide" and the ensuing police investigation with an eerie prescience. She is joined in her blog chats by a loyal group of obsessives, all of whom share with fickel a passion for the dark art of noir. Is fickel's tale that of an innocent woman frantically trying to figure out how her blogging has enmeshed her in a murder spree, or is she a manipulator, playing the part of sexy, hip, young thing as she grinds out her revenge on those she feels have betrayed her?
    Show book