What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Way to Becoming Yaelle - cover

The Way to Becoming Yaelle

Dassie Dahan

Publisher: Dassie Dahan

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

It's not easy to be a thoughtful misfit.... 
She's only in seventh grade, but Jan Miller already knows that the world is a pretty tough place for a thoughtful misfit. 
At school, the kids either bully her or ignore her—until Anna the odd new girl shows up and turns things upside-down. 
But home isn't much better.  
Jan and her popular younger brother Brian just can't see eye to eye, with Brian often pretending he doesn't even know her. 
And their father is always backing out of his scheduled weekends with them in favor of Athena, his wacky girlfriend. 
Then Jan starts feeling like she's getting in the way of her beautiful mother's search for a new husband. 
And to top it all off, Jan's nearly forgotten Jewish identity suddenly starts popping up everywhere. The problem is that everyone, even those who don't like Jews much, seem to know all about Judaism. 
Except Jan. 
One day, Jan discovers that she shares a secret Hebrew name with a Biblical heroine Jan has never heard of —Yaelle.  
Determined to give Jan more stability and better Jewish self-esteem, Jan's mother makes her spend the summer with her mother's old college roommate Tova Rose, who is now the mother of a large Hassidic family in a picturesque ancient city in northern Israel. There, Jan befriends an artistic and passionate Hassidic girl who initiates Jan into the realities of Hassidic life. 
Yet just when Jan starts to realize how to become what she has always yearned to be, brutal terrorists seize a much-loved teenage Jewish soldier, thrusting Jan back even further from where she started. 
Can Jan find the courage and the answers she needs to truly become Yaelle? 
(This book can make a great bat mitzvah present!)

Other books that might interest you

  • It’s Raining Cats! It’s Raining Dogs! It’s Raining Bats! And Pollywogs! - cover

    It’s Raining Cats! It’s Raining...

    Sherry West

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Provides illustrated fictional poetry
    Created by an experienced educator for her own children as a fun, enjoyable, captivating method for acquiring English language skills
    Use of bright color palette is proven to engage and captivate young and elementary readers
    Hilarious, creative, fun illustrations capture and hold child’s interest
    Promotes parent-child interacting and bonding through highly enjoyable reading time
    Easily and effortlessly teaches children reading vocabulary and grammar acquisition through hilarious rhyming text and ridiculous animal illustrations 
    Silly animal illustrations and “musical” rhyming text engages very young pre-reading children, as well as older children
    Excellent, enjoyable teaching tool for educators and librarians to teach language acquisition to elementary-age children as well as English as a Second Language speakers
    Easy to memorize for children since they can easily figure out and learn vocabulary, spelling, grammar in text due to effortless memorization and internalization of musically rhythmic rhyming text
    Show book
  • ABC's for Girls - Baby's Ages 1-3 - cover

    ABC's for Girls - Baby's Ages 1-3

    Patrick N. Peerson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ABC's for Girls is a premium addition in the workbooks where it proves to provide a tremendous solution to all the little girls books for 1 year old out there by offerinng all that relates to them and renders them to learn with utmost persuation and enagagement with the book.• ABC's for Girls book has handwritten and rest of handcrafted content inside it which is comprised of all of such stuff which is usually considered as girls’ favorite on particular.• Best books for 2 year olds is fantastic for the little ages kids newborn baby books and also for the ones who are a progression from 0 to 5 years of age, it is ideally adequate for entire of such kids.• Best books for toddlers features letters with a vast variety of such things which are more closer to boys’ heart comprising of dolls, butterflies, castles and more.• Alphabet books for preschoolers is utterly magnificent present for several sorts of events including alphabet books for babies function to let you prove that you actually care for your loved ones.• Best Books for 2 Year Olds with whole of its attractive and exceptionals features is available at a cheap price without a financial burden.Patrick N. PeersonFunny Learn Play Team
    Show book
  • Football Champ - cover

    Football Champ

    Tim Green

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    When Troy White proved his remarkable "football genius" to the Atlanta Falcons, they brought him on board as a team consultant. Now, thanks to Troy's ability to predict winning plays, the Falcons are pulling in victories. Troy loves his starring role behind the scenes and the thrill of having NFL star linebacker Seth Halloway (who's dating Troy's mom) to coach his own Duluth Tigers team on their way to a state championship.  
    Then Troy's perfect world comes crashing down. Reporter Brent Peele is out to smear as much mud on the Falcons as he can, and that means going after Troy. The vicious media storm that descends on the football genius threatens not only his job with the Falcons and the Tigers' run at a championship but his mother's career—and Seth's—as well.  
    Together with his best friends, loyal Nathan and feisty Tate, Troy sets out to unmask the dishonest Peele—and save Seth's reputation—no matter what the risk.  
    With his signature blend of thrilling action and insider knowledge, Tim Green shows Troy, hero of the New York Times bestselling Football Genius, in a new and riveting adventure.
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 2
    • 22
    • 0
    The # 1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas' spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court--but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people. 
     
    Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms--and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future--and the future of a world cleaved in two. 
     
    With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book
  • Perfect Season - cover

    Perfect Season

    Tim Green

    • 0
    • 18
    • 0
    In this sixth book of New York Times bestselling author Tim Green’s gripping Football Genius series, Troy must fight hard to win big. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica. 
    Troy's dreams of the big time have backfired. Sure, he's moved to New Jersey to start his new job as "genius" for the New York Jets, but his dad has taken his entire salary, leaving Troy and his mom broke. Instead of going to the private school of his dreams and playing for a football powerhouse, he's going to be part of a team with an unbroken losing streak. But Troy isn’t giving up without a fight. 
    As soon as he convinces Seth to coach his public school team, Troy feels ready for a perfect season. But when his knack for calling plays slips and his abilities as a quarterback are threatened, he has to dig deep to prove all the naysayers wrong. And it will take all of Troy's football genius to get this team to a perfect season.
    Show book
  • Bravelands #2: Code of Honor - cover

    Bravelands #2: Code of Honor

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Heed the call of the wild…discover the second book in this action-packed animal fantasy series from the #1 bestselling author of Warriors! 
    ★ “Deep characters, a complex plot, rich mythology, and a stunning setting. Wild and wonderful.” —Kirkus Reviews 
    Set in the African savannah and told from three different animals’ points of view, Bravelands will thrill readers who love Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire, as well as the legion of dedicated fans who’ve made Erin Hunter a bestselling phenomenon. 
    A baboon who has uncovered an act of treachery. 
    An elephant uncertain of her fate. 
    A lion poised to strike. 
    The code of the wild has been broken. The elephant leader known as Great Mother has been murdered. And Bravelands is on the edge of chaos. Now a young baboon, elephant, and lion must come together to discover the truth—before the fragile balance of Bravelands is destroyed forever.
    Show book