Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Three Quarters Eaten Dessert - Alfred and Bertha's Marvellous Twenty-First Century Life #4 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

The Three Quarters Eaten Dessert - Alfred and Bertha's Marvellous Twenty-First Century Life #4

Cora Buhlert

Publisher: Pegasus Pulp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Bertha and Alfred, married for twenty years, enjoy a truly science fictional life in the twenty-first century. But in spite of all the technological marvels surrounding them, an argument about sharing a dessert at an upscale restaurant escalates and threatens their friendship with their neighbours, the Hoppenstedts. 
This parodistic piece is a mundane short story of 6000 words or approximately 20 print pages, written in the style of science fiction’s “golden age” of the 1940s and 1950s. With bonus recipe.

Other books that might interest you

  • Spa - A Novel of Love in the Caribbean - cover

    Spa - A Novel of Love in the...

    Olivia De Grove

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Seeking rejuvenation and rest, six very different people converge at a lush Caribbean spa on the island of St. Christoph and find more than they had bargained for: mystery, intrigue, and romance. Successful and single journalist Joyce Redmond, who is on assignment to root out the nitty gritty on the other guests, has been so busy working on her career that she has forgotten to work on her life. Cliff Eastman, the romantic over-the-hill movie star and heartthrob, is watching his career fade through the bottom of a bottle. Cathy Stewart, the overweight, frustrated housewife, who cringes each time her husband calls her his “big mama,” is intent on finding a way to shed that image. Maxine Kraft, married for twenty-five years needs only a little more courage to face the world as a single woman. Finally, there is Belle Taylor and her famous teen idol daughter, Regina, who both need to find a way to stop hating each other.   Fortunately, the Spa at St. Christoph has something for everyone. Yet, behind the luxurious façade of this retreat awaits a mystery for which they had not bargained.
    Show book
  • Too Weird for Ziggy - cover

    Too Weird for Ziggy

    Sylvie Simmons

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The renowned rock journalist for Rolling Stone and Mojo takes readers into the outrageous netherworld of pop music in this debut collection of short fiction.   British rock journalist Sylvie Simmons spent decades covering and interviewing music legends from Stevie Nicks to Frank Zappa; from Muddy Waters to Michael Jackson; and from The Clash to Guns n’ Roses, and beyond. Now she takes everything she’s seen, heard, and experienced in the company of these music legends and funnels it all through her vivid imagination.   From heavy metal megalomaniacs to country crooners and a brokenhearted punk-pop singer named Pussy, Simmons conjures a cast of larger-than-life characters that ring all too true. In these eighteen interlocking stories, “Simmons has all the details of record-company politicking, rock-biz noblesse oblige, and backstage ritual down pat” (Kirkus Reviews).
    Show book
  • Bone in the Throat - cover

    Bone in the Throat

    Anthony Bourdain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The acclaimed first novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Kitchen Confidential and host of Parts Unknown on CNN. A wildly funny, irreverent tale of murder, mayhem, and the mob. 
     
    When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next.  
     
    With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise-guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime. 
     
    In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.
    Show book
  • How to Sound Cultured - Master The 250 Names That Intellectuals Love To Drop Into Conversation - cover

    How to Sound Cultured - Master...

    Hubert Van Den Bergh, Thomas W...

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    'Damn, all my cheating secrets revealed. In book form' Stephen Fry
    
    Which philosopher had the maddest hairstyle? Which novelist drank 50 cups of black coffee every day? What on earth did Simone de Beauvoir see in Jean-Paul Sartre? 
    
    How to Sound Cultured offers a wry and yet profoundly useful look inside the mirrored palaces of high culture. Covering such inscrutable characters as Heidegger, Montaigne, Kahlo and Lévi-Strauss (apparently not just a designer of jeans), inscrutable polymaths Thomas W. Hodgkinson and Hubert van den Bergh – the author of the acclaimed How to Sound Clever – have done the hard work of sorting the cultural wheat from the chaff. 
    
    Read this book and you’ll never again mistake Rimbaud for Rambo or Georg Lukacs for George Lucas, you’ll know precisely when to drop Foucault’s name into a conversation and how to pronounce ‘Borgesian’, and you’ll learn many more essential pointers for the intellectual life.
    Show book
  • How to Rob an Armored Car - A Novel - cover

    How to Rob an Armored Car - A Novel

    Iain Levison

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A comical crime caper about three stoners with a plan: “By turns funny, sad, and insightful” (Booklist).   In a dying Pennsylvania coal town, three friends are looking for a way out. Mitch is a rebellious malcontent whose bad attitude gets him fired from a chain big box store. Doug can identify any pill by sight and any eighties rock song by the first three notes, but doesn’t understand credit scores. Kevin got married and had a kid too soon and is now on parole after serving jail time for growing marijuana.   The three of them dabble in petty crime and believe they have a talent for it. They start by stealing a high-definition TV. Then they set their sights on bigger scores. But things are about to get out of hand . . .   “An honest and humorous romp through lower middle-class frustration.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • The Pig Goes to Hog Heaven - A Novel - cover

    The Pig Goes to Hog Heaven - A...

    Joseph Caldwell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Of The Pig Goes to Hog Heaven, the third and climactic entry in Joseph Caldwell’s charmingly boisterous Pig Trilogy, one might well repeat the most famous words of the great non-Irish wordsmith and baseball catcher Yogi Berra, “It ain’t over till it’s over.” Kitty McCloud, the trilogy’s leading lady, would let these words stand, even were she a reviser of aphorisms rather than a “fixer” of great literary works by the likes of Bronte, Hardy, and Eliot no less, by writing “improved” versions of which she makes an outsized bestselling living that affords her the dubious luxury of living in contentious bliss with her husband, Kieran Sweeney, in their ancient, haunted Irish Castle Kissane. For in Mr. Caldwell’s new comedy—well, tragicomedy, in the truly Irish sense—almost nothing seems to be over—disappeared characters rematerialize, romances that seemed dead burst back to ardent life, and even Taddy and Brid, Castle Kissane’s comely spirits, find new meaning in Yogi’s remark as they resolve themselves into much-longed-for conclusions. And the pig, ah yes, the pig! The pig who started it all by rooting up the bones of the past and tipping many lives topsy turvy—that pig goes wee wee wee all the way—er—home.
    Show book