What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Anarchist's Girlfriend - cover

The Anarchist's Girlfriend

Susan I. Weinstein

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Anarchist's Girlfriend walks the Bowery in early 1980's New York City and absorbs the atmosphere and emotions of those around her. Her encounters reflect her society—art, politics, business, religion. Inspired by Dostoyevsky's divine "Idiot," the AG is a clairvoyant Brooklyn Go-Go Girl who designs clothes of the future.  
The AG's roommates include her beloved Anarchist, a silkscreen artist, who wants to resolve Ireland's "troubles" with organic food, and nihilistic Sandy, a video vérité switchboard operator. The story also involves the Llama, who's in the religion business, and his employee, Wayne, a deaf mute journalist with a nose for truth. All are involved, as passion and hypocrisy erupt in a cloud of dust. And the AG must save her imperiled city. 
Delightfully retro and powerfully prescient, this novel of ideas satirizes New York's bohemian underground and the America of any time. Character truly becomes destiny and in the end, innocence is not lost but transcended.  
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Savage Liberty - A Mystery of Revolutionary America - cover

    Savage Liberty - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    "Pattison has few peers when it comes to integrating historical events into a complex but plausible whodunit plot." —Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed review) When a ship arriving from London explodes in Boston Harbor, both the peace of the colonial city and Duncan McCallum's life are shattered. Summoned by his new friend John Hancock to a beach awash with the bodies of the victims, Duncan discovers that the ship was deliberately sabotaged, apparently to cover the theft by French agents provocateurs of a secret document being carried to the Sons of Liberty. Hancock refuses to let him take his evidence to the authorities, for this is 1768 and relations with the government are so sour that officials are being hanged in effigy. Fearing that the intrigues of Hancock and the Sons might set the colonies ablaze, Duncan relentlessly pursues the truth, only to be falsely charged with treason and murder. To escape the hangman's noose and restore his honor, Duncan has no choice but to follow a northbound trail of violence and deception while being relentlessly hounded by bountymen and vengeful soldiers. With the help of unexpected new friends, including Ethan Allen, aged natives, and outlawed Jesuits, he survives scalp hunters, imprisonment, and his own spiritual crisis, only to realize he cannot resolve the terrible crimes until he first understands the emerging truths about freedom in the American colonies.
    Show book
  • The Staveley Suspect - cover

    The Staveley Suspect

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hidden wickedness is exposed in the Lake District 
    Simmy Brown has a lot on her mind. Not just keeping her florist business afloat, but the challenge of developing a long-term relationship with Christopher, while coping with her father’s failing health. It is also only a few weeks until Mother’s Day, which is her busiest day of the year, as well as bringing painful memories of personal loss. 
    But, in taking an order for a retirement party in Staveley, Simmy is unwittingly pulled into her most challenging investigation yet. When a daughter starts accusing her own mother of murder, Simmy feels she has no choice but to offer assistance, putting her relationships under strain as her loyalty to Ben and Bonnie is tested. With Detective Inspector Moxon himself floundering in the face of a murder with so many unpleasant implications, Simmy has to learn to leave her own concerns behind to uproot the killer. 
    ‘Bringing characters to life is clearly one of the author’s great strengths . . . beautiful and well-evoked surroundings, emphasis on solving a puzzle, characters it’s easy to warm to . . . a cracking good read’ Mystery People 
    ‘A good plot with oodles of atmosphere makes this a real page-turner’ Bookbag 
    ‘Rich in psychological insight . . . Tope is particularly skilled in creating interesting and unique characters’ Deadly Pleasures
    Show book
  • The Jewel - cover

    The Jewel

    Neil Hegarty

    • 0
    • 6
    • 1
    At the heart of this moving and unusual novel is a strange painting by a woman who committed suicide rather than live with neglect and pain. Her final glowingly beautiful work was painted with a technique more usual for posters and banners, and not designed to last. She intended it as her shroud. It hangs in a Dublin gallery, and it is desired by a collector who is willing to pay to have it stolen. The thief is a disillusioned, corrupted London artist coping with tragic loss. The curator of the painting is a lonely gallerist whose life centres on her work. And the man charged with recovering the stolen painting is a gay man trapped in an abusive relationship. 
     
    The lives of these three damaged people, each evoked with a calm, moving sympathy reminiscent of Michael Cunningham or David Park, come together around the hauntingly strange Victorian painting. Set in London, Dublin, Northern Ireland and various European capitals, The Jewel is a major new novel from an Irish writer coming into his own.
    Show book
  • Consumed - cover

    Consumed

    Tigris Eden

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    As a woman in a man’s world, firefighter Abrihet has always had to push just a little bit harder, prove just a little bit more. But her special gifts don’t make that any easier. Fire isn’t something she fights, it’s something she controls. And that’s a secret that she doesn’t want getting out. However, when a routine rescue goes south quickly, and Abrihet is literally pulled from the flames into hell, she has no choice but to accept the hand she’s been dealt.As the heir to the throne of Wraith, Fire Demon Bael was raised to hate Nefas—half-demon, half-human hybrids. But when he’s sent to watch and pass judgment on the daughter of one of his Enforcers, he finds something wholly unexpected. She’s not an abomination. Actually, she might just be his salvation. The challenge will be getting her to accept him and his ways, because as the heir, his world is darker than most. Despite the odds stacked against them and the unusual circumstances of their meeting, Bael and Abrihet must learn to trust each other and work together. If they don’t, it could mean death for one or both of them. Luckily, their connection is strong, and attraction burns bright. But is the light they share something they can use to fight those who oppose them, or will it consume them both?
    Show book
  • The King's Witch - Frances Gorges historical trilogy Book I - cover

    The King's Witch - Frances...

    Tracy Borman

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Borman’s latest book, The Private Lives of the Tudors, was a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice and published in hardcover to strong sales and favorable reviews, cited as an “authoritative work” (New York Times Book Review) and “riveting history” (O, The Oprah Magazine). The book was the basis for a multi-part documentary series, hosted by Borman, which aired on British television in June 2016.
    Americans continue to be fascinated by the Tudors, from the Showtime dramatic series to Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel’s novels (and their TV and stage adaptations). The King’s Witch will appeal to readers of Mantel’s Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, Alison Weir’s Six Tudor Queens series, and Gregory’s The Last Tudor.
    HBO is producing a three-part mini-series entitled Gunpowder that focuses on the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, which is also the culmination of Borman’s novel. The adaptation is premiering in December 2017 in the U.S. and includes many of the real-life characters also seen in The King’s Witch, such as Robert Catesby, King James I, and Guy Fawkes. 
    Borman is the joint Chief Curator of Historic Royal Palaces in the UK, working daily in the palaces that formed the private world of the Tudors.
    Show book
  • Real Life & Liars - cover

    Real Life & Liars

    Kristina Riggle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sometimes you find happiness where, and when, you least expect it.  
    For Mirabelle Zielinski's children, happiness always seems to be just out of reach. Her polished oldest daughter, Katya, clings to a stale marriage with a workaholic husband and three spoiled children. Her son, Ivan, so creative, is a down-in-the-dumps songwriter with the worst taste in women. And the "baby," impulsive Irina, who lives life on a whim, is now reluctantly pregnant and hitched to a man who is twice her age. On the weekend of their parents' anniversary party, lies will be revealed, hearts will be broken...but love will also be found. And the biggest shock may come from Mirabelle herself, because she has a secret that will change everything.
    Show book